The War of 1812: Kingston and the St. Lawrence - Battles, Raids and Skirmishes - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Ogdensburg and Gananoque

Letter The narrowness of the St. Lawrence River in the Eastern part of the province facilitated the crossing of troops, both American and British. Small towns on each side of the river were raided for supplies and to destroy enemy depots.

The garrison at Ogdensburg on the American side had been strengthened early in the War as part of the effort to gain control over the St. Lawrence, the natural line of communication between the British provinces.

The illustration to the right shows Ogdensburg as it appeared in 1830.

Watercolour: St. Lawrence River, at Ogdensburgh, 1830

Click to see a larger image (209K)
St. Lawrence River, at Ogdensburgh, 1830
Thomas Burrowes
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Watercolour
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-81
Archives of Ontario, I0002200


Watercolour: Gananoque from the St. Lawrence River, 1830

Click to see a larger image (192K)
Gananoque from the St. Lawrence River, 1830
Thomas Burrowes
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Watercolour
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-87
Archives of Ontario, I0002206

In 1812 Gananoque was a small, unfortified hamlet. It was the target of the first American raid on September 21st, 1812. They seized goods and burnt down the only military depot there, built by Joel Stone during the previous summer

"This certify (sic), that in the month of July 1812 I called on Col. Stone for a store to deposit therein the provisions for the troops at the post at Gananoque. He informed me that he had not any proper and secure building, that we would forthwith build a store for that purpose, which he did do with dispatch. [This certify] that the King's provisions etc. was therein deposited and the same was burnt by the Enemy."

Extract from an original Certificate by William Ross, D.A.G.G. July 1814
Joel Stone family fonds
Reference Code: F 536, box MU 2892
Archives of Ontario

 


Civilians on both sides of the border preferred it when the military left things alone. A raid by one side was sure to lead to a response in kind.

"Upon my return to [Utica] I found David Smith, who informed me the Saturday after we left St. Lawrence, Foresyth made an expedition to Brockville, by the way of Morris Town. Surprised it brought off Mr. C. John, Capt. Stewart, [Corly], Capt. Sherwood, David [Hubbel], and 40 or 50 others, took them to Ogdensburg, paroled them & let them return – no lives lost. Great expedition Forsyth suffered no soldier to enter a house, so far so good. The folly, and mischief this may produce, can only be anticipated. I hope for the best. I am anxious to return before other folly is commenced …"

Extract from an original letter from Nathan Ford (Ogdensburg)
to his brother David Ford, February 13, 1813
Ford family fonds
Reference Code: F483, box MU 1054
Archives of Ontario






Nathan Ford comments on a British raid on Ogdensburg on February 22, 1813.

"I have not time to tell you the history of Ogdensburg. I shall write you the particulars. At present I can only tell you Ogdensburg has been taken, & plundered all the public stores, cannon & many families have been stripped to the last shirt. The garrison is burnt and also the barracks & also the schooner together with my still house. You are all safe in Morris Town, they have been over they destroyed nothing. I am happy to hear of your safe arrival. I shall write you particularly tomorrow, we are all in confusion. I was in [Utica] when the thing happened."

Extract from an original letter from Nathan Ford (Ogdensburg)
to his brother David Ford, February 27, 1813
Ford family fonds
Reference Code: F483, box MU 1054
Archives of Ontario



[ Return to top of page ]




Battle of Chrysler's Farm

Letter The most concerted effort by the United States to cut the St. Lawrence supply line came in the fall of 1813. Concurrent invasions were launched against Montreal via the St. Lawrence and overland into Lower Canada from the south. American troops on their way down from Sackets Harbour, were pursued by British forces under the command of Lieutenant-Colonel Morrison. A battle was fought on November 11th when Major General Wilkinson ordered his army to advance from the Long Sault.

Illustration: Map of the Chrysler's Field, 1869

Click to see a larger image (215K)
Map of the Chrysler's Field, 1869
Benson J. Lossing,
The Pictorial Field-Book of the War of 1812

An illustration
Reference Code: 971 .034 LOS, page 654
Archives of Ontario




"Gen[era]l Boyd with 2500 men was ordered to disperse the pursuing army which Gen[era]l Wilkinson estimated at 900 men. Wilkinson with the raiders prepared to decend (sic) the Long Sault. Gen[era]l Boyd found the British drawn up in order of battle & the engagement lasted with obstinancy (sic) upon both sides for three hours & an half. When our troops gave way and retreated, our loss is stated by the officers to be 500 killed, wounded & missing."

Extract from an original letter from Nathan Ford (Ogdensburg)
to his brother David Ford, November 13, 1813
Ford family fonds
Reference Code: F483, box MU 1054
Archives of Ontario

"My dear father, … I suppose you have had a full account of Col. Harveys gallant affair of the 11 at Chrysler. I was on the field of battle the next morning & it was covered with American killed & wounded. We had buried some & about 80 lay dead, some scalped some horses were intermingled among them. We had 11 killed on the field and 135 wounded some of them whom died. Poor Capt. Naime was killed at the close of the battle almost the last shot fired. It was fought at Chryslers house on a burnt piece of ground half a mile square. Our army were drawn up in a solitary line of 1,000 men from the woods to the river. The enemy is send out of the woods in two large columns of 2,000 each besides 300 horses…"

Letter from Thomas G. Ridout (Montreal) to  his father Thomas Ridout, November 20, 1813

Click to see a larger image (152K)
Letter from Thomas G. Ridout (Montreal) to
his father Thomas Ridout, November 20, 1813
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Extract from an original letter
Reference Code: F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario

To listen to an excerpt from this letter in wav format (554K), click here.To listen to an excerpt from this letter in "wav" format (554K) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (555K).


The Americans continued their advance after the defeat at Chrysler's, but withdrew across the St. Lawrence and into winters quarters after word was received that the joint operation against Montreal under General Wade Hampton had turned back after the defeat at Châteauguay in Lower Canada.

 

[ Return to top of page ]

La guerre de 1812 : Kingston et la région du Saint-Laurent - Batailles, raids et escarmouches - bannière

Table des matières


Ogdensburg et Gananoque

Lettre Dans la partie orientale de la province, le Saint-Laurent est plutôt étroit, ce qui facilitait la traversée des troupes, tant américaines que britanniques. Les petites villes des deux rives étaient la cible de raids destinés à rafler des provisions et à détruire les dépôts de l’adversaire.

Du côté américain, la garnison d’Ogdensburg avait été fortifiée dès les débuts de la guerre, dans un effort pour s’assurer la maîtrise du Saint-Laurent, voie de communication naturelle entre les provinces britanniques.

L’illustration de droite montre Ogdensburg en 1830.

Aquarelle : View of the River Ste. Lawrence and Canadian Shore, octobre 1830

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (209ko)
View of the River Ste. Lawrence and
Canadian Shore, octobre 1830
Thomas Burrowes
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Aquarelle
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-81
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002200


Aquarelle : Gannanoque from the middle channel – River Ste. Lawrence, 1830
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (192ko)
Gannanoque from the middle channel –
River Ste. Lawrence, 1830
Thomas Burrowes
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Aquarelle
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-87
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002206

En 1812, Gananoque était un humble hameau non fortifié. Le 21 septembre 1812, il fit l’objet du premier raid des Américains. Après avoir saisi provisions et fournitures, ces derniers y incendièrent le seul dépôt militaire, construit par Joel Stone l’été précédent.

« La présente atteste que, pendant le mois de juillet 1812, je suis allé voir le colonel Stone afin d’obtenir un magasin et y déposer les provisions et fournitures destinées aux troupes du poste de Gananoque. Le colonel m’a dit qu’il n’existait pas de bâtiment convenable et sûr, mais que nous en construirions un sur-le-champ, ce qu’il s’est empressé d’ordonner. [La présente atteste] que les provisions et autres fournitures du Roi y avaient donc été déposées et qu’elles ont été incendiées par l’ennemi. »

Certificat de William Ross, D.A.G.G. juillet 1812
Extrait d’une lettre originale
Fonds Famille Joel Stone
Code de référence : F 536, boîte MU 2892
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Des deux côtés de la frontière, les civils préféraient de loin que les militaires s’abstiennent de toute action. Le raid d’un des adversaires appelait à coup sûr une riposte de l’autre.

« À mon retour à [Utica], j’ai vu David Smith, lequel m’a informé que, le samedi suivant notre départ du Saint-Laurent, Foresyth avait conduit une expédition à Brockville, en passant par Morris Town. Ayant surpris M. C. John, le capitaine Stewart, [Corly], le capitaine Sherwood, David [Hubbel] de même que 40 ou 50 autres, on les avait amenés à Ogdensburg et relâchés sous libération conditionnelle - sans perte de vies. Excellente sortie. Forsyth [sic] avait interdit aux soldats de pénétrer dans les maisons, jusque là, tout est bien. Quelle folie - et quel tort il peut en découler… On ne peut que l’imaginer. Il faut être optimiste. Je voudrais bien revenir avant qu’on entreprenne d’autres projets insensés… »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Nathan Ford (Ogdensburg, N.Y.)
à son frère, David Ford, 13 février 1813
Fonds Famille Ford
Code de référence : F 483, MU 1054
Archives publiques de l’Ontario


Commentaire de Nathan Ford sur le raid contre Ogdensburg mené par les Britanniques le 22 février 1813.

« Je n’ai pas le temps de te raconter ce qui s’est produit à Ogdensburg. Je t’enverrai les détails plus tard. Pour l’instant, tout ce que je peux te dire c’est qu’Ogdensburg a été pris, les stocks publics ont été pillés, les canons..., et qu’une foule de familles ont été dépouillées de tout, jusqu’à leur dernière chemise. On a incendié la garnison, la caserne et aussi la goélette, de même que mon alambic. Vous êtes tous en sécurité à Morris Town, ils y sont passés sans rien détruire. Je suis content d’apprendre que tu es bien arrivée. Je t’écrirai plus longuement demain. Ici, c’est la confusion totale. J’étais à [Utica] lorsque cela s’est produit. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Nathan Ford (Ogdensburg, N.Y.)
à son frère, David Ford, 27 février 1813
Fonds Famille Ford
Code de référence : F 483, MU 1054
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


La bataille de Chrysler's Farm

La mieux concertée des tentatives américaines visant à rompre la chaîne de ravitaillement du Saint-Laurent eut lieu à l’automne de 1813. Les envahisseurs convergeaient simultanément sur Montréal par le Saint-Laurent et, en provenance du sud à travers le Bas-Canada, par voie terrestre. Des troupes américaines qui redescendaient de Sackets Harbour furent poursuivies par les forces britanniques, commandées par le lieutenant-colonel Morrison. Une bataille éclata le 11 novembre, lorsque le major général Wilkinson donna à son armée l’ordre d’avancer depuis Long Sault.

Illustration : Map of the Chrysler's Field, 1869

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (215ko)
Map of the Chrysler's Field, 1869
Benson J. Lossing, dans
The Pictorial Field-Book of the War of 1812,
Illustration
bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario
971 .034 LOS, page 654


« Le général Boyd et ses 2 500 hommes ont reçu l’ordre de disperser l’armée qui les poursuivait, estimée à 900 hommes par le général Wilkinson. Ce dernier, à la tête des attaquants, se préparait à descendre [sic] le Long Sault. Le général Boyd a trouvé les Britanniques prêts à livrer bataille; il y a eu des combats acharnés des deux côtés, pendant trois heures et demie. Lorsque nos troupes ont cédé et battu en retraite, notre bilan se chiffrait, selon les officiers, à 500 morts, blessés et disparus. »

Lettre de Nathan Ford (Ogdensburg, N.Y.)
à son frère, David Ford, 13 novembre 1813
Extrait d’une lettre originale
Fonds Famille Ford
Code de référence : F 483, MU 1054
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

« Mon cher papa, … j’imagine qu’on vous a déjà informé en détail de la bravoure et des exploits du colonel Harveys, le 11, à la ferme de Chrysler. Je suis retourné sur le champ de bataille le lendemain matin, il était couvert de soldats américains, morts et blessés. Nous en avions enseveli quelques-uns et il restait environ 80 cadavres, certains scalpés, avec des chevaux qui gisaient entre les corps. De notre côté, on dénombre 11 morts au combat et 135 blessés, dont une partie sont décédés. Le pauvre capitaine Naime est mort à la fin de la bataille, victime pour ainsi dire de la toute dernière balle. Le combat a eu lieu à la ferme de Chrysler, une parcelle brûlée d’un demi-mille carré de superficie. Notre armée était disposée sur un seul rang de 1 000 hommes, depuis les bois jusqu’à la rive. L’adversaire est sorti des bois en deux grandes colonnes de 2 000 hommes chacune, avec 300 chevaux; au bout de 2 heures de fusillades, nos hommes ont battu en retraite… »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (Montréal) à son père, Thomas Ridout, 20 novembre 1813
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2390
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (Montréal) à son père, Thomas Ridout, 20 novembre 1813

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (152ko)
Extrait d’une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (Montréal) à son père,
Thomas Ridout, 20 novembre 1813
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2390
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (667ko)Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (667ko) L'extrait est également disponible en format ".aif" format (667ko)

Après la défaite essuyée à Chrysler's Farm, les Américains continuèrent leur avance. Ils se replièrent toutefois dans leurs quartiers d’hiver, de l’autre côté du Saint-Laurent, une fois informés que l’opération conjointe menée par le général Wade Hampton contre Montréal avait tourné court à la suite de la défaite de Châteauguay, dans le Bas-Canada.

[ Haut de la page ]


Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle