The War of 1812: Detroit Frontier, 1813: Defeat - Page Banner

Table of Contents


The Battle of Lake Erie, or Put-in Bay

Letter The naval forces on the Upper Lakes (Erie and Huron) were subordinate commands to the main forces on Lake Ontario. Both sides faced communications and supply problems in the less heavily settled Lake Erie region and neither the Welland nor Erie Canals then existed to facilitate the movement of supplies.

As a result, the vessels built on the upper lakes were much smaller and more lightly armed. This did not prevent the main naval battle of the war in Upper Canada at Put-in Bay, from being a bloody and hard-fought engagement.

Illustration: Niagara breaks the line

Click to see a larger image (126K)
The "Niagara" breaks the English line, 1897
Carlton T. Chapman,
Naval Actions of the War of 1812
Illustration
Reference Code: 971. 034 BAR
Archives of Ontario Library




Lieutenant Barclay commanded the British squadron which was outgunned and outmanned by the American squadron under Commodore Perry. Many of the guns on the British vessels had been taken from the walls of Forts Malden and Detroit, as those originally intended for the squadron had been lost earlier in the year when the Americans captured York. The situation in the western part of the province, never good for the British, was taken to the breaking point by this defeat.

Note: Barclay's rank was Lieutenant but, as he was in command of the squadron, he had the title of Captain.

Map of the western theatre of the war



“The last thing seen of the fleets on Lake Erie was at the Island near Amherstburg. After the battle 12 vessels were seen very quietly together. Capt. Barkley was ordered out with 8 vessels half manned very much against his will to fight the Americans who consisted of 9 vessels every way superior. The consequence is that he was taken and all that country must fall & that before long. … I expect to see everything in confusion in the course of three weeks.”



To listen to an excerpt from this letter in .wav format (612K), click here.To listen to an excerpt from this letter in "wav" format (612K) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (612K).


Letter from Thomas G. Ridout to his father Thomas Ridout, September 21, 1813 (Pages 1 and 4)

Click to see a larger image (222K)
Pages 1 and 4

Letter from Thomas G. Ridout to his father Thomas Ridout, September 21, 1813
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code: F 43, Box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario

The capture of the British squadron exposed General Proctor’s position at Detroit and seriously interfered with the shipment of supplies to British garrisons and First Nations in the north-west. This led to the evacuation of Detroit and the retreat that ended with Proctor's defeat and Tecumseh's death at Moraviantown.

[ Return to top of page ]




The Confederacy of First Nations
Portrait bust of Tecumseh, 1896

Before the war Tecumseh and his half-brother Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw (The Prophet) organized a Confederation of First Nations to resist American expansion in the northwest. The defeat of the Confederacy at Tipacanoe in 1811 left the alliance with Britain as a last opportunity to maintain some autonomy for First Nations in the region.

The death of Tecumseh at the Battle of Moraviantown (Battle of the Thames) rivalled Brock’s as a symbol of Upper Canadian patriotism after the war. It also marked the beginning of the end of the long alliance between the British Crown and the First Nations resident in the United States.

Portrait Bust of Tecumseh, 1896
Hamilton Plantagenet MacCarthy
Bronze-coated terracotta
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 619883




When the final peace treaty was signed in 1814, the British were unable to get the Americans to agree to guarantees previously promised by Upper Canada to the First Nations people. These promises were aimed at protecting First Nations land from American settlement. The failure of the British to achieve these guarantees jeopardized future alliances.

Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw, The Prophet, was Tecumseh's half brother and was active in organizing the First Nations against the Americans.

Click to see a larger image (661K)
Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw, the Prophet, 1837
E. C. Biddle, Philadelphia
Print
Reference Code: RG 2-344-0-0-70
Archives of Ontario, I0009202

Print: Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw, the Prophet, 1837

[ Return to top of page ]


Afterwards

Letter The Six Nations Reserve on the Grand River was the western most part of Upper Canada under effective British control in the year following the Battle of Moraviantown.

Sketch shewing the Indian Lands on the Grand River originally granted to the Six Nations

There were attempts to interfere with American raids by sending patrols into the region. One met with defeat at the Battle of the Long Woods, March 4, 1814, another under Colonel Bostwick succeeded in capturing a number of Canadians assisting the invaders, many of whom were brought to Ancaster for the Treason trials in 1814.

 

 

Click to see a larger image (417K)
Sketch showing the Indian Lands on the
Grand River originally granted to the Six Nations,
and the several Surrenders of the same by them
made to the Crown, 1843
Thomas Parke
A plan
Reference Code: C-59
Archives of Ontario

[ Return to top of page ]

La guerre de 1812 : La frontière de Détroit - 1813 : la défaite - bannière

Table des matières


La bataille du lac Érié ou de Put-in-Bay

Lettre Les forces navales des lacs Érié et Huron étaient subordonnées à la flotte principale du lac Ontario. Les deux camps éprouvaient des problèmes de ravitaillement et de communications dans la région relativement peu peuplée du lac Érié, et les canaux Welland et Érié n’existaient pas encore comme moyens de faciliter la circulation des provisions.

En conséquence, les bâtiments construits sur ces deux lacs étaient beaucoup plus petits et plus légèrement armés. Néanmoins, la grande bataille navale de la guerre dans le Haut-Canada, à Put-in-Bay, n’en a pas moins été acharnée et sanglante.

Illustration : The Niagara breaks the line, 1897

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (126ko)
The "Niagara" breaks the English line, 1897
Carlton T. Chapman,
Naval Actions of the War of 1812
Illustration
Code de référence : 971. 034 BAR
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Le lieutenant Barclay commandait l’escadre britannique, de beaucoup inférieur en puissance de feu et en effectifs, à l’escadre américaine, dirigée par le commodore Perry. Une grande partie des canons des vaisseaux britanniques provenaient des murailles des forts Malden et Détroit, ceux qui à l’origine appartenaient à l’escadre ayant été capturés plus tôt dans l’année, lorsque York était tombée aux mains des Américains. Dans la partie occidentale de la province, la situation, qui n’avait jamais été reluisante pour les Britanniques, allait encore se détériorer lors de cette défaite.

Remarque : Barclay était lieutenant, mais, comme il commandait l’escadre, il portait le titre de capitaine.

Map of the western theatre of the war

« Les flottes du lac Érié avaient été aperçues pour la dernière fois à l’île voisine d’Amherstburg. Après la bataille, on voyait 12 navires regroupés tranquillement. Le capitaine Barkley a reçu l’ordre de porter - à son corps défendant - ses huit vaisseaux, où il manquait la moitié des hommes, au combat contre les Américains qui disposaient de neuf vaisseaux en tous points supérieurs. En conséquence, il a été capturé, et toute cette contrée devra se rendre sous peu… Je m’attends d’ici trois semaines à la plus grande confusion. »

Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (499ko) Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format "wav" (499ko) L'extrait est également disponible en format "aif" format (499ko)

Lettre de Thomas G. Ridout à son père Thomas Ridout, 21 septembre 1813 (Pages 1 et 4)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (797ko)
Pages 1 et 4

Lettre de Thomas G. Ridout à son père Thomas Ridout, 21 septembre 1813 (Pages 2 et 3)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (989ko)
Pages 2 et 3

Lettre de Thomas G. Ridout à son père Thomas Ridout, 21 septembre 1813
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, boîte MU 2390
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

La capture de l’escadre britannique mettait en péril la position du général Proctor à Détroit et entravait sérieusement l’expédition des fournitures aux garnisons des Britanniques et aux Premières Nations dans le Nord-Ouest. Cet événement entraîna l’évacuation de Détroit et la retraite, qui devait s’achever avec la défaite de Proctor et la mort de Tecumseh à Moraviantown.


La confédération des Premières Nations
Buste de Tecumseh, 1896

Lettre Avant la guerre, Tecumseh et son demi-frère Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw (dit le Prophète) avaient mis sur pied une confédération des Premières Nations, afin de résister à l’expansion américaine dans le Nord-Ouest. La défaite de la confédération à Tipacanoe, en 1811, faisait de l’alliance avec la Grande-Bretagne le dernier moyen de conserver une certaine autonomie pour les Premières Nations de la région.

Après la guerre, la mort de Tecumseh lors de la bataille de Moraviantown (bataille de la Thames) rivalisait avec celle de Brock en tant que symbole du patriotisme haut-canadien. Cet événement marqua aussi le début de la fin pour la longue alliance entre la Couronne britannique et les Premières Nations des États-Unis.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (82ko)
Buste de Tecumseh, 1896
Hamilton Plantagenet MacCarthy
Terre cuite recouverte de bronze
Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de
l'Ontario, 619883


Lorsque le traité de paix final fut signé, en 1814, les Britanniques furent incapables de convaincre les Américains de ratifier les garanties antérieurement données aux Premières Nations par le Haut-Canada. On s’y était engagé à protéger les territoires des Premières Nations contre les colons américains. L’incapacité des Britanniques à tenir leurs promesses compromettait les alliances futures.

Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw,dit le Prophète, était le demi-frère de Tecumseh et avait participé à la mobilisation des Premières Nations contre les Américains.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (661ko)
Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw, the Prophet, 1837
E. C. Biddle, Philadelphie
Estampe
Code de référence : RG 2-344-0-0-70
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0009202

Estampe : Tens-Kwau-Ta-Waw, the Prophet, 1837

Après Moraviantown
Sketch showing the Indian Lands on the Grand River originally granted to the Six Nations, and the several Surrenders of the same by them made to the Crown, 1843

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (417ko)
Sketch showing the Indian Lands on the
Grand River originally granted to the Six Nations,
and the several Surrenders of the same by them
made to the Crown, 1843
Thomas Parke
Plan
Code de référence : C-59
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

La réserve des Six-Nations de la rivière Grand représentait l’extrémité ouest du Haut-Canada encore sous le contrôle des Britanniques, l’année qui a suivi la bataille de Moraviantown.

On tentait de faire échec aux raids américains en envoyant des patrouilles dans la région. L’une de ces patrouilles fut défaite lors de la bataille de Long Woods, le 4 mars 1814. Une autre, dirigée par le colonel Bostwick, parvint à capturer un certain nombre de Canadiens qui collaboraient avec l’envahisseur et dont une bonne partie furent amenés à Ancaster, en vue des procès pour trahison de 1814.


Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle