Daniel Grafton Hill III 1923-2003

Daniel Grafton Hill III was born in Independence, Missouri but raised primarily in Colorado, Oregon and California. He was the son of Daniel Grafton Hill II, an ordained minister with the African Methodist Episcopal Church, and of May Edwards Hill, a social worker and home maker.

Photo: Daniel G. Hill and his three sisters from left: Margaret, Doris and Jeanne, [ca. 1937-1939]
Click to see a larger image (100K)
Daniel G. Hill and his three sisters from left:
Margaret, Doris and Jeanne, [ca. 1937-1939]
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-9-2-6.2
Archives of Ontario, I0027949

After growing up in the United States, graduating from Howard University and serving in the highly segregated American Army during World War II, Daniel Hill decided to leave his native country and move to Canada.

In 1950, he began graduate studies at the University of Toronto. After obtaining his PhD in sociology, Daniel Hill became a pioneer in human rights in Canada and a prominent writer and historian in the field of the history of Blacks in Canada.

The next section on Family Life contains information about Daniel Hill’s personal life. Here are some of the accomplishments for which he was best known in Canadian public life.

Professional Milestones
Cover: Negros in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a Minority Group
Cover page of PhD Thesis by Daniel G. Hill,
“Negroes in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a
Minority Group”, September 1960
Courtesy of Lawrence Hill
  • In 1960, he completed his ground-breaking dissertation called Negroes in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a Minority Group, as his PhD thesis for the University of Toronto.

  • In 1962, shortly after obtaining his PhD from the Faculty of Social Work at the University of Toronto, Daniel Hill was appointed as the first director of the Ontario Human Rights Commission. The Commission was the first of its kind in Canada, and under Hill’s stewardship it went on to become a major public agency in the Province of Ontario. However, at its inception in 1962, it was a tiny operation located on York Street with just a handful of employees.

  • In 1971, Hill was appointed Chairman of the Ontario Human Rights Commission.

  • In 1973, Hill resigned from the Commission to go into private business. He set up a company called Daniel G. Hill & Associates. It was a small business run out of his home in Don Mills, and the associates consisted of his wife Donna Hill and, for a year or so, his son Lawrence Hill. Nonetheless, Daniel G. Hill & Associates became the first human rights consulting firm in Canada, and advised numerous clients including the Government of Ontario, the City of Toronto, the Toronto Star, the Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission, and the Government of Bermuda.

  • In 1978, along with his wife Donna Hill and a few close friends, Daniel Hill founded the Ontario Black History Society-the first organization of its kind in the country.
Cover: Book cover from, “The Freedom-Seekers: Blacks In Early Canada”, by Daniel G. Hill, 1981
Book cover from, “The Freedom-Seekers: Blacks In Early Canada”, by Daniel G. Hill, 1981
Reference Code: 301.45196071 H54
.Archives of Ontario Library
Reprinted with permission of Nelson, a division of Thomson Learning: www.thomsonrights.com. Fax 800 730-2215.

  • In 1978, Hill was appointed by the Attorney General of Ontario to conduct a major study of the practices of religious cults, sects and mind development groups. His report was tabled in 1980.

  • In 1981, he published his major book, The Freedom Seekers: Blacks in Early Canada. Although other scholars had already written about the history of Blacks in Canada, Daniel Hill became the first person in the country to write a popular history on the subject. The book found a broad readership, and remained in print for 21 years until its final publisher, Stoddart Publishing Company, went bankrupt in 2002. Sadly, The Freedom Seekers disappeared with its publisher, although it remains available in Canadian libraries.

  • In 1984, Hill was appointed Ombudsman for the Province of Ontario. He held this position until his retirement at age 65 in 1989.

Daniel Hill developed diabetes in 1966, at the age of 43. He did not publicly acknowledge the illness until after his retirement. The illness became increasingly debilitating through the 1990s, and Daniel Hill finally died of diabetes-related complications in 2003.

Dan G. Hill III Audio Clip:

To listen to an excerpt from an interview by Tom Fulton on CJRT in "wav" format (612K) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (612K).

“One of the reasons we founded the Ontario Black History Society is because Black children from the islands, from the United States, from Africa have been told that they have no heritage here. They will relate to it (the exhibit) because they will know that their Black ancestors who came from Africa and who came to Canada and the United States did indeed contribute to the life and to the community and to the building of this country.”

Voice of Daniel G. Hill from interview by Tom Fulton for
CJRT’s “On the Arts” program, January 30, 1981
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-11-0-14
Archives of Ontario

Some six years before DGH III was born, his father and other educated black men were being summoned by their peers to “honour the race”, prove themselves as worthy American citizens and pave the way to a more equitable place in American society by enlisting in a military camp in Fort Des Moines, Iowa, where 1,250 black American men were to be trained as officers to serve in the American Forces in World War I. Daniel Hill II, the father of Daniel Hill III, attended this camp and became an officer in the war, eventually serving as a Second Lieutenant in the 368th infantry division in the trenches of France.

Photo: Black officers at WW1 training school in Des Moines, Iowa, [ca. 1917-1918]
Click to see a larger image (90K)
Black officers at WWI training school in
Des Moines, Iowa, [ca. 1917-1918]
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-9-2-18
Archives of Ontario, I0027970
This summons was significant because it trumpeted the profound desire of American Blacks to prove their equality and to win equitable treatment-at war and in society at large. It revealed much about the thinking that Daniel Hill III inherited from his parents and from middle class black society in the United States. He believed that it was his moral duty to prove his worth and earn a just place in society by becoming educated and successful in the working world, and by serving his country honourably in wartime.

To Read More about the Training at Des Moines, Click Here,

Daniel Grafton Hill III 1923-2003

Daniel Grafton Hill III est né à Independence, au Missouri, mais il a surtout grandi au Colorado, en Orégon et en Californie. Il était le fils de Daniel Grafton Hill II, un ministre du culte de l’African Methodist Episcopal Church, et de May Edwards Hill, travailleuse sociale et femme d’intérieur.

Photographie : Daniel G. Hill et ses trois sœurs; de gauche à droite: Margaret, Doris et Jeanne, [vers 1937-1939]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (100ko)
Daniel G. Hill et ses trois sœurs; de gauche à droite:
Margaret, Doris et Jeanne, [vers 1937-1939]
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-9-2-6.2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027949

Après avoir grandi aux États Unis, avoir reçu son diplôme de l’université Howard et servi dans l’armée américaine où il y avait beaucoup de ségrégation pendant la Seconde guerre mondiale, Daniel Hill a décidé de quitter son pays natal pour venir au Canada.

En 1950, il a entrepris des études à l’Université de Toronto. Après avoir obtenu son doctorat en sociologie, Daniel Hill est devenu un pionnier dans le domaine des droits de la personne au Canada ainsi qu’un écrivain et un historien de renom en ce qui concerne l’histoire des Noirs au Canada.

Dans la prochaine section, nous présentons l’aspect familial de la vie personnelle de Daniel Hill. Voici les réalisations qui lui ont valu une renommée dans la société canadienne.











Étapes de sa carrière
Couverture: Negros in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a Minority Group
Couverture de PhD Thesis by Daniel G. Hill,
“Negroes in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a
Minority Group”, septembre 1960
Gracieuseté de Lawrence Hill
  • En 1960, il termine sa dissertation innovatrice intitulée Negroes in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a Minority Group et l’a présente comme thèse de doctorat à l’Université de Toronto.
  • En 1962, peu après avoir obtenu son doctorat de la faculté de travail social de l’Université de Toronto, Daniel Hill est nommé premier directeur de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne. C’était le premier organisme du genre au Canada, et sous la direction de M. Hill, il est devenu l’une des plus importantes organisations publiques de l’Ontario. Toutefois, au moment de sa formation en 1962, il ne s’agissait que d’un petit organisme de quelques employés seulement situé sur la rue York.

  • En 1971, M. Hill est nommé président de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne.

  • En 1973, M. Hill remet sa démission afin d’ouvrir une entreprise privée. Il établit une société appelée Daniel G. Hill & Associates. Il s’agissait d’une petite entreprise qu’il menait à partir de son domicile à Don Mills, et ses associés étaient sa femme, Donna Hill et, pour environ un an, son fils, Lawrence Hill. Cependant Daniel G. Hill & Associates est devenu la première société d’experts-conseils en matière de droits de la personne au Canada et conseillaient de nombreux clients, notamment le gouvernement de l’Ontario, la cité de Toronto, le Toronto Star, la Commission des droits de la personne de la Nouvelle Écosse et le gouvernement des Bermudes.

  • En 1978, lui, sa conjointe Donna Hill et quelques proches amis fondent la Ontario Black History Society - la première organisation de ce genre au pays.
Couverture:
Couverture de “The Freedom-Seekers:
Blacks In Early Canada”, par Daniel G. Hill, 1981
Code de référence : 301.45196071 H54
Archives publiques de l'Ontario Library
Ré-imprimé avec la permission de Nelson une division
de Thomson Learning: www.thomsonrights.com.( Site disponible en anglais seulement)

  • En 1978, le procureur général de l’Ontario nomme Daniel Hill à la direction d’une importante étude sur les pratiques dans les cultes religieux, les sectes et les groupes de développement spirituel. Son rapport a été présenté en 1980.

  • En 1981, il publie son plus important ouvrage, The Freedom Seekers: Blacks in Early Canada (En quête de liberté : les Noirs au début de la colonisation au Canada) Bien que d’autres érudits aient déjà écrit sur l’histoire des Noirs au Canada, Daniel Hill était la première personne au pays à écrire une histoire populaire sur le sujet. Le livre fut accueilli chaleureusement par beaucoup de lecteurs et fut publié pendant 21 ans jusqu’à ce que sa dernière maison de publication, Stoddart Publishing Company, fasse faillite en 2002. Malheureusement, The Freedom Seekers (En quête de liberté) a disparu avec son éditeur, mais on peut toujours le trouver dans les bibliothèques canadiennes.

  • En 1984, Daniel Hill est nommé ombudsman de l’Ontario. Il a occupé ce poste jusqu’au moment de sa retraite en 1989, à l’âge de 65.

En 1966, à l’âge de 43 ans, Daniel Hill commence à souffrir du diabète. Il n’a admis cette maladie qu’après sa retraite. Au cours des années 1990, la maladie est devenue de plus en plus débilitante et il est décédé de complications causées par cette maladie en 2003. .

Dan G. Hill III Audio Clip:

Pour écouter un extrait d’une entrevue par Tom Felton de la station CJRT en format wav (612 ko), . cliquez ici. L’extrait est également disponible en "format aif (612 ko)..

« Une des raisons pour laquelle nous avons fondé La Ontario Black History Society est que les enffants noirs des îles, des États-Unis, d’Afrique, se sont fait dire qu’ils n’ont pas de patrimoine ici. Ils vont s’y reconnaître (dans l’exposition) parce qu’ils vont savoir que leurs ancêtres venus d’Afrique au Canada ou aux États-Unis ont certainement contribute à la collectivité et au développement de ce pays. »


Voix de Daniel G. Hill, interviewé par Tom Felton
« On The Art », CJRT, 30 janvier 1981
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-11-0-14
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Environ six ans avant la naissance de Daniel G. Hill III, son père et d’autres hommes noirs ont reçu un appel de leurs pairs à « honorer la race », de prouver qu’ils étaient de dignes citoyens américains et de préparer la voie pour que les Noirs aient une place équitable au sein de la société américaine en s’enrôlant dans un camp militaire à Fort Des Moines, en Iowa, où 1 250 Américains de race noire devaient être formés afin de devenir officiers et de servir dans les Forces américaines pendant la Première guerre mondiale. Daniel Hill II, le père de Daniel Hill III, s’est enrôlé dans ce camp et est devenu officier pendant la guerre, servant comme sous lieutenant au sein de la 368e division d’infanterie dans les tranchées de France.

Photographie: Officiers noirs au camp de Des Moines, Iowa, [vers 1917-1918]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (90ko)
Officiers noirs au camp de
Des Moines, Iowa, [vers 1917-1918]
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-9-2-18
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027970
Cette appel était importante parce qu’elle a permis aux Noirs américains de montrer leur profond désir de prouver leur égalité et d’obtenir un traitement égal, tant à la guerre que dans la société en général. On peut voir qu’en grande partie, Daniel Hill III avait hérité sa philosophie de ses parents et de la société noire de la classe moyenne aux États Unis. Il croyait qu’il avait une obligation morale de prouver sa valeur et d’avoir une place équitable dans la société en devenant instruit et prospère dans le monde du travail et en servant honorablement son pays en temps de guerre.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de l’entraînement à Des Moines, cliquez ici