The War of 1812: Important Places - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Most of the battlefields of Upper Canada are marked with at least an historical plaque or monument. Where a park or restored wartime facility is present it is noted in the description below.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

 


Amherstburg

A town in Upper Canada on the Detroit River at Lake Erie. It was the main naval base and shipyard for the British on Lake Erie. A replica of the British flag ship at the Battle of Lake Erie, HMS Detroit, is on display at Amherstburg.

[ Return to top of page ]


Ancaster

Small community in Upper Canada at western end of Lake Ontario, now part of the City of Hamilton. It was the site of the treason trials held in the summer of 1814, 15 men were sentenced to death for aiding the United States, 8 were executed.

[ Return to top of page ]


Beaver Dams

A small community in Upper Canada, now part of the City of St. Catharines, it was the site of a battle in 1813 which saw the capture of an American detachment. Laura Secord provided the warning to British forces of the approaching Americans.

[ Return to top of page ]


Blackrock

A small Village in New York state just north of Buffalo. It was burned in 1814 in retaliation for the destruction of Niagara.

[ Return to top of page ]


Blandensburg

Village near the American capital Washington, it was the site of a battle between British and American forces. The defeat of the Americans led to the partial destruction of Washington in retaliation for the destruction of York the year before.

[ Return to top of page ]


British North America

That part of North America which did not separate from the British Empire as part of the United States in 1783. The colonies of Upper and Lower Canada, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland were the individual components of British North America.

[ Return to top of page ]


Buffalo

A town in New York state on the Niagara River at Lake Erie. It was burned in 1814 in retaliation for the destruction of Niagara.

[ Return to top of page ]


Burlington

A town in Upper Canada at the western end of Lake Ontario. After the defeat at Fort George in the Spring of 1813 the British forces in Niagara concentrated at Burlington and built defence works. This position was maintained even after the Niagara area was recaptured late in the year.

[ Return to top of page ]


Châteauguay

Location of an 1813 battle in Lower Canada that led to the retreat of an American army threatening Montreal.

[ Return to top of page ]


Chippewa

A small community in Upper Canada on the Niagara River, where the Welland River flows into it, the site of a small British fort. The Battle of Chippewa was fought just south of there. A battlefield park has been established and is open to visitors.

[ Return to top of page ]


Cooks Mills

Location of an 1814 battle in the Niagara area, the last hostilities in that region.

[ Return to top of page ]


Cornwall

A town in Upper Canada on the St. Lawrence River near the border with Lower Canada (Quebec). It served as a shipping point to forward supplies to the rest of Upper Canada during the War of 1812.

[ Return to top of page ]


Crysler’s Farm

Location of an 1813 battle on the North Shore of the St. Lawrence between Gananoque and Cornwall. The actual battlefield was flooded in the 1950s during the development of the St. Lawrence Seaway. The monument was moved to higher ground at that time.

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort Dearborn

American fort in the Illinois Territory, now Chicago. It was destroyed by the First Nations in 1812.

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort Detroit

American military post on the Detroit River where it meets Lake St. Clair. A large fort, it was captured by the British early in the war. It was retaken by the United States in 1813 and served as the base for the invasion of western Upper Canada by General Harrison that same year. It served as the headquarters for the various American expeditions sent into the Western District in 1814 to destroy provisions and capture Upper Canadian militia officers.

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort Erie

A small British military post at the south end of the Niagara River at Lake Erie. It was captured by American forces in 1813 and 1814 and was the scene of a major battle in August of 1814. When the Americans again evacuated the area in November 1814 the fort was blown up. The site has been restored and is open to visitors, web site: http://www.niagaraparks.com/heritage/forterie.php

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort George

British military post at the town of Niagara. It was captured by American forces in 1813, but evacuated late in the year. The site has been restored and is open to visitors, web site: http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/fortgeorge/index_e.asp

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort Malden

British military post at the town of Amherstburg on the Detroit River where it meets Lake Erie. It protected the naval base and shipyard at the town. It served as Brock’s base when he captured Detroit in 1812. The following year it was captured by American forces and remained under occupation until after the signing of the peace treaty in 1814. The site has been restored and is open to visitors, web site: http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/malden/index_e.asp

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort Meigs

An American fort on the Maumee River in the Ohio Territory General Proctor attempted to capture or destroy the fort in 1813 to keep it from being used as a base of operations against Detroit. The attack was repulsed. The site has been restored and is open to visitors, web site: http://ohsweb.ohiohistory.org/places/nw06/index.shtml

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort Michilimackinac

An American military post on the narrows between Lake Superior, Lake Huron and Michigan. It was captured by the British at the beginning of the war and held until after the peace was signed in 1814. It was an important point for sending supplies to the First Nations allies of the British. The post was also known as Fort Mackinac. The site has been restored and is open to visitors, web site: http://www.mackinacparks.com/parks/fort-mackinac/

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort Niagara

American military post on the Niagara River at Lake Ontario. It was the headquarters of American forces in that area in the early stages of the war. It was captured by British forces in December of 1813 and held until the end of the war. The site has been restored and is open to visitors, web site: https://oldfortniagara.org/index.php

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort Stephenson

An American fort on the Sandusky River in the Ohio Territory, General Proctor attempted to capture or destroy the fort in 1813 to keep it from being used as a base of operations against Detroit. The attack was repulsed.

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort Wellington

A British military post on the St. Lawrence River at Prescott. The earthwork fort was built to protect British shipping on the St. Lawrence River. The site has been restored and is open to visitors, web site: http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/wellington/index_e.asp

[ Return to top of page ]


Fort York

A British military base at York it was partially destroyed during the American raids and rebuilt after the war. The site has been restored and is open to visitors, web site: http://www.toronto.ca/culture/museums/fort-york.htm

[ Return to top of page]


Frenchman’s Creek

A Creek flowing into the Niagara River a few kilometres north of Fort Erie. It was the site of an American landing in the fall of 1812, the attack was repulsed by Upper Canadian militia and British regulars.

[ Return to top of page ]


Frenchtown

The site of General Winchester's defeat early in 1813, near Fort Detroit.

[ Return to top of page ]


Gananoque

A town in Upper Canada, on the St. Lawrence River. It served as a supply depot throughout the War of 1812. American raiders burned the warehouse of military supplies in the fall of 1812.

[ Return to top of page ]


Grand River

Upper Canadian river flowing into Lake Erie from the north, the location of the 6 Nations (Iroquois) Reserve.

[ Return to top of page ]


Kingston

A town in Upper Canada where Lake Ontario flows into the St. Lawrence River. It served as the main British naval base and shipyard in the province during the war. The fortifications built here were destroyed after the war by the construction of new forts. There are displays relating to the role of Kingston during the War of 1812 at Fort Henry, web site: http://www.forthenry.com/

[ Return to top of page ]


Lake Champlain

A lake primarily in New York State and Vermont south of Montreal.

[ Return to top of page ]


Long Woods

The location of a battle between British troops and American raiders near the present village of Thamesville on the Thames River west of London, Ontario.

[ Return to top of page ]


Lower Canada

In 1791 the Province of Quebec was split into two parts, the eastern portion was Lower Canada and the western Upper Canada. Lower Canada was combined with Upper Canada in 1841 to form the United Province of Canada, and in 1867 they split again, the eastern portion became the Province of Quebec.

[ Return to top of page ]


Lundy’s Lane

Site of the 1814 battle near Niagara Falls in Upper Canada.

[ Return to top of page ]


Mackinaw Island

A small island post on the narrows between Lake Superior, Lake Huron and Michigan. It was the site of Fort Mackinac.

[ Return to top of page ]


Moraviantown

A small community in the southwestern portion of Upper Canada, the location of the Battle of Moraviantown or Battle of the Thames were Tecumseh was killed.

[ Return to top of page ]


Newark

See Niagara (Town)

[ Return to top of page ]


New Orleans

An American city at the southern end of the Mississippi River, it was the location of the bloodiest British defeat of the War of 1812.

[ Return to top of page ]


Niagara (Town)

A town in Upper Canada, also known as Newark, at the north end of the Niagara River. It was the site of many battles and skirmishes over the course of the War of 1812. When American forces evacuated the area late in 1813 they burned the town to the ground. Now known as the town of Niagara-on-the-Lake.

[ Return to top of page ]


Niagara District

The part of Upper Canada bounded on the east by the Niagara River, the north by Lake Ontario and the south by Lake Erie. It was a major battlefield during the War of 1812.

[ Return to top of page ]


Ogdensburg

A town in New York State, on the St. Lawrence River. A major point for smuggling during the War of 1812.

[ Return to top of page ]


Penetanguishene

A small community in Upper Canada on Lake Huron. In the closing months of the war it was developed as a naval base to replace Amherstburg. It continued to fill this role until the 1840s. The post-war naval establishment has been partially restored and is open to visitors as Discovery Harbour, web site: http://www.discoveryharbour.on.ca/

[ Return to top of page ]


Plattsburgh

An American town and naval base on Lake Champlain, the location of the Battle of Lake Champlain where the British fleet on the lake was defeated.

[ Return to top of page ]


Queenston

A small village in Upper Canada north of Niagara Falls, now part of the town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. It was the home of Laura Secord. Many historic buildings, including Laura Secord’s home, have been preserved in this community.

[ Return to top of page ]


Queenston Heights

The high ground on the Niagara Escarpment above the Village of Queenston. It was fortified early in the war and was the object of an American attack in 1812. The defeat of the Americans and the death of General Brock had an important affect on the remainder of the war. A battlefield park has been established and is open to visitors, web site: http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/queenston/index_e.asp

[ Back | Top of Page ]


Rideau Canal

A canal system stretching from the St. Lawrence near Kingston to the present city of Ottawa. It was built in the decade after the war to provide a more secure route for the shipment of supplies to Upper Canada. The canal is maintained as a national historic site, web site: http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/rideau/default.asp

[ Return to top of page ]


Sackets Harbor

A town in New York State at the eastern end of Lake Ontario. It served as the main American naval base and shipyard during the War of 1812. In 1813 an unsuccessful attack was launched on this place from Kingston under the command of General Prevost.

[ Return to top of page ]


Sandwich

A small community in Upper Canada on the Detroit River now part of the City of Windsor. It was the place briefly occupied by American forces in 1812 when General Hull launched the first invasion of Upper Canada. It was again occupied in 1813 and remained under American control until the end of the war.

[ Return to top of page ]


St. Davids

A small village in Upper Canada, now part of the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, it was burned by American forces in 1814.

[ Return to top of page ]


Stoney Creek

A small community in Upper Canada, now part of the City of Hamilton, it was the site of a battle in 1813 that brought the American advance after Fort George to a halt. A battlefield park has been established and is open to visitors, web site: http://www.battlefieldhouse.ca/nhs.html

[ Return to top of page ]


Thames River

Upper Canadian river flowing into Lake St. Clair from the east, it was used as the route for General Procter’s forces when he retreated from Detroit in the fall of 1813. The Battle of Moraviantown, or the Battle of the Thames, was fought on its banks.

[ Return to top of page ]


Upper Canada

In 1791 the Province of Quebec was split into two parts, the eastern portion was Lower Canada and the western Upper Canada. Lower Canada was combined with Upper Canada in 1841 to form the United Province of Canada, and in 1867 they split again, the western portion became the Province of Ontario.

[ Return to top of page ]


Washington

The capital of the United States, it was partially destroyed in 1814 in retaliation for the destruction of York the year before.

[ Return to top of page ]


Welland River

Upper Canadian river flowing into the Niagara River from the west, it was frequently the front line between British and American forces during the summer of 1814. Also known as the Chippewa Creek.

[ Return to top of page ]


Western District

The part of Upper Canada bounded by the Detroit River, Lake St. Clair and St. Clair River to the west, Lake Erie to the South and Lake Huron to the north. The area was the scene of many battles during the war.

[ Return to top of page ]


York

A town in Upper Canada on the north shore of Lake Ontario, now the City of Toronto. The capital of Upper Canada it was attacked twice by American forces in 1813 and many of the public buildings, including the original parliament building, were destroyed. The charred remains of the Parliament building has been recently excavated by archaeologists.

[ Return to top of page ]

tml La guerre de 1812 : Lieux importants - bannière

Table des matières


La plupart des champs de bataille du Haut-Canada sont signalés à tout le moins par une plaque ou un monument historique. Lorsqu’il se trouve sur les lieux un parc ou une installation de guerre restaurée, ce fait est souligné dans la description ci-dessous.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

 


Amherstburg

Petite ville du Haut-Canada sur la rivière Détroit, à l’entrée du lac Érié. C’était l’emplacement de la principale base et chantier navals des Britanniques sur le lac Érié. Une réplique du bâtiment amiral britannique lors de la bataille du lac Érié, le HMS Detroit, est exposée à Amherstburg.

[ Haut de la page ]


Ancaster

Petite collectivité du Haut-Canada, à l’extrémité occidentale du lac Ontario, qui fait maintenant partie de la Cité de Hamilton. C’est là qu’ont eu lieu les procès pour trahison tenus au cours de l’été de 1814; 15 hommes y ont été condamnés à mort pour collaboration avec les États-Unis, et huit ont été exécutés.

[ Haut de la page ]


Bas-Canada

En 1791, la province de Québec fut divisée en deux colonies, le Bas-Canada à l'est et le Haut-Canada à l'ouest . Les deux colonies furent réunies em 1841 pour former la province du Canada-Uni; elle furent séparées de nouveau en 1867, la partie est devenant la province de Québec.

[ Haut de la page ]


Beaver Dams

Petite collectivité du Haut-Canada, qui fait maintenant partie de la Cité de St. Catharines. En 1813, une bataille s’y est déroulée, avec capture d’un détachement américain. Laura Secord avait pu avertir les forces britanniques de l’avance des Américains.

[ Haut de la page ]


Blackrock

Petit village de l’État de New-York, immédiatement au nord de Buffalo, qui a été incendié en 1814, en représailles pour la destruction de Niagara.

[ Haut de la page ]


Blandensburg

Village voisin de la capitale américaine de Washington, qui fut le site d’une bataille entre les forces britanniques et américaines. La défaite des Américains a entraîné la destruction partielle de Washington, en représailles pour la destruction de York, l’année précédente.

[ Haut de la page ]


Buffalo

Ville de l’État de New-York, sur la Niagara, à l’entrée du lac Érié, qui a été incendiée en 1814, en représailles à la destruction de Niagara.

[ Haut de la page ]


Burlington

Ville du Haut-Canada, à l’extrémité occidentale du lac Ontario. Après la défaite du fort George au printemps de 1813, les forces britanniques de Niagara ont aménagé des ouvrages défensifs. Cette position fut maintenue, même après la reconquête de la région du Niagara vers la fin de l’année.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le canal Rideau

Réseau de canaux qui s’étendent depuis le Saint-Laurent à proximité de Kingston jusqu’à l’actuelle ville d’Ottawa. Le réseau a été aménagé au cours de la décennie qui a suivi la guerre afin de présenter une route plus sécuritaire pour l’acheminement des approvisionnements vers le Haut-Canada. Le canal fait maintenant partie d’un lieu historique national; voir le site Web, à : http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/rideau/default.asp

[ Haut de la page ]


Châteauguay

Emplacement, dans le Bas-Canada, d’une bataille de 1813 qui a mené à la retraite d’une armée américaine aux portes de Montréal.

[ Haut de la page ]


Chippewa

Petite collectivité du Haut-Canada sur la Niagara et emplacement d’un petit fort britannique, là où débouche la rivière Welland. La bataille de Chippewa a eu lieu immédiatement au sud. Un parc, aménagé sur le champ de bataille, est ouvert aux visiteurs.

[ Haut de la page ]


Crysler’s Farm

Lieu d’une bataille qui a eu lieu en 1813 sur la rive nord du Saint-Laurent, entre Gananoque et Cornwall. Le champ de bataille a été inondé dans les années 1950, au cours de l’aménagement de la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent. Le monument a été déménagé sur un terrain plus élevé à l’époque.

[ Haut de la page ]


Cooks Mills

Emplacement de la région de Niagara qui a vu se dérouler en 1814 une bataille qui a clos les hostilités dans la région.

[ Haut de la page ]


Cornwall

Ville du Haut-Canada sur le Saint-Laurent, à proximité de la frontière du Bas-Canada (le Québec). Ce fut le lieu de départ pour l’acheminement des approvisionnements vers le reste du Haut-Canada pendant la guerre de 1812.

[ Haut de la page ]


District de Niagara

Partie du Haut-Canada borné à l’est par la Niagara, au nord par le lac Ontario et au sud par le lac Érié. Ce fut un des champs de bataille principaux de la guerre de 1812.

[ Haut de la page ]


District de l'Ouest

Partie du Haut-Canada bornée par la rivière Détroit, le lac et la rivière St. Clair à l’ouest, le lac Érié au sud et le lac Huron au nord. La région a été la scène de nombreuses batailles au cours de la guerre.

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort Dearborn

Fort américain du territoire de l’Illinois, aujourd’hui Chicago. Le fort fut détruit par les Premières Nations en 1812.

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort Détroit

Poste militaire américain sur la Détroit, au confluent du lac St. Clair. De grandes dimensions, le fort est tombé aux mains des Britanniques dès le début de la guerre. Il devait être repris par les États-Unis en 1813 et servir de base à l’invasion de la partie occidentale du Haut-Canada par le général Harrison la même année. Le fort a été le quartier général de diverses expéditions américaines dans le district occidental en 1814 visant à détruire les provisions et à faire prisonnier des officies de milice haut-canadiens.

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort Érie

Petit poste militaire britannique établi à l’extrémité sud de la Niagara, à l’entrée du lac Érié. Capturé par les forces américaines en 1813 et 1814, il a été la scène d’une bataille importante en août 1814. Lorsque les Américains ont de nouveau évacué la zone en novembre 1814, le fort a été rasé par une explosion. Le site a été restauré et est ouvert aux visiteurs; voir le site Web, à : http://www.niagaraparks.com/heritage/forterie.php

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort George

Poste militaire britannique sur l’emplacement de la ville de Niagara. Il fut capturé par les forces américaines en 1813 mais évacué à la fin de l’année. Le site a été restauré et il est ouvert aux visiteurs; voir le site Web, à : http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/fortgeorge/index_f.asp

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort Malden

Poste militaire britannique sur l’emplacement de la ville d’Amherstburg, sur la Détroit, confluent du lac Érié. Ce poste protégeait la base et le chantier navals de la ville. Il servait de base à Brock lorsqu’il a capturé Détroit en 1812. L’année suivante, il tombait aux mains des forces américaines et devait rester occuper jusqu’après la signature du traité de paix, en 1814. Le site a été restauré et il est ouvert aux visiteurs; voir le site Web, à : http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/malden/index_f.asp

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort Meigs

Fort américain sur la Maumee, dans le territoire de l’Ohio. Le général Proctor avait tenté de capturer ou de détruite le fort en 1813 pour éviter qu’il serve de base des opérations contre Détroit. L’attaque fut repoussée. Le site a été restauré et il est ouvert aux visiteurs; voir le site Web, à : http://www.ohiohistory.org/places/ftmeigs/

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort Michilimackinac

Poste militaire américain sur le passage entre le lac Supérieur, le lac Huron et le Michigan. Au début de la guerre, le fort a été capturé par les Britanniques qui l’ont conservé jusqu’à la signature du traité de paix, en 1814. C’était un point important pour l’acheminement des approvisionnements aux alliés autochtones des Britanniques. Le poste était aussi connu sous le nom de fort Mackinac. Le site a été restauré et il est ouvert aux visiteurs; voir le site Web, à : http://www.mackinacparks.com/fortmackinac/

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort Niagara

Poste militaire américain sur la Niagara, à l’entrée du lac Ontario. Dans les débuts de la guerre, le fort a servi de quartier général aux forces américaines. En décembre 1813, il tombait aux mains des forces britanniques, qui l’a conservé jusqu’à la fin de la guerre. Le site a été restauré et il est ouvert aux visiteurs; voir le site Web, à : http://oldfortniagara.org/

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort Stephenson

Fort américain sur la Sandusky River, dans le territoire de l’Ohio. Le général Proctor avait tenté de capturer ou de détruite le fort en 1813 pour éviter qu’il serve de base des opérations contre Détroit. L’attaque fut repoussée.

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort Wellington

Poste militaire britannique sur le Saint-Laurent, sur l’emplacement de Prescott. Ouvrage renforcé par remblai, le fort avait été construit pour protéger les navires britanniques circulant sur le Saint-Laurent. Le site a été restauré et il est ouvert aux visiteurs; voir le site Web, à : http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/wellington/index_f.asp

[ Haut de la page ]


Fort York

Base militaire britannique sur l’emplacement de York, le fort a été partiellement détruit au cours des raids américains et reconstruits après la guerre. Le site a été restauré et il est ouvert aux visiteurs; voir le site Web, à : http://www.toronto.ca/culture/fort_york.aspx

[ Haut de la page ]


Frenchman’s Creek

Ce ruisseau se jette dans la Niagara, à quelques kilomètres au nord du fort Érié. Ce fut l’emplacement d’un débarquement américain à l’automne de 1812, mais l’attaque avait été repoussée par les réguliers britanniques et la milice haut-canadiennes.

[ Haut de la page ]


Frenchtown

Site de la défaite du général Winchester, au début de 1813, à proximité du fort Détroit.

[ Haut de la page ]


Gananoque

Ville du Haut-Canada, sur le Saint-Laurent. On y avait établi un dépôt d’approvisionnement pendant la guerre de 1812. L’entrepôt de fournitures militaires avait été incendié lors de raids américains, à l’automne de 1812.

[ Haut de la page ]


Haut-Canada

En 1791, la province de Québec fut divisée en deux colonies, le Haut-Canada à l'ouest et le Bas-Canada à l'est. Les deux colonies furent réunies em 1841 pour former la province du Canada-Uni; elle furent séparées de nouveau en 1867, la partie ouest devenant la province d'Ontario.

[ Haut de la page ]


Île Mackinaw

Petite Île sur le détroit défilé qui se trouve entre le lac Supérieur, le lac Huron et le Michigan. Ce fut l’emplacement du fort Mackinac.

[ Haut de la page ]


Kingston

Ville du Haut-Canada, là où le lac Ontario se jette dans le Saint-Laurent. Pendant la guerre, on y avait établi la principale base et chantier navals britanniques de la province. Les fortifications qui y avaient été édifiées ont été détruites après la guerre, lors de la construction de nouveaux forts. Il existe des présentations au sujet du rôle de Kingston pendant la guerre de 1812 à Fort Henry; voir le site Web, à : http://www.forthenry.com/

[ Haut de la page ]


Le lac Champlain

Lac sis au sud de Montréal et se trouvant principalement dans les États de New-York et du Vermont.

[ Haut de la page ]


Long Woods

Emplacement d’une bataille entre les troupes britanniques et les rebelles américains, à proximité de l’actuel village de Thamesville, sur la Thames, à l’ouest de London (Ontario).

[ Haut de la page ]


Lundy’s Lane

Emplacement de la bataille de 1814, à proximité de Niagara Falls, dans le Haut-Canada.

[ Haut de la page ]


Moraviantown

Petite collectivité de l’extrémité sud-ouest du Haut-Canada et emplacement de la bataille de Moraviantown ou bataille de la Thames, où Tecumseh a été tué.

[ Haut de la page ]


La Nouvelles-Orléans

Ville américaine sise à l’extrémité sud du Mississippi; emplacement de la défaite britannique la plus coûteuse en vies de la guerre de 1812.

[ Haut de la page ]


Newark

Voir Niagara (ville)

[ Haut de la page ]


Niagara (ville)

Ville du Haut-Canada, aussi connue sous le nom de Newark, à l’extrémité nord de la Niagara. Ce fut l’emplacement de nombreuses batailles et escarmouches tout au long de la guerre de 1812. Lorsque les forces américaines évacuèrent la région à la fin de 1813, elles incendièrent la ville, dont il n’est rien resté. La ville est aujourd’hui connue sous le nom de Niagara-on-the-Lake.

[ Haut de la page ]


Ogdensburg

Ville de l’État de New-York, sur le Saint-Laurent. L’un des lieux principaux de contrebande pendant la guerre de 1812.

[ Haut de la page ]


Penetanguishene

Petite collectivité du Haut-Canada, sur le lac Huron. Au cours des derniers mois de la guerre, on y établit une base navale pour remplacer celle d’Amherstburg. Cette base a existé jusque dans les années 1840. L’établissement naval d’après-guerre a été partiellement restauré et il est ouvert aux visiteurs, sous l’appellation Port de la découverte; voir le site Web, à : http://www.discoveryharbour.on.ca/dh/fr/Home/index.htm

[ Haut de la page ]


Plattsburgh

Petite ville américaine et base navale, à l’extrémité sud du lac Champlain; emplacement de la bataille du lac Champlain qui s’est soldée par la défaite de la flotte britannique sur le lac.

[ Haut de la page ]


Queenston

Petit village du Haut-Canada, au nord de Niagara Falls, qui fait maintenant partie de Niagara-on-the-Lake. Ce fut la ville natale de Laura Secord. De nombreux bâtiments historiques, dont la maison de Laura Secord, ont été préservés dans cette collectivité.

[ Haut de la page ]


Queenston Heights

Plateau de l’Escarpement du Niagara, au-dessus du village de Queenston. Ce fut l’objet de fortifications dès le début de la guerre et fut attaqué par les Américains en 1812. La défaite des Américains et la mort du général Brock ont eu des retombées importantes sur les suites de la guerre. Un parc a été aménagé sur le champ de bataille et il est ouvert aux visiteurs; voir le site Web, à : http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/queenston/index_f.asp

[ Haut de la page ]


La rivière Grand

Rivière haut-canadienne qui coule du nord pour se jeter dans le lac Érié, emplacement de la réserve des Six-Nations (iroquoise).

[ Haut de la page ]


La rivière Thames

Rivière haut-canadienne qui coule de l'est pour se jeter dans le lac St. Clair; la rivière a été empruntée par les forces du général Procter, lorsqu’elles se sont retirées de Détroit, à l’automne de 1813. La bataille de Moraviantown, ou bataille de la Thames, a eu lieu sur ses rives.

[ Haut de la page ]


La rivière Welland

Rivière haut-canadienne coule de l'ouest pour se jeter dans la Niagara; a fréquemment constitué le front entre les forces britanniques et américaines pendant l’été de 1814. On la connaît aussi sous le nom de Chippewa Creek.

[ Haut de la page ]


Sackets Harbor

Petite ville de l’État de New-York, à l’extrémité orientale du lac Ontario. Les Américains y avaient établi leur principale base et chantier navals au cours de la guerre de 1812. En 1813, ces établissements ont fait l’objet d’une attaque in fructueuse depuis Kingston, sous le commandement du général Prevost.

[ Haut de la page ]


Sandwich

Petite collectivité du Haut-Canada, sur la Détroit, qui fait maintenant partie de la Cité de Windsor. Emplacement brièvement occupé par les forces américaines en 1812, lorsque le général Hull avait lancé la première invasion du Haut-Canada. Il fut de nouveau occupé en 1813 et est demeuré sous domination américaine jusqu’à la fin de la guerre.

[ Haut de la page ]


St. Davids

Petit village du Haut-Canada, qui fait maintenant partie de la ville de Niagara-on-the-Lake, et qui avait été incendié par les forces américaines en 1814.

[ Haut de la page ]


Stoney Creek

Petite collectivité du Haut-Canada, qui fait maintenant partie de la Cité de Hamilton. En 1813, ce fut le site d’une bataille qui devait arrêter l’avance américaine, passé fort George. Un parc a été aménagé sur le champ de bataille et il est ouvert aux visiteurs; voir le site Web, à : http://www.battlefieldhouse.ca/nhs.html

[ Haut de la page ]


Washington

Capitale des États-Unis, elle fut partiellement détruite en 1814, en représailles à la destruction de York, l’année précédente.

[ Haut de la page ]


York

Petite ville du Haut-Canada sur la rive nord du lac Ontario, sur l’emplacement de l’actuelle Ville de Toronto. Capitale du Haut-Canada, elle fut l’objet de deux attaques des forces américaines en 1813 et un bon nombre des édifices publics, y compris les premiers édifices du Parlement, ont été détruits. Les vestiges calcinés des édifices du Parlement ont récemment été mis au jour par des archéologues.

[ Haut de la page ]


Précédante | Page d'acceuil | Suivante
Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle