Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

Significant Events in the Early History of Canada


1497 - The New Found Land

John Cabot sails to an island off the coast of Canada, names it Newfoundland, and claims it for the King of England.

1534 - The French Arrive

Jacques Cartier arrives and claims territory for the King of France, Francis I.

1604 - Port Royal

In 1603, Samuel de Champlain and the French arrive in Canada. They explore the St. Lawrence area and settle in Port Royal, Acadia (now Nova Scotia) in 1604. Four years later, Champlain and the French settle and establish control of the territory in and around Quebec City. This colony is called New France.

1663 - New France

The French establish the seigniorial system of land tenure, the Catholic Church and fur trade in the new territory.

1756-1763 - The Seven Years' War

The British capture the fortress of Louisbourg and control the entrance to New France. This leads to the capture of Quebec and the rest of New France by the British. Prominent in this campaign was James Wolfe, a British army officer, who had seen active service in Europe before being transferred to North America during the Seven Years War. Participating in the 1758 expedition that captured Louisbourg, Wolfe proved to be an effective officer. He was therefore appointed commander of the British force that was sent to capture Quebec City the following year. Wolfe was fatally wounded during the battle on the Plains of Abraham, but the victory led to the capture of Quebec by his forces. Wolfe's Cove was named in honour of him.

1763 - The Royal Proclamation

King George III proclaims the formation of four colonies out of territories acquired during the Seven Years War: East Florida, West Florida, Grenada and Quebec. These colonies are to remain under British (political and religious) administration. The proclamation, however, contains a provision allowing for the formation of a civilian government as soon as conditions are favourable for such change.

1767 - Sir Guy Carleton's Proposal

Sir Guy Carlton, British Governor of the province of Quebec (later to be made Lord Dorchester) proposes to the British Government that the predominantly French population in Quebec and surrounding places should be governed according to French laws.

1774 - The Quebec Act

The Quebec Act changes the way the province of Quebec is governed. Though the French-speaking population is under English criminal law, it is able to practice French civil law and its Roman Catholic faith. The province's borders are also extended to include current southern Ontario.

1775 - The America Revolution

Americans attempt to overthrow British rule and the American Revolution begins. American army invades Canada, captures Montreal, besieges Quebec City.

1776 - Declaration of Independence

American army retreats from Quebec and Montreal. Americans break their ties with the British. Declaration of Independence is signed.

1777 - General Burgoyne Invasion

General Burgoyne invades American colonies from Montreal. His army is defeated and forced to surrender at Saratoga.

1777-1781 - Loyalist Military Operations

Loyalists regiments based at Montreal and Niagara conduct military operations against Northern and Western New York.

1783-1791 - Loyalist Immigration

American Revolution ends with the establishment of the border between Canada and the United States. Loyalists (those who remain loyal to Britain) migrate from the colonies to Canadian borders. General Frederick Haldimand, governor of Quebec, decides to open up lands in the West for Loyalists.

1791 - Upper and Lower Canada

Lord Dorchester suggests dividing the province into Upper and Lower Canada. Upper Canada would be modelled after British society and Lower Canada would maintain the French language civil law and religious institutions. The Constitutional Act, 1791, establishes this division allowing for the formation of local governments.

1791 - John Graves Simcoe

John Graves Simcoe is appointed first Lieutenant Governor of Upper Canada. His wife, Elizabeth Posthuma Simcoe, and two of their six children accompany him on his duties to Canada.

Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

Étapes importantes du début de l'histoire du Canada


1497 - La Terre Neuve

John Cabot navigue vers une île près de la côte du Canada, la nomme Terre-Neuve et la revendique pour le roi d'Angleterre.

1534 - Arrivée des Français

Jacques Cartier arrive et revendique le territoire pour le roi de France, François I.

1604 - Port Royal

En 1603, Samuel de Champlain et les Français débarquent au Canada. Ils explorent la région du Saint Laurent et s'installent à Port Royal, Acadie (Nouvelle-Écosse), en 1604. Quatre ans plus tard, Champlain et les Français s'installent à Québec et s'assurent du contrôle du territoire avoisinant. Cette colonie s'appelle Nouvelle-France.

1663 - Nouvelle France

Les Français établissent un système seigneurial de possession des terres, l'Église catholique et le commerce des fourrures dans le nouveau territoire.

1756-1763 - La guerre de Sept Ans

Les Anglais capturent la forteresse de Louisbourg et contrôlent l'entrée de la Nouvelle France. Ils parviennent ainsi à s'emparer de Québec et du reste de la Nouvelle France. Cette campagne est marquée par des figures importantes, dont James Wolfe, un officier de l'armée anglaise qui avait effectué un service actif en Europe avant d'être transféré en Amérique du Nord pendant la guerre de Sept Ans. Participant à l'expédition de 1758 qui a conduit à la capture de Louisbourg, Wolfe s'est révélé un officier efficace. C'est pour cette raison qu'il est nommé commandant des forces anglaises envoyées pour capturer Québec, l'année suivante. Wolfe est mortellement blessé sur les Plaines d'Abraham, mais la victoire permet la capture de Québec par ses forces. Le nom anglais « Wolfe's Cove » (Anse-au-Foulon) a été choisi en son honneur.

1763 - La Proclamation royale

Le roi George III proclame la formation de quatre colonies à partir des territoires acquis au cours de la guerre de Sept Ans : East Florida, West Florida, Grenada et Québec. Ces colonies seront maintenues sous administration britannique (politique et religieuse). Néanmoins, la proclamation contient une disposition autorisant la formation d'un gouvernement civil aussitôt que les conditions le permettraient.

1767 - Les propositions de Sir Guy Carleton

Sir Guy Carleton, gouverneur britannique de la province de Québec (qui deviendra plus tard Lord Dorchester) propose au gouvernement britannique que la population à majorité française de Québec et des environs soit régie par les lois françaises.

1774 - L'Acte de Québec

L'Acte de Québec modifie la façon dont la province est gouvernée. Bien que la population de langue française soit assujettie au droit pénal anglais, elle peut se servir du droit civil français et pratiquer sa foi catholique. Les frontières de la province sont également modifiées pour inclure le sud de l'Ontario actuel.

1775 - La révolution américaine

Les Américains tentent de renverser l'administration anglaise, ce qui marque le début de la révolution américaine. Les Américains envahissent le Canada, capturent Montréal et assiègent Québec.

1776 - Déclaration d'indépendance

L'armée américaine se retire de Québec et de Montréal. Les Américains rompent leurs liens avec la Grande-Bretagne. La Déclaration d'indépendance est signée.

1777 - Invasion du Général Burgoyne

Le Général Burgoyne envahit les colonies américaines depuis Montréal. Son armée est défaite et contrainte de se rendre à Saratoga.

1777-1781 - Loyalist Military Operations

Loyalists regiments based at Montreal and Niagara conduct military operations against Northern and Western New York.

1783-1791 - Immigration loyaliste

La révolution américaine s'achève avec l'établissement de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Les Loyalistes (ceux qui restent fidèles à la Grande-Bretagne) migrent des colonies aux frontières canadiennes. Le Général Frederick Haldimand, gouverneur du Québec, décide de mettre des terres de l'Ouest à la disposition des Loyalistes.

1791 - Le Haut et le Bas-Canada

Lord Dorchester propose de diviser la province entre le Haut et le Bas-Canada. Le Haut-Canada suivrait le modèle de la société britannique et le Bas-Canada maintiendrait le droit civil en français et les institutions religieuses. L'Acte constitutionnel de 1791 établit cette division, prévoyant la formation d'administrations locales.

1791 - John Graves Simcoe

John Graves Simcoe est nommé premier Lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada. Sa femme, Elizabeth Posthuma Simcoe, et deux de leurs six enfants l'accompagnent dans ses fonctions au Canada.