The War of 1812: Soldiering in Canada (1812-1814) - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Blockhouse and Battery in Old Fort, Toronto, 1812, [ca. 1921]

Who Served in Upper Canada?

Letter The professional core of the defenders of Upper Canada during the War of 1812 were the British regulars who garrisoned the forts and smaller posts from Cornwall to Fort St. Joseph on Lake Huron. They were augmented by "Fencibles units" which were colonial regulars raised in the various parts of British North America, the most prominent being the Newfoundland Fencibles and the Voltigeurs raised in Lower Canada. The last and largest component of the military in Upper Canada were the local militia.


John Le Couteur followed a typical path as an officer during the War of 1812. He was born on Jersey, a Channel Island, in 1794, the son of General John Le Couteur, marking him for a military career. The beginnings of formal military training for prospective officers, still gentry, corresponded to the start of Le Couteur's military career. He was an early student of the Royal Military College and graduated with the rank of ensign in 1810, serving first in the 96th Foot.

In 1812 he was transferred to the 104th Regiment which was already stationed in Canada with the rank of Lieutenant. As an officer and a gentleman, Le Couteur was required to pay for his own equipment, food and uniforms out of his limited pay and whatever allowance or income he could obtain from his family. He was stationed in various parts of Upper Canada during the war, and was present at the Battle of Lundy's lane. Le Couteur survived the war and returned to England in 1817 with the rank of Captain. footnote #1


One of the advantages to serving as an officer was the option of resigning ones commission or selling it to a lower ranking officer for a profit. In wartime, not surprisingly, resignation would only be with the permission of a senior officer otherwise they would face sanctions for desertion. The standard of living available to officers depended upon their personal wealth, as pay, although far better than that of a private or sergeant, was generally inadequate to meet the social obligations and style that was expected of an officer and a gentleman.

The militia officer corps was drawn from the Upper Canadian equivalent of the British gentry. Property owners like William Hamilton Merritt were expected to serve in a leadership capacity, in his case as a Captain in the Provincial Dragoons (cavalry). Like regular officers they had to provide for themselves many articles of equipment and only the wealthier members of Upper Canadian society were in a position to do so. As the war progressed and became more intense militia officers faced a new kind of threat. They were targeted by pro-American inhabitants for punishment during periods of enemy occupation and at times they were taken from their homes by raiders and transported to the United States and imprisonment for the duration of the war.

[ Return to top of page ]


The Enlisted Men

Letter The ordinary private, the Tommy Aitkins of British tradition (a fictional character), came from a much different social and economic strata of society. Great Britain had no conscription in the 18th or 19th century but the difficult economic conditions faced by the rural and urban populations made enlistment an option for many who had few prospects. A man who accepted the "King's Shilling" on enlistment was subject to a long term of service, generally 20 years or more and could be transferred for service to any part of the British Empire or one of the theatres of war with France or the United States, including the backwoods of Upper Canada. In the field, the standard daily ration issued to each man consisted of a pound and a half of bread, a pound of fresh or salt beef and a half gill of rum (2 ounces or 70 ml). In addition to the monotony of this diet, the caloric intake for men doing heavy work was inadequate. The estimate of the daily ration was 2697 calories, while the current recommendation for modern, sedentary adult males is 3000 calories. footnote #2 The energy expended in the field would have far exceeded these levels.

Troops in garrison had better access to fresh food and vegetables, but shortages were a constant problem. The ordinary soldiers were housed in barracks that also served as strongpoints in the various forts. The blockhouses at Fort York and Fort George were the sleeping, eating and living quarters for the enlisted men. These log structures were loop-holed to allow defenders to fire out against attackers who had penetrated the main defences, leaving them drafty and difficult to heat. In the field, tents were seldom available for troops or officers so, unless a house or barn was available for temporary shelter while on campaign, men slept in the open.

Blockhouse and Battery in Old Fort, Toronto, 1812, [ca. 1921]

Click to see a larger image (77K)
Blockhouse and Battery in Old Fort, Toronto,
1812, [ca. 1921]
C. W. Jefferys
Pen and ink drawing on paper
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 621228

In return for this the private soldier was paid 1 shilling per day (frequently in arrears). In addition he was issued new clothing on a regular basis to replace worn-out uniforms. Le Couteur would have paid for his uniforms and rations out of deductions from his pay. Le Couteur received 4 shillings and 8 pence a day.


One of the things that separated officers from the enlisted men most graphically was the nature of punishment . An officer could be reduced in rank or forced out of the military or in extremely rare situations, face imprisonment or execution. Enlisted men faced a long list of corporal punishments for minor and major infractions of military discipline. The most common punishment was flogging, the number of strokes depending on the seriousness of the offence. Deserters faced severe floggings if recaptured, and in repeat cases execution by firing squad. Similar penalties applied for offences considered mutiny, such as striking a superior officer or defying orders.

The ordinary militiaman on duty received much the same pay and rations as his regular counterparts, but did not face the same severity of punishments. Most often he was a small farmer with no military experience or training and little interest in the military life. The ability to obtain service from the militia from coercion was limited as desertion into the home community was always an option for locals. Obtaining parole from further military service in areas occupied by American forces was also an option for many residents who did not relish active service, whatever their broader attitudes toward the war. Although technically obligatory, service in the militia was more an act of personal conviction in the Upper Canadian context.

[ Return to top of page ]


The Tactics

Letter The standard tactics used by the British infantry at this time was the line of battle. Men stood in two lines, shoulder to shoulder, and fired their smooth bore muskets in disciplined volleys. This tactic was dictated by the inaccuracy of the standard "brown bess" musket, and the need to achieve concentrated fire against a similar line of enemy troops. Also, a 19th century battlefield was a confused place. The muskets and artillery discharged a heavy white smoke that obscured opponents and messages from a commander to specific parts of the line could only be transmitted in writing or orally. It was not unusual for this "fog of war" to take control of the battlefield from the commanding officers and place it in the hands of chance and the individual soldiers. Theoretically one side would give way before the musketry or a final bayonet charge.

The fire of the infantry would be supplemented by light field artillery, these guns were identified by the weight of shot fired, from 3 pounds to 12 pounds, which were designed to batter defences or cut through the enemy infantry. At close range the guns could be loaded with "cannister" which turned them into large shotguns, spreading dozens of small iron balls or fragments in a wide path. First Nations warriors were employed as light troops which sought to turn the flank of an opponent. Of course in the heavily forested Upper Canada of 1812-1814, the formal tactics were not always applicable. Militia, First Nations and Regulars would take advantage of the cover offered by the trees and it was difficult to maintain the strict lines except in open fields. These tactics could result in heavy casualties, relative to the number of troops engaged.

Drawing: The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [ca. 1921]

Click to see a larger image (136K)
The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [ca. 1921]
C. W. Jefferys
Pen and ink drawing on paper
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 621234

[ Return to top of page ]


Footnotes:

  1. Donald E. Graves editor Merry Hearts Make Light Days: The War of 1812 Journal of Lieutenant John Le Couteur, 104th Foot. Ottawa: Carleton University Press, 1993. [Back]
  2. George Shepard. Plunder, Profit and Paroles: A Social History of the War of 1812 in Upper Canada. Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1994, p. 109. [Back]
[ Return to top of page ]

La guerre de 1812 : La vie de soldat au Canada  (1812-1814) - bannière

Table des matières


Dessin : Blockhouse and Battery in Old Fort, Toronto, 1812, [vers 1921]

Qui servait dans le Haut-Canada?

Lettre Pendant la guerre de 1812, le Haut-Canada était défendu par des forces composites : tout d’abord, un noyau de militaires de carrière, les réguliers britanniques, assurait la garnison des forts et des postes plus petits qui s’échelonnaient depuis Cornwall jusqu’au fort Saint-Joseph, sur le lac Huron. Joignaient leurs rangs, des unités de « Territoriaux » réguliers, soit des coloniaux recrutés dans diverses parties de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, dont les plus connues étaient les Territoriaux de Terre-Neuve et les Voltigeurs du Bas-Canada. Le dernier volet - le plus considérable - de l’armée haut-canadienne réunissait les milices locales.


Les officiers

John Le Couteur avait suivi le parcours usuel d'un officiers de la guerre de 1812. Né en 1794 à Jersey, une des îles anglo-normande, il était le fils du général John Le Couteur et donc destiné au métier des armes. Le Couteurs avait entamé sa carrière par une formation pour futurs officiers de bonne famille. Il était entré tout jeune au Royal Military College et en était sorti en 1810, avec le rang d’enseigne et une première affectation au 96e régiment d’infanterie.

En 1812, il avait été muté au 104e régiment, déjà cantonné au Canada, avec le rang de lieutenant. Officier et gentleman, Le Couteur devait assumer ses frais d’équipement, de subsistance et d’uniforme à même sa modeste solde, arrondie de l’allocation qu’il pouvait obtenir de sa famille. Il fut cantonné dans diverses régions du Haut-Canada pendant la guerre et participa à la bataille de Lundy’s Lane. Le Couteur survécut à la guerre et fut rapatrié en Angleterre en 1817, avec le rang de capitaine. Note no 1


L’un des avantages du service en qualité d’officier était de pouvoir démissionner de sa commission ou vendre celle-ci à profit à un officier de rang inférieur. En temps de guerre, naturellement, la démission devait être autorisée par un officier supérieur, sous peine de sanction pour désertion. Le niveau de vie de l’officier dépendait de sa fortune personnelle, car sa solde - bien que beaucoup plus élevée que celle d’un simple soldat ou d’un sergent - était généralement insuffisante au regard des obligations sociales et du train de vie de rigueur pour son rang.

Les officiers du corps de la milice étaient issus de l’équivalent haut-canadien de l’aristocratie britannique. On attendait des propriétaires terriens tels que William Hamilton Merritt qu’ils occupent un rang de commandement, dans son cas celui de capitaine des Provincial Dragoons (cavalerie). À l’instar des officiers réguliers, ceux de la milice assumaient personnellement les frais d’une bonne partie de leur équipement, ce dont seuls avaient les moyens les membres fortunés de la société haut-canadienne. Au fur et à mesure de l’intensification de la guerre, les officiers de la milice durent affronter un nouveau type de menace. Ils étaient devenus la cible de représailles de la part des habitants pro-américains pendant les périodes d’occupation ennemie; ils étaient parfois même enlevés par des maraudeurs, transportés aux États-Unis et incarcérés jusqu’à la fin de la guerre.

[ Haut de la page ]


Les simples soldats

Lettre Le simple soldat, le troupier britannique traditionnel (représenté par un personnage fictif, Tommy Aitkins), était issu d’une classe sociale et économique bien différente. Aux 18e et 19e siècles, on ne connaissait pas la conscription en Grande-Bretagne, mais, vu les conditions économiques difficiles qui étaient le lot des populations tant urbaine que rurale, l’armée présentait des débouchés enviables à des hommes qui n’en avaient guère. Celui qui acceptait le « shilling du roi » après l’incorporation s’engageait pour une longue période de service, généralement de 20 ans ou plus, et pouvait être cantonné dans n’importe quelle partie de l’empire britannique ou sur l’un des théâtres d’opérations contre la France ou les États-Unis, y compris les régions reculées du Haut-Canada. Pendant les campagnes, la ration quotidienne du soldat consistait en une livre et demie de pain, une livre de bœuf frais ou salé et un demi-gill de rhum (2 onces ou 70 ml). Outre la monotonie de ce régime, son apport calorique était insuffisant pour soutenir des hommes soumis à de durs travaux. On estimait à 2 697 calories la ration quotidienne, alors que, actuellement, le régime préconisé pour un homme sédentaire se chiffre à 3 000 calories. Note no 2. En période de campagne, la dépense énergétique du soldat devait de loin dépasser ces niveaux.

En garnison, les soldats avaient plus facilement accès à des aliments et légumes frais, mais les pénuries étaient un problème constant. Les hommes de troupe logeaient dans les casernes, qui servaient aussi de places fortes, dans les divers forts. Aux forts York et George, les simples soldats logeaient dans les fortins; c’est là qu’ils dormaient, mangeaient et vaquaient à leurs occupations. Ces constructions en rondins étaient percées de meurtrières, qui permettaient aux occupants de se défendre en faisant feu sur les assaillants qui réussissaient à franchir les fortifications; mais ces ouvertures les rendaient difficiles à chauffer. Pendant les campagnes, officiers et soldats disposaient rarement de tentes, de sorte que, à moins qu’une maison ou une grange ne leur offre un toit, les hommes dormaient à ciel ouvert.

Dessin : Blockhouse and Battery in Old Fort, Toronto, 1812, [vers 1921]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (79ko)
Blockhouse and Battery in Old Fort,
Toronto, 1812, [vers 1921]
C. W. Jefferys
dessin, plume et encre sur papier
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 621228

En retour de ses services, le simple soldat recevait (bien sporadiquement) un shilling par jour. Il avait aussi périodiquement droit à un nouvel uniforme, qui remplaçait les vêtements usés. En Le Couteur devait payer ses rations et uniformes sous forme de retenues sur sa solde. Le Couteur touchait 4 shillings 8 pence par jour.


Un facteur qui différenciait de façon parlante les officiers des simples soldats était la nature des sanctions qu’on pouvait leur infliger. L’officier pouvait perdre son rang ou être expulsé de l’armée; dans des cas extrêmement rares, il était passible d’emprisonnement ou d’exécution. Au simple soldat, on réservait une longue liste de châtiments corporels, correspondant à diverses infractions plus ou moins graves à la discipline militaire. Le plus courant était la bastonnade, et le nombre de coups dépendait de la gravité du délit. Les déserteurs qui étaient rattrapés étaient soumis à de sévères corrections, et les récidivistes étaient passés par les armes. Des peines analogues châtiaient les délits relevant de la mutinerie, ainsi frapper un officier supérieur ou refuser d’obéir aux ordres.

En service, le milicien recevait une solde et des rations comparables à celles du soldat régulier, mais ne subissait pas le même sort au chapitre des sanctions. Plus souvent qu’autrement, le milicien était un petit fermier sans expérience ni formation aux armes, que la vie militaire laissait assez indifférent. La milice ne pouvait guère recruter par coercition, puisque la désertion était toujours possible pour les recrues, qui servaient dans leur milieu d’origine. Dans les régions occupées par les forces américaines, la libération conditionnelle d’une prolongation de service militaire était également une solution pour de nombreux résidents à qui le service actif répugnait, quel qu’ait été leur point de vue sur la guerre. Obligatoire en principe, le service dans la milice s’apparentait plutôt à un acte de conviction personnelle dans le contexte haut-canadien.

[ Haut de la page ]


Les tactiques

Lettre La tactique normalement pratiquée par l’infanterie britannique de l’époque était celle de la ligne de front. Les hommes étaient répartis en deux files, côte à côte, et déchargeaient leurs mousquets à canon lisse par salves disciplinées. Cette tactique était dictée par l’imprécision du mousquet réglementaire, dit « mousqueton britannique », et la nécessité de faire feu de façon concentrée contre une formation ennemie semblable. Également, il régnait la plus grande confusion sur les champs de bataille du 19e siècle. Mousquets et pièces d’artillerie dégageaient une épaisse fumée blanche qui brouillait la vue, empêchant de discerner les adversaires, et les messages du commandant aux divers segments de la ligne ne pouvaient être transmis que verbalement ou par écrit. Il n’était pas rare que ce « brouillard de guerre » dérobe l’initiative aux officiers commandants pour la laisser au hasard ou aux combattants eux-mêmes. En théorie, l’un des deux camps devait finir par tourner les talons devant la charge aux mousquets ou un dernier assaut à la baïonnette.

Le tir de l’infanterie était renforcé par celui d’une légère artillerie de campagne, dont les canons se caractérisaient par le poids de leurs projectiles, de 3 à 12 livres, destinés à abattre des fortifications ou à faucher parmi les rangs de l’infanterie ennemie. À courte portée, les canons pouvaient être chargés « à mitraille », dispersant des douzaines de petites balles de fonte dans un large rayon, comme un fusil de chasse. Les guerriers autochtones servaient de troupes légères, propres à harceler le flanc de l’adversaire. Il va de soi que, dans les forêts touffues du Haut-Canada de 1812-1814, les tactiques classiques n’étaient pas toujours indiquées. Les effectifs des milices, des Premières Nations et des réguliers exploitaient l’abri qu’offraient les arbres, et il était difficile de maintenir les rangs d’une manière le moindrement stricte, sauf en terrain découvert. Ce type de tactique pouvait aboutir à des pertes considérables relativement au nombre de soldats engagés.

Dessin : The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [vers 1921]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (136ko)
The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [vers 1921]
C. W. Jefferys, O.S.A., A.R.C., S.C.P.A. (1869-1951)
dessin à la plume et à l'encre
rehaussée au blanc de Chine
Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario, 621234

[ Haut de la page ]


Notes de fin de document :
  1. Donald E. Graves (dir.), Merry Hearts Make Light Days, The War of 1812, Journal of Lieutenant John Le Couteur, 104th Foot, Ottawa, Carleton University Press, 1993. [retour]
  2. George Shepard, Plunder, Profit and Paroles: A Social History of the War of 1812 in Upper Canada, Montreal, McGill-Queen's University Press, 1994, p. 109. [retour]

[ Haut de la page ]


Précédante | Page d'acceuil | Suivante
Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle