The War of 1812: Loyalty and Treason - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Letter Wartime in Upper Canada, which had a mixed population of loyalists and more recent American immigrants, posed problems for individuals and the government. General Brock began the war pessimistic about the loyalty of a significant part of the population and doubts remained about the reliability of the newcomers throughout the war. The level of political disaffection or pro-American sentiment in the province is difficult to measure. The refusal of the Legislative Assembly to suspend Habeas Corpus early in the war has been interpreted as disloyal or a principled stand against arbitrary government, depending on the view of the writer.

There is no doubt that some residents actively helped American forces when parts of Upper Canada were under military occupation. Joseph Wilcocks and his Canadian Volunteers fought on the American side at Fort Erie (Wilcocks was killed during the attack on the siege works in September). Others left the province during the war for the United States, possibly out of loyalty to that country, possibly to avoid militia service or possibly to avoid the destruction visited by both sides along the border areas.

Loyalty to the British connection and support for the military effort was also part of the wartime reality. The role of the militia in the defence of Upper Canada has been the subject of debate for decades. However, many served and a number were killed or disabled and provisions were made for widows and orphans pensions through public and private sources.

 

[Return to top of page]


Loyal & Patriotic Society
Letter The Loyal and Patriotic Society was established to raise and distribute money on behalf of militiamen and their families who faced hardship arising from the war. The Society heard submissions from militiamen and their dependants and issued sums based on the level of hardship.
Broadsheet announcing the resolutions of the inaugural meeting of the Loyal and Patriotic Society, 1812


On March 19th, 1814 a committee consisting of Duncan Cameron, William Allen, Quetton St. George, Thomas Ridout and Alexander Wood heard an application from John White, a carpenter from Quebec who had served as a volunteer on the Detroit frontier.

“He was charged with Boats of stores by Gen’s Proctor on the retreat from Amherstburg up the River Thames …he proceeded on his route to Burlington but was overtaken by the Enemy at the Battle of Moravian Town, plundered of all his money..wounded and left for dead”

The Board awarded him one hundred dollars in compensation.


Click here to see a larger image (332K)
Broadsheet announcing the resolutions of the inaugural meeting of the Loyal and Patriotic Society, 1812
Miscellaneous collection
Broadsheet
Reference Code: F 775, box MU 2102
Archives of Ontario




John Strachan was the first Anglican Bishop of Toronto, and a leading supporter of the British connection in the province during and after the War of 1812. He was instrumental in organizing the Loyal and Patriotic Society.

“I am sorry indeed for the calamities in Upper Canada, & especially at York; but I have not heard any particulars of our disasters there except from the American newspapers, & verbal accounts from Montreal. … In my sermon on the [Fast] day of May 28th I recommended subscribing to the Patriotic Society of Upper Canada. We are going to collect [here], & I shall send subscription papers to the other places where they propose contributing.”

Extract from an original Letter from C. Stewart Strachan to his brother John Strachan (York)
June 7, 1813
John Strachan fonds
Reference Code: F 983, box MU 2893
Archives of Ontario

Lithograph: Right Rev. John Strachan, D.D., [ca. 1865]

Click here to see a larger image (212K)
Right Rev. John Strachan, D.D., [ca. 1865]
Artist unknown
Lithograph
Reference Code: S 2148
Archives of Ontario




The Final Report of the Loyal and Patriotic Society

Final Report of the Loyal and Patriotic Society, 1817

Click here to see a larger image (177K)
Final Report of the Loyal and Patriotic Society, 1817
Loyal and Patriotic Society
Book
Reference Code: 971 .034, pages 246 and 247
Archives of Ontario Library

The report provides an entry for each payment made from the funds administered by the Society between 1813 and 1817. The entry for Daniel Springer of the London District reads in part:

“Captain Springer exerted himself in defending the province, by actively performing his duty on all occasions; he as usual therefore became obnoxious to the enemy and the disaffected, a party of whom seized him on the 1st February, 1814; and after binding him, took his own horses and sleigh, and placing him in it carried him to Kentucky…”



In recognition the society awarded Springer and his family £50.

One of the contributors to the fund was Elizabeth Posthuma Simcoe, £25, the wife of the first Lt. Governor of Upper Canada and the artist responsible for some of the illustrations in this display.

[Return to top of page]


Land Grants

Letter Those who came through the war able-bodied were eligible for land grants, in part obtained through the seizure of lands of those found to have been disloyal. Loyal service was also marked through personal advancement, as the subsequent careers of John Beverley Robinson, John Strachan, William Hamilton Merritt, the Ridouts and the Nelles' attest to, at least in part.

 

 

 

[Portrait of William Hamilton Merritt], 1860
William Notman
Black and white negative
Reference Code: S 657
Archives of Ontario

Photo: [Portrait of William Hamilton Merritt], 1860



Zorra Township patent plan (detail)

In the lower left corner on this plan we can see which parts of land were granted to William Hamilton Merritt for his service as captain of a company in the Troops of Provincial Light Dragoons. He received a total of 800 acres (concession 2, lots 4, 7 & 8; and concession 4, lot 8).

Click here to see a larger image (454K)
Zorra township patent plan (detail), [n.d.]
A plan
Reference Code: RG 1-100, C-71, Map A.14, (AO 5973)
Archives of Ontario




The acreage allotted varied with the rank occupied by an individual during the conflict. John Kennedy from Scarborough would receive 100 acres for his service as private in Captain Cameron's flank company and Joel Judd, a sergeant in the Incorporated Militia, was granted 200 acres.

Click to see a larger image (631K)
Register of militia grant, 1820-1850
Textual record
Reference Code: RG 1-152-0-1
Archives of Ontario

Register of militia grant, 1820-1850

[Return to top of page]


Treason

Legislation

Letter On March 14, 1814, the Legislature of Upper Canada passed three acts as emergency measures. The first limited the right to habeas corpus applications for those accused of treason; the second provided for trials for treason and related charges in districts outside the area where the alleged offences occurred; the third act, and the one that had the greatest impact, was the Alien Act which made it an offence for anyone to have left the province after July 1812 for the United States.

Upper Canada Statutes, Cap VI

Click to see a larger image (484K)
An Act to empower his Majesty, for a limited period,
to secure and detain such persons as his Majesty shall
suspect of a Treasonable adherence to the enemy.
Statutes of Upper Canada
54 George III
Cap. VI, 1814
Textual record
Archives of Ontario

Upper Canada Statutes, Cap. IX

Click to see a larger image (467K)
An Act to declare certain Persons, therein described,
Aliens, and to vest their Estates in His Majesty.
Statutes of Upper Canada
54 George III
Cap IX, 1814
Textual record
Archives of Ontario

Special Commissioners were appointed under the Act to investigate individuals accused under its terms. The Commissions had the authority to declare the individual an alien and thus ineligible to hold land in Upper Canada.

The passage of these acts and the subsequent "Bloody Assize" at Ancaster was the direct result of the reverses suffered by the British in the Niagara and Western Districts during 1813.

Upper Canada Statues


Those inclined to support the invaders were in a position to do so, and many personal scores were settled through the destruction of property of those who were loyal or by the kidnapping of active militia officers.

Many of the prisoners tried at Ancaster had been captured in a raid by militia under the command of Colonel Bostwick on a party of U.S. troops and Canadian irregulars near London.

Click to see a larger image (510K)
An Act for the more impartial and effectual trial and
punishment of High Treason, and Misprision of High
Treason, and Treasonable practices in this province.
Statutes of Upper Canada
54 George III
Cap. XI, 1814
Textual record
Archives of Ontario

 

The near anarchy in the region west of the Grand River after Proctor's defeat at Moraviantown made it impossible to hold the trials in that area as would be the normal procedure. It was also feared that Justices of the Peace friendly or sympathetic to the accused would grant bail, allowing them to slip over the border or behind enemy lines.

“To the Sheriff of the said district [Johnstown District], his deputy or either of them. Greeting. Whereas information on the Oath of good and lawful persons residing within this province is made to me as a commissioner that Ebenezer Sandrus, late of [Yonge], has been guilty or has given great leans [suspicion] of his being guilty of treasonable practices.You are therefore commended (in the King's Majesty's name) to apprehend the body of him, the said Ebenezer Sandrus, now residing at Gananoqua [sic] in said district and bring him before His Majesty's commissioners appointed and authorized by virtue of the said act to here and determin (sic) such cases and will sit at the court house in Brockville on Tuesday 16th August 1814.”

Extract from an original warrant
for treasonable practice, August 14, 1814
Joel Stone family fonds
Reference Code: F 536, box MU 2892
Archives of Ontario



[Return to top of page]


Trials

Letter John Beverley Robinson served as the Acting Attorney General through most of the War of 1812. He took the lead in prosecuting those accused of High Treason at Ancaster in the Spring of 1814 and secured the conviction of 15 men. All were sentenced to hang, but 7 were eventually commuted to deportation. The remaining 8 were sentenced to be executed by hanging at Ancaster in July.



Sir John Beverly Robinson, Chief Justice,
Upper Canada, [ca. 1840]
Archives of Ontario documentary art collection
Hoppner Meyer
Print
Reference Code: C 281-0-0-0-143
Archives of Ontario, I0003072

Print: Sir John Beverly Robinson, Chief Justice, Upper Canada, [ca. 1840]

“It is wished, and very wisely, to overawe the spirit of disaffection in the Province by examples of condign punishment by the laws of the land. Execution of traitors by military power would have comparatively little influence, the people would consider them as arbitrary acts of punishment but would not acknowledge them as the natural effects of justice.”

Copy of a letter from J. B. Robinson to Sir Gordon Drummond, March 25, 1814
Pre-Confederation Correspondence of the Attorney General
Reference Code: RG 4-1, box 22
Archives of Ontario



To listen to an excerpt from this letter in wav format (683K), click here.To listen to an excerpt from this letter in "wav" format (683k) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (683k).





“Allow me in a few words to report for his Honors information by his order contained in your letter in that about 70 person stand indicted for high treason, of these about 50 have left the Country and of course will be pursued by the ordinary course of outlawry….[goes on to describe the acts which led to the guilty verdicts]…John Dunham…was one of the ringleaders of the rebels in the London District, who carried several militia officers, and inhabitants, prisoners to Buffalo - his house was their headquarters…Dalton Lindsay, George Peacock, Benjamin Simmonds - three of the rebels in the service of the enemy in the District of London in Nov. last, making prisoners of our militia officers…and advancing to destroy Dover and take the public Stores there, were taken in open rebellion by Col. Bostwick's party of volunteer militia….Aaron Stevens -- A man formerly in the confidence of the government, of respectable family and property, convicted of having acted as a spy for the enemy - going for that purpose to Burlington, when General Vincent commanded there, surveying the works and garrison and conveying the intelligence to Gen'l Boyd for a large pecuniary reward. He was, besides, constantly with the enemy when they possessed Fort George, and often seen with them in arms.”

Extract from a copy of a letter from J. B. Robinson to Captain Loring
Secretary to Gordon Drummond, June 19, 1814
John Beverley Robinson family fonds
Reference Code: F 44, box MU 5911
Archives of Ontario



To listen to an excerpt from this letter in wav format (612K), click here.To listen to an excerpt from this letter in "wav" format (612k) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (612k).


Extract from a copy of a letter from J. B. Robinson to Captain Loring, Secretary to Gordon Drummond, June 19, 1814

Click to see a larger image (427K)
Extract from a copy of a letter from J. B. Robinson
to Captain Loring, Secretary to Gordon Drummond,
June 19, 1814
John Beverley Robinson family fonds
Reference Code: F 44, box MU 5911
Archives of Ontario

“[the prisoners shall be] hanged by the neck, but not until they be dead, to be cut down alive, and their entrails to be taken out and burnt before their faces, and their heads cut off and their bodies divided into four quarters and their heads and quarters disposed of at the King's pleasure…”

Extract from a copy of the order reciting the
sentence under the Treason Act, 1814
Pre-Confederation Correspondence of the Attorney General
Reference Code: RG 4-1, box 2
Archives of Ontario



It is unclear whether the full rigour of the sentence against the eight condemned men was carried out. Of the seven whose death sentences were reprieved, one escaped and two died in custody before they could be deported from Upper Canada.

[Return to top of page]


Aftermath

Letter The poster to the right lists all those convicted at Ancaster of High Treason, those outlawed but not captured for trial for serving with American forces and all those who's property was forfeited through the proceedings of the Special Commissions under the Alien Act.

The broadsheet would have been distributed to judicial and local officials, so far as is known this copy sent to the Clerk of the Peace for the Newcastle District is the only one to survive.

Click here to see a larger image (229K)
Treason Poster, 1821
Newcastle District Clerk of the Peace
high treason in War of 1812 poster
Broadsheet
Reference Code: RG 22-3782
Archives of Ontario

 

Treason Poster, 1821

This item comes from General Gordon Drummond’s Letterbook, which contains copies of his outgoing correspondence.

Letter from Edward McMahon to Thomas Merritt Sheriff of the Niagara District , September 20, 1814

Click to see a larger image (383K)
Letter from Edward McMahon to Thomas Merritt Sheriff of
the Niagara District , September 20, 1814
Sir Gordon Drummond fonds
Reference Code: F 955
Archives of Ontario

Thomas McMachon served as his secretary in the fall of 1814. The authorities reacted to invasion and treason by contemplating punishment of the families of those executed or declared outlaw, though there is no documentary proof that the order was carried out. The severity of an order like this shows the depths of feeling in the province after two years of war and the kind of extraordinary measures the authorities were willing to take in the interests of security.

The War of 1812 seems like a small matter to later generations but it affected the whole population of Upper Canada in a profound way.

 

Sir,

Having reason to apprehend that the Wives and families remaining behind of those persons who have fled from the Niagara District and joined the enemy, and of those also who have been executed for Treason, or sent out of the Province, afford Information to the Enemy prejudicial to the Public Service; and as the Property of such persons by law reverts to the Crown in consequence of their Treason, their families therefore can never hope to enjoy it and can have no other object by remaining in the Country than for the purpose of affording such Information. His Honor the President has therefore commanded me to desire that you will forthwith notify those females etc. under mentioned that they are to assemble at Chippawa on the 12th of the next month (and any others of their description who may be within your knowledge) in order to their being sent across from thence to the American…”

Extract from a copy of a letter from Edward McMahon to Thomas Merritt Sheriff of the Niagara District , September 20, 1814
Sir Gordon Drummond fonds
Reference Code: F 955
Archives of Ontario

[Return to top of page]

La guerre de 1812 : Loyauté et trahison - bannière

Table des matières


Lettre La vie en temps de guerre comportait son lot de problèmes pour les particuliers comme pour le gouvernement du Haut-Canada, dont la population comptait des Loyalistes et des immigrants américains de plus fraîche date. Au début des hostilités, le général Brock était plutôt pessimiste quant à la loyauté d’une bonne part de la population et des doutes au sujet de la fiabilité des nouveaux venus persistèrent au sujet. Il reste difficile de jauger le niveau de désaffection politique ou de sentiment pro-américain qui pouvait régner dans la province à l’époque.

Le refus par l’Assemblée législative de suspendre la procédure d’habeas corpus dans les premiers temps de la guerre a été considéré soit comme un acte déloyal, soit comme une opposition de principe à l’arbitraire du gouvernement, selon le point de vue de l’auteur.

Il n’est pas douteux que certains résidents prêtèrent une aide active aux forces américaines lors de l’occupation militaire de certaines parties du Haut-Canada. Joseph Wilcocks et ses Volontaires canadiens combattirent du côté américain au fort Érié (Wilcocks devait périr en septembre, pendant l’attaque des travaux de siège). D’autres devaient quitter la province pour les États-Unis au cours de la guerre, peut-être par loyauté envers ce pays, pour s’éviter de servir dans la milice ou encore pour fuir la dévastation qu’entraînait la présence des deux camps dans les régions frontalières.

La loyauté envers la métropole britannique et le soutien de l’effort militaire faisaient aussi partie des réalités de la période. Le rôle de la milice dans la défense du Haut-Canada a fait l’objet de débats pendant des décennies. Il faut cependant noter qu’un grand nombre s’étaient enrôlés, dont beaucoup étaient morts ou restés invalides, et que des dispositions avaient été prises pour pensionner les veuves et les orphelins au moyen de sources privées et publiques.

[ Haut de la page ]


La Loyal and Patriotic Society

Lettre La Loyal and Patriotic Society avait été instituée pour recueillir des fonds et les distribuer aux miliciens et à leurs proches réduits au dénuement en raison de la guerre. La Society recevait les demandes des miliciens et des personnes à leur charge et leur remettait certaines sommes, attribuées selon les besoins.

[Affiche annonçant les résolutions prises lors de réunion inaugurale de la Loyal and Patriotic Society], 1812

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (448ko)
[Affiche annonçant les résolutions prises
lors de réunion inaugurale de la Loyal and
Patriotic Society], 1812
Affiche
Collection mixte
Code de référence : F 775, MU 2102
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Le 19 mars 1814, un comité composé de Duncan Cameron, William Allen, Quetton St. George, Thomas Ridout et Alexander Wood recevait une demande d’aide de John White, menuisier de Québec qui avait servi en qualité de volontaire sur la frontière de Détroit.

« Lors de la retraite d’Amherstburg, le général Proctor lui avait confié la responsabilité de navires chargés de provisions qui remontaient la Thames. … En route vers Burlington, il avait été rejoint par l’ennemi au moment de la bataille de Moraviantown, dépouillé de tout son argent…, blessé et laissé pour mort. »

Le comité lui accorda 100 dollars à titre d’indemnisation.


John Strachan a été le premier évêque anglican de Toronto et l'un des principaux partisans du lien avec la Grande-Bretagne dans la province. Il a joué un rôle essentiel dans la mise sur pied la Loyal and Patriotic Society.

« Je suis réellement consterné par le cataclysme qui s'est produit dans le Haut-Canada et, en particulier, à York; mais je n'ai appris aucun détail sur les désastres qui nous sont advenus à cet endroit, sauf par les journaux américains et des récits de Montréal. … Dans mon sermon du jour [de jeûne] du 28 mai, j'ai recommandé l'adhésion à la Patriotic Society of Uper Canada. Nous allons faire une collecte ici, et j'enverrai les documents d'adhésion aux autres endroits où l'on se propose de contribuer. »

Lettre de C. Stewart Strachan à son frère,
John Strachan (York), 7 juin 1813
Fonds John Strachan
Transcription d'un extrait
Code de référence : F 983, MU 2893
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Lithographie : Right Rev. John Strachan, D.D., [vers 1865]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (212ko)
Right Rev. John Strachan, D.D., [vers 1865]
Artiste anonyme
Lithographie
Collection de photographies
Code de référence : S 2148
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Le rapport final de la Loyal and Patriotic Society

Repport final de la Loyal and Patriotic Society, 1817

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (177ko)
Repport final de la Loyal and Patriotic Society, 1817
Loyal and Patriotic Society
Livre
Code de référence : 971 .034, pages 246 et 247
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Le rapport réserve une rubrique à chaque remise faite à même les fonds administrés par la Society de 1813 à 1817. La rubrique relative à Daniel Springer, du district de London, se lit en partie comme suit :

« Le capitaine Springer mettait toutes ses énergies à la défense de la province, en s’acquittant activement de ses devoirs en toutes occasions; il était donc devenu un élément nuisible pour l’ennemi et les dissidents, dont un groupe la capturé le 1er février 1814; après l’avoir ligoté, ils se sont emparés de ses chevaux et de sa carriole et l’ont ainsi transporté jusqu’au Kentucky… »

Comme marque de reconnaissance, la Society accordait 50 livres à Springer et à sa famille.

Parmi les donatrices au fonds de la Society comptait Elizabeth Posthuma Simcoe (25 livres), veuve du premier lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada et auteure de nombreuses images figurant dans la présente exposition.

[ Haut de la page ]


Les concessions de terres

Lettre Les combattants qui s’étaient tirés indemnes de la guerre étaient admissibles à des concessions de terres, obtenues notamment par la saisie des biens des sujets reconnus coupables de déloyauté. De loyaux services portaient comme récompense un certain avancement personnel, ainsi qu’en témoigne en partie du moins la carrière de John Beverley Robinson, John Strachan et William Hamilton Merritt, ainsi que des Ridout et des Nelles.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (78ko)
[Portrait de William Hamilton Merritt], 1860
William Notman
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : S 657
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Photographie : Portrait de William Hamilton Merritt, 1860


Plan de concessions, canton de Zorra (détail), [s.d.]

Dans l’angle inférieur gauche de ce plan, on discerne les parcelles de terres octroyées à William Hamilton Merritt en reconnaissance de ses services à titre de capitaine de compagnie dans les Provincial Light Dragoons. Il recevait au total 800 acres (concession 2, lots 4, 7 et 8, et concession 4, lot 8).

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (454ko)
Plan de concessions, canton de Zorra (détail), [s.d.]
Plan
Code de référence : RG 1-100, C-71,
Carte A.14, (AO 5973)
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


La superficie des terrains octroyés variait selon le rang qu’occupait le militaire pendant le conflit. John Kennedy, de Scarborough, avait reçu 100 acres en retour de ses services comme simple soldat dans la compagnie de flanc du capitaine Cameron, tandis que le sergent de la milice incorporée Joel Judd avait reçu 200 acres.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (631ko)
Registre des concessions aux miliciens, 1820-1850
Document textuel
Code de référence : RG 1-152-0-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Document textuel : Registre des concessions aux miliciens, 1820-1850

[ Haut de la page ]


Les concessions de terres
Les lois

Lettre Le 14 mars 1814, le parlement du Haut-Canada adoptait trois lois édictant des mesures d’urgence. La première restreignait le droit de requête en habeas corpus pour les personnes accusées de trahison; la deuxième prévoyait la tenue de procès pour trahison et actes assimilés dans des districts sis à l’extérieur de la région où s’étaient produites les infractions alléguées; la troisième loi, celle qui devait avoir l’impact le plus marqué, était la loi sur les étrangers (Alien Act), qui reconnaissait coupable quiconque avait quitté la province à destination des États-Unis après juillet 1812.

Document textuel : Lois du Haut-Canada (1)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (484ko)
Lois du Haut-Canada
Document textuel
Code de référence : RG 19-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Document textuel : Lois du Haut-Canada - (2)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (467ko)
Lois du Haut-Canada
Document textuel
Code de référence : RG 19-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Document textuel : Lois du Haut-Canada

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (510ko)
Lois du Haut-Canada
Document textuel
Code de référence : RG 19-1-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Des commissaires spéciaux avaient été nommés en vertu de la loi afin d’enquêter sur les contrevenants. Les commissaires avaient le pouvoir de déclarer étrangers les coupables, qui perdaient ainsi le droit de posséder des terres dans le Haut-Canada.

L’adoption de ces lois et la tenue subséquente des « Bloody Assizes » à Ancaster étaient la conséquence directe des revers essuyés par les Britanniques dans les districts de Niagara et de l’Ouest au cours de 1813.

Ceux qui étaient portés à soutenir les envahisseurs avaient alors été en position de le faire, et bien des querelles de particuliers s’étaient ainsi soldées par la destruction des biens des sujets demeurés loyaux ou par l’enlèvement d’officiers de la milice active.

Une foule de prisonniers comparaissant à Ancaster avaient été faits prisonniers lors d’un raid de la milice, dirigé par le colonel Bostwick contre un groupe de soldats américains et d’irréguliers canadiens, près de London.

Après la défaite de Proctor à Moraviantown, le climat d’anarchie qui régnait dans la région sise à l’ouest de la rivière Grand rendait impossible la tenue des procès sur les lieux, comme l’aurait voulu la procédure habituelle. On craignait également que le juge de paix, bien disposé à l’égard des accusés, ne leur accorde la libération conditionnelle, ce qui leur aurait permis de se faufiler outre-frontière ou derrière les lignes ennemies.

« Au shérif dudit district (district de Johnstown) et/ou à son adjoint. Salutations. Étant donné les renseignements transmis sous serment par d’honnêtes citoyens, respectueux des lois et résidant dans la province, au soussigné à titre de commissaire, lesquels m’informent du fait que Ebenezer Sandrus, récemment domicilié à [Yonge], s’est rendu coupable ou a donné de bonnes raisons de [soupçonner] qu’il s’est rendu coupable de pratiques séditieuses. Je vous ordonne donc (au nom de Sa Majesté le Roi) d’appréhender ledit Ebenezer Sandrus, aujourd’hui domicilié à Gananoqua, dans ledit district, et de le faire comparaître devant les commissaires de Sa Majesté, nommés et autorisés en vertu de ladite loi pour statuer sur ce genre d’affaire, et qui siègeront au palais de justice de Brockville le mardi 16 août 1814. »

Extrait d'un mandat d'arrestation pour pratiques
séditieuses, 14 août 1814
Fonds Famille Joel Stone
Code de référence : F 536, boîte MU 2892
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


Les procès

Lettre John Beverley Robinson fut procureur général intérimaire pendant la plus grande partie de la guerre de 1812. Au printemps de 1814, il dirigea les poursuites contre les personnes accusées de haute trahison à Ancaster et obtint la condamnation de 15 des accusés. Tous furent condamnés à la pendaison, mais sept de ces peines devaient par la suite être commuées en déportation. Les huit autres accusés furent condamnés à être pendus à Ancaster, en juillet.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (59ko)
Sir John Beverly Robinson, juge en chef,
Haut-Canada, [vers 1840]
Hoppner Meyer
Estampe
Code de référence : C 281-0-0-0-143
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003072

Estampe : Sir John Beverly Robinson, juge en chef, Haut-Canada, [vers 1840]

« Il est souhaité, et c'est très sage, de décourager l'esprit de désaffection dans la province en imposant, à titre d'exemples, de justes châtiments, prévus par les lois du pays. L'exécution des traîtres par le pouvoir militaire aurait relativement peu d'effet, car les gens y verraient des sanctions arbitraires, sans y reconnaître les effets naturels de la justice. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de J.B. Robinson à
Sir Gordon Drummond, 25 mars 1814
Correspondance antérieure à la Confédération
du Procureur général
Code de référence : RG 4-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (784ko)Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format "wav" (784ko) L'extrait est également disponible en format "aif" format (784ko)


« Permettez-moi de faire à Votre Honneur compte rendu des renseignements suivants, tel que prescrit par son ordre dans votre lettre : environ 70 personnes sont accusées de haute trahison; une cinquantaine de ces dernières ont quitté le pays et, bien entendu, seront poursuivies à titre de hors la loi… [suit la description des actes qui ont mené au verdict de culpabilité]... John Durham était un des chefs des rebelles dans le district de London en novembre dernier, qui a amené de nombreux officiers de milice et d'habitants, prisonniers, à Buffalo. Sa maison était leur quartier-général… Dalton Lindsay, George Peacock et Benjamin Simmonds – trois des rebelles à la solde de l'ennemi dans le district de London en novembre dernier – ont fait prisonniers nos officiers de milice… et, s'avançant sur Dover pour détruire l’endroit et s'emparer des stocks publics, ont été capturés pour rébellion flagrante par le détachement du colonel Bostwick, des milices volontaires… Aaron Stevens… reconnu coupable d'avoir agi en qualité d'espion pour l'ennemi – s'était rendu à cette fin à Burlington lorsque le général Vincent y était commandant. Il y faisait le relevé des travaux et de la garnison et transmettait les renseignements au général Boyd, en retour d'une forte récompense en argent. En outre, il se trouvait constamment chez l'ennemi lorsque celui-ci était en possession du fort George, et on l'a souvent vu là, en compagnie de soldats en armes. »

Extrait d'une copie d’une lettre de J. B. Robinson au capitaine Loring,
secrétaire de Gordon Drummond, 19 juin 1814
Fonds Famille John Beverly Robinson
Code de référence : F 44, MU 5911
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (797ko)Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (797ko) L'extrait est également disponible en format ".aif" format (797ko)

Extrait d'une copie d'une lettre de J.B. Robinson au capitaine Loring, secrétaire de Gordon Drummond, 19 juin 1814

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (427ko)
Extrait d'une copie d'une lettre de J.B. Robinson
au capitaine Loring, secrétaire de Gordon Drummond,
19 juin 1814
Fonds Famille John Beverley Robinson
Code de référence : F 44, boîte MU 5911
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

« ... [les prisonniers seront] pendus par le cou, mais, étant toujours vivants, seront dépendus et leurs entrailles arrachées et brûlées devant leurs yeux, on leur coupera la tête, on les écartèlera et leur tête et leurs membres seront mis à la disposition du Roi… »

Extrait d'une copie de l'order d'exécution de la sentence en vertu de la loi sur la trahison, 1814
Correspondance antérieure à la Confédération du Procureur général
Code de référence : RG 4-1, boîte 2
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

On ignore si la sentence fut exécutée dans toute sa rigueur à l’égard des huit condamnés. Parmi les sept dont la condamnation à mort avait fait l’objet d’une rémission, un s’était évadé et deux étaient morts en détention avant leur déportation du Haut-Canada.

  [ Haut de la page ]

L'après-guerre

Cette affiche énumère le nom des personnes reconnues coupables de haute trahison à Ancaster, de celles déclarées hors-la-loi mais non capturées ni traduites en justice pour collaboration avec les forces américaines et de toutes celles dont les biens avaient été confisqués lors d’une instance des commissions spéciales aux termes de la loi sur les étrangers.

L’affiche était sans doute distribuée aux fonctionnaires de la région et à ceux du système judiciaire. Pour autant que l’on sache, cet exemplaire, envoyé au greffier de la paix du district de Newcastle, est le seul à nous être parvenu.

Affiche sur la haute trahison pendant la guerre de 1812 du greffier de la paix du district de Newcastle, 1821

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (229ko)
Affiche sur la haute trahison pendant la guerre de
1812 du greffier de la paix du district de Newcastle, 1821
Affiche
Code de référence : RG 22-3782
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Cette pièce nous vient du recueil de lettres du général Gordon Drummond, qui renferme des copies de la correspondance qu’il rédigeait.

Extrait d'une copie d'une lettre d'Edward McMahon à Thomas Merritt, Shérif du district de Niagara, 20 septembre 1814

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (383ko)
Extrait d'une copie d'une lettre d'Edward McMahon à Thomas Merritt, Shérif du district de Niagara,
20 septembre 1814
Fonds Sir Gordon Drummond
Code de référence : F 955
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Thomas McMachon avait été secrétaire du général à l’automne de 1814. Les autorités avaient réagi à l’invasion et aux actes de trahison en envisageant des sanctions pour les familles de ceux qui avaient été exécutés ou déclarés hors-la-loi, bien qu’on ne possède aucune preuve documentaire que ces ordres aient eu des suites. La sévérité d’un ordre tel que celui-ci illustre à quel point l’opinion publique était remuée dans la province au bout de deux années de guerre et le genre de mesures extraordinaires que les autorités étaient disposées à prendre dans l’intérêt de la sécurité.

La guerre de 1812 a pu sembler anodine aux générations suivantes, mais elle avait profondément marqué la population tout entière du Haut-Canada.

« Monsieur,

Ayant de bonnes raisons de craindre que les épouses et les familles des personnes qui ont fui le district de Niagara pour rejoindre l’ennemi, de celles qui ont été exécutées pour trahison et de celles qui ont été déportées hors de la Province ne transmettent à l’ennemi des renseignements pouvant causer préjudice à l’intérêt public; et vu que les biens de ces personnes reviennent légalement à la Couronne du fait de leur trahison, et que leurs familles par conséquent ne peuvent espérer en avoir un jour la jouissance et n’ont désormais aucun motif de demeurer au pays sinon pour transmettre ce genre de renseignements. Son Honneur le Président m’a donc ordonné de vous demander d’informer les dames et autres dont le nom est mentionné ci-dessous qu’ils doivent se rassembler à Chippawa le 12 du mois prochain (de même que toute autre personne répondant à cette description et dont vous pouvez avoir connaissance), afin qu’on puisse les transporter de l’autre côté de la frontière… »

Extrait d'une copie d'une lettre d'Edward McMahon à Thomas Merritt, Shérif du district de Niagara, 20 septembre 1814
Fonds Sir Gordon Drummond
Code de référence : F 955
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


Précédante | Page d'acceuil | Suivante
Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle