The Freedom Seekers: Blacks in Early Canada

From his first days in Canada in the early 1950s as an M. A. and subsequently a PhD student at the University of Toronto, Daniel Hill developed an avid interest in the history of Blacks in Canada. His 1960 PhD thesis, Negroes in Toronto, evaluated the history and current situation of Blacks in the city.

Book cover from, “The Freedom-Seekers: Blacks In Early Canada”, by Daniel G. Hill, 1981
Book cover from, “The Freedom-Seekers:
Blacks In Early Canada”, by Daniel G. Hill, 1981
Archives of Ontario Library
Reference Code: 301.45196071 H54
Archives of Ontario
Reprinted with permission of Nelson, a division of
Thomson Learning, Fax 800 730-2215.

Daniel Hill had always hoped to publish his dissertation. Although he never succeeded with that particular goal, he began to write a steady stream of articles about the history of Blacks in Canada. Eventually, his focus broadened from Toronto to Ontario to all of Canada. In 1981, his book The Freedom Seekers: Blacks in Early Canada was published by The Book Society of Canada. The book became the first history of Blacks in Canada written for the popular reading market, and it remained in print until the demise of its final publisher, Stoddart Publishing Company, in 2002.

The very term, “The Freedom Seekers” reflects the challenge that Daniel Hill faced in trying to find appropriate terms to describe early Black residents in Canada. Rather than accenting the negative fact that many such residents had previously been enslaved, he sought to emphasize their unrelenting desire to win and protect their freedom, dignity and equality-hence, “The Freedom Seekers.”

Pages 2 and 3 from, “The Freedom-Seekers: Blacks In Early Canada”, by Daniel G. Hill, 1981
Click to see a larger image (160K)
Pages 2 and 3 from, “The Freedom-Seekers: Blacks In Early Canada”, by Daniel G. Hill, 1981
Archives of Ontario Library
Reference Code: 301.45196071 H54
Archives of Ontario
Reprinted with permission of Nelson, a division of Thomson
Learning:, Fax 800 730-2215.

Negreos in Toronto:
Cover page of PhD Thesis by Daniel G. Hill, Negroes in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a Minority Group, September 1960

Although The Freedom Seekers became the seminal book that reached thousands of Canadians, the process of researching and understanding the history of Blacks in Canada began with Daniel Hill’s PhD thesis Negroes in Toronto.


Click to view some excerpts from the Thesis (6.9MB)
Cover page of PhD Thesis by Daniel G. Hill,
"Negroes in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a
Minority Group", September 1960
Courtesy of Lawrence Hill
Other Documents of Interest

“Black History in Early Toronto” was the address delivered by Daniel Hill to a Black History Conference on February 18, 1978.

Address delivered by Daniel G. Hill to the Black History Conference, Black History in Early Toronto, February 18, 1978, Page 11
Click to see a larger image and to read the rest of the address (142K)
Address delivered by Daniel G. Hill to the Black History Conference,
"Black History in Early Toronto", February 18, 1978
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-7-0-6
Archives of Ontario

“A brief pictorial history of Blacks in Nineteenth Century Ontario” was published by the Ontario Human Rights Commission.

Cover from a brief pictorial history of Blacks in Nineteenth Century Ontario, published by the Ontario Human Rights Commission
Click to see a larger image (436K)
Cover from "a brief pictorial history of Blacks in Nineteenth Century Ontario",
published by the Ontario Human Rights Commission
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-7-0-6
Archives of Ontario

Foreword by Daniel G. Hill in a brief pictorial history of Blacks in Nineteenth Century Ontario, published by the Ontario Human Rights Commission
Click to see a larger image (436K)
Foreword by Daniel G. Hill in “a brief pictorial history of Blacks in Nineteenth Century Ontario”,
published by the Ontario Human Rights Commission
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-7-0-6
Archives of Ontario

The Ontario Black History Society

Daniel Hill, Donna Hill, Wilson Brooks and other friends co-founded the Ontario Black History Society in 1978. It became the first major public organization in Canada focused on the history of Blacks in the country. Daniel Hill remained at the helm of the Society for about six years.

Photo: Attorney General’s reception for the Ontario Black History Society, February 16, 1981
Click to see a larger image (82K)
Attorney General’s reception for the
Ontario Black History Society, February 16, 1981
Daniel G. Hill (left), Lorraine Hubbard (second from left)
and Attorney General Roy McMurtry (far right)
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-9-1-1
Archives of Ontario, I0027978

Daniel Hill used his social aplomb and contacts to bring the celebration of Black history into the public domain. In 1980, Toronto Mayor Art Eggleton supported the launch of a major Black history exhibit at the St. Lawrence Market in Toronto. Daniel Hill succeeded in discovering and unveiling a portrait of William Peyton Hubbard, a prominent Toronto Black politician in the early 20th century, who had become all but forgotten in the closing decades of the 20th century.

These photographs were taken during a reception that Attorney General Roy McMurtry held for members of the Ontario Black History Society in 1981, three years after Daniel and Donna Hill and four friends founded the organization.






Photo: Attorney General’s reception for the Ontario Black History Society, February 16, 1981
Click to see a larger image (79K)
Attorney General’s reception for the
Ontario Black History Society, February 16, 1981
Daniel G. Hill (left) and
Attorney General Roy McMurtry (right)
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-9-1-1
Archives of Ontario, I0027977

Photo: Attorney General’s reception for the Ontario Black History Society, February 16, 1981
Click to see a larger image (82K)
Attorney General’s reception for the
Ontario Black History Society, February 16, 1981
Daniel G. Hill (left), Penelope Hodge (second from left),
Attorney General Roy McMurtry (middle) and
other attendees
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-9-1-1
Archives of Ontario, I0027976

Photo: Attorney General’s reception for the Ontario Black History Society, February 16, 1981
Click to see a larger image (282K)
Attorney General’s reception for the Ontario Black History Society, February 16, 1981
Harry Gairey (seated), Beverly Salmon (second from left),
Attorney General Roy McMurtry (middle) and other attendees
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-9-1-1
Archives of Ontario, I0027971


Click to see a larger image (312K)
Attorney General’s reception for the Ontario Black History Society, February 16, 1981
(from left to right) Stanley Grizzle, Lorraine Hubbard, Wilson Brooks,
Rella Braithwaite and Roy McMurtry
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-9-1-1
Archives of Ontario, I0027974

Donna Hill and the Life of Harry Gairey

At the same time that Daniel Hill was working on his own Black history research, Donna Hill was writing about the life of Harry Gairey, a man who had been born in Jamaica in 1898, emigrated to Canada in 1914 and by 1980 become a sort of elder statesman of Toronto’s Black community. In 1981, Donna Hill published a booklet about Harry Gairey’s life for the Multicultural History Society of Ontario.

Like many other writers and historians, Daniel Hill relied a great deal on the people who loved and supported him to produce such a substantial and interesting body of work. He was indebted profoundly to his wife, Donna, who typed, revised, rewrote and edited much of what he wrote. It is not at all surprising that he thanked her in his uniquely colourful way, in an early draft of The Freedom Seekers. The thanks remained in the acknowledgement of the final, published book, but his publisher required him to tone down the humour of his original nod in the direction of his wife. Here unabridged, is how Daniel Hill initially planned to thank his wife for all of her assistance on The Freedom Seekers:

“…Finally, this survey is dedicated to my wife, Donna Hill, who has listened to me pronounce and exclaim on Ontario Black history for 25 long years. She assisted me in every aspect-research, writing, editing and typing-with the hope, I am certain, of ending it once and for all.”

Excerpt from acknowledgements in manuscript,
"Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)",
by Daniel G. Hill, 1978
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-7-0-16
Archives of Ontario

Click to see a larger image (115K)
Acknowledgements section in manuscript,
"Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)", by
Daniel G. Hill, 1978
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-7-0-16
Archives of Ontario

Acknowledgements section in manuscript, "Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)"

To read the complete Acknowledgement from the Freedom Seekers, click here.

In this early draft of The Freedom Seekers, Daniel Hill wrote in some detail about the British governor of Quebec, James Murray, who took command of the British forces after General James Wolfe fell on the Plains of Abraham, and argued that the Black slaves were the only “servants” who could be depended upon. He felt the need for slave labour. Rather than criticizing Murray directly, Daniel Hill quickly sketched the outline of the state of slavery in Quebec and the governor’s words speak for themselves:

“. . . the Quebec slave system passed smoothly into the British regime and the British were eager to maintain the institution. General Jeffrey Amherst of the conquering British forces assured the Marquis de Vaudreuil, the last governor of New France that:

Negroes and panis [Indians] of both sexes shall remain in their quality of slaves in possession of the French or Canadians to who they belong; they shall be at liberty to keep them in the colony or sell them . . .”

 

Excerpt from page 23 in manuscript,
“Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)”,
by Daniel G. Hill, 1978
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-7-0-16
Archives of Ontario

The guarantee, included by General Amherst in the Articles of Capitulation in Montreal in 1760, undoubtedly was comforting to the deposed governor, who was a slave owner.

In November 1763, General Murray sent an urgent request to John Watts of New York:

‘I must most urgently entreat your assistance,’ he said in his letter, ‘without servants nothing can be done, had I the inclination to employ soldiers, which is not the case, they would disappoint me, and Canadians will work for nobody but themselves. Black Slaves are certainly the only people to be depended upon, but it is necessary, I imagine they should be born in one or other of our Northern Colonies, the Winters here will not agree with a Native of the torrid zone, pray therefore if possible procure for me two Stout Young fellows, who have been accustomed to Country Business, and as I wish to see them happy, I am of opinion there is little felicity without a Communication with the ladys, you may buy for each a clean young wife, who can wash and the female offices about a farm, I shall begrudge no price, so hop we may, you your goodness succeed.’

 

Excerpt from page 24 in manuscript,
"Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)",
by Daniel G. Hill, 1978
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-7-0-16
Archives of Ontario

Black History in Early Ontario (1785-1865) - Section Title
"Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)", page 23

Click here to see a larger image (125K)
"Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)"
by Daniel G. Hill, 1978
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-7-0-16
Archives of Ontario

Black History in Early Ontario (1785-1865), was the first draft of The Freedom Seeker. Click here to read an excerpt.

On May 21, 1985, Daniel Hill gave a speech to the York Pioneer and Historical Society and took advantage of the opportunity to mention two distinguished Black Toronto residents of the 19th century: the physician Anderson Ruffin Abbott and the politician William Peyton Hubbard.

Click to see a larger image (56K)
Remarks by Dr. Daniel G. Hill Ombudsman,
Province of Ontario to the York Pioneer and
Historical Society on the occasion of
its annual dinner, May 21, 1985
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-7-0-15
Archives of Ontario

 

To read the entire text of the speech click here.

Remarks by Dr. Daniel G. Hill Ombudsman, Province of Ontario to the York Pioneer and Historical Society on the occasion of its annual dinner, May 21, 1985

“One is Anderson Ruffin Abbott, a graduate of the Toronto Medical Academy, An Affiliate of the University of Toronto.  In 1861, Abbott became Canada’s fist native-born Black doctor.  During the American Civil War he served as a surgeon in the Union Army, then returned to practice in Chatham, Toronto and Dundas and later became the chief resident physician at the Toronto General Hospital.

The second, William Peyton Hubbard, the son of a Virginia refugee, was  major municipal politician. Hubbard started out as a liveryman in his uncle’s business. One day when he saw another cab about to plunge into the  Don River, he responded quickly and prevented an accident.  The cab’s passenger was George Brown of the Globe.  Brown hired Hubbard as his driver, and later urged him to enter politics.  Hubbard started his political career at the age of 51, and served 14 consecutive terms. His gift for oratory earned him the title “The Cicero of Council . . .

The American Revolution of 1776 set in motion a migration of blacks to Upper Canada-mostly slaves of United Empire Loyalists, as well as a few freed men.  The statute of 1790, passed by the British Parliament, stated that settlers could bring in slaves at a value of ’40 shillings for each Negro’.  Thus many of the Loyalists were accompanied by Blacks as they started life anew in British Canada . . .

It should be mentioned that the British were not the only slaveholders. Native people also owned slaves, including the famous Mohawk leader, Joseph Brant, after whom Brantford, Ontario is named. His slave holdings were estimated at 30 to 40. Brant was not the typical slave owner, however, for he allowed his slaves to intermarry among the native people and in many cases gave refuge and assistance to Blacks fleeing the United States.”

Excerpts from remarks by Dr. Daniel G. Hill Ombudsman,
Province of Ontario to the York Pioneer and
Historical Society on the occasion of its annual dinner, May 21, 1985
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-7-0-15
Archives of Ontario

The image below shows an invitation to the unveiling of the historical plaque commemorating W. P. Hubbard.

Invitation to unveiling of historical plaque commemorating William Peyton Hubbard, 1979
Click to see a larger image (482K)
Invitation to unveiling of historical plaque commemorating William Peyton Hubbard, 1979
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-8-0-3
Archives of Ontario

The Freedom Seekers: Blacks in Early Canada

Dès ses premiers jours au Canada au début des années 1950 comme étudiant à la maîtrise et plus tard au doctorat à l’Université de Toronto, Daniel Hill développe un intérêt intense pour l’histoire des Noirs au Canada. Dans sa thèse de doctorat présentée en 1960 et intitulée Negroes in Toronto, il examine l’histoire et la situation des Noirs dans la ville à cette époque.

Jaquette du livre,“The Freedom-Seekers: Blacks In Early Canada”, de Daniel G. Hill, 1981
Jaquette du livre, “The Freedom-Seekers:
Blacks In Early Canada”, de Daniel G. Hill, 1981
Archives publiques de l'Ontario Library
Code de référence : 301.45196071 H54
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Ré-imprimée avec la permission de Nelson, une
division de Thomson Learning. Fax 800 730-2215.

Daniel Hill avait toujours espéré publier sa thèse. Bien qu’il n’ait jamais atteint ce but particulier, il a commencé a écrire régulièrement une série d’articles sur l’histoire des Noirs au Canada. Plus tard il étendit son champs d’intérêt de à l’Ontario puis au Canada. En 1981, son livre The Freedom Seekers: Blacks in Early Canada a été publié par The Book Society of Canada. Ce fut le premier livre sur l’histoire des Noirs au Canada écrit pour le marché des livres populaires et il a été imprimé jusqu’à ce que son éditeur final, Stoddart Publishing Company, déclare faillite en 2002.

Le terme même The Freedom Seekers (En quête de liberté) reflète le défi auquel Daniel Hill a dû faire face en essayant de trouver les mots appropriés pour décrire les premiers Noirs qui ont habité au Canada. Plutôt que de mettre l’accent sur le fait négatif que beaucoup de ces résidents avaient été esclaves auparavant, il voulait insister sur leur désir inlassable d’acquérir et de protéger leur liberté, leur dignité et leur égalité, c’est pourquoi il a donné ce titre au livre, The Freedom Seekers.

Pages 2 et 3 du livre “The Freedom-Seekers: Blacks In Early Canada”, de Daniel G. Hill, 1981
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (160ko)
"The Freedom-Seekers: Blacks In Early Canada", de Daniel G. Hill, 1981
pages 2 et 3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario Library
Code de référence : 301.45196071 H54
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Ré-imprimée avec la permission de Nelson, une

Negreos in Toronto:
Page titre de la thèse de doctorat de Daniel G. Hill, Negroes in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a Minority Group, September 1960

Bien que cet ouvrage soit devenu un livre fondamental qui a rejoint des milliers de Canadiens, le processus de recherche et de compréhension de l’histoire des Noirs au Canada a commencé avec la thèse de doctorat de Daniel Hill, Negroes in Toronto.


Cliquez pour voir des extraits de la thèsse (6,9Mo)
(Document non disponible en français)

Page titre de la thèse de doctorat de Daniel G. Hill,
"Negroes in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a
Minority Group", Septembre 1960
Gracieuseté de Lawrence Hill
Autres documents d’intérêt

«Black History in Early Toronto » est le titre d’un texte présenté par Daniel Hill à conférence sur l’histoire des Noirs le 18 février 1978.

ADiscours de Daniel G. Hill á la Black History Conference, Black History in Early Toronto, 18 février, 1978, Page 11
Cliquer pour un agrandissement and to read the rest of the address (142ko)
Discours de Daniel G. Hill á la Black History Conference,
"Black History in Early Toronto", 18 février, 1978
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-7-0-6
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

« A brief pictorial history of Blacks in Nineteenth Century Ontario » a été publié par la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne.

Jaquette de a brief pictorial history of Blacks in Nineteenth Century Ontario, publié par la Commission ontarienne des droits de personne
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (436ko)
Jaquette de "a brief pictorial history of Blacks in Nineteenth Century Ontario",
publié par la Commission ontarienne des droits de personne
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-7-0-6
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Avant-propos de Daniel G. Hill dans a brief pictorial history of Blacks in Nineteenth Century Ontario, publié par la Commission ontarienne des droits de personne
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (436ko)
Avant-propos de Daniel G. Hill dans "a brief pictorial history of Blacks in Nineteenth Century Ontario",
publié par la Commission ontarienne des droits de personne
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-7-0-6
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Archives publiques de l'Ontario

En 1978, Daniel Hill, Donna Hill et certains de leurs amis fondent ensemble l'Ontario Black History Society qui est devenue la première importante organisation publique au Canada à se consacrer à l’histoire des Noirs au pays. Daniel Hill est demeuré à la direction de la société pendant environ six ans.

Photographie : La réception du procureur général pour l’Ontario Black History Society, 16 février, 1981
La réception du procureur général pour
Ol’Ontario Black History Society, 16 février, 1981
Daniel G. Hill (gauche), Lorraine Hubbard (deuxième de gauche)
procureur général Roy McMurtry (à droite)
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-9-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027978

Daniel Hill a utilisé son assurance et ses contacts dans la société afin d’intégrer la célébration de l’histoire des Noirs dans le secteur public. En 1980, le maire de Toronto, Art Eggleton a appuyé le lancement d’une importante exposition sur l’histoire des Noirs au marché Saint-Laurent de Toronto. Daniel Hill a réussi à trouver et à dévoiler un portrait de William Peyton Hubbard , un important homme politique noir de Toronto au début du XXe siècle que l’on avait presque oublié dans les dernières décennies du même siècle.

Ces photos ont été prises pendant une réception offerte par le procureur général Roy McMurtry pour les membres de l'Ontario Black History Society en 1981, trois ans plus tard, Daniel et Donna Hill ainsi que quatre de leurs amis ont fondé l’organisation.






Photographie :  La réception du procureur général pour l’Ontario Black History Society, 16 février, 1981
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (79ko)
La réception du procureur général pour
l’Ontario Black History Society, 16 février, 1981
Daniel G. Hill (gauche) et
Attorney General Roy McMurtry (droite)
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-9-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027977

Photographie :  La réception du procureur général pour l’Ontario Black History Society, 16 février, 1981
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (82ko)
La réception du procureur général pour
l’Ontario Black History Society, 16 février, 1981
Daniel G. Hill (gauche), Penelope Hodge (deuxième de gauche),
Attorney General Roy McMurtry (milieu) et
autres personnes
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-9-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027976

Photographie :  La réception du procureur général pour l’Ontario Black History Society, 16 février, 1981
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (282ko)
La réception du procureur général pour l’Ontario Black History Society, 16 février, 1981
Harry Gairey (assis), Beverly Salmon (deuxième du gauche),
Attorney General Roy McMurtry (milieu) et autres personnes
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-9-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027971

Photographie :  La réception du procureur général pour l’Ontario Black History Society, 16 février, 1981
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (312ko)
La réception du procureur général pour l’Ontario Black History Society, 16 février, 1981
(de gauche à droite) Stanley Grizzle, Lorraine Hubbard, Wilson Brooks,
Rella Braithwaite et Roy McMurtry
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-9-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027974

Donna Hill et la vie d’Harry Gairey

Pendant que Daniel Hill poursuivait ses recherches sur l’histoire des Noirs, Donna Hill écrivait la vie de Harry Gairey, un Jamaïcain né en 1898 qui avait immigré au Canada en 1914 et qui en 1981 était devenu un genre de vétéran de la politique au sein de la communauté noire de Toronto. En 1981, Donna Hill a publié une brochure sur la vie de Harry Gairey pour la Société d'histoire multiculturelle de l'Ontario.

Comme bien d’autres écrivains et historiens, Daniel Hill comptait beaucoup sur les gens qui l’aimaient et l’appuyaient pour produire un ouvrage aussi important et intéressant. Il était profondément reconnaissant envers sa conjointe Donna, qui a dactylographié, révisé, réécrit et corrigé presque tout ce qu’il écrivait. Il n’est pas surprenant du tout qu’il l’ait remercié à sa manière originale et unique, dans une première ébauche de l’ouvrage The Freedom Seekers. Les remerciements sont demeurés dans la version finale du livre publié, mais l’éditeur a exigé qu’il atténue l’humour de sa note originale à l’intention de sa conjointe. Voici, sans modification, la façon dont Daniel Hill voulait d’abord remercier sa conjointe pour toute l’aide apportée pour The Freedom Seekers :

“…[…] Enfin, je dédis cet ouvrage à ma conjointe, Donna Hill, qui m’a écouté raconter et déclamer l’histoire des Noirs en Ontario pendant 25 longues années. Elle m’a aidé dans tous les aspects, la recherche, la rédaction, la révision et la dactylographie dans l’espoir, j’en suis certain, d’y mettre fin une fois pour toute”

Extrait des remerciements du manuscrit,
"Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)",
de Daniel G. Hill, 1978
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-7-0-16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (115ko)
Remerciements dans le manuscrit,
"Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)", by
de Daniel G. Hill, 1978
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-7-0-16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Remerciements dans le manuscrit, “Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)”, de Daniel G. Hill, 1978

Pour voir le texte complet des remerciements, cliquez ici.

Dans ce premier ébauche du livre The Freedom Seekers, Daniel Hill racontait bien en détails comment le gouverneur britannique du Québec, James Murray, avait pris le commandement des troupes britanniques après que le général James soit tombé sur les Plaines d’Abraham, et insistait que les esclaves noirs étaient les seuls « serviteurs » sur lesquels on pouvait compter. Il comprenait la nécessité d’exploitation. Plutôt que de critiquer directement Murray, Daniel Hill a rapidement tracé un aperçu de la situation d’esclavage au Québec et les paroles du gouverneurs sont claires :

“. . . […] le système d’esclavage du Québec a été intégré de façon ordonnée au régime britannique et les Britanniques désiraient maintenir l’institution. Le général Jeffrey Amherst des forces britanniques conquérantes avait assuré au Marquis de Vaudreuil, le dernier gouverneur de la Nouvelle-France que :

« Les nègres et les indiens des deux sexes demeureront en la possession des Français ou des Canadiens français à qui ils appartiennent en leur qualité d’esclaves, leurs propriétaires seront libres de les garder ou de les vendre […] ».

 

Extrait de page 23 du manuscrit,
“Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865),”,
de Daniel G. Hill, 1978
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-7-0-16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cette garantie, qu’avait incluse le général Amherst dans les Articles de capitulation, Montréal, 1760, était sans aucun doute réconfortante pour le gouverneur déchu qui était propriétaire d’esclaves.

En novembre 1763, le général Murray envoya une urgente requête à John Watts de New York :

‘Je dois de toute urgence demander votre aide. Sans serviteur, rien ne peut être accompli, si j’étais tenté d’utiliser des soldats, ce qui n’est pas le cas, ils me décevraient, et les Canadiens français ne travaillent pour personne d’autre qu’eux-mêmes. Les esclaves noirs sont certainement les seules personnes sur qui on peut compter, mais il faut, j’imagine, qu’ils soient nés dans l’une ou l’autre de nos nouvelles colonies du Nord, un Noir originaire d’une zone tropicale ne supportera pas bien les hivers ici, c’est pourquoi je me demandais s’il était possible de me procurer deux jeunes hommes solides accoutumés à nos façons de faire. De plus, comme je veux qu’ils soient heureux, je crois qu’il serait bien qu’ils puissent avoir une communication avec les dames, vous pouvez donc acheter pour chacun d’eux une jeune épouse en santé qui peut nettoyer et accomplir les tâches féminines de la ferme. Je ne négocierai pas sur le prix, alors, j’espère que nous pourrons accomplir cela grâce à votre bonté.’

 

Extrait de page 24 du manuscrit,
"Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)",
de Daniel G. Hill, 1978
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-7-0-16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Black History in Early Ontario (1785-1865) - bannière
"Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)", page 23

Click here to see a larger image (125ko)
"Black History in Early Ontario (1780-1865)"
de Daniel G. Hill, 1978
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-7-0-16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Black History in Early Ontario (1785-1865) a été la première version de Freedom Seekers. Cliquez ici pour en lire un extrait.

Le 21 mai 1985, Daniel Hill a fait un discours à la York Pioneer and Historical Society et a profité de cette occasion pour mentionner le nom de deux résidents noirs de Toronto du XIXe siècle : le physicien Anderson Ruffin Abbott et l’homme politique William Peyton Hubbard.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (56ko)
Remarques de Dr. Daniel G. Hill Ombudsman,
Province d’Ontario au dîner annuel de la
York Pioneer and Historical, Society, 21 mai, 1985
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-7-0-15
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

 

Pour lire le texte complet du discours, cliquez ici.

RRemarques de Dr. Daniel G. Hill Ombudsman, Province d'Ontario au dîner annuel de la York Pioneer and Historical, Society,  21 mai, 1985

“Un d’eux est Anderson Ruffin Abbott, un diplômé de la Toronto Medical Academy, une succursale de l’Université de Toronto. En 1861, M. Abbott est devenu le premier médecin noir né au Canada. Pendant la Guerre de Sécession, il était chirurgien dans l’armée de l’Union, il est ensuite retourner à la pratique à Chatham, à Toronto et à Dundas et est plus tard devenu le physicien en chef résident du Toronto General Hospital.

Le deuxième, William Peyton Hubbard, le fils d’un réfugié de la Virginie, était un important homme politique. M. Hubbard a tout d’abord été livreur pour l’entreprise de son oncle. Un jour il vit un autre taxi plonger dans la Don River, il a réagi rapidement et a réussi à prévenir un accident. Le passager du taxi était George Brown du Globe. M. Brown a embauché M. Hubbard comme chauffeur et plus tard lui a demandé avec insistance d’entrer en politique. M. Hubbard a commencé sa carrière politique à l’âge de 51 ans et a servi quatorze mandats consécutifs. Son don de la parole lui a valu le titre de « Cicéron du Conseil »./p>

La Révolution américaine de 1776 a entraîné une migration de Noirs vers le Haut Canada, la plupart des esclaves des Loyalistes de l’Empire Uni et quelques hommes qui avait obtenu leur liberté. La loi de 1790 promulguée par le Parlement britannique indiquait que les colons pouvaient emmener des esclaves dont le prix était évalué à « 40 shillings pour chaque Noir ». Par conséquent, beaucoup de Loyalistes étaient accompagnés de Noirs lorsqu’ils ont commencé une nouvelle vie au Canada britannique […]

Il faut également mentionné que les Britanniques n’étaient pas les seuls propriétaires d’esclaves. Les Autochtones avaient des esclaves, y compris le chef Mohawk, Joseph Brant, d’où la ville de Brantford en Ontario tient son nom. On a estimé qu’il possédait environ 30 à 40 esclaves. Toutefois, M. Brant n’était pas un propriétaire d’esclaves ordinaire car il permettait à ses esclaves de se marier avec des Autochtones et dans bien des cas, il a offert refuge et aide aux Noirs qui fuyaient les États-Unis.”

Extrait des remarques de Dr. Daniel G. Hill Ombudsman,
PProvince d’ Ontario au dîner annuel de la
York Pioneer and Historical, Society, 21 mai, 1985
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-7-0-15
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

L’image ci-dessous montre une invitation au dévoilement d’une plaque historique commémorant W. P. Hubbard.

Invitation à l’inauguration de la plaque historique commémorative de  William Peyton Hubbard, 1979
CCliquer pour un agrandissement (482ko)
Invitation à l’inauguration de la plaque historique commémorative de William Peyton Hubbard, 1979
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-8-0-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario