The War of 1812: Kingston and the St. Lawrence - Protecting the Supply Line - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Provisioning the Upper Province

Letter Upper Canada’s economy was largely agricultural in 1812 and lacked the manufacturing capacity to provide weapons, ammunition and most forms of equipment. The need for militia to serve during the campaign season, which corresponded to the growing season, reduced the capacity of the province to feed the army and its resident population.

As a result most provisions essential to the war effort had to be shipped to Upper Canada from Great Britain, the Atlantic Colonies or Lower Canada. Protecting the supply line or "communications" was vital and depended on forts, ships and men."

Fort Wellington was the largest of the posts established between Montreal and Kingston to protect communications.

This view of the fort, dating from 1830, shows the main earthwork as it appeared in the final months of the war. The fort was enlarged and strengthened during the Rebellion of 1837 and in response to a renewed threat of war with the United States in the 1840s. The blockhouse which now dominates the fort was built during the latter period.

Watercolour: Fort Wellington, Prescott, October, 1830

Click to see a larger image (181K)
Fort Wellington, Prescott
October, 1830
Thomas Burrowes
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Watercolour
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-78
Archives of Ontario, I0002197





[Sketch map of Upper Canada showing the routes Lt. Gov. Simcoe took on journeys between March 1793 and September 1795], [1795]

Click to see a larger image (204K)
[Sketch map of Upper Canada showing the routes
Lt. Gov. Simcoe took on journeys between
March 1793 and September 1795], [1795]
[Elizabeth Simcoe]
Simcoe family fonds
Map
Reference Code: F 47-5-1-0-37
Archives of Ontario, I0004757

The St. Lawrence was the key to keeping open the flow of supplies to Upper Canada and the First Nations in the Northwest.

The map to the left, drawn by Elizabeth Simcoe, shows the major transportation routes at the time.

Bateaux were used to transport bulk goods down the St. Lawrence from Montreal to Kingston and beyond, with fortified depots at Cornwall and Prescott. Water transport, although threatened by the American naval forces on Lake Ontario, was more reliable than the few poor roads available at the time.


Drawing of a bateau, [1814]

Click to see a larger image (110K)
Drawing of a bateau, [1814]
Mrs. Edward Kemp collection
Drawing
Reference Code: F 360 OS 1-8
Archives of Ontario, AO 5985

These vessels were favoured for supply work as they had a shallow draft and carried large cargoes. They could be powered by oars or sail and were suitable for lake and river transportation.

Thomas Ridout was one of those who served in the thankless work of guarding and forwarding the supplies that kept armies in the field.

"I have lately been playing the Devil at this Port with those under me whom I found embezzeling [sic] provisions & stores for which I are accountable."

"Every day 12 batteaux [sic] arrive here [Cornwall] from Lachine on their way to Kingston loaded with provisions & stores and we have troops along the river to protect the communication."

Extract from an original letter from Thomas G. Ridout (Cornwall) to
his father Thomas Ridout, May 1, 1814
Thomas Ridout family fonds,
Reference Code: F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario






The shortage of food and resulting price increases placed strains on the ability of the government to feed the military and civilian population and to pay for the war effort. Late in 1814 Drummond issued this order in his capacity as President of the Council, to stabilize prices and ensure that hoarding did not occur. It is doubtful that this helped relieve the strain on relations between civilians and military authorities
.

"Sir,

The very exorbitant prices demanded by the Farmers for every article of Provision and Forage required for the use of His Majesty’s Troops serving in this Province, induces His Honor Lieutenant General Drummond, with a view to put a stop to that system of extortion, which so generally prevails, and acting at the same time upon the most fair and liberal principle, to call upon the Magistrates of the respective Districts to assemble, in order to adopt and report, for his information and guidance, such scale of prices to be paid for those articles as may appear to them, upon mature consideration, under existing circumstances, to be equitable and just, as well towards the Government as the individual. …

The propriety of regulating those prices so that in either case, when articles shall be brought away at the expense of the purchaser, or be delivered by the Farmer at any military Post or Depot no difficulty may arise, cannot escape your observation."

A Circular from the Presidents Office November 29, 1814, regarding the regulation of prices.

Click to see a larger image (363K)
A Circular from the President's Office
regarding the regulation of prices,
November 29, 1814
Sir Gordon Drummond fonds
Reproduction of an original document.
Reference Code: F 955
Archives of Ontario

[ Return to top of page ]


Smuggling - Section Title

Letter In addition to supplies forwarded from Britain and Lower Canada, the Commissariat of the British army relied on the import of food stuffs from the United States. By turning a blind eye to the illegal traffic the local U.S. officials helped maintain the British war effort.

Thomas Ridout filled many rolls as an officer in the Commissariat Department. Amongst them was the negotiation of contracts with Americans willing to sell supplies to the British Army. In the letter excerpt below the American officer who accompanied the beef seller obviously had a guilty conscious, but not enough of one to refuse payment.

Extract from an original letter from Thomas G. Ridout (Cornwall) to his father Thomas Ridout, June 19, 1814

Extract from an original letter from
Thomas G. Ridout (Cornwall) to
his father Thomas Ridout, June 19, 1814
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code: F 43, box MU 2391
Archives of Ontario

To listen to an excerpt from this letter in wav format (572K), click here.To listen to an excerpt from this letter in "wav" format (572K) click here. It is also available in "aif" format (572K).


See the transcript of the extract below. To see the complete letter follow these links:

"I have contracted with a Yankee magistrate to furnish this fort with fresh beef. A major came with him to make the agreement but as he was [foreman] to the Grand jury at the court in which the Government prosecutes the magistrate for high treason & smuggling he turned his back and would not see the paper signed."






"I have purchased 200 oxen from the Yankees for which I pay them half Eagles … Flour is here $14 per barrel, but large supplies have arrived at Quebec from France & England so that there will be no want."

Extract from an original letter from
Thomas G. Ridout (Cornwall)
to his father Thomas Ridout, July 9, 1814
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code: F 43, box MU 2390
Archives of Ontario

"Perhaps you never heard of, or can believe the shameful sacrifice which has wilfully been made of between 6 & 7 hundred sleighs loads of provision. The manner this thing has been done has excited much feeling. The people do not hesitate to say it was sold to the enemy. I must confess, it has very much the appearance of it. You will see a statement upon this subject in Coleman's paper…"

Extract from an original letter from
Nathan Ford (Ogdensburg)
to his brother David Ford, March 11, 1814
Ford family fonds
Reference Code: F 483, box MU 1054
Archives of Ontario



[ Return to top of page ]


The Ship Building Race

Letter Proximity to Montreal and its sheltered harbour quickly established Kingston as the primary British naval base on Lake Ontario. A series of batteries and blockhouses were built to protect the naval yards and the squadron at anchor. Although considered for an attack several times, and of great strategic importance, the United States never made a direct attempt at its capture or destruction. The shipyard at Kingston produced most of the British war ships to sail on Lake Ontario, including HMS St. Lawrence, which carried 120 guns, more than Nelson's flag ship Victory at Trafalgar.

Executed more than a decade before the war, the drawing to the right shows Kingston was already an active port and substantial community.

Sketch:  Kingston, Ontario

Click to see a larger image (66K)
Kingston, Ontario, 1796
Elizabeth Simcoe
Simcoe family fonds
Sketch
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-241
Archives of Ontario, I0006356



Drawing of a ship to be built at Kingston in 1815, [1814]

Click to see a larger image (173K)
Drawing of a ship to be built at Kingston in 1815, [1814]
Mrs. Edward Kemp collection
Drawing
Reference Code: F 360, O. S. 13-1 (AO 5984)
Archives of Ontario

 

The naval race on Lake Ontario lasted the entire war. Both sides built larger and larger war vessels, eventually surpassing first rate ships in the British navy’s Atlantic fleet. The vessel shown above, apparently never built, was to be 107 feet long, 30 feet in breadth and of “410 tons burthen”. It is unclear how many guns were proposed for her armament.

Neither side was willing to risk a full scale naval engagement on Lake Ontario. There were several instances where the two fleets passed each other at a distance, doing limited damage. The major naval disaster on Lake Ontario was the sinking of the USS Hamilton and USS Scourge in a storm in 1813.

Lithograph: The USS General Pike and HMS Wolf, September 28, 1813

Click to see a larger image (94K)
The USS General Pike and HMS Wolf,
September 28, 1813
Archives of Ontario Photographic Collection
Lithograph
Reference Code: S 1431
Archives of Ontario




The ship mentioned by Maclean in the stocks at York (right) was the General Brock; it was burned to prevent its use by the Americans when the British forces retreated from the town in April 1813.

The term "thirty gun ship" was an approximate description. The number of weapons placed on a vessel of this size varied depending on the size of the guns (the weight of the shot), whether the short barrelled carronade was used versus long guns and a variety of other factors.

"A few days ago about Eighty Ship Carpenters arrived at this place [York] from your province, the keel of a thirty gun ship will soon be laid on the stocks. I am informed that a vessel of nearly the same dimmentions [sic] is to be built at Kingston. I hope we shall regain the command of the Lakes so shamefully lost, but to me it appears doubtful, for I do not like the idea of having our Navy at different Ports…It is much wished for in this province than an expedition may be planned to attack Sackets Harbour so as to destroy the Enemy's fleet and stores at that place, it is very practicable, no doubt many lives would be lost, the object is great but is the surest means of obtaining the command of the Lakes."

Extract from an original letter from
Donald Maclean (York) to
Charles Stewart, January 11, 1813
Miscellaneous collection
Reference Code: F 775, box MU 2102
Archives of Ontario



[ Return to top of page ]

La guerre de 1812 : Kingston et la région du Saint-Laurent : Protection de la chaîne de ravitaillement - bannière

Table des matières


Le ravitaillement du Haut-Canada

Lettre En 1812, l’économie du Haut-Canada était principalement agricole et n’avait pas la capacité industrielle voulue pour se suffire en matière d’armes, de munitions et d’équipements. La nécessité où se trouvait la milice de servir pendant la saison de campagne, soit la saison des cultures, affaiblissait encore la capacité de la province de pouvoir nourrir l’armée outre sa population.

La plupart des provisions et fournitures essentielles à l’effort de guerre devaient être expédiées dans le Haut-Canada depuis la Grande-Bretagne, les colonies de l’Atlantique ou le Bas-Canada. Il était donc primordial de protéger les « communications » et la chaîne de ravitaillement, tâche dévolue aux forts, aux navires et aux hommes.

Le fort Wellington était le plus considérable des postes établis entre Montréal et Kingston pour protéger les communications.

Cette vue du fort remonte à 1830 et dépeint les principaux ouvrages de terrassement tels qu’ils étaient dans les derniers mois de la guerre. Le fort sera agrandi et renforcé pendant la rébellion de 1837 et à la suite d’une nouvelle menace de guerre avec les États-Unis, au cours des années 1840. Le fortin qui domine aujourd’hui le fort a été construit pendant cette dernière période.

Aquarelle : Fort Wellington, Prescott, octobre 1830

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (181ko)
Fort Wellington, Prescott, octobre 1830
Thomas Burrowes
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Aquarelle
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-78
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002197


[Sketch map of Upper Canada showing the routes Lt. Gov. Simcoe took on journeys between mars 1793 et septembre 1795], [1795]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (204ko)
[Sketch map of Upper Canada showing the routes
Lt. Gov. Simcoe took on journeys between
mars 1793 et septembre 1795], [1795]
[Elizabeth Simcoe]
Fonds Famille Simcoe
carte
Code de référence : F 47-5-1-0-37
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0004757

Le Saint-Laurent était une voie de prime importance pour acheminer les fournitures vers le Haut-Canada et vers les Premières Nations du Nord-Ouest.

La carte qu’on voit à gauche, dessinée par Elizabeth Simcoe, retrace les grandes routes de transport du temps.

Des bateaux servaient à transporter les marchandises en vrac sur le Saint-Laurent, de Montréal à Kingston et au-delà, des dépôts fortifiés étant prévus à Cornwall et à Prescott. Les voies d’eau, bien que sous la menace des forces navales américaines du lac Ontario, étaient plus sûres que les quelques routes en mauvais état du temps.

Dessin d’un bateau, [1814]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (110ko)
Dessin d’un bateau, [1814]
Collection Mme Edward Kemp
Dessin
Code de référence : F 360, O.S. 1-8
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, AO 5985

Les bâtiments de ce type se prêtaient bien au transport des provisions, ayant un faible tirant d'eau et pouvant recevoir de forts chargements. Ils étaient mus à l’aviron ou à la voile et convenaient à la navigation lacustre et fluviale.

Thomas Ridout comptait parmi ceux qui assumaient la tâche ingrate de la garde et de l’expédition des provisions et fournitures grâce auxquelles les armées pouvaient faire campagne.

« Dernièrement, j’ai été implacable avec mes subalternes de ce port, que j’ai surpris à détourner des provisions et des stocks dont je suis responsable. »

« Tous les jours, 12 batteaux [sic] arrivent ici [Cornwall] de Lachine, à destination de Kingston, chargés de provisions et de fournitures. Nous avons posté des troupes le long du fleuve, comme mesure de protection. »

Extrait d'une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (Cornwall) à son père,
Thomas Ridout, 1er mai 1814
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2390
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

La pénurie de vivres et, en contrecoup, l’escalade des prix restreignaient gravement la capacité du gouvernement en matière de ravitaillement, des civils aussi bien que des militaires, et de financement de l’effort de guerre. À la fin de 1814, Drummond, en sa qualité de président du conseil, donna l’ordre suivant - dans l’espoir de stabiliser les prix et d’empêcher la population d’accumuler secrètement des provisions. Cette mesure n’aida sans doute pas à détendre les relations entre les autorités militaires et les civils.

« Monsieur,

Les prix tout à fait exorbitants qu’exigent les fermiers pour la moindre denrée et le fourrage nécessaires aux troupes de Sa Majesté en campagne dans la province incitent Son Honneur le lieutenant-général Drummond - dans le but de mettre un frein à ce système d’extorsion qui prévaut de manière générale tout en suivant le principe le plus juste et le plus libéral - à demander aux magistrats des divers districts de dresser pour ces articles, aux fins d’adoption et de transmission comme information et guide, une grille de prix qui leur semblent, après mûre réflexion et compte tenu des circonstances actuelles, justes et équitables tant pour le gouvernement que pour les particuliers. …

Vous reconnaîtrez sans peine l’opportunité d’une réglementation de ces prix, de façon que, lorsque les articles sont enlevés aux frais de l’acheteur ou livrés par le fermier à un poste ou dépôt militaire quelconque, cette question ne soulève pas de différends. »

Lettre ciculaire du bureau du Président au sujet de la règlementation des prix, 29 novembre 1814

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (361ko)
Lettre ciculaire du bureau du Président au sujet de la règlementation des prix, 29 novembre 1814
Reproduction d'un document original
Fonds Sir Gordon Drummond
Code de référence : F 955
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]

La contrebande

L’intendance de l’armée britannique comptait sur l’importation des États-Unis des vivres devant s’ajouter aux provisions reçues de Grande-Bretagne et du Bas-Canada. Fermant les yeux sur le commerce illégal, les fonctionnaires américains locaux se trouvaient ainsi à contribuer à l’effort de guerre britannique.

Extrait d'une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (Cornwall) à son père, Thomas Ridout, 19 juin 1814

Extrait d'une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (Cornwall)
à son père, Thomas Ridout, 19 juin 1814
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, boîte MU 2391
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format ".wav" (657ko) Cliquer ici pour écouter un extrait de la lettre en format "wav" (657ko) L'extrait est également disponible en format "aif" format (657ko)

Vous pouvez lire une transcription de l'extrait c-dessous. Cliquez sur ces liens pour voir la lettre au complet.

« J'ai conclu une entente avec un magistrat yankee pour approvisionner notre fort en bœuf frais. Un major l'accompagnait lors de la signature de l'entente, mais comme il était [président] du grand jury au tribunal où le gouvernement poursuit le magistrat pour haute trahison et contrebande, il nous a tourné le dos pour ne pas être témoin de la signature. »


« J’ai acheté 200 bœufs des Yankees en leur donnant en paiement des Half Eagles… Ici, la farine coûte 14 dollars le baril, mais de grandes quantités sont arrivées à Québec en provenance de France et d’Angleterre, de sorte qu’il n’y aura pas de pénuries. »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Thomas G. Ridout (Cornwall)
à son père, Thomas Ridout, 9 juillet 1814
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2390
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

« Tu n'as peut-être pas entendu parler – ou alors te refuses à y ajouter foi – du sacrifice éhonté qui a été fait, de propos délibéré, de quelque six ou sept cents traîneaux chargés de provisions. La manière dont cette opération a été menée a suscité beaucoup de controverse. Les gens ne se privent pas de dire que ces provisions ont été vendues à l'ennemi. J'avoue que cela en a toutes les apparences. Tu verras une déclaration à ce sujet dans le journal de Coleman… »

Extrait d'une lettre originale de Nathan Ford (Ogdensburg, New York)
à son frère, David Ford, 11 mars 1814
Fonds Famille Ford
Code de référence : F 483, MU 1054
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]

La course à l'armement

Lettre La proximité de Montréal et de son port protégé avaient rapidement fait de Kingston la principale base navale britannique du lac Ontario. Une suite de batteries et de fortins avaient été construits afin de protéger les chantiers de construction maritime et l’escadre à l’ancre. Bien qu’ayant plusieurs fois envisagé d’attaquer la base en raison de sa grande importance stratégique, les États-Unis ne firent jamais de tentative directe pour la détruire ou s’en emparer. Le chantier naval de Kingston avait produit la plupart des navires de guerre britanniques qui naviguaient sur le lac Ontario, y compris le HMS St. Lawrence, doté de 120 canons, soit davantage que le Victory, bâtiment amiral de Nelson à Trafalgar.

Réalisé plus d’une décennie avant la guerre, le dessin de droite montre que Kingston était déjà un centre d’importance et un port florissant.

Dessin : Kingston

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (66ko)
Kingston, 26 juillet 1796
Elizabeth Simcoe
Fonds Famille Simcoe
dessin
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-241
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006356


Dessin d’un navire devant être construit à Kingston en 1815, [1814]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (173ko)
Dessin d’un navire devant être construit à Kingston en 1815, [1814]
Collection Mme Edward Kemp
Dessin
Code de référence : F 360, O.S. 13-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, AO 5984

La course à l'armement entre les chantiers navals ennemis du lac Ontario devait durer pendant toute la guerre. Dans les deux camps on construisait des bâtiments de guerre de plus en plus gros, qui devaient surpasser les meilleurs bâtiments de la flotte britannique de l’Atlantique. Le navire représenté ci-dessus, qui n’a apparemment jamais été construit, devait mesurer 107 pieds de long et 30 pieds de large, avec une portée en lourd de 410 tonnes. On ignore le nombre de canons dont on se proposait de l’armer.

Mais aucun des deux côtés ne voulait s’exposer aux risques d’un combat à grand déploiement sur le lac Ontario. À plusieurs reprises, les deux flottes se croisèrent à une certaine distance, avec des dommages restreints. Le pire désastre naval à survenir sur le lac Ontario fut le naufrage des USS Hamilton et USS Scourge lors d’une tempête, en 1813.

Gravure : The USS General Pike and HMS Wolf, 28 septembre 1813

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (94ko)
The USS General Pike and HMS Wolf,
28 septembre 1813
Collection de photographies des
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Gravure
Code de référence : S 1431
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Le navire en cale à York que mentionne Maclean (à droite) est le General Brock; ce bâtiment fut brûlé lorsque les forces britanniques se retirèrent de la ville en avril 1813, pour empêcher les Américains de l’utiliser.

Le terme « vaisseau de trente canons » est une description approximative. Les canons dont étaient pourvus les bâtiments de cette dimension variaient en nombre selon leur taille (le poids du boulet), le choix de la caronade à canon court plutôt qu’à canon long, de même que toute une gamme d’autres facteurs.

« Il y a quelques jours, environ quatre-vingts charpentiers de marine sont arrivés ici [York] de votre province, et on devrait bientôt voir s'étaler sur les attinages la quille d'une canonnière de trente pièces. On m'apprend qu'un vaisseau de dimensions semblables doit être construit à Kingston. J'espère que nous allons reprendre la maîtrise des Lacs, si honteusement perdue, mais cela me semble douteux. En effet, l'idée ne me plaît pas de voir notre Marine s'éparpiller entre différents ports… Dans cette province, nous souhaitons vivement qu'on prépare une expédition pour attaquer le port de Sackets, de façon à détruire la flotte et le matériel de l'ennemi à cet endroit… »

Extrait d'une lettre originale de
Donald Maclean (York) à Charles
Stewart, 11 janvier 1813
Collection mixe
Code de référence : F 775, MU 2102
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

[ Haut de la page ]


Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle