Photo: Daniel G. Hill, [ca. 1960]
Shortly after receiving his PhD from the University of Toronto in 1961, Daniel Hill was offered several jobs. He ended up taking a part time position as a sociology lecturer at the University of Toronto, and a full-time position as the first Director of the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) in 1962.



Click to see a larger image (84K)
Daniel G. Hill, [ca. 1960]
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-9-2-13
Archives of Ontario, I0027960














Statement to the Legislative Assembly on April 3, 1962
On April 3, 1962 John P. Robarts, Premier of Ontario, read the following Statement to the Legislative Assembly, in connection with the appointment of Daniel G. Hill as the Director of the Ontario Human Rights Commission


Click to see a larger image with links to the
rest of the statement (120K)

Statement to the Legislative Assembly on April 3, 1962,
by the Honourable John P. Robarts, Prime Minister of
Ontario, in connection with the Ontario
Human Rights Commission
John P. Robarts speeches and statements
Reference Code: RG 3-103
Archives of Ontario












The letters below were sent to Dr. Hill to congratulate him on his appointment.

Letter from Allan Grossman to Daniel G. Hill, April 24, 1962
Click to see a larger image (118K)
Letter from Allan Grossman to
Daniel G. Hill, April 24, 1962
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-1
Archives of Ontario
Letter from Ernest E. Goodman to Daniel G. Hill, April 5, 1962
Click to see a larger image (117K)
Letter from Ernest E. Goodman to
Daniel G. Hill, April 5, 1962
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-1
Archives of Ontario

Letter to Rabbi Jordan Pearlson from Daniel G. Hill, June 8, 1962

As Director, Daniel Hill travelled across Ontario in his Volkswagen Beetle, setting up regional offices and striving to make the Commission and its services available to ordinary Ontarians.

He also travelled across Canada and to conferences in various countries (including Iran) to promote human rights and to build the effectiveness of the Commission.



Click to see a larger image (106K)
Letter to Rabbi Jordan Pearlson from
Daniel G. Hill, June 8, 1962
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-1
Archives of Ontario

In the summer of 1963, Daniel Hill received a letter from Harold H. Potter, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology at Sir George Williams University in Montreal, who complains gently wishing that it weren't necessary to have an OHRC.

"… In today’s mail there were announcements concerning settlements of cases handled recently by your office and I thank you very much for these also.  I am a little dismayed to see that you have so much work of this kind.  Wouldn't it be nice if you had none at all? There is a little sociological question about the backgrounds of the people who lodge complaints under the Human Rights legislation of your province."

Excerpt of letter from Harold H. Potter to
Daniel G. Hill, August 8, 1963
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-2
Archives of Ontario


Letter from Harold H. Potter to Daniel G. Hill, August 8, 1963
Click to see a larger image (162K)
Letter from Harold H. Potter to
Daniel G. Hill, August 8, 1963
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-2
Archives of Ontario

On Sept 11, 1963, Daniel Hill deftly replies . . .

“Regarding your observation concerning the Commission’s increasingly heavy case load, I certainly agree that it is unfortunate that people have to be regulated in terms of their behaviour and made to act-at least overtly-in accord with the legal and moral code of our society. I am afraid that we still have a long way to go in Ontario before we reach the state where our (Ontario Human Rights) Commission is not needed.”

Excerpt of letter to Harold H. Potter from
Daniel G. Hill, September 11, 1963
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-2
Archives of Ontario

The letter goes on to say that Ontarians support the work of the commission, and that . . .

“60 per cent of complaints come from Negroes and Jews, the balance (which is increasing) comes from new European immigrants.  There is also every indication of a strong interest in our work by the Asian and native Indian communities.  In fact we have been duly warned that a number of complaints will soon be referred to the Commission from these groups.  Frankly, I consider this development healthy and necessary since I feel that no one should suffer indignity and depravation in silence without recourse to governmental institutions.”

Excerpt of letter to Harold H. Potter from
Daniel G. Hill, September 11, 1963
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-2
Archives of Ontario

Letter to Harold H. Potter from Daniel G. Hill, September 11, 1963, Page 1
Click to see a larger image (133K)
Letter to Harold H. Potter from
Daniel G. Hill, September 11, 1963
Page 1
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-2
Archives of Ontario
Letter to Harold H. Potter from Daniel G. Hill, September 11, 1963, Page 2
Click to see a larger image (97K)
Letter to Harold H. Potter from
Daniel G. Hill, September 11, 1963
Page 2
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-2
Archives of Ontario



Inspired by Magna Carta

Daniel Hill believed it was important to communicate to Canadians that the principle of enshrining human rights in law was nothing new in world history. He frequently mentioned Magna Carta as an early written indication of human commitment to human rights, and the Ontario Human Rights Code took effect on the 747th anniversary of Magna Carta. He also emphasized the importance of the United Nations’ Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Toronto United Negro Association

In 1963, the Toronto United Negro Association wrote to Daniel Hill, urging him to attend a meeting with a view to “asking all churches, fraternities and clubs in our (Black) community to incorporate a permanent committee, one which would unite the voice of the Negro community into a powerful voice. We believe that the time has come, the need has arisen, for us to unite our force and strength, don’t you?”

This was a delicate and difficult matter as Daniel Hill was well acquainted with the difficulty-if not the downright impossibility-of creating a single group that could credibly and authoritatively claim to speak for the entire Black community. He sidestepped the matter neatly in his reply, passing along the letter to a colleague in the Toronto Negro Business and Professional Men’s Association.

Letter from St. Clair Pindar of the Toronto United Negro Association to Daniel G. Hill and others, July 9, 1963
Click to see a larger image (119K)
Letter from St. Clair Pindar of the
Toronto United Negro Association to
Daniel G. Hill and others, July 9, 1963
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-2
Archives of Ontario
Letter to St. Clair Pindar of the Toronto United Negro Association from Daniel G. Hill, July 11, 1963
Click to see a larger image (91K)
Letter to St. Clair Pindar of the
Toronto United Negro Association from
Daniel G. Hill, July 11, 1963
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-2
Archives of Ontario

In the summer of 1964, with Daniel Hill at the helm, the Ontario Human Rights Commission was hard at work trying to combat discrimination in the province. Some of its successes were recognized outside of Canada, and this became evident when a newspaper in Wilmington, Delaware ran a brief news clip from Windsor, Ontario. The clip ran like this:

Clipping from the Morning News, Wilmington, Del., July 9, 1964
Clipping from the Morning News, Wilmington, Del., July 9, 1964
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-3
Archives of Ontario
Used with the permission of The (Wilmington, Del.) Morning News


The story behind the story was revealed in a series of exchanges between Daniel Hill and a friendly acquaintance by the name of Wagner Jackson, who worked for the Housing and Home Finance Agency in Philadelphia.

In a letter on July 21, 1964 to Wagner Jackson, Daniel Hill wrote:

Dear Wagner,

I was delightfully surprised to hear from you and get the Press clipping from the Wilmington paper regarding the barbershop case. I appreciate your thoughtfulness.

Incidentally, the barber was made to do more than simply apologize. He also cut the complainant’s hair, posted a Commission notice of compliance in his shop and wrote a letter of assurance to our Chairman that his establishment no longer discriminated …

Excerpt of letter to Wagner D. Jackson
from Daniel G. Hill, July 21, 1964
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-3
Archives of Ontario

Letter to Wagner D. Jackson from Daniel G. Hill, July 21, 1964
Click to see a larger image (132K)
Letter to Wagner D. Jackson from
Daniel G. Hill, July 21, 1964
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-3
Archives of Ontario

In a playful reply on August 24, Wagner Jackson wrote:

“Many thanks for the recent packet of printed and illustrative material dealing with the efforts and accomplishments of your Commission.

I am properly impressed.

While it is of little practical value to you, I may now claim the distinction of being the best informed person in this area {Philadelphia} on the work of the OHRC {Ontario Human Rights Commission}. At least, if some ill-advised countryman should aver in my presence that the civil rights of gentlefolk of colour are not properly protected in your province, I shall be able to argue persuasively to the contrary.”

Excerpt of letter from Wagner D. Jackson
to Daniel G. Hill, August 24, 1964
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-3
Archives of Ontario

Letter from Wagner D. Jackson to Daniel G. Hill, August 24, 1964
Click to see a larger image (130K)
Letter from Wagner D. Jackson to
Daniel G. Hill, August 24, 1964
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-3
Archives of Ontario

Toronto Lodge of B’nai B’rith open meeting program, February 8, 1965

Daniel Hill believed that reaching out to Ontarians from all social and Religious backgrounds formed the core of his work at the Ontario Human Rights Commission. He cultivated numerous contacts and friendships within the Jewish community, as the B'nai B'rith event in 1965 indicates.


Toronto Lodge of B’nai B’rith open
meeting program, February 8, 1965
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-8-0-2
Archives of Ontario
Bell vs Ontario

The Ontario Human Rights Commission was the first formal government agency established in Canada to combat discrimination and to enforce anti-discrimination laws.

Under Daniel Hill’s leadership, the Commission took a case (Bell vs Ontario) to the Supreme Court of Canada in 1971. The Commission lost, but the case generated significant publicity and cemented the Commission’s reputation as an agency that would argue vociferously on behalf of people who believed that their rights had been violated.

Human Rights Come at a Certain Cost

Building the Ontario Human Rights Commission from a fledgling agency with just a few employees to a major, well-known institutional leader in the field of Canadian human rights became Daniel Hill’s passion. But it came at a certain cost. During his tenure at the Commission, Daniel Hill nearly died of pneumonia, and, after recovering, developed diabetes that plagued him increasingly over the decades and eventually claimed his life.

Long after Daniel Hill resigned from the Commission in 1973 to establish Canada’s first human rights consulting firm and to devote himself to writing about and celebrating the history of Blacks in the country, he remained proud of his contributions to the Commission.

In an interview in 1974, he told the Ottawa Citizen:

“Ontario’s human rights laws are the best in the country. We were the first province to give its commission statutory powers. It was very rewarding work but I needed a change. Change, change, change-human beings need change.”

PPhotographie : Daniel G. Hill, [ca. 1960]

Peu après avoir reçu son doctorat de l’Université de Toronto en 1961, on a offert plusieurs emplois à Daniel Hill. Il a fini par accepter un poste à temps partiel comme conférencier en sociologie à l’Université de Toronto ainsi qu’un poste à temps plein comme premier directeur de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) en 1962. En 1971, il a été nommé président de la Commission.



Cliquer pour un agrandissement (84ko)
Daniel G. Hill, [vers 1960]
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-9-2-13
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027960














Statement to the Legislative Assembly on April 3, 1962
OJohn P. Robarts, premier ministre de l’Ontario, a fait la déclaration suivante à l’Assemblée législative le 3 avril 1962, relativement à la nomination de Daniel G. Hill comme directeur de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne.


Cliquer pour un agrandissement avec un lien à la déclaration complète (120ko)
Discours à l’Assemblé législative le 3 avril, 1962,
par l’Honorable John P. Robarts,
Premier ministre d’Ontario,
relativement à la Commission ontarienne
des droits de la personne
John P. Robarts speeches and statements
Code de référence : RG 3-103
Archives publiques de l'Ontario












Les lettres ci-dessous ont été envoyées à M. Hill afin de le remercier de sa nomination.

Lettre de Allan Grossman à Daniel G. Hill, 24 avril, 1962
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (118ko)
Lettre de Allan Grossman à
Daniel G. Hill, 24 avril, 1962
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Lettre de Ernest E. Goodman à Daniel G. Hill, 5 avril, 1962
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (117ko)
Lettre de Ernest E. Goodman à
Daniel G. Hill, 5 avril, 1962
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Lettre au Rabbin Jordan Pearlson de Daniel G. Hill, 8 juin, 1962

À titre de directeur, Daniel Hill s’est rendu partout en Ontario avec sa Volkswagen Coccinelle, établissant des bureaux régionaux et s’efforçant de rendre accessibles la Commission et ses services pour la population ontarienne.

Il a également voyagé un peu partout au Canada et a participé à des conférences dans de nombreux pays (y compris l’Iran) afin de promouvoir les droits de la personne et d’établir une Commission efficace.



Cliquer pour un agrandissement (106ko)
Lettre au Rabbin Jordan Pearlson de
Daniel G. Hill, 8 juin, 1962
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

À l’été 1963, M. Hill reçut une lettre d’Harold H. Potter, professeur agrégé à l’Université Sir George Williams à Montréal, qui se plaignait gentiment, souhaitant qu’il ne soit pas nécessaire qu’il y ait une CODP.

"… […] Dans le courrier aujourd’hui, il y avait des annonces indiquant le règlement de dossiers traités récemment par ton bureau, et je t’en remercie énormément aussi. Je suis quelque peu étonné de voir que tu as tant de travail de ce genre. Ne serait-ce pas merveilleux si tu n’en avais pas du tout ? Il y a un petit questionnement sociologique quant aux antécédents des gens qui portent plainte en vertu des lois sur les droits de la personne de ta province."

Extrait d’une lettre de Harold H. Potter,
professeur agrégé, département de
sociologie, Université Sir George
Williams, Montréal, 8 août, 1963
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Lettre de Harold H. Potter à Daniel G. Hill, 8 août, 1963
CCliquer pour un agrandissement (162ko)
Lettre de Harold H. Potter à
Daniel G. Hill, 8 août, 1963
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Le 11 septembre, Daniel G. Hill répondit habilement :

“En ce qui concerne tes observations quant à la charge de travail de plus en plus lourde de la Commission, je suis certainement d’accord avec toi qu’il est malheureux d’avoir à imposer des règlements aux gens quant à leur comportement et qu’il faut les inciter, du moins ouvertement, à respecter les codes moral et juridique de notre société. J’ai bien peur qu’il coulera bien de l’eau sous les ponts en Ontario avant que la situation nous permette de conclure que notre Commission (ontarienne des droits de la personne) n’est plus nécessaire.”

Extrait d’une lettre à Harold H. Potter de
Daniel G. Hill, 8 août, 1963
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Dans sa lettre, DGH III poursuit en disant que la population de l’Ontario appuie le travail de la Commission, que . . .

“(…) dans soixante pour cent des cas, ce sont des Noirs et des Juifs qui portent plainte, les autres plaintes (dont le nombre augmente) viennent de nouveaux immigrants européens. Tout indique également que les collectivités asiatique et autochtones s’intéressent énormément à notre travail. En fait, nous avons été dûment informés qu’un certain nombre de plaintes seront bientôt dirigées vers la Commission par ces groupes. Franchement, je considère ces progrès sains et nécessaires car selon moi, personne ne devrait endurer l’indignation et la dépravation en silence sans demander l’aide des institutions gouvernementales.”

Ex trait d’une lettre à Harold H. Potter de
Daniel G. Hill, 8 août, 1963
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Lettre à Harold H. Potter de Daniel G. Hill, 11 septembre, 1963 - Page 1
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (133ko)
Lettre à Harold H. Potter de
Daniel G. Hill, 11 septembre, 1963
Page 1
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Lettre à Harold H. Potter de Daniel G. Hill, 11 septembre, 1963 - Page 2
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (97ko)
Lettre à Harold H. Potter de
Daniel G. Hill, 11 septembre, 1963
Page 2
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario



Inspiré par la Magna Carta

Daniel Hill croyait qu’il était important de communiquer aux Canadiens que le principe de consacrer les droits de la personne dans une loi n’avait rien de nouveau dans l’histoire humaine. Il parlait fréquemment de la Magna Carta comme d’un ancien écrit vérifiant l’engagement de l’humanité à l’égard des droits de la personne et mentionnait que le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario était entré en vigueur le jour du 747e anniversaire de la Magna Carta. Il insistait aussi sur l’importance de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme.

Toronto United Negro Association

En 1963, la Toronto United Negro Association a écrit à Daniel Hill, lui demandant avec insistance d’assister à une réunion afin « de demander à toutes les églises, confréries et clubs de notre communauté (noire) d’intégrer un comité permanent, un comité qui permettrait d’unir toutes les voix de la communauté noire et de nous exprimer avec force. Nous croyons qu’il est temps d’unir nos forces, de serrer les coudes, ne le croyez-vous pas ? ».

C’était une question difficile et de nature délicate car Daniel Hill connaissait bien la difficulté voire même l’impossibilité de créer un seul groupe qui pourrait affirmer avec crédibilité et autorité qu’il parle pour toute la communauté noire. Il a évité la question habilement dans sa réponse, passant la lettre à un collègue de la Toronto Negro Business and Professional Men’s Association.

Letter from St. Clair Pindar of the Toronto United Negro Association to Daniel G. Hill and others, July 9, 1963
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (119ko)
Lettre de St. Clair Pindar de la
Toronto United Negro Association à
Daniel G. Hill et autres, 9 juillet, 1963
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Lettre à St. Clair Pindar de la Toronto United Negro Association de Daniel G. Hill,  11 juillet, 1963
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (91ko)
Lettre à St. Clair Pindar de la
Toronto United Negro Association de
Daniel G. Hill, 11 juillet, 1963
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Au cours de l’été 1964, avec Daniel Hill à sa direction, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne travaillait d’arrache-pied afin de lutter contre la discrimination dans la province. Certaines de ses réussites étaient reconnues à l’extérieur du Canada, et cela devint évident lorsqu’un journal de Wilmington, au Delaware fit paraître un court article de Windsor, en Ontario. Voici ce que racontait l’article :

Coupure du Morning News,Wilmington, Del., 9 juillet, 1964
Coupure du Morning News,Wilmington, Del., 9 juillet, 1964
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Utilisé avec la permission au Morning News (Wilmington, Del.)


Les dessous de l’histoire ont été révélés dans une série d’échanges entre Daniel Hill et un ami du nom de Wagner Jackson, qui travaillait pour la Housing and Home Finance Agency à Philadelphie.

Dans une lettre du 21 juillet 1964 adressée à Wagner Jackson, Daniel Hill a écrit ceci :

Mon cher Wagner,

J’ai été merveilleusement surpris de recevoir de tes nouvelles ainsi que cet article de presse d’un journal de Wilmington sur l’affaire du barbier. J’apprécie ta délicatesse.

En passant, on n’a pas seulement demandé au barbier de s’excuser. Il a également coupé les cheveux du plaignant, a affiché un avis de conformité de la Commission dans son magasin et a écrit une lettre afin d’assurer notre président que son établissement ne faisait plus de discrimination [ . . . ]

Lettre à Wagner D. Jackson de
Daniel G. Hill, 21 juillet, 1964
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Lettre à Wagner D. Jackson de Daniel G. Hill, 21 juillet, 1964
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (132ko)
Lettre à Wagner D. Jackson de
Daniel G. Hill, 21 juillet, 1964
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Le 24 août, Wagner Jackson a répondu de façon taquine :

“Un gros merci pour le paquet d’affiches et de documents que tu m’as envoyés récemment au sujet des efforts de votre Commission.

Je suis tout à fait impressionné.

Bien que ce ne soit que de peu de valeur pratique pour toi, je peux maintenant affirmer que je suis la personne la mieux informée dans cette région (Philadelphie) en ce qui concerne le travail de la CODP. Au moins, si un Américain mal avisé devait affirmer en ma présence que les droits civils des gens noirs de bonne famille ne sont pas protégés de façon adéquate dans votre province, je devrais être en mesure d’affirmer le contraire de façon persuasive.”

Lettre de Wagner D. Jackson à
tDaniel G. Hill, 24 août, 1964
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Lettre de Wagner D. Jackson à Daniel G. Hill, 24 août, 1964
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (130ko)
Lettre de Wagner D. Jackson à
Daniel G. Hill, 24 août, 1964
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Programme d'une assemblée publique de la Toronto Lodge of B'nai B'rith, 8 février, 1965

Daniel Hill pensait que l’essentiel de son travail à la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne était d’étendre le bras aux Ontariens de chaque milieu social et religieux. Il a formé des liens et des amis dans la communauté juive, comme l’évenement B’nai B’rith en 1965 indique.


Programme d'une assemblée publique de la
Toronto Lodge of B'nai B'rith, 8 février, 1965
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-8-0-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Bell contre l’Ontario

La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne fut le premier organisme gouvernemental officiel établi au Canada à lutter contre la discrimination et à appliquer les lois antidiscriminatoires.

Sous la direction de Daniel Hill, la Commission présenta une affaire (Bell vs Ontario) à la Cour suprême du Canada en 1971. La Commission a perdu, mais l’affaire avait entraîné une publicité importante et établi la réputation de la Commission comme organisme qui défendrait à grand bruit les personnes qui croyaient que leurs droits avait été violés.

Les droits de la personne sont acquis à un certain prix

Faire de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne un important chef de file institutionnel de renom dans le domaine des droits de la personne au Canada à partir d’un nouvel organisme de seulement quelques employés devint la passion de Daniel Hill. Toutefois, cette passion avait un certain prix. Pendant son mandat à la Commission, une pneumonie a presque emporté Daniel Hill et après sa convalescence, il a développé le diabète qui le fit souffrir de plus en plus au cours des décennies et qui lui a finalement coûté la vie.

Longtemps après que Daniel Hill a démissionné de la Commission en 1973 pour ouvrir la première société d’experts-conseils sur les droits de la personne au Canada et consacrer son temps à écrire et à célébrer l’histoire des Noirs au pays, il était toujours fier de ses contributions à la Commission.

Dans une entrevue accordée en 1974, il a indiqué au Ottawa Citizen :

« Les lois sur les droits de la personne de l’Ontario sont les meilleures au pays. Nous avons été la première province à donner à notre commission des pouvoirs reconnus par la loi. C’était un travail très gratifiant, mais j’avais besoin de changement. Changement, changement, changement, les humains ont besoin de changement ».