The War of 1812: Militia and Civilian Life - Page Banner

The bulk of the inhabitants who served in the militia during the war had no previous experience at military life. Some of the senior officers had served in Loyalist regiments during the American War of Independence 30 years earlier or in regular British regiments before settling in the province. The organization of the militia was limited, prior to the war all able bodied males were officially members of the militia, the sedentary force, subject to call out. A much smaller force, the embodied militia, received some level of training but had little equipment. Personal issues intervened as well to limit the military value of the militia.

Family and property were at risk during invasions and they were called to serve elsewhere in the province. The supply system was not efficient partly due to theft of supplies, but mainly due to poor roads and the interception of supplies by enemy action. It was not always possible to ensure adequate shelter, clothing and food for the serving troops. This in turn led to problems between the military and civilians as they took what was required without worrying overmuch about payment.

Finally, and a point that is not always obvious, life as a soldier was unhealthy. They were exposed to inclement weather, poor food, and inadequate rest leading to long sick lists. The major killer in the War of 1812, as in all wars until late in the 19th century, was not battle wounds but disease. For all these reasons, desertion and avoiding service was a serious problem throughout the war.

Shortages

“(…) I begin to feel the want of cloth trousers it is a difficult matter to get my nakedness washed. And moreover the mornings are getting cool. And a fellow will soon begin to look funny in summer clothes. Get me a pair of grey trousers made like Robert Stanton's (…)”

Extract from an original letter from Thomas G. Ridout to his brother
George Ridout, September 4, 1813
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code: F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario



“I have furnished barracks for one hundred and twenty men and they are all on the spot, including the Rifle Company now on duty here. And all are in the greatest want of almost every necessary. And I have this day received a letter from Col. Vincent referring me to you for stoves, blankets, etc. and I must observe that we are in as great want of shoes, pantaloons, jackets, and watch coats for the Guard”

Extract from an original letter from Colonel Joel Stone to
Colonel Lethbridge, October 25, 1812
Joel Stone family fonds
Reference Code: F 536, MU 2892
Archives of Ontario

Sickness and Desertion

“Desertion has come to such height that 8 or 10 men go off daily. That black guard 104 first led the way. The army is not quite so sickly as it was …”

Extract from an original letter from Thomas G. Ridout (near Niagara)
to his brother George Ridout, September 16, 1813
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code: F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario

Letter from Lieutenant Colonel Benoni Wiltse to Colonel Joel Stone, April 13, 1813
Joel Stone family fonds
Reference Code: F 536, box MU 2892
Archives of Ontario

“Give me leave Sir to remark the duty I owe to my fellow creatures and as a true patriot to my country to remind you at the certain calamity that must befall us if the Militia are thus continued to be cawled [called] from their families. If they are cawled [called] one month or six weeks from their farms they can put no spring grain in the ground and the consequence will be that their families must inevitably suffer the famine even threatens before the ensuing harvest when there is but little sown that can be rept [reaped] if the farmers are prevented from putting in spring grain the famine will undoubted be dreadful.”

[Pension poster-Orphans] (details), 1817
Click to see a larger image (183K)
[Pension poster-Orphans] (details), 1817
Robert Nelles family fonds
Detail from a poster
Reference Code: F 542, box MU 2192
Archives of Ontario
[Pension poster-Widows] (details), 1817
Click to see a larger image (182K)
[Pension poster-Widows] (details), 1817
Robert Nelles family fonds
Detail from a poster
Reference Code: F 542, box MU 2192
Archives of Ontario

 


[Pension poster-Casualties] (details), 1817
Click to see a larger image (181K)
[Pension poster-Casualties] (details), 1817
Robert Nelles family fonds
Detail from a poster
Reference Code: F 542, box MU 2192
Archives of Ontario


Travelling

The easiest way of travelling in Upper Canada in the early 19th century was by way of water as roads were generally narrow and unfit for transportation of heavy loads. During the War, most troops had to go on foot. In this letter to his father, Thomas G. Ridout describes one such winter journey overland. Conditions were difficult for officers like Ridout, for enlisted men they would have been correspondingly worse.

“We have had a most harassing journey of 10 days to this place when we arrived last night in a snow storm. It has been snowing all day & is now half a foot deep. ...Frequently I had to go middle deep in a mud hole & unload the wagon & carry heavy trunks 50 yards waist deep in the mire & reload the wagon. Sometimes put my shoulder to the fore wheel & raise it up. One night the wagon [upset] going up a steep hill in the woods in one of the worst places I ever saw. Gee I carried the load up to the top whilst Mr. Couche rode on 3 miles in the rain for a lanthorn & about 11 o'clock we got it when we missed a trunk with 500 guineas [12 shilling coin] in it. Mr Couche & I immediately rode back 2 miles & found it in a mud hole but nothing lost ...”

Extract from an original letter from Thomas G. Ridout (Kingston)
to his father Thomas Ridout, November 1, 1813
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code: F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario



To listen to an excerpt from this letter in wav format (559K), click here.To listen to an excerpt from this letter in "wav" format (559K) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (559K).


War Weariness

“I am very anxious to know how things go on in your part of the world. … I will remember the many happy evenings I spent by your fire side, when we had nothing to think of but play cards, drink whiskey & watch the old horse by the window. … But these days are gone perhaps never to return.”

Extract from an original letter from Thomas G. Ridout
to his brother Samuel Ridout, December 3, 1813
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code: F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario



Financial Compensation

To preserve public stores captured from the enemy from destruction or looting, troops were paid on a sliding scale for the value of materials that would be of use to the war effort. The ranking officer in the unit, Captain J. B. Barthe, received 16 shares valued at £48; the ensign 8 shares totalling £24 down to privates receiving a single share.

Prize pay list for the […] capture of Fort Detroit n the 16th August 1812, 1815
Click to see a larger image (130K)
Prize pay list for the […] capture of Fort Detroit
on the August 16, 1812, 1815
Military records collection
Reproduction of a document
Reference Code: F 895, box MU 2036
Archives of Ontario

“[I] am concerned to say that my enquiries in favour of your nephew, Captain Henry Nelles, as regards prize money for Niagara, in December 1813, have received unsatisfactory replies. Lieut. Napier, a Deputy Assistant in my office, acts as prize agent for Captain [?], who is on leave in England; from him I leave that the grounds on which Major Simmons obtained a share was his having been called upon on the 14th Dec. at Burlington on duty by the General's orders, his having assisted afterwards in the conveyance of batteaux for the attack; whereas your nephew can claim for the Buffalo affair; from which, although highly creditable in every point of view, no prize money whatever arose; and in which many were employed, who could possibly share in the prior prize money of Niagara Fort. The 8th Regt. is in one instance of this; they were not at the capture of Fort Niagara, but were at Black Rock & Buffalo; yet they cannot share for Niagara.”

Extract from an original letter from Colley Foster (Quebec)
to Abraham Nelles, March 8, 1816
Abraham Nelles family fonds
Reference Code: F 543, box MU 2187
Archives of Ontario

Because the logistics system in Upper Canada was so poor militia officers were frequently compelled to provide equipment for the use of their men as well as themselves. They were also responsible for ensuring that the men under their command were paid for the service in the militia.

Claim 6 submitted by Merritt was for "pay due to private Andrew Donaldson and David McDonald of Capt. Merritts Troop while prisoners of war". The authorities allowed a payment of £15.3 for each man, for a period of 202 days. In the same claim Merritt received back pay amounting to £79.5.6 for 151 days of captivity.

Statement of claims made by Capt. Merritt of the Provincial Light Dragoons and
examined by a Board of Inquiry (…), 1815
William Hamilton Merritt family fonds
Reproduction of a claim
Reference Code: F 662, box MU 5849, package 4
Archives of Ontario

Civilian Life


Relations between civilian and military were not always smooth. Soldiers felt that civilians took advantage of them and charged high prices while civilians had to watch their possessions from friend and foe alike. Damage to personal property was a natural side affect of the war. Troops of either side stationed in a vicinity would use fence rails for fire wood, dig up gardens and steal livestock, particularly when the supply systems broke down. The government paid compensation for private possessions lost or damaged in military service and those destroyed by enemy or friendly troops.

“Tonight our dragoon is to make a grand attack on the onions. The nests are kept very nice and clean from eggs. The dragoon has just come in with a fine musk melon and a peck of onions. We feed a turkey at the door, which is doomed for our Sunday dinner”

Extract from an original letter from
Thomas G. Ridout to his father
Thomas Ridout, September 21, 1813
Thomas Ridout family fonds,
Reference Code; F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario

“We came to Thompson's the day before yesterday. I met with a most ungracious reception when Mr. Stanton went to the don. The old fellow told him he could not come in as his family occupied the whole house but that we might go into an old house a little distance of which was inhabited in the early periods of the world. Accordingly we shifted our Flag to the old wigwam, cleared it of rubbish, made a fire & fried a little Beef we had brought with us. In the Evening we cleaned out the dung & made a straw bed on the floor. We collect balm in the garden for tea. I carry on an extensive robbery of pears, apples, onions, corn, carrots [etc.] for we can get nothing but by stealing excepting some milk, which by the by is carefully measured. Bread & butter is out of the question. And to day we sent a Dragoon to the 12 after [their] articles. And Gee to the cross roads for beef and whiskey. Lewis cooked some & have bread yesterday."

Extract from an original letter from Thomas G. Ridout to
his brother George Ridout, September 4, 1813
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code; F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario



Letter from Thomas G. Ridout to
his brother George Ridout, September 4, 1813
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code: F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario

“We came to Thompson's the day before yesterday. I met with a most ungracious reception when Mr. Stanton went to the don. The old fellow told him he could not come in as his family occupied the whole house but that we might go into an old house a little distance of which was inhabited in the early periods of the world. Accordingly we shifted our Flag to the old wigwam, cleared it of rubbish, made a fire & fried a little Beef we had brought with us. In the Evening we cleaned out the dung & made a straw bed on the floor. We collect balm in the garden for tea. I carry on an extensive robbery of pears, apples, onions, corn, carrots [etc.] for we can get nothing but by stealing excepting some milk, which by the by is carefully measured. Bread & butter is out of the question. And to day we sent a Dragoon to the 12 after [their] articles. And Gee to the cross roads for beef and whiskey. Lewis cooked some & have bread yesterday."

Extract from an original letter from Thomas G. Ridout to
his brother George Ridout, September 4, 1813
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code; F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario

To listen to an excerpt from this letter in wav format (499K), click here.To listen to an excerpt from this letter in "wav" format (499K) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (499K).



Letter from Cathe Lyons (Chippewa) to Mrs. Thomas Ridout, October 16, 1814
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code; F 43, box MU 2391
Archives of Ontario

Fear of invasion caused uncertainty amongst civilians. The loss of home and possessions was a constant possibility.

Even in wartime, the civilian administration continued to maintain control over the traditional licensing laws.

“As to the authority of a commanding officer to establish such places of entertainment, I do not conceive that it can at all interfere with the laws of the Province respecting the vending of spirituous liquors by retail, or keeping an inn or public house; but that the penalty attaches equally upon all descriptions of people, and no military authority can protect them from it."

"If therefore a man, keeping a canteen in a military post by the sanction of his commanding officer entertains the people of the country, or retails liquors to them without the licence required for those purposes, I deem him unquestionably liable to the penalty, neither does it appear to me that is his custom be confined entirely to the soldiers of the garrison, he is at all less liable …”

Extract from a copy of a letter from J. B. Robinson to
John McGill, Inspector General, December 18, 1814
John Beverley Robinson family fonds
Reference Code; F 44, box MU 5911
Archives of Ontario

In this Exhibit -

La guerre de 1812 : La vie des civils et des miliciens - bannière

Table des matières


Lettre La majorité des habitants enrôlés dans la milice n’avaient aucune expérience de la vie de soldat. Avant de s’établir dans la province, certains des officiers supérieurs avaient servi dans les régiments loyalistes au cours de la guerre d’indépendance américaine, trente ans plus tôt, ou dans les régiments réguliers britanniques. L’organisation de la milice était sommaire : avant la guerre, tous les hommes valides étaient officiellement membres de la milice, la force sédentaire, et susceptibles d’être appelés au combat. Une force beaucoup plus petite, la milice incorporée, dotait ses membres d’un certain niveau de formation mais possédait peu d’équipement. Des questions personnelles intervenaient également et venaient restreindre la valeur militaire de la milice.

Pendant les invasions, les familles et les biens étaient en danger, et les miliciens étaient appelés à servir un peu partout dans la province. Le système d’approvisionnement était aléatoire, à cause des rapines, mais principalement du mauvais état des routes et des manœuvres d’interception de l’ennemi. Il n’était pas toujours possible d’assurer aux troupes une alimentation, un logement et des vêtements adéquats. Tout cela entraînait des conflits entre civils et militaires, ces derniers s’emparant des nécessités du moment sans trop se soucier d’offrir compensation.

Enfin, ce qui n’est pas toujours évident, la vie de soldat mettait la santé à rude épreuve. Les miliciens étaient exposés aux intempéries, à la malnutrition et au manque de repos, d’où les longues listes de malades. Lors de la guerre de 1812, à l’instar de toutes les guerres d’avant la fin du 19e siècle, c’est la maladie et non les blessures reçues au combat qui fut la principale cause de décès. Pour toutes ces raisons, le nombre de déserteurs et de réfractaires au service était élevé et constitua un grave problème tout au long du conflit.

[ Haut de la page ]


Les pénuries

« (…) Le besoin se fait sentir d’un pantalon d’étoffe... Il est difficile de se laver nu. Sans compter qu’il fait de plus en plus froid le matin. Et puis, avec mes habits d’été, je commence à détonner! Envoie-moi un pantalon gris, comme celui de Robert Stanton (…). »

Extrait d'une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (4 Mile Creek) à son frère,
George Rideout, 4 septembre 1813
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2892
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


« J'ai des casernes meublées pour cent vingt hommes, qui sont tous sur place [Gananoque], y compris la compagnie de carabiniers maintenant en service ici. Et tous ont le plus grand besoin d’à peu près toutes les premières nécessités. J'ai reçu aujourd'hui une lettre du colonel Vincent, qui me renvoie à vous-même concernant les poêles, couvertures, etc.; et je dois souligner que nous avons aussi grand besoin de chaussures, de pantalons, de vestes et de paletots pour les gardes. »

Extrait d'une lettre originale du colonel Joel Stone au
colonel Lethbridge, 25 octobre 1812
Fonds Famille Joel Stone
Code de référence : F 536, MU 2892
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


La maladie et les désertions

« La désertion atteint de telles proportions que huit ou dix hommes disparaissent tous les jours. C’est cette canaille de 104 qui a donné le mauvais exemple. Malgré tout, l’armée n’est pas tout à fait aussi mal en point qu’avant... »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (près de Niagara) à
son frère, George Ridout, 16 septembre 1813
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2390
Archives publiques de l’Ontario


Lettre du lieutenant colonel Benoni Wiltse au colonel Joel Stone, 13 avril 1813 (Pages 1 et 3)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (338ko)
Pages 1 et 3

Lettre du lieutenant colonel Benoni Wiltse au colonel Joel Stone, 13 avril 1813 (Page 2)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (210ko)
Page 2

Lettre du lieutenant colonel Benoni Wiltse au colonel Joel Stone, 13 avril 1813
Fonds Famille Joel Stone
Code de référence : F 536, boîte MU 2892
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

« Permettez-moi, Monsieur, de souligner que je me dois, par égard pour mes camarades et en tant que loyal patriote à mon pays, de vous rappeler le désastre certain qui nous adviendra si les miliciens continuent à être séparés de leurs familles. S’ils s’absentent de leur ferme un mois ou six semaines, ils sont empêchés de faire les semailles, et, en conséquence, leurs familles en souffriront inévitablement. La famine menace même avant la récolte suivante, lorsqu’il y a peu à moissoner. Si les fermiers sont empêchés de semer au printemps, la famine sera sans aucun doute terrible. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale du lieutenant colonel Benoni Wiltse au
colonel Joel Stone, 13 avril 1813
Fonds Famille Joel Stone
Code de référence : F 536, boîte MU 2892
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


Les extraits ci-dessous d’une affiche imprimée en 1817 indiquent les pensions versées aux mineurs rendus orphelins par la guerre, aux veuves de guerre et aux miliciens devenus invalides à la suite de leur service. D’un intérêt particulier est le fait que la maladie prend le pas sur les blessures au combat comme cause de décès. Dans ce document, un total de 171 hommes servant dans la milice sont décédés du fait de leur service pendant la guerre. De ce nombre, 137 sont morts de diverses maladies contractées pendant le service; 25 ont été tués au combat; et 9 sont morts des blessures reçues au combat ou lors d’un accident de service. Le manque d’hygiène et une mauvaise alimentation étaient les principaux facteurs de mortalité.
[Affiche des pensions - orphelins] (détails), 1817

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (143ko)
[Affiche des pensions - orphelins] (détails), 1817
Fonds Famille Robert Nelles
Reproduction d'un détail de l'affiche
Code de référence : F 542, boîte MU 2192
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[Affiche des pensions - veuves] (détails), 1817

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (166ko)
[Affiche des pensions - veuves] (détails), 1817
Fonds Famille Robert Nelles
Reproduction d'un détail de l'affiche
Code de référence : F 542, boîte MU 2192
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[Affiche des pensions - invalides] (détails), 1817

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (271ko)
[Affiche des pensions - invalides] (détails), 1817
Fonds Famille Robert Nelles
Reproduction d'un détail de l'affiche
Code de référence : F 542, boîte MU 2192
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


Les déplacements

Lettre Dans le Haut-Canada des débuts du 19e siècle, le mode de transport le plus aisé était la navigation, car les routes étaient rares, généralement étroites, et ne convenaient pas au transport de charges lourdes. Pendant la guerre, la plupart des soldats devaient se déplacer à pied. Dans cette lettre à son père, Thomas G. Ridout décrit l’un de ces voyages d’hiver par voie terrestre. Si les conditions étaient difficiles pour des officiers tels que Ridout, on peut imaginer qu’elles devaient être bien pires pour les simples soldats.

« Notre expédition a duré 10 jours exténuants avant d'arriver ici la nuit dernière, en pleine tempête. Il a neigé toute la journée et nous en avons maintenant un demi-pied d'épais.… J'ai dû bien souvent m'enfoncer dans un bourbier, décharger la voiture et transporter des malles pesantes sur 50 verges, pris jusqu'à la taille dans la fondrière, pour ensuite recharger le chariot. Il a parfois fallu mettre l'épaule à la roue avant pour la soulever. Une nuit, le chariot [a versé] en montant une pente raide dans les bois, dans un des pires endroits que j'aie jamais vus. De peine et de misère, j’ai transporté toute la charge jusqu’en haut, tandis que M. Couche a dû continuer à cheval et parcourir 3 milles sous la pluie pour ramener une lanterne. Il était 11 heures quand il est revenu et que nous avons découvert la disparition d’une malle qui contenait 500 guinées [monnaie valant 12 shillings]. M. Couche et moi avons immédiatement rebroussé chemin et, à 2 milles de distance, l’avons retrouvée au fond d’une ornière..., mais rien de perdu... »

Extrait d'une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (Kingston) à son père,
Thomas Ridout, 1er novembre 1813
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2390
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (667ko) Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format "wav" (667ko) L'extrait est également disponible en format "aif" format (667ko)

[ Haut de la page ]

La guerre et son usure

« J’ai hâte de savoir ce qui se passe dans ton coin de pays. … Je me souviens très bien de toutes les soirées heureuses que j’ai passées chez toi au coin du feu, alors que nous n’avions d’autre souci que de jouer aux cartes, boire du whisky et surveiller le vieux cheval près de fenêtre. … Mais ces beaux jours ont disparu, et nous ne les reverrons peut-être jamais. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout à son frère,
Samuel Ridout, 3 décembre 1813
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2390
Archives publiques de l’Ontario


Les primes en argent

Lettre L

es primes en argent, considérées comme un complément substantiel de la maigre solde de l’armée ou de la marine, étaient fréquemment sources de friction entre les officiers et les hommes de troupe. Le document de droite, daté de 1815, fait état des sommes versées aux officiers et aux membres de la milice d’Essex qui avaient participé à la prise de Détroit en 1812.

Afin de préserver les stocks saisis à l’ennemi de la destruction ou du pillage, les soldats furent payés selon une échelle proportionnelle à la valeur du matériel pouvant servir à l’effort de guerre. L’officier supérieur de l’unité, le capitaine J. B. Barthe, reçurent 16 parts, évaluées à 48 livres; l’enseigne en reçurent 8, équivalant à 24 livres, et les simples soldats durent se contenter d’une part unique.

Liste de primes pour la capture du fort Détroit, le 16 août 1812, 1815

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (130ko)
Liste de primes pour la capture du fort Détroit,
le 16 août 1812, 1815
Collection de dossiers militaires
Reproduction d'une liste de primes
Code de référence : F 895, MU 2036
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

« Je regrette de vous signaler que mes demandes de renseignements concernant votre neveu, le capitaine Henry Nelles, relativement aux primes pour la campagne du Niagara en décembre 1813, ont abouti à des réponses insatisfaisantes. Le lieutenant Napier, sous-adjoint à mon bureau, est agent des primes au nom du capitaine [?], qui est en permission en Angleterre; j’ai appris de lui les raisons pour lesquelles le major Simmons avait obtenu une part : il avait été rappelé le 14 décembre à Burlington, sur l’ordre du général, et avait ensuite aidé à acheminer les bateaux pour l’attaque; par contre, votre neveu peut invoquer l’affaire de Buffalo, à propos de laquelle, bien que son mérite ait été admis à tous points de vue, il n’a été question d’aucune prime et à laquelle un certain nombre de personnes ont contribué, personnes qui pourraient peut-être bénéficier de la prime antérieure du fort Niagara. Le 8e régiment était sur les lieux dans au moins un de ces cas; ses membres n’ont pas participé à la prise du fort Niagara, mais ils étaient présents à Black Rock et à Buffalo; et pourtant, ils ne sont pas admis à bénéficier de la prime pour la campagne du Niagara. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Colley Foster (Québec) à
Abraham Nelles, 8 mars 1816
Fonds Famille Abraham Nelles
Code de référence : F 543, MU 2187
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


À cause de déficiences logistiques, les officiers de la milice haut-canadienne étaient souvent forcés de fournir leur propre équipement aussi bien que celui de leurs hommes. Ils devaient également veiller à ce que leurs subordonnés soient rémunérés pour leur service de miliciens.

La demande de paiement numéro 6 présentée par Merritt correspondait à « la solde due aux simples soldats Andrew Donaldson et David McDonald, de la troupe du capitaine Merritt, pour la période où ils ont été prisonniers de guerre ». Les autorités avaient consenti à verser 15,3 livres à chacun, pour une période de 202 jours. En règlement de la même demande, Merritt reçut quant à lui des arrérages de solde au montant de 79,5,6 livres pour 151 jours de captivité.

Statement of claims made by Capt. Merritt of the Provincial Light Dragoons and examined by a Board of Inquiry (…), 1815 (Pages 2 et 3)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (368ko)
Pages 2 et 3

Statement of claims made by Capt. Merritt of the Provincial Light Dragoons and examined by a Board of Inquiry (…), 1815 (Page 1)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (209ko)
Page 1

Statement of claims made by Capt. Merritt of the Provincial Light Dragoons and examined by a
Board of Inquiry…, 1815
Fonds Famille William Hamilton Merritt
Déclaration
Code de référence : F 662, MU 5849, enveloppe 4
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


La vie civile

Lettre Les rapports entre civils et militaires n’étaient pas toujours cordiaux. Les soldats croyaient que les civils les exploitaient en exigeant de fortes sommes en retour de denrées médicres, tandis que les civils devaient défendre leurs possessions contre tous, amis comme ennemis.

Les dommages aux biens personnels étaient un corollaire naturel de la guerre. Les troupes des deux camps qui étaient stationnées dans une région pouvaient arracher les traverses de clôtures pour s’en servir comme bois de chauffage, vider les potagers et s’emparer du bétail, en particulier lorsque la chaîne de ravitaillement faisait défaut. Le gouvernement versait une indemnité à l’égard des biens personnels perdus ou endommagés en cours de service militaire et à l’égard de ceux qui avaient été détruits par l’ennemi ou les troupes alliées.

« Ce soir, notre dragon projette une razzia sur les oignons. Nous entretenons vraiment très bien les nids, où il n’y a plus d’œufs qui traînent. Le dragon vient justement d’entrer, avec un beau melon brodé et un panier plein d’oignons. Nous gardons à la porte un dindon, qui fera très bien l’affaire pour notre dîner de dimanche. »

Extrait d'une lettre originale de
Thomas G. Ridout à son père Thomas Ridout,
21 septembre 1813
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, boîte MU 2390
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


« Nous sommes arrivés chez Thompson avant-hier. On ne nous a pas fait très bon accueil, lorsque M. Stanton a rendu visite au maître du lieu. Le vieil homme lui a dit qu'il ne l'invitait pas à entrer, vu que sa famille occupait la maison entière, mais que nous pourrions nous installer dans une ancienne maison, à peu de distance…, habitée depuis les premiers temps. Nous avons donc déménagé notre drapeau dans le vieux wigwam, que nous avons nettoyé des ordures qui l'encombraient, allumé un feu et fait frire le bœuf que nous avions apporté. Pendant la soirée, nous avons enlevé le fumier et aménagé un lit de paille sur le plancher. Nous cueillons de la mélisse dans le jardin pour le thé. Je dérobe continuellement des poires, pommes, oignons, maïs, carottes, [etc.], parce que le vol est la seule façon d’avoir à manger, sauf pour le lait, qui est soigneusement rationné. Le pain et le beurre sont hors de question. Et aujourd'hui, nous avons dépêché un dragon au 12e, pour leur quêter quelques denrées. Gee est allé au carrefour, pour nous ramener du bœuf et du whiskey… »

Extrait d'une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (4 Mile Creek) à son frère,
George Ridout, 4 septembre 1813
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 536, MU 2892
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Lettre de Thomas G. Ridout (4 Mile Creek) à son frère, George Ridout, 4 septembre 1813 (Pages 1 et 4)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (344ko)
Pages 1 et 4

Lettre de Thomas G. Ridout (4 Mile Creek) à son frère, George Ridout, 4 septembre 1813 (Pages 2 et 3)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (391ko)
Pages 2 et 3

Lettre de Thomas G. Ridout (4 Mile Creek) à son frère, George Ridout, 4 septembre 1813
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 536, MU 2892
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


« Nous sommes tous très inquiets ici, car les Américains sont de l'autre côté de la crique Chippawa, et je me trouve dans mes anciens quartiers. … Selon toutes apparences, le sort est contre nous ici. Si la flotte n'arrive pas, il n'y aura personne pour défendre l'endroit si l'ennemi tente de traverser en même temps qu'ils attaquent là-haut, ce qui est possible et à quoi je m'attends à chaque instant. Au moment où tu recevras mon message, tu auras peut?être entendu parler d'une horrible bataille, car ce sera horrible si notre armée résiste. Je n'ai pas réussi à trouver le plus petit coin où déposer mes affaires près des forts, car toutes les habitations sont plus que remplies; si l'ennemi a le dessus, je perdrai tout. »

Extrait d'une lettre originale de Cathe Lyons (Chippewa) à
Mme Thomas Ridout, 16 octobre 1814
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2391
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (499ko) Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format "wav" (499ko) L'extrait est également disponible en format "aif" format (499ko)

Lettre de Cathe Lyons (Chippewa) à Mme Thomas Ridout, 16 octobre 1814 (Pages 1 et 4)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (251ko)
Pages 1 et 4

Lettre de Cathe Lyons (Chippewa) à Mme Thomas Ridout, 16 octobre 1814 (Pages 2 et 3)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (266ko)
Pages 2 et 3

Lettre de Cathe Lyons (Chippewa) à Mme Thomas Ridout, 16 octobre 1814
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2391
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

La crainte de l’invasion faisait planer l’incertitude chez les civils. La possibilité de perdre son foyer et tous ses biens restait dans l’air en permanence.

Même en temps de guerre, l’administration civile continuait à réglementer la délivrance des permis.

 

« Quant au pouvoir d’un commandant d’établir de tels lieux de divertissement, je ne peux pas m’imaginer qu’il pourrait entrer en conflit avec les lois de la Province touchant la vente des spiritueux ou la tenue d’une auberge ou d’un débit de boissons; mais il faudrait que les pénalités frappent tous les fautifs, sans distinction et sans que l’autorité militaire puisse les en exempter. »

« Ainsi, le tenancier d’une cantine de poste militaire qui, avec l’autorisation de son commandant, organise des divertissements pour les gens du pays ou leur vend de l’alcool sans avoir le permis réglementaire serait, à mes yeux et sans aucun doute, passible de la pénalité; si je constatais que sa clientèle n’est pas restreinte aux soldats de la garnison, je ne l’en estimerais pas moins responsable… »

Copie d’une lettre de J. B. Robinson à
John McGill, inspecteur général, 18 décembre 1814
Extrait d’une copie de lettre
Fonds Famille John Beverley Robinson
Code de référence : F 44, MU 5911
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


Précédante | Page d'accueil | Suivante
Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle