The War of 1812: Important Figures - Page Banner

Table of Contents


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Ahyouwaighs (John Brant)

 

Ahyouwaighs, a Mohawk leader, supported the British throughout the War of 1812, participating in the Battle of Queenston Heights and encouraging other members of the Six Nations from along Grand River to fight the American invaders.

Thumbnail image of Ahyouwaighs (John Brant)
[ Return to top of page ]


Lieutenant Robert Barclay

Union Jack

A Lieutenant in the Royal Navy, Barclay was posted to the naval base at Fort Malden to command the naval forces on Lake Erie. His command was defeated by the American flotilla at the Battle of Lake Erie in August 1813. Severely outgunned, and badly wounded in the battle, Barclay was exonerated after the war in a court martial called to examine the causes of the defeat.

[ Return to top of page ]


George Theodore Berthon

 

Berthon (1806-1892) originally from Vienna, was a portraitist who created many works on commission from the Government of Ontario to commemorate the major figures in the history of the province. He did portraits of Brock, Prevost and Drummond based on photographs of portraits done during the subject's lifetime in the possession of their families or galleries.

Photo: George Theodore Berthone
  [ Return to top of page ]


Lieutenant-Colonel C. G. Boerstler

Star and Stripes

American officer, he surrendered his command to Colonel Fitzgibbon at the Battle of Beaver Dams.

[ Return to top of page ]


Major General Sir Isaac Brock

Union Jack

Brock was the senior British officer in Upper Canada when the war started. His capture of Detroit, with the support of Tecumseh, boosted Upper Canadian morale at a critical point in the conflict. His death at Queenston Heights was an equally potent symbol for patriotic memories.

Portrait: Major General Sir Isaac Brock
[ Return to top of page ]


John Brant

 

See Ahyouwaighs

 


General Jacob Brown

Star and Stripes

A senior American officer, Brown was the leading figure in the American invasion of the Niagara area in 1814.

[ Return to top of page ]


Thomas Burrowes

 

A military engineer and painter, Thomas Burrowes has left many images of the Rideau Canal and St. Lawrence River as they appeared just a few years after the War of 1812. To learn more about the Thomas Burrowes fonds (C 1) at the Archives of Ontario click here, or to see more of his watercolours search under "Burrowes" in our Visual Database.

[ Return to top of page ]


Corn Planter

 

Seneca leader, served with the United States during the War of 1812 in the Niagara area.

[ Return to top of page ]


Admiral Sir Alexander Cochrane

Union Jack

British admiral who commanded naval operations against the Atlantic coast of the United States in 1814.

[ Return to top of page ]


Brigadier General E. A. Cruickshank

 

Canadian militia officer and historian, Cruickshank was a prolific writer on the War of 1812 and a leading participant in organizations like The Lundy’s Lane Historical Society in preserving the memory of the War of 1812. His papers are available at the Library and Archives Canada/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

[ Return to top of page ]


General H. Dearborn

Star and Stripes

At the beginning of the war General Dearborn was the senior American military commander. He directed operations against York and Fort George in 1813, but was eventually superseded in command by General Wilkinson.

[ Return to top of page ]

Colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry

Union Jack

Colonel de Salaberry commanded the Canadian Voltigeurs during the War of 1812 and led them at the Battle of Châteauguay.

[ Return to top of page ]
 

General Gordon Drummond

Union Jack

Drummond assumed command of British forces in Upper Canada at the end of 1813. He was wounded at the Battle of Lundy’s Lane and directed the unsuccessful siege of Fort Erie.

Portrait: General Gordon Drummond
[ Return to top of page ]


Colonel James Fitzgibbon

Union Jack

A British officer, Fitzgibbon was in command of the British troops at Beaver Dams and accepted the American surrender.

[ Return to top of page ]


Nathan Ford

 

Nathan Ford was a local official in the Ogdensburg area of New York State on the St. Lawrence River. His wartime correspondence provides many details on the life of civilians and the smuggling trade between the U.S. and Canada during wartime. For more information about Ford, consult the Ford family fonds (F 483).

[ Return to top of page ]


M. O. Hammond

 

Journalist and amateur photographer, Hammond left many images of battlefields and monuments relating to the War of 1812 taken during the early 20th century. For more information about Hammond, consult the M. O. Hammond fonds (F 1075). or to see more of his photographs search under "Hammond" in our Visual Database.

Photo: M. O. Hammond
[ Return to top of page ]


General William H. Harrison

Star and Stripes

Harrison was a territorial governor and militia officer who developed an early reputation in campaigns against First Nations. He was the commander of the U.S. forces at the Battle of Moraviantown. He was later elected President of the United States, but died shortly after assuming office.

[ Return to top of page ]


General William Hull

Star and Stripes

American officer and veteran of the War of Independence, Hull surrendered to Brock at Detroit in 1812.

[ Return to top of page ]


C. W. Jefferys

 

A well know Canadian artist who created many images of historical scenes, including the War of 1812, in the early 20th century. Some of his artwork is included in the Government of Ontario Art Collection.

Photo: C. W. Jefferys
[ Return to top of page ]


William Kirby

 

Author and historian, Kirby was involved in The Lundy’s Lane Historical Society in the preservation of the memory of the War of 1812. For more information about Kirby, consult the William Kirby fonds (F 1076).

[ Return to top of page ]


President James Madison

Star and Stripes

Madison became President in 1808 and signed the Declaration of War against Great Britain in June 1812. Re-elected that same year, Madison in turn signed the peace treaty that restored the pre-war situation.

[ Return to top of page ]


General George McClure

Star and Stripes

An American officer, McClure was in command of the Niagara area during the 1813 occupation. When he ordered the evacuation of the region in December 1813, he ordered the destruction of Fort George and the Village of Niagara.

[ Return to top of page ]


William Hamilton Merritt

Union Jack

Businessman, politician and militia officer during the War of 1812, Merritt served in the Provincial Dragoons and was captured by the Americans at the Battle of Lundy’s Lane. After the war he was the leading figure in the development of the Welland Canal, along with numerous other development projects. For more information about Merritt, consult the William Hamilton Merritt family fonds (F 662).

Photo: Portrait of elderly William Hamilton Merritt
[ Return to top of page ]


Napoleon

 

Napoleon Bonaparte, Emperor of France and the leader of that country in the war with Great Britain.

[ Return to top of page ]


Mildred Peel

 

Canadian artist, she prepared a portrait of Laura Secord.

[ Return to top of page ]


Captain Oliver H. Perry

Star and Stripes

American naval officer, Perry was in command of the American squadron on Lake Erie at the Battle of Put In Bay, he is best known for the message sent after the victory, “We have met the enemy and they are ours”.

[ Return to top of page ]


General Z. Pike

Star and Stripes

American officer, Pike was in command of the landing party at the first attack on York in 1813. He was killed in the explosion that destroyed the powder magazine at the fort.

[ Return to top of page ]


General Sir George Prevost

Union Jack

Prevost served as the senior British military commander in Upper and Lower Canada during the War of 1812. He took a cautious approach to military affairs. The two offensives he led ended unsuccessfully at Sacket’s Harbour in 1813 and Plattsburg in 1814. He faced a court martial after the war in relation to the retreat from Plattsburg but died before any hearing.

Portriat: General Sir George Prevost
[ Return to top of page ]

General Proctor

Union Jack

Proctor served as the senior officer in the Detroit area in 1813. He attempted to maintain Brock’s offensive against American posts in the area but was eventually forced to evacuate the frontier and was defeated at the Battle of Moraviantown.

[ Return to top of page ]


The Prophet

 

See Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw

 


Red Jacket

 

A Seneca leader, he supported the United States and participated in several of the battles in the Niagara area in 1814.

Thumbnail image of Red Jacket
[ Return to top of page ]


General Phinias Rial

Union Jack

Rial assumed command in the Niagara area from General Vincent in late 1813. He was in command of British forces when they were defeated at the Battle of Chippewa. He was second in command under Drummond at Lundy’s Lane, but was wounded and captured in that action, ending his participation in the war.

[ Return to top of page ]


Thomas Ridout

Union Jack

Thomas Ridout was a surveyor and landowner in the Niagara area. During the war he served in the Commissariat or supply department. He has left a large number of letters relating to his experiences during the war. For more information about Ridout, consult the Thomas Ridout family fonds (F 43).

[ Return to top of page ]


John Beverley Robinson

Union Jack

Upper Canadian militia officer and acting Attorney General through most of the War of 1812, Robinson oversaw the prosecution of those accused of treason at the Ancaster trials in 1814. For more information about Robinson, consult the John Beverley Robinson family fonds (F 44).

Photo: Portrait of John Beverly Robinson
[ Return to top of page ]

General Winfield Scott

Star and Stripes

Scott began the war as a colonel and eventually rose to command a brigade at the Battle of Lundy’s Lane. He was later the commander of U.S. forces during the War with Mexico and in the early stages of the American Civil War, nearly 50 years after the War of 1812.

[ Return to top of page ]

Laura Secord

 

Laura Secord, a resident of Queenston, provided a warning to Colonel Fitzgibbon of the American advance on Beaver Dams, leading to the surrender of the American forces when met by First Nations, militia and British regulars.

Painting: Laura Secord
[ Return to top of page ]


General Roger H. Sheaffe

Union Jack

At the beginning of the War Sheaffe was second in command to Brock in Upper Canada. He assumed command on the latter’s death and defeated the American forces. His defeat at the Battle of York the next year led to his loss of command and transfer away from Upper Canada.

[ Return to top of page ]


Elizabeth Posthuma Simcoe

 

The wife of Upper Canada’s first Lieutenant Governor, Elizabeth Simcoe was one of the earliest artists to depict the scenery of Upper Canada. Mrs. Simcoe's only son, Francis, was killed in 1812 while an officer in Wellington's army in Spain. For more information about Simcoe, visit our online exhibit, Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe, or consult the Simcoe family fonds (F 47).

To learn more about Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe, click here.

[ Return to top of page ]


Joel Stone

Union Jack

A businessman and militia officer in the Gananoque area on the St. Lawrence, Stone served through the war in the forwarding of supplies and defending the border. For more information about Stone, consult the Joel Stone family fonds (F 536).

[ Return to top of page ]


Bishop John Strachan

 

Strachan was a leading supporter of the British connection during the war and worked to promote patriotism and support for militiamen and their families suffering losses during the conflict. For more information about Strachan, consult the John Strachan fonds (F 983).

Lithograph: Bishop John Strachan
[ Return to top of page ]


Tecumseh

 

Shawnee leader, ally to the British. His support was instrumental in the capture of Detroit from the United States in the opening months of the war. His death at the Battle of Moraviantown equalled Brock’s as a symbol of the defence of Upper Canada.

Photo: Bust of Tecumseh
[ Return to top of page ]


Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw

 

The Prophet, was Tecumseh's half brother and was active in organizing the First Nations against the Americans.

Print: The Prophet
[ Return to top of page ]


General John Vincent

Union Jack

General Vincent was in command of the Niagara area when the United States attacked in the spring of 1813. He was defeated at the Battle of Fort George but was able to rebound and establish the new lines at Burlington. He directed the campaign during the summer and fall that eventually forced American forces to abandon the Niagara area in December 1813. Vincent was replaced by General Rial late in the year due to illness.

[ Return to top of page ]


Sir Arthur Wellesley (Lord Wellington)

Union Jack

British officer, Lord Wellington led the British war effort against Napoleon in Portugal and Spain.

[ Return to top of page ]


Joseph Wilcocks

Star and Stripes

An Upper Canadian businessman and politician, Wilcocks joined the American forces and actively served against the British during the war. He was killed at the American sortie from Fort Erie in 1814.

[ Return to top of page ]


General James Wilkinson

Star and Stripes

Wilkinson assumed the senior command in the U.S. army in 1813. His failure to continue the offensive against Montreal after the Battle of Chrysler’s Farm threw away the remaining American military advantages that year.

[ Return to top of page ]


General James Winchester

Star and Stripes

An American officer, Winchester led the first attempt to recapture Detroit from the British in 1813. He was defeated by a combined force of British and First Nations and forced to surrender at the Battle of Frenchtown.

 
[ Return to top of page ]

La guerre de 1812 : Personnages importants - bannière

Table des matières


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Ahyouwaighs (John Brant)

 

Ahyouwaighs, chef mohawk, a été l’allié des Britanniques pendant toute la guerre de 1812. Il a participé à la bataille de Queenston Heights et incité d’autres membres des Six-Nations, tout le long de la rivière Grand, à combattre l’envahisseur américain.

Portrait : Ahyouwaighs (John Brant)
[ Haut de la page ]

Le lieutenant Robert Barclay

Britanniques

Lieutenant de la Royal Navy, Barclay était affecté à la base navale du fort Malden et assurait le commandement des forces navales sur le lac Érié. Ses troupes ont été défaites par la flottille américaine lors de la bataille du lac Érié en août 1813. Gravement désavantagé par une puissance de feu inférieure et grièvement blessé au cours de la bataille, Barclay devait être exonéré après la guerre, par une cour martiale convoquée pour examiner les causes de la défaite.

[ Haut de la page ]


George Theodore Berthon

 

Berthon (1806-1892), originaire de Vienne, était un portraitiste qui a exécuté de nombreuses œuvres sur commande du gouvernement de l’Ontario, afin de commémorer les principaux personnages de l’histoire de la province. Il a ainsi signé des portraits de Brock, Prevost et Drummond en prenant pour point de départ des photographies de portraits exécutés pendant la vie de ses sujets et se trouvant en possession de leur famille ou de musées.

Photographie : George Theodore Berthone


Le lieutenant-colonel C. G. Boerstler

Américains

Cet officier américain devait abdiquer capituler devant les forces du colonel Fitzgibbon, lors de la bataille de Beaver Dams.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le major-général Sir Isaac Brock

Britanniques

Brock était l’officier britannique affecté au commandement du Haut-Canada à la déclaration de la guerre. Sa capture de Détroit, grâce à l’appui de Tecumseh, devait faire merveille pour le moral aux Canadiens, à un moment décisif du conflit. Sa mort sur le champ de bataille de Queenston Heights devait fournir un puissant symbole au patriotisme haut-canadien.

Portrait : Le major-général Sir Isaac Brock
[ Haut de la page ]


John Brant

 

Voir Ahyouwaighs

 


Le général Jacob Brown

Américains

Officier supérieur américain, Brown a été le chef de file lors de l’invasion américaine de la région de Niagara en 1814.

[ Haut de la page ]


Thomas Burrowes

 

Ingénieur militaire et peintre, Thomas Burrowes nous a laissé une foule d’images du canal Rideau et du Saint-Laurent tels qu’ils apparaissaient quelques années après la guerre de 1812. Pour en savoir plus long sur le fonds Thomas Burrowes (C 1) des Archives publiques de l’Ontario, cliquer ici; pour voir d’autres de ses aquarelles, chercher à la rubrique « Burrowes », dans notre Base de données des documents visuels.

[ Haut de la page ]


Corn Planter

 

Chef seneca, qui a combattu du côté américain pendant la guerre de 1812, dans la région de Niagara.

[ Haut de la page ]


L’amiral Sir Alexander Cochrane

Britanniques

Amiral britannique qui a commandé les opérations navales contre la côte Atlantique des États-Unis en 1814.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le brigadier-général E. A. Cruickshank

 

Historien et officier de milice canadien, Cruickshank a abondamment écrit sur la guerre de 1812 et a été un participant actif au sein d’organisations telles que la Lundy’s Lane Historical Society, en vue de perpétuer le souvenir de la guerre de 1812. On peut consulter ses écrits aux Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/Library and Archives Canada.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le général H. Dearborn

Américains

Au début de la guerre, le général Dearborn était commandant suprême des forces américaines. Il a dirigé les opérations contre York et le fort George en 1813, mais devait plus tard être supplanté au commandement par le général Wilkinson.

[ Haut de la page ]

Le général Gordon Drummond

Britanniques

Drummond a assumé le commandement des forces britanniques du Haut-Canada à la fin de 1813. Il a été blessé lors de la bataille de Lundy’s Lane et a dirigé le siège infructueux du fort Érié.

Portrait : Le général Gordon Drummond
[ Haut de la page ]


Le colonel James Fitzgibbon

Britanniques

Fitzgibbon était l’officier britannique affecté au commandement des troupes britanniques à Beaver Dams, et c’est lui qui a accepté la reddition américaine.

[ Haut de la page ]

Nathan Ford

 

Nathan Ford était le représentant local du gouvernement dans la région d’Ogdensburg de l’État de New-York, sur le Saint-Laurent. Sa correspondance de guerre fournit de nombreux détails sur la vie des civils et le commerce de contrebande entre les États-Unis et le Canada pendant la guerre. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce personnage, consulter le fonds Famille Ford (F 483).

[ Haut de la page ]


M. O. Hammond

 

Journaliste et photographe amateur, Hammond a réalisé, au début du vingtième siècle, une foule d’images représentant des monuments et champs de bataille en rapport avec la guerre de 1812. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Hammond, consulter le fonds M. O. Hammond (F 1075), ou pour voir d’autres de ses photographies, chercher à la rubrique « Hammond », dans notre Base de données de documents visuels.

Photographie : M. O. Hammond
[ Haut de la page ]


Le général William H. Harrison

Américains

Harrison était un officier de milice et gouverneur territorial qui s’était tôt taillé une réputation au cours des campagnes menées contre les Premières Nations. Il a été commandant des forces américaines à la bataille de Moraviantown. Il devait plus tard être élu président des États-Unis, mais il est décédé peu après son entrée en fonction.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le général William Hull

Américains

Officier américain et ancien combattant de la guerre d’indépendance, Hull s’est rendu à Brock à Détroit, en 1812.

[ Haut de la page ]


C. W. Jefferys

 

Artiste canadien bien connu, qui est l’auteur d’un grand nombre d’images à thèmes historiques, dont la guerre de 1812, au début du vingtième siècle. La Collection d‘œuvres d’art du gouvernement de l’Ontario renferme quelques-unes de ses œuvres.

Photographie : C. W. Jefferys
[ Haut de la page ]


William Kirby

 

Auteur et historien, Kirby a été un membre actif de la Lundy’s Lane Historical Society, dont la mission est de perpétuer le souvenir de la guerre de 1812. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Kirby, consulter le fonds William Kirby (F 1076).

[ Haut de la page ]


Le président James Madison

Américains

Madison est devenu président en 1808 et devait signer la déclaration de guerre contre la Grande-Bretagne en juin 1812. Réélu cette même année, Madison a plus tard signé le traité de paix qui ramenait le pays à sa situation d’avant-guerre.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le général George McClure

Américains

Officier américain, McClure était commandant militaire de la région de Niagara pendant l’occupation de 1813. Lors de l’évacuation de la région en décembre 1813, c’est lui qui a ordonné la destruction du fort George et du village de Niagara.

[ Haut de la page ]


William Hamilton Merritt

Britanniques

Homme d’affaires, politicien et officier de milice pendant la guerre de 1812, Merritt a combattu dans les rangs des Provincial Dragoons et a été fait prisonnier par les Américains lors de la bataille de Lundy’s Lane. Après la guerre, il devait être l’un des promoteurs de l’aménagement du canal Welland, de même que de nombreux autres projets de mise en valeur. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Merritt, consulter le fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt (F 662).

Photographie : Portrait de William Hamilton Merritt
[ Haut de la page ]


Napoléon

 

Napoléon Bonaparte, empereur des Français, était le dirigeant de son pays lors de la guerre contre la Grande-Bretagne.

[ Haut de la page ]


Mildred Peel

 

Artiste canadienne, elle a signé un portrait de Laura Secord.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le capitaine Oliver H. Perry

Américains

Officier de la marine américaine, Perry était commandant de l’escadron américain sur le lac Érié, lors de la bataille de Put-In-Bay, il est surtout connu pour le message qu’il avait dépêché après la victoire : « Nous avons affronté l’ennemi, et il est à nous ».

[ Haut de la page ]


Le général Z. Pike

Américains

Officier américain, Pike dirigeait la compagnie de débarquement lors de la première attaque de York, en 1813. Il a été tué lors de l’explosion qui a détruit la poudrière du fort.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le général Sir George Prevost

Britanniques

Prevost a servi à titre de commandant suprême de l’armée britannique pour le Haut et le Bas-Canada pendant la guerre de 1812. Il adoptait une attitude prudente en matière militaire. Les deux offensives qu’il a dirigées se sont soldées par des échecs, à Sacket’s Harbour en 1813, et à Plattsburg en 1814. Traduit en cour martiale après la guerre en rapport avec la retraite de Plattsburg, il devait mourir avant sa comparution.

Portrait : Le général Sir George Prevost
[ Haut de la page ]


Le général Proctor

Britanniques

Proctor a servi en qualité d’officier supérieur dans la région de Détroit en 1813. Il aurait voulu maintenir l’offensive de Brock contre les postes américains de la région, mais a par la suite été forcé d’évacuer la frontière et a été défait lors de la bataille de Moraviantown.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le Prophète

 

Voir Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw

 


Red Jacket

 

Chef de la nation seneca, il s’était rallié aux États-Unis et a participé à plusieurs des batailles qui ont eu lieu dans la région de Niagara en 1814.

Portrait : Red Jacket
[ Haut de la page ]


Le général Phinias Rial

Britanniques

Rial avait succédé au général Vincent au commandement de la région de Niagara à la fin de 1813. Il commandait les forces britanniques lorsque celles-ci ont été défaites à la bataille de Chippewa. Il était adjoint du commandant Drummond à Lundy’s Lane, où il devait être blessé et fait prisonnier, ce qui a mis fin à son service de guerre.

[ Haut de la page ]


Thomas Ridout

Britanniques

Thomas Ridout était arpenteur et propriétaire terrien dans la région de Niagara. Pendant la guerre, il a servi au Commissariat (unité militaire responsable de l’approvisionnement). Il nous a laissé un grand nombre de lettres, qui relatent ses expériences de guerre. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Ridout, consulter le fonds Famille Thomas Ridout (F 43).

[ Haut de la page ]


John Beverley Robinson

Britanniques

Officier de milice haut-canadien et procureur général intérimaire pendant la plus grande partie de la guerre de 1812, Robinson devait diriger la poursuite des personnes accusées de trahison lors des procès d’Ancaster, en 1814. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Robinson, consulter le fonds Famille John Beverley Robinson (F 44).

Photographie : Portrait John Beverly Robinson
[ Haut de la page ]

Colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry

Britanniques

Le colonel de Salaberry commandait les Voltigeurs canadiens pendant la guerre de 1812 et les mena lors de la bataille de Châteauguay.

[ Haut de la page ]

Le général Winfield Scott

Américains

Colonel au début de la guerre, Scott devait plus tard être promu au commandement d’une brigade lors de la bataille de Lundy’s Lane. Il devint ultérieurement commandant des forces américaines pendant la guerre contre le Mexique et les premiers stades de la guerre de Sécession américaine, près de 50 ans après la guerre de 1812.

[ Haut de la page ]

Laura Secord

 

Laura Secord, résidente de Queenston, avait fait tenir un avertissement au colonel Fitzgibbon de l’avance américaine sur Beaver Dams, ce qui devait mener à la capitulation des forces américaines, vaincues par une coalition des soldats britanniques, de la milice et des Premières Nations.

Portrait : Laura Secord
[ Haut de la page ]


Le général Roger H. Sheaffe

Britanniques

Au début de la guerre, Sheaffe était adjoint du commandant Brock dans le Haut-Canada. Au décès de ce dernier, il devait assumer le commandement et vaincre les forces américaines. Sa défaite lors de la bataille de York l’année suivante a mené à sa perte du commandement et à son transfert loin du Haut-Canada.

[ Haut de la page ]


Elizabeth Posthuma Simcoe

 

Veuve du premier lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada, Elizabeth Simcoe a été l’une des premières artistes à représenter les paysages du Haut-Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Simcoe, voir notre exposition en ligne, Voyages avec Elizabeth Simcoe, ou consulter le fonds Famille Simcoe (F 47).

Cliquei ici pour en savoir plus sur John Graves Simcoe.

[ Haut de la page ]


Joel Stone

Britanniques

Homme d’affaires et officier de milice dans la région de Gananoque, sur le Saint-Laurent, Stone a servi pendant toute la guerre au sein de l’unité d’expédition de l’approvisionnement et de la défense de la frontière. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Stone, consulter le fonds Famille Joel Stone (F 536).

[ Haut de la page ]


L’évêque John Strachan

 

Strachan, à la tête des loyaux partisans des Britanniques pendant la guerre, travaillait à promouvoir le patriotisme et l’appui aux miliciens et à leurs familles qui avaient subi des pertes au cours du conflit. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Strachan, consulter le fonds John Strachan (F 983).

Portrait : Bishop John Strachan
[ Haut de la page ]


Tecumseh

 

Chef shawnee, allié des Britanniques, son appui a contribué à enlever Détroit aux États-Unis pendant les premiers mois de la guerre. Sa mort lors de la bataille de Moraviantown a une importance égale à celle de Brock en tant que symbole de la défense du Haut-Canada.

Buste de Tecumseh, 1896
[ Haut de la page ]


Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw

 

Le Prophète, qui était le demi-frère de Tecumseh, a participé activement à la mobilisation des Premières Nations contre les Américains.

Estampe : The Prophet (Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw)
[ Haut de la page ]


Le général John Vincent

Britanniques

Le général Vincent était commandant de la région de Niagara lors de l’attaque américaine, au printemps de 1813. Défait lors de la bataille du fort George, il avait pu s’en relever et établir les nouvelles lignes de défense à Burlington. Il a dirigé la campagne au cours de l’été et de l’automne qui devait éventuellement obliger les forces américaines à abandonner la région de Niagara en décembre 1813. Vincent a été remplacé par le général Rial à la fin de l’année, pour cause de maladie.

[ Haut de la page ]


Sir Arthur Wellesley (Lord Wellington)

Britanniques

Officier britannique, Lord Wellington a dirigé l’effort de guerre britannique contre Napoléon, au Portugal et en Espagne.

[ Haut de la page ]


Joseph Wilcocks

Américains

Homme d’affaires et politicien haut-canadien, Wilcocks avait joint les rangs des forces américaines et servi activement contre les Britanniques pendant la guerre. Il a été tué lors de la sortie américaine au départ de Fort Érié en 1814.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le général James Wilkinson

Américains

Wilkinson assumait le commandement suprême de l’armée américaine en 1813. Son défaut de poursuivre l’offensive contre Montréal après la bataille de Chrysler’s Farm devait annuler le mince avantage militaire qui restait aux Américains cette année-là.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le général James Winchester

Américains

Officier américain, Winchester a dirigé la première tentative pour reprendre Détroit aux Britanniques en 1813. Il avait été défait par une troupe composite de Britanniques et des Premières Nations et avait été forcé de se rendre lors de la bataille de Frenchtown.

[ Haut de la page ]
   

Précédante | Page d'acceuil | Suivante
Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle