The War of 1812: Prisoners of War - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Letter Both sides, at one time or another, captured significant numbers of enemy troops and were thus responsible for their housing, feeding and general maintenance, an expense that neither wished to undertake. The use of parole was common, particularly for militiamen who were captured at actions like Detroit (Ohio militia) and York (Upper Canada Militia), whereby they would sign a document which pledged they would not take further part in the war. It was not uncommon for militiamen from both countries to seek parole like this when it was available as it guaranteed them legal exemption from military service.

Militia officers and regular troops of all ranks were a different matter. American soldiers captured by the British were often taken to Quebec for incarceration until exchanged. British soldiers captured by the Americans were often taken deep into the United States.

Enlisted men were generally kept confined in conditions that were not healthy. Officers, as gentlemen, were entitled to better treatment. The documents in this section show the type of conditions imposed on Henry Nelles when he was a prisoner of the United States. He was given a degree of liberty after pledging not to escape or violate the laws of the country. The correspondence between Captain William Hamilton Merritt and his fiancée is further evidence of the relatively easy conditions for officers. Both Nelles and Merritt were captured at the Battle of Lundy's Lane. No first hand description of conditions for enlisted men held prisoner is available at the Archives of Ontario.


Henry Nelles

Letter Henry Nelles of the Niagara District was a Captain in the Upper Canadian embodied militia who served through two years of the War of 1812. He is mentioned as the riding companion of Thomas Ridout in the letter reproduced in the section on Niagara in 1813. Captured at Lundy's Lane, Nelles spent the rest of the war as a prisoner in the United States.

“I wrote you yesterday from [Fort] Schloser, mentioning that I have fallen into the hands of the Enemy and requesting you to forward to me my baggage. But as we are to be removed from this place, and as it is very uncertain that the baggage will reach me safe, I beg you will not send any of it, as I can procure both money and clothes when I arrive at Albany. Give my love to Sally and tell her I hope she will not make herself unhappy, in consequence of my misfortune.”

Extract from an original letter from Captain Henry Nelles (Buffalo) to
his father Robert Nelles (Upper Canada), July 27, 1814
Robert Nelles family fonds
Reference Code: F 542, box MU 2190
Archives of Ontario

Passport of Captain Henry Nelles, January 7, 1815 [front]

Click to see a larger image (369K)
Passport of Captain Henry Nelles, January 7, 1815 [front]
Robert Nelles family fonds
Passport
Reference Code: F 542, box MU 2192
Archives of Ontario

Passport of Captain Henry Nelles, January 7, 1815 [back]

Click to see a larger image (324K)
Passport of Captain Henry Nelles, January 7, 1815 [back]
Robert Nelles family fonds
Passport
Reference Code: F 542, box MU 2192
Archives of Ontario

The reverse of the passport includes a physical description of Henry Nelles.

 

The terms of parole on an officer were not onerous, in the case of Henry Nelles, "on your arrival there [Berkshire], you will report yourself to Capt. D. Brown who will aid you in procuring quarters. You will then have liberty to walk in the roads in the said town to the extremity of its limits which will be designated to you by said Capt. D. Brown and you will report yourself personally to him at his house the Saturday of each week…And I do require, that all letters wrote or received by you , be sent for inspection to this office, and also notify you that conversations on the subject of a public nature, with citizens are expressly forbidden."

Officers and enlisted men could be exchanged for an equal number of the same rank amongst enemy prisoners. When exchanged, the terms of the parole no longer operated and the officers and men were free to serve in the regular or militia forces.

Document regarding the exchange of Captain Henry Nelles, prisoner of War, August 10, 1814

Click to see a larger image (429K)
Document regarding the exchange of
Captain Henry Nelles,
prisoner of War, August 10, 1814
Robert Nelles family fonds
Textual record
Reference Code: F 542, box MU 2192
Archives of Ontario

Document regarding the parole of Captain Henry Nelles, prisoner of War, August 10, 1814

Click to see a larger image (325K)
Document regarding the parole of
Captain Henry Nelles,
prisoner of War, August 10, 1814
Robert Nelles family fonds
Textual record
Reference Code: F 542, box MU 2192
Archives of Ontario

[Return to top of page]


William Hamilton Merritt and Catherine Prendergast

Letter William Hamilton Merritt was a Captain of the Provincial Dragoons (cavalry), serving through most of the War of 1812. He was captured at the Battle of Lundy's Lane in 1814 along with Henry Nelles. He had met Catherine Prendergast before the war while in the United States on business or while visiting relatives. Her family was prominent in business in New York state. The correspondence reproduced here documents their relationship between 1812 and 1814, despite the complications of war. Their courtship, while Merritt was a prisoner of war in the United States, is a great example of the impact of conflict on two individuals and of the general social mores of the time.

Many more letters between William and Catherine are available in our holdings of the William Hamilton Merritt family papers. Merritt returned to Upper Canada when the war ended and was soon followed by Catherine Prendergast. They were married in 1815.

The photograph to the right shows Merritt much later in life. Unfortunately, we could not locate an image of Catherine in our collection.

Photo: Portrait of William Hamilton Merritt, 1860

[Portrait of William Hamilton Merritt], 1860
William Notman
Archives of Ontario Photographic Collection
Black and white negative
Reference Code: S 657
Archives of Ontario

 

“This is the first and only opportunity that may occur of my writing during the War. I embrace it most cordially altho I do not conceive it to be very safe. The unhappy situation which our Countries are placed in will deprive me [from] time of the greatest pleasure I have ever enjoyed viz. seeing you, as we were actuated by no juvenile affection the world cannot convince me you will ever forfeit that confidence I have ever placed in you, and which my life consists. Time never can efface the impression your delightful image has made on my fond heart, if I should be separated from you for years I will ever remain the same as you left me.”

Extract from an original letter from William Merritt (Fort Detroit)
to Catherine Prendergast, September 4, 1812
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds
Reference Code: F 662, box MU 5856, package 43
Archives of Ontario






“You cannot imagine what an effect yours of the 9th ultimo has had on my depressed spirits, having not heard a word [?] from you since the commencement of the War … You mention my leaving the Army (I would at any time risk my existence to preserve your peace as ensure your regard for me) on a moments reflection you will perceive it is utterly impossible....

.... However as ladies generally are no politicians, I'll drop the subject.”

Extract from an original letter from William Merritt (12 Mile Creek)
to Catherine Prendergast, February 9, 1814
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds,
Reference Code: F 662, box MU 5856, package 43
Archives of Ontario



To listen to an excerpt from this letter in .wav format (487K), click here.To listen to an excerpt from this letter in "wav" format (487K) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (487K)

Letter from William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) to Catherine Prendergast, February 9, 1814 (pages 1 and 4)

Click to see a larger image (333K)
Pages 1 and 4

Letter from William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) to Catherine Prendergast, February 9, 1814 (pages 2 and 3)

Click to see a larger image (347K)
Pages 2 and 3

Letter from William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) to Catherine Prendergast, February 9, 1814 (pages 5 and 8)

Click to see a larger image (283K)
Pages 5 and 8

Letter from William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) to Catherine Prendergast, February 9, 1814 (pages 6 and 7)

Click to see a larger image (334K)
Pages 6 and 7

Letter from William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) to Catherine Prendergast, February 9, 1814
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds
Reference Code: F 662, box MU 5856
Archives of Ontario


Letter from William Merritt (Buffalo) to Catherine Prendergast, July 27, 1814 (Pages 1 and 4)

Click to see a larger image (344K)
Pages 1 and 4

Letter from William Merritt (Buffalo) to Catherine Prendergast, July 27, 1814 (Pages 2 and 3)

Click to see a larger image (402K)
Pages 2 and 3

Letter from William Merritt (Buffalo) to Catherine Prendergast, July 27, 1814
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds
Reference Code: F 662, MU 5856
Archives of Ontario


“You not doubt will be very much surprized (sic) in finding me at this place. I had the misfortune of falling in the hands of the Americans in the action of the 25th Inst. at Lundy's Lane....

....My dear girl I need not to mention what [inexplicable] delight it would afford me to see you should I be gratified with the sight of you my captivity would be [secretly?] wished for.”

Extract from an original letter from William Merritt (Buffalo)
to Catherine Prendergast, July 27, 1814
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds
Reference Code: F 662, MU 5856, package 43
Archives of Ontario



image of speakerTo listen to an excerpt from this letter in "wav" format (657K) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (657K).




“My Dear Papa … I received a letter from Mr. Merritt. He was then a prisoner at Buffalo, says he expected to be sent to [Greenbush] immediately. Also has been very fortunate since the War & expresses a desire to see you perhaps you can make it convenient to give him a call. Our family are all well.”

Extract from an original letter from Catherine Prendergast
to her father Jediah Prendergast, August 7, 1814
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds
Reference Code: F 662, box MU 5856, package 43
Archives of Ontario



image of speakerTo listen to an excerpt from this letter in "wav" format (589K) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (589K).




“Dear Sir,

I received yours of 6th August last mail. I assure you it is very gratifying to me to know that you enjoy so much tranquillity in your new situation & are not destitute of friends & especially that you are willing to consider mine as such, and I sincerely hope you may ever receive such civility in this country that you may never regret the cause that compelled (sic) you to leave your own, if not I shall be apt to turn traitor myself. … You really make me believe you are in earnest for surely if you were not you would not be telling the old story to everyone. However don't think I have any objections to the confidents you were pleased to put in Aunt Sally ho! I am rejoiced to hear you have been there and believe you have secured yourself a good friend.”

Extract from an original letter from Catherine Prendergast (Mayville)
to William Merritt (Greenbush), September 7, 1814
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds,
Reference Code: F 662, box MU 5856, package 43
Archives of Ontario




Letter from Catherine Prendergast (Mayville) to William Merritt (Greenbush), September 14, 1814 (Pages 1 and 3)

Click to see a larger image (361K)
Pages 1 and 3

Letter from Catherine Prendergast (Mayville) to William Merritt (Greenbush), September 14, 1814 (Page 2)

Click to see a larger image (183K)
Page 2

Letter from Catherine Prendergast (Mayville) to William Merritt (Greenbush), September 14, 1814
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds
Reference Code: F 662, box MU 5856
Archives of Ontario


“Dear Sir, I received your agreeable letter by papa the 9th inst. With what rapture did I peruse it. The contents is certainly soothing to my mind than any thing you have written. The idea of you & pa acknowledging each other as friends contributed to the most to my happiness of any thing that occurred in my life. My Dear papa generous conduct in this one instant has completely banished every thought from my mind that I ever harboured to his prejudice & feel as if I must ever more be guided by his will and pleasure. And as for yourself you have almost disappointed me (happy disappointment) for I must tell you that I could not help thinking at times you were like many others & it would be impossible that your mind would be the same for such a length of time…”

Extract from an original letter from
Catherine Prendergast (Mayville)
to William Merritt (Greenbush)
September 14, 1814
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds
Reference Code: F 662
box MU 5856, package 43
Archives of Ontario


“I received yours of Nov. the 9 with one accompanying it for Mr. Merritt which I sent on the same day by a Mr. James … And this morning had the pleasure of receiving a letter from Mr. M. with one enclosed for you which I took the liberty to read your goodness had afforded me the perusal of your correspondence. I must acknowledge it a great mark of friendship … I conversed very freely with Mr. Merritt on matters between you and him as his anxiety appeared very great…”

Extract from an original letter from
Sally Prendergast (Litchfield) to
her niece Catherine Prendergast
December 10, 1814
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds
Reference Code: F 662
box MU 5856, package 42
Archives of Ontario

[Return to top of page]

La guerre de 1812 : Les prisonniers de guerre - bannière

Table des matières


Lettre Tour à tour, les deux camps faisaient prisonniers de nombreux soldats ennemis, à qui ils devaient le logement, la nourriture et l’entretien, dépenses qu’ils n’assumaient pas volontiers. Le recours à la libération conditionnelle était courant, particulièrement pour les miliciens capturés au cours d’actions telles que celles de Détroit (milice de l’Ohio) et de York (milice du Haut-Canada); il s’agissait d’une entente écrite, par laquelle les captifs s’engageaient à ne plus combattre pendant toute la durée du conflit. Il n’était pas rare de voir des miliciens des deux pays se prévaloir de la libération conditionnelle lorsqu’ils le pouvaient, puisqu’ils étaient ainsi légalement exemptés du service militaire.

Pour les officiers de la milice et les soldats de tous rangs, il en allait tout autrement. Les soldats américains faits prisonniers par les Britanniques étaient souvent incarcérés à Québec jusqu’à leur échange. Par ailleurs, les soldats britanniques capturés par les Américains étaient souvent amenés dans des régions éloignées des États-Unis.

En général, les hommes de troupe incarcérés vivaient dans des conditions malsaines. Les officiers, issus de la bonne société, avaient droit à un meilleur traitement. Les documents de la présente section illustrent le type de conditions que dut connaître Henry Nelles pendant sa captivité aux États-Unis. Il avait pu jouir d’un certain degré de liberté après s’être engagé à ne pas tenter de s’échapper et à ne pas enfreindre les lois du pays. La correspondance échangée par le capitaine William Hamilton Merritt et sa fiancée vient encore attester les conditions de vie relativement faciles des officiers. Tout comme Merritt, Nelles avait été fait prisonnier lors de la bataille de Lundy’s Lane. Les Archives ne possèdent aucune description de première main des conditions de vie des hommes de troupe en captivité.

[ Haut de la page ]


Henry Nelles

Henry Nelles, originaire du district de Niagara, avait le rang de capitaine dans la milice incorporée du Haut-Canada, et il avait servi pendant deux ans au cours de la guerre de 1812. Il figure comme compagnon de Thomas Ridout, dans la lettre reproduite à la section relative à la région de Niagara en 1813. Fait prisonnier à Lundy’s Lane, Nelles devait passer le reste de la guerre en captivité aux États-Unis.

« Je vous ai écrit hier du [fort] Schloser, en mentionnant que j’étais tombé aux mains de l’Ennemi et vous demandant de me faire suivre mes bagages. Mais, comme nous devons repartir et qu’il n’est pas du tout certain que les bagages me parviennent intacts, je vous demande de les conserver; vous pourrez me procurer de l’argent et des vêtements à mon arrivée à Albany. Faites mes amitiés à Sally et dites-lui bien que j’espère que mes déboires ne la rendront pas trop malheureuse. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale du capitaine Henry Nelles (Buffalo) à son père
Robert Nelles (Haut-Canada), 27 juillet 1814
Fonds Famille Robert Nelles
Code de référence : F 542, boîte MU 2190
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Passeport du capitaine Henry Nelles, 7 janvier 1815 [devant]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (369ko)
Passeport du capitaine Henry Nelles,
7 janvier 1815 [devant]
Fonds Famille Robert Nelles
Passeport
Code de référence : F 542, boîte MU 2192
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Passeport du capitaine Henry Nelles, 7 janvier 1815 [arrière]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (324ko)
Passeport du capitaine Henry Nelles,
7 janvier 1815 [arrière]
Fonds Famille Robert Nelles
Passeport
Code de référence : F 542, boîte MU 2192
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Au dos du passeport apparaît une description physique d’Henry Nelles.


Les conditions de la libération conditionnelle n’étaient pas trop pénibles pour les officiers; par exemple, dans le cas d’Henry Nelles : «… à votre arrivée là-bas [Berkshire], vous vous présenterez au capitaine D. Brown, qui vous aidera à vous procurer un logement. Vous serez libre de vous promener sur les chemins de la ville jusqu’à l’extrémité de ses limites, qui vous seront désignées par le capitaine Brown, et vous devrez vous présenter personnellement à lui à sa résidence, le samedi de chaque semaine… De plus, j’exige que toutes les lettres écrites et reçues par vous soient soumises à mon bureau pour inspection, et je vous informe que toute conversation avec des citoyens sur un sujet d’intérêt public est expressément interdite. »

Les gradés et hommes de troupe pouvaient être échangés contre un nombre égal de prisonniers ennemis de même rang. Après l’échange, les conditions de la libération conditionnelle prenaient fin et les officiers et soldats étaient libres de servir dans la milice ou dans les forces régulières.

Document sur la libération du capitaine Henry Nelles, 10 août 1814

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (492ko)
Document sur la libération du capitaine Henry Nelles,
prisonnier de guerre, 10 août 1814
Fonds Famille Robert Nelles
Document textuel
Code de référence : F 542, boîte MU 2192
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Document sur la libération du capitaine Henry Nelles, prisonnier de guerre, 10 août 1814

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (553ko)
Document sur la libération du capitaine Henry Nelles,
prisonnier de guerre, 10 août 1814
Fonds Famille Robert Nelles,
Document textuel
Code de référence : F 542, MU 2192
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


William Hamilton Merritt et Catherine Prendergast

William Hamilton Merritt était capitaine des Provincial Dragoons (cavalerie), et il servit pendant la plus grande partie de la guerre de 1812. Il avait été fait prisonnier lors de la bataille de Lundy’s Lane, en 1814, en même temps qu’Henry Nelles. Il avait rencontré Catherine Prendergast avant la guerre, se trouvant aux États-Unis par affaires ou en visite chez des parents. Celle-ci était d’une famille en vue dans le monde des affaires de l’État de New York. La correspondance que nous reproduisons ici documente les relations que les fiancés purent entretenir entre 1812 et 1814, malgré les complications de la guerre. Ces échanges épistolaires, pendant la période de captivité de Merritt aux États-Unis, illustrent bien les répercussions du conflit sur ces deux personnes ainsi que l’ambiance qui régnait dans la société du temps.

Notre fonds documentaire de la famille William Hamilton Merritt renferme quantité d’autres lettres échangées par William et Catherine. Merritt revint dans le Haut-Canada à la fin de la guerre et fut bientôt suivi de Catherine Prendergast. Leur mariage eut lieu en 1815.

La photographie de droite représente Merritt, beaucoup plus tard. Nous n’avons malheureusement pas pu repérer d’images de Catherine dans notre collection.

Photographie : Portrait de William Hamilton Merritt, 1860

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (78ko)
[Portrait de William Hamilton Merritt], 1860
William Notman
Collection de photographies des
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : S 657
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

« Voici la première et peut-être la seule occasion que j’aurai de vous écrire pendant la guerre. Je la saisis avec empressement, bien que je ne conçoive pas que les conditions soient très sûres. La situation désolante dans laquelle nos pays se trouvent me privera du plus grand plaisir que j’aie jamais connu, soit de vous voir. Nous n’étions pas mus par une attirance passagère, et personne au monde ne me convaincra que vous pourriez ne pas être digne de la confiance que j’ai toujours placée en vous et qui est ma raison de vivre. Le temps ne pourra jamais effacer l’empreinte de votre image exquise sur mon cœur épris, et même si je devais être séparé de vous pendant des années, je vous demeurerais fidèle, tel que vous m’avez vu la dernière fois. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de William Merritt (Fort Détroit) à
Catherine Prendergast, 4 septembre 1812
Fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt
Code de référence : F 662, boîte MU 5856, package 43
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


« Vous ne pouvez imaginer l’effet que la vôtre du 9 dernier a eu sur mon humeur chagrine, n’ayant eu aucune nouvelle de vous depuis le début de la guerre… Vous mentionnez la possibilité que je quitte l’armée (je risquerais en tout temps ma vie pour préserver votre tranquillité et me valoir votre estime, mais un moment de réflexion suffira à vous faire comprendre que cette solution est tout à fait impraticable… Mais, comme les dames n’ont généralement pas l’esprit à la politique, je n’insisterai pas. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) à
Catherine Prendergast, 9 févier 1814
Fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt
Code de référence : F 662, boîte MU 5856, paquet no 43
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (692ko) Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format "wav" (692ko) L'extrait est également disponible en format "aif" format (692ko)

Lettre de William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) à Catherine Prendergast, 9 février 1814 (Pages 1 et 4)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (333ko)
Pages 1 et 4

Lettre de William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) à Catherine Prendergast, 9 février 1814 (Pages 2 et 3)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (347ko)
Pages 2 et 3

Lettre de William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) à Catherine Prendergast, 9 février 1814 (Pages 5 et 8)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (283ko)
Pages 5 et 8

Lettre de William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) à Catherine Prendergast, 9 février 1814 (Pages 6 et 7)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (334ko)
Pages 6 et 7

Lettre de William Merritt (12 Mile Creek) à Catherine Prendergast, 9 février 1814
Fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt
Code de référence : F 662, boîte MU 5856, paquet no 43
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Lettre de William Merritt (Buffalo) à Catherine Prendergast, 27 juillet 1814 (Pages 1 et 4)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (344ko)
Pages 1 et 4

Lettre de William Merritt (Buffalo) à Catherine Prendergast, 27 juillet 1814 (Pages 3 et 2)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (402ko)
Pages 3 et 2

« Vous serez sans aucun doute stupéfaite de me retrouver en ce lieu. J’ai eu le malheur de tomber entre les mains des Américains lors de l’action du 25 courant à Lundy’s Lane. »

« Chère amie, il va sans dire que j’éprouverais un [indicible] plaisir à vous revoir. Si seulement cela était possible, ma captivité en deviendrait [secrètement ?] souhaitable. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de William Merritt (Buffalo) à
Catherine Prendergast, 27 juillet 1814
Fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt
Code de référence : F 662, MU 5856, paquet no 43
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (657ko) Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format "wav" (657ko) L'extrait est également disponible en format "aif" format (657ko)


« Mon cher papa… J’ai reçu une lettre de M. Merritt. Il était alors prisonnier à Buffalo et disait s’attendre à être envoyé à [Greenbush] incessamment. Il a également eu beaucoup de chance depuis le début de la guerre et il exprime le désir de vous voir. Il vous sera peut-être possible de lui rendre visite. Toute notre famille va bien. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Catherine Prendergast à
son père Jediah Prendergast, 7 août 1814
Fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt
Code de référence : F 662, boîte MU 5856, paquet no 43
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (589ko) Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format "wav" (589ko) L'extrait est également disponible en format "aif" format (589ko)


« Monsieur,

J’ai reçu la vôtre du 6 août par la dernière poste. Je vous assure que c’est un grand plaisir pour moi d’apprendre que votre nouvelle situation vous procure autant de calme, que vous n’êtes pas privé d’amis, et, surtout, que vous êtes disposé à me compter du nombre. J’espère sincèrement qu’on vous réserve un traitement courtois dans ce pays, de façon que vous ne regrettiez jamais la cause qui vous a forcé à quitter le vôtre; dans le cas contraire, je serais tentée de devenir traître moi-même. … Vous m’avez vraiment convaincue de votre sincérité, car, certainement, s’il en était autrement, vous ne raconteriez pas la même vieille histoire à tous et chacun. Cependant, ne croyez pas que je m’oppose à la confiance qu’il vous a plu de placer en notre tante Sally! Je me réjouis d’apprendre que vous vous êtes rendu là-bas et suis convaincue que vous avez en elle une bonne amie. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Catherine Prendergast (Mayville) à
William Merritt (Greenbush), 7 septembre 1814
Fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt
Code de référence : F 662, boîte MU 5856, paquet no 43
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Lettre de Catherine Prendergast (Mayville) à William Merritt (Greenbush), 7 septembre 1814 (Page1 et 3)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (361ko)
Pages 1 et 3

Lettre de Catherine Prendergast (Mayville) à William Merritt (Greenbush), 7 septembre 1814 (Page 2)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (183ko)
Page 2

Lettre de Catherine Prendergast (Mayville) à
William Merritt (Greenbush), 7 septembre 1814
Fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt
Code de référence : F 662, boîte MU 5856, paquet no 43
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


« Monsieur,
J’ai reçu votre aimable lettre le 9 courant, par l’intermédiaire de papa. Avec quel enchantement je l’ai parcourue. Ce que vous me dites est un baume pour mon esprit, plus que toute autre chose que vous m’aviez déjà écrite. L’idée que vous-même et mon père soyez devenus amis a davantage contribué à me rendre heureuse que tout ce que j’ai déjà vécu. Mon cher papa s’est conduit si généreusement dans cette situation que cela a effacé de mon esprit toute trace de ressentiment; désormais, plus que jamais, je me laisserai guider par sa volonté et ses préférences. En ce qui vous concerne, vous m’avez presque déçue (heureusement), car, je n’ai pu m’empêcher bien des fois de penser que vous étiez comme bien d’autres, qu’il était impossible que vous ne changiez pas de dispositions pendant une période aussi longue… »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de
Catherine Prendergast (Mayville) à
William Merritt (Greenbush), 14 septembre 1814
Fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt
Code de référence : F 662,
boîte MU 5856, paquet no 43
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

« J’ai reçu la vôtre du 9 novembre, accompagnée d’une autre à l’adresse de M. Merritt, que je lui ai fait suivre le même jour par l’entremise d’un certain M. James… Et ce matin, j’ai eu le plaisir de recevoir une lettre de M. M. qui en refermait une autre pour vous, laquelle je me suis permis de lire - puisque, dans votre grande amabilité, vous me permettez de prendre connaissance de votre correspondance. Je dois dire que c’est là une insigne marque d’amitié… J’ai pu converser très librement avec M. Merritt d’affaires que vous et lui connaissez, puisque son inquiétude m’a semblé extrême… »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de
Sally Prendergast (Litchfield) à sa nièce
Catherine Prendergast, 10 décembre 1814
Fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt
Code de référence : F 662,
boîte MU 5856, paquet no 42
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

 

[ Haut de la page ]


Précédante | Acceuil | Suivante
Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle