Photo: Daniel G. Hill with cult study he authored, 1980
Click to see a larger image (114K)
Daniel G. Hill with cult study he authored, 1980
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-9-2-13
Archives of Ontario, I0027959

This online exhibit features Dr. Daniel G. Hill III, who was born in Independence, Missouri in 1923, left his country to commence graduate studies at the University of Toronto in 1950, and thereafter made Canada his home.

Daniel Hill became a prominent public figure in Canada. He was a lecturer at the University of Toronto, the first Director and later the Chair of the Ontario Human Rights Commission, a prominent writer and community activist with a sustained interest in the history of Blacks in Canada, a business person who created Canada’s first human rights consulting firm, and in the last five years of his working life, he served as Ombudsman of Ontario.

With his wife Donna Bender Hill, Daniel Hill raised three children - Dan, Lawrence and Karen - who went on to become involved in the arts in Canada. He died in 2003.







The Origins of this Exhibit

In the fall of 2006, the staff members of the Archives of Ontario decided to celebrate the life and achievements of Daniel Grafton Hill III, who donated his substantial collection of documents, letters, photos, films, tape recorded interviews and artifacts to the Archives in 1991. Given that Daniel Hill was a pioneer in the field of human rights in Canada, and that he served as the first director of the Ontario Human Rights Commission, the Archives staff believed that it would be a fitting tribute to his life to present a special online exhibit at a time that coincided with the 45th anniversary of the enactment in June, 1962 of the Ontario Human Rights Code-the law that empowered the Commission.

Photo: Lawerence Hill
Once the decision was made to feature the life and times of Daniel Hill, the Archives invited his son, writer Lawrence Hill, to prepare the exhibit from a personal and family perspective.

Accordingly, this exhibit was researched, conceived and written by Lawrence Hill, who, aided by a team of Archives employees, spent many days combing through his father’s family papers, photos and other holdings. In the process, Lawrence Hill also sought the advice and input of his mother Donna Hill and his siblings Dan Hill and Karen Hill.

Click to see a larger image (66K)
Lawrence Hill (detail), 2006
Photo by Lisa Sakulensky
Courtesy of Lawrence Hill

A Note About Language

Viewers of this exhibit will notice a number of terms used to describe Blacks in Canada and the United States. The language used to describe people of African heritage-in academic, government and popular settings-evolved in fascinating and dramatic ways over the course of the life of Daniel Hill, who was born in 1923 and died in 2003.

At the time of his birth in the United States, the terms “coloured” and “Negro” were commonly accepted and used, and most people of African heritage in North America did not consider them to be negative terms. Daniel Hill himself used the terms in his common speech and in his early writings. For example, in 1960, the title of his groundbreaking PhD dissertation for the University of Toronto was “Negroes in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a Minority Group”.

The word “Negro” even appeared in Toronto newspaper headlines in the 1960s and 1970s. When Daniel Hill was named chair of the Ontario Human Rights Commission in 1971, a Toronto newspaper ran a story with the headline, “Negro appointed chairman of Ontario human rights board; Indian named commissioner.”
Headline from The Globe and Mail, “Daniel Hill succeeds Louis Fine, Negro appointed chairman of human rights board; Indian named commissioner”, December 24, 1971
Click to see a larger image (91K)
Headline from The Globe and Mail, “Daniel Hill succeeds Louis Fine, Negro appointed
chairman of human rights board; Indian named commissioner”, December 24, 1971
Daniel G. Hill fonds
Reference Code: F 2130-2-1-14
Archives of Ontario

However, as people of African heritage pressed for equal treatment in North American society in the 1960s and 1970s, they sought more satisfactory ways to define themselves and to have others speak of them. In recent decades, some Canadians of African ancestry identify themselves as “Black”, and others as “African-Canadians”. In this exhibit, terms are used as they appeared in speeches, newspaper articles, photo captions, media interviews and books over the course of Daniel Hill’s life.

PPhotographie: Daniel G. Hill avec l'étude qu'il a écrite sur les cultes, 1980
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (114ko)
Daniel G. Hill avec l'étude qu'il a écrite sur
les cultes, 1980
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-9-2-13
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027959

Cette exposition virtuelle met en vedette Daniel G. Hill III, né à Independence au Missouri, en 1923. Il a quitté son pays natal pour entreprendre des études supérieures à l’Université de Toronto en 1950 et a ensuite adopté le Canada comme pays de résidence.

Daniel Hill est devenu un personnage célèbre au Canada. Il était conférencier à l’Université de Toronto et a été le premier directeur et plus tard le président de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP), un écrivain célèbre et un activiste communautaire qui s’intéressait beaucoup à l’histoire des Noirs au Canada. Il était également un homme d’affaire et a fondé la première société d’experts-conseils sur les droits de la personne au Canada. De plus, au cours des cinq dernières années de sa vie professionnelle, il était ombudsman de l’Ontario.

Sa conjointe Donna Bender Hill et lui ont élevé trois enfants, Dan, Lawrence et Karen, qui se sont intéressés au domaine des arts au Canada. Daniel Hill est décédé en 2003.





Les origines de l'exposition

À l’automne 2006, les membres du personnel des Archives publiques de l’Ontario ont décidé de célébrer la vie et les réalisations de Daniel Grafton Hill III qui avait donné son importante collection de documents, de lettres, de photos, de films, d’entrevues enregistrées et d’autres objets aux Archives en 1991. Comme Daniel Hill était un pionnier dans le domaine des droits de la personne au Canada, et qu’il avait été le premier directeur de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, le personnel des Archives a cru qu’il serait opportun de lui rendre hommage en présentant une exposition virtuelle spéciale le jour du 45e anniversaire de l’entrée en vigueur du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario en juin 1962, la loi par laquelle la Commission a été créée.

Photographie: Lawrence Hill
Lorsqu’on a décidé de présenter la vie et l’époque de Daniel Hill, les Archives ont invité son fils, l’écrivain Lawrence Hill, à préparer l’exposition selon une perspective personnelle et familiale.

C’est donc Lawrence Hill qui a effectué les recherches, conçu cette exposition et en a rédigé les textes. Avec l’aide d’une équipe d’employés des Archives, il a consacré bien des heures à examiner les documents familiaux, les photos et les autres objets personnels de son père. Pendant ce processus, Lawrence Hill a également demandé les conseils et les idées de sa mère, Donna Hill, de son frère Dan Hill et de sa sœur Karen Hill.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (66ko)
Lawrence Hill (détail), 2006
Photo by Lisa Sakulensky
Gracieuseté de Lawrence Hill

Un mot sur le language

Les personnes qui visiteront cette exposition remarqueront un certain nombre de termes utilisés pour décrire les gens de race noire au Canada et aux États-Unis. Le langage utilisé pour décrire les gens de descendance africaine, que ce soit dans le milieu universitaire, gouvernemental ou populaire, a évolué de façon fascinante et dramatique au cours de la vie de Daniel Hill, né en 1923 et décédé en 2003.

Lorsqu’il est né aux États-Unis, les termes « coloured » (en français, « gens de couleur ») et « negro » (« nègre ») étaient couramment acceptés et utilisés, et la plupart des gens de descendance africaine en Amérique du Nord ne les considéraient pas négatifs. Daniel Hill lui-même utilisait les termes dans son langage de tous les jours et dans ses premiers écrits. Par exemple, en 1960, le titre de sa thèse de doctorat innovatrice à l’Université de Toronto était nègres in Toronto: A Sociological Study of a Minority Group (Les Noirs à Toronto : étude sociologique d’un groupe minoritaire).

Le mot « negro » est même apparu dans les grands titres des journaux de Toronto dans les années 1960 et 1970. Lorsque Daniel Hill a été nommé président de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne en 1971, un journal de Toronto a publié un article intitulé Negro appointed chairman of Ontario human rights board; Indian named commissioner (Un nègre nommé président de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne et un Indien nommé commissaire).
Manchette du Globe and Mail, “Daniel Hill succeeds Louis Fine, Negro appointed chairman of human rights board; Indian named commissioner”, 24 décembre 1971
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (91ko)
Manchette du Globe and Mail, “Daniel Hill succeeds Louis Fine, Negro appointed
chairman of human rights board; Indian named commissioner”, 24 décembre 1971
Fonds Daniel G. Hill
Code de référence : F 2130-2-1-14
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cependant, comme les gens de race noire exigeaient un traitement égal dans la société nord américaine dans les années 1960 et 1970, ils ont cherché des façons plus satisfaisantes de se définir et des termes plus appropriés à utiliser lorsqu’on parlait d’eux. Au cours des dernières décennies, certains Canadiens de race noire ont utilisé pour s’identifier le terme « Blacks » (« Noirs ») et d’autres utilisent « African-Canadiens » (« Afro-canadiens »). Dans cette exposition, nous avons utilisé les termes qui apparaissent dans les discours, les articles de journaux, les légendes sous les photos, les entrevues avec les médias et les livres de l’époque de Daniel Hill.