The War of 1812: Niagara Frontier and York - 1814 - Page Banner

Table of Contents


1814 - Battle of Chippewa

Letter American forces again crossed the Niagara River in 1814, rapidly capturing Fort Erie and advancing northward along the Niagara River. They met a force of British regulars under General Rial just south of the Chippewa Creek, or Welland River. The British forces suffered heavy casualties and fell back to Queenston Heights. The Skill shown by the American soldiers and commanders at Chippewa showed that the poorly motivated and trained militias seen at Detroit and Queenston in 1812 were being replaced by professional soldiers. The American forces continued their advance along the River, leading to the next engagement at Lundy's Lane.

Illustration: Battle of Chippewa, 1869

Click to see a larger image (337K)
Battle of Chippewa, 1869
Benson J. Lossing in
The Pictorial Field-Book of the War of 1812
Illustration
Reference Code: 971 .034 LOS, page 810
Archives of Ontario Library

Drawing: Fort Chippiwa on the river, Welland, [ca. 1795]

Click to see a larger image (177K)
Fort Chippiwa on the river, Welland, [ca. 1795]
Elizabeth Simcoe
Simcoe family fonds
Drawing
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-167
Archives of Ontario, I0007019

Fort Chippewa was built to protect the southern terminus of the Niagara Portage - the Battle of Chippewa was fought near this point in July 1814. Burned, then rebuilt and strengthened during the war, Fort Chippewa was abandoned as a military post in 1815 and rapidly fell into decay.




“On Tuesday last about 4 in the afternoon, Mr. General Rial crossed the Chippawa with his forces, and attacked the Enemy, whose number, as it appear by a letter written the same morning by Major Glegg… The action continued about an hour & half when we were compelled to retreat over the Chippawa Bridge, leaving many of their wounded. Fort Erie on the same day was attacked … It is said that provisions at Niagara are become very scarce & are now served out of the allowance …”

Extract from an original letter from Thomas Ridout (York)
to his son Thomas G. Ridout, July 10, 1814
Thomas Ridout family fonds
Reference Code: F 43, box MU 2391
Archives of Ontario






Red Jacket supported the United States in the War with Britain. He participated in the Battle of Chippewa and other engagements on the Niagara frontier in the summer and fall of 1814.

Click to see a larger image (601K)
Red Jacket, Seneca War Chief, [ca. 1840]
C. Hallmandel Campbell and Burns,
Department of Education Museum program drawings
Print
Reference Code: RG 2-344-0-0-23
Archives of Ontario, I0009159

Print: Red Jacket, Seneca War Chief, [ca. 1840]
[ Return to top of page ]

1814 - Battle of Lundy's Lane

Letter In the popular imagination, the Battle of Lundy's Lane was the defining battle of the War of 1812 in Upper Canada. Both sides claimed victory; both lost heavily. The American forces withdrew the next day and expanded their defence lines at Fort Erie.

Two years before Lundy's Lane (approximately 1600 casualties in total) the battle of Borodino was fought between the Russian and French armies resulting in more than 100,000 casualties. The war in North America never reached the size and ferocity of the contemporary European conflict.

The portrayal of the battle shown here emphasizes the desperate nature of the fight. It compresses the events of the 5 hours into a single image of the struggle for the guns.

Drawing: The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [ca. 1921]

Click to see a larger image (136K)
The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [ca. 1921]
C. W. Jefferys
Pen and Ink Drawing
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 621234


Lieutenant-General Drummond was commander of British forces in Upper Canada from December 1813 through the end of the War. Drummond achieved an important success with the capture of Fort Niagara shortly after assuming command. The bloody stalemate which followed on the Niagara at Chippewa, Lundy’s Lane and Fort Erie was probably the best that could be expected at this stage of the war given improvements in the training and leadership of American forces.

Click to see a larger image (137K)
General Sir Gordon Drummond, G. C. B., 1883
George Theodore Berthon
Oil on canvas
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 693127

Portrait: General Sir Gordon Drummond, G. C. B., 1883



“General Rial marched from the 12 Mile Creek at 10 o'clock on the evening of the 24th July 1814 at the head of a Brigade of light troops consisting of the Battalions of Glengarry Fencibles & Incorporated Militia, 1 troop of the 19th light dragoon and 2 [?] under Lt. Colonel Pearson to St. David's. When he arrived at break of day on the following morning, and found the village burnt down by the Enemy, who had immediately after commended his retreat in the direction of the Chippawa. General Riall continuing his march arrived at Lundy's Lane about 7 o'clock on the morning of the 25th. … The attack commenced on the left at the British positions about 6 o'clock in the afternoon by the Enemy's riflemen from the opposite wood which was well sustained by the Incorporated Militia under Lieut. Colonel Robinson, by whom says General Drummond in his official dispatch …"

Extract from an account of the Battle of Lundy's Lane, [n.d.]
Duncan Clark fonds
Reference Code: F 429, box MU 572
Archives of Ontario






Click to see a larger image (238K)
Battle of Niagara Falls [Lundy's Lane], 1869
Benson J. Lossing in
The Pictorial Field-Book of the War of 1812
Illustration
Reference Code: 971 .034 LOS, page 823
Archives of Ontario Library

Illustration: Battle of Niagara Falls [Lundy's Lane], 1869

An American description of the Battle of Lundy' Lane.

Letter from Lt. C. Blake, 9th U.S. Infantry to his brother William Blake, March 30, 1815, [page 1]

Click to see a larger image (453K)
Letter from Lt. C. Blake, 9th U.S. Infantry
to his brother William Blake, March 30, 1815
[page 1]
Battle of Lundy's Lane Letter
Letter
Reference Code: F 4140
Archives of Ontario

Letter from Lt. C. Blake, 9th U.S. Infantry to his brother William Blake, March 30, 1815, [page 2]

Click to see a larger image (499K)
Letter from Lt. C. Blake, 9th U.S. Infantry
to his brother William Blake, March 30, 1815
[page 2]
Battle of Lundy's Lane Letter
Letter
Reference Code: F 4140
Archives of Ontario

"Thanks be to god I am yet alive, and am one of that little band of the Bloody ninth which went to the field of Battle with one hundred and ninety Heroes which was obtained from the State of Massachusetts and fought until we had but one and twenty that was able for duty the next day... the battle continued five hours commencing the 25th day of July at 7 o'clock in the evening and ending at twelve at night which made it very difficult fighting being in the night."



[ Return to top of page ]


1814 - Siege of Fort Erie

Letter Following the Battle of Lundy's Lane, the British army under the command of Lieutenant-General Drummond pursued the enemy towards Lake Erie and eventually established siege lines near Fort Erie, a Canadian fort under American Control. The American defences at the fort were extensive and it was manned by more than 2000 defenders.

The British built a series of trenches and artillery batteries to support a siege of the American position, but they did not have heavy enough guns to destroy the defences or enough men to establish a full blockade. Further, the United States Navy dominated Lake Erie, so it was impossible to cut off communications with the America side of the River.

Click to see a larger image (226K)
Siege and Defence of Fort Erie, 1869
Benson J. Lossing in
The Pictorial Field-Book of the War of 1812
Illustration
Reference Code: 971 .034 LOS, page 839
Archives of Ontario Library

Illustration: Siege and Defence of Fort Erie, 1869

Aerial sketch of Fort Erie as imagined [ca. 1814]

Click to see a larger image (81K)
Aerial sketch of Fort Erie as imagined
[ca. 1814], [1937-1938]
William Lyon Somerville
McMurrich and Oxley fonds
Drawing
Reference Code: C 23, Project 409, part 1
Archives of Ontario

After several days of artillery bombardment General Drummond ordered an assault on three points of the fortifications, which had been extended and strengthened by the American troops. Two of the columns were repulsed, but a third managed to enter one of the bastions and attacked the stone buildings inside. This near success was wiped out when a magazine under the bastion exploded.

A few weeks later the Americans attacked the siege lines, destroyed a battery and withdrew. The bad weather and heavy losses convinced Drummond that a withdrawal was necessary and the British pulled back to Queenston to see what the United States forces would do. This was followed by inconclusive skirmishing until the United States evacuated the Canadian side of the Niagara River in November.

"A deserter who had arrived in the British Camp on the 15th September gave information that General Brown having resumed the command of the American army, would shortly [risk] a very formidable attack on the British positions… About 3 O'clock in the afternoon of the 17 the Enemy after throwing over an unusual number of shell struck a sudden attack… "

Extract from an account of
the battle of Fort Erie, [1814]
Duncan Clark fonds
Reference Code: F 429, box MU 572
Archives of Ontario

Photo: Ruins of Fort Erie, 1920

Click to see a larger image (62K)
Ruins of Fort Erie, 1920
M. O. Hammond
M. O. Hammond fonds
Black and white photograph
Reference Code: F 1075-9-0-22
Archives of Ontario


When the United States forces evacuated the Niagara area in November 1814 they blew up Fort Erie. It was not rebuilt after the war and remained in ruins until its restoration by the Niagara Parks Commission in the 1930s.

When the well known photographer M. O. Hammond visited the site he noted in his diary "After lunch we were glad to leave & call at the ruins of Old Fort Erie which are quite large & show it was a substantial place." F 1075 M. O. Hammond fonds July 31st 1906.

 

[ Return to top of page ]

La guerre de 1812 : La frontière de Niagara et York - Année 1814 - bannière

Table des matières


1814 - La bataille de Chippewa

Lettre Les forces américaines retraversèrent la Niagara en 1814, pour s’emparer rapidement du fort Érié et avancer en direction nord le long de la rivière. Elles se heurtèrent à une force de l’armée britannique commandée par le général Rial, immédiatement au sud de Chippewa Creek, c’est-à-dire de la rivière Welland. Ayant subi de lourdes pertes, les forces britanniques se replièrent sur les hauteurs de Queenston. L’habileté tactique démontrée par les commandants et les soldats américains à Chippewa attestait que les miliciens peu motivés et mal entraînés de 1812 à Détroit et à Queenston avaient cédé la place à de véritables professionnels. Les forces américaines poursuivirent leur progression le long de la rivière, vers le théâtre de l’affrontement suivant, à Lundy’s Lane.

Illustration : Battle of Chippewa, 1869

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (337ko)
Battle of Chippewa, 1869
Benson J. Lossing, dans
The Pictorial Field-Book of the War of 1812
Illustration
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario
971 .034 LOS, page 810

Dessin : Fort Chippiwa on the river, Welland, [vers 1795]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (177ko)
Fort Chippiwa on the river, Welland, [vers 1795]
Elizabeth Simcoe
Fonds Famille Simcoe
Dessin
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-167
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007019

Le fort Chippewa avait pour objet de protéger l’extrémité sud du portage Niagara - la bataille de Chippewa devait être livrée tout près, en juillet 1814. Incendié, puis reconstruit et solidifié au cours de la guerre, le fort Chippewa fut abandonné en tant que poste militaire en 1815 et devait se détériorer rapidement.


« Mardi dernier, vers 4 heures de l’après-midi, le général Rial a traversé la Chippawa avec ses troupes et a attaqué l’ennemi, qui comptait, selon une lettre écrite ce matin-là par le major Glegg… Le combat s’est poursuivi pendant à peu près une heure et demie, puis nous avons été forcés de nous replier de l’autre côté du pont de la Chippawa, laissant derrière nous bon nombre de leurs blessés. Le même jour, le fort Érié a été attaqué… On dit que les provisions se font très rares à Niagara et qu’on doit maintenant puiser dans les réserves… »

Extrait d’une lettre originale de Thomas Ridout (York) à son fils,
Thomas G. Ridout, 10 juillet 1814
Fonds Famille Thomas Ridout
Code de référence : F 43, MU 2391
Archives publiques de l’Ontario


Red Jacket avait pris parti pour les États-Unis dans la guerre contre les Anglais. Il participa à la bataille de Chippewa et à d’autres affrontements sur la frontière du Niagara au cours de l’été et de l’automne de 1814.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (118ko)
Red Jacket, Seneca War Chief, [vers 1840]
C. Hallmandel Campbell et Burns,
Dessins des programmes du musée du
ministère de l'Éducation
Gravure
Code de référence : RG 2-344-0-0-23
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0009159

Gravure : Red Jacket, Seneca War Chief, [vers 1840]

[ Haut de la page ]


1814 - La bataille de Lundy's Lane

Lettre Ielon l’imagerie populaire, la bataille de Lundy’s Lane fut un tournant décisif pour la guerre de 1812 dans le Haut-Canada. Les deux camps revendiquaient la victoire; or, les deux avaient subi de lourdes pertes. Les forces américaines se retirèrent le lendemain et élargirent leurs lignes de défense au fort Érié.

Deux ans avant la bataille de Lundy’s Lane (qui fit au total quelque 1 600 victimes), les armées russe et française s’affrontaient à Borodino, où 100 000 hommes perdirent la vie. La guerre nord-américaine n’atteignit jamais l’envergure ni la férocité du grand conflit européen de la même période.

Cette représentation fait ressortir le caractère désespéré du combat. Elle condense les péripéties de ces cinq longues heures en une seule image, où l’on se dispute les canons.

Dessin : The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [vers 1921]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (136ko)

The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [vers 1921]
C. W. Jefferys, O.S.A., A.R.C., S.C.P.A. (1869-1951)
dessin à la plume et à l'encre
rehaussée au blanc de Chine
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 621234


Le lieutenant-général Drummond fut commandant des forces britanniques du Haut-Canada de décembre 1813 jusqu’à la fin de la guerre. Peu après avoir assumé le commandement, Drummond remporta un succès éclatant avec la prise du fort Niagara. L’impasse tragique qui devait suivre sur la Niagara, à Chippewa, à Lundy’s Lane et au fort Érié, représentait probablement un moindre mal à ce stade de la guerre, compte tenu du meilleur leadership et de l’excellente formation des troupes américaines.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (136ko)
General Sir Gordon Drummond, G. C. B., 1883
George Theodore Berthon
huile sur toile
Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de
l'Ontario, 693127

huile sur toile : General Sir Gordon Drummond, G. C. B., 1883

« Le général Riall était parti de 12 Mile Creek à 10 heures du soir le 24 juillet 1814, à la tête d’une petite brigade de troupes légères qui comprenait les bataillons des Glengarry Fencibles et de la milice incorporée, une troupe des 19e dragons légers et deux [?] dirigés par le lieutenant-colonel Pearson à destination de St. David. À son arrivée à l’aube du lendemain, le village avait été incendié par l’ennemi, qui avait, immédiatement après, amorcé sa retraite en direction de la Chippewa. Le général Riall, poursuivant sa marche, est arrivé à Lundy’s Lane vers 7 heures, le matin du 25... L’assaut a été lancé sur le front gauche des positions britanniques vers 6 heures du soir par les carabiniers ennemis, postés dans le boisé d’en face, et a été bien soutenu par la milice incorporée que commandait le lieutenant-colonel Robinson, grâce auquel, comme le raconte le général Drummond dans sa dépêche officielle… »

Extrait d'un compte-rendu de la bataille de Lundy's Lane, [n.d.]
Fonds Duncan Clark
Code de référence : F 429, boîte MU 572
Archives publiques de l’Ontario


Cliquer pour un agrandissement (238ko)
Battle of Niagara Falls [Lundy's Lane], 1869
Benson J. Lossing, dans
The Pictorial Field-Book of the War of 1812
Illustration
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario
971 .034 LOS, page 823

Illustration : Battle of Niagara Falls [Lundy's Lane], 1869

Perspective américaine de la bataille de Lundy’s Lane.
Lettre du Lt. C. Blake, 9th U.S. Infantry à son frère William Blake, 30 mars 1815, [page 1]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (453ko)
Lettre du Lt. C. Blake, 9th U.S. Infantry
à son frère William Blake, 30 mars 1815
[page 1]
Lettre au sujet de la bataille de Lundy's Lane
Lettre
Code de référence : F 4140
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Lettre du Lt. C. Blake, 9th U.S. Infantry à son frère William Blake, 30 mars 1815, [page 2]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (499ko)
Lettre du Lt. C. Blake, 9th U.S. Infantry
à son frère William Blake, 30 mars 1815
[page 2]
Lettre au sujet de la bataille de Lundy's Lane
Lettre
Code de référence : F 4140
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

« Grâce au ciel, j’ai survécu, avec quelques autres de ce sacré neuvième, parti avec ses 190 héros de l’État du Massachusetts, qui ont combattu jusqu’à ce qu’il n’en reste plus que 120 encore capables de reprendre les armes le lendemain… La bataille de ce 25 juillet s’est poursuivie pendant 5 heures, depuis 7 heures du soir jusqu’à minuit, l’obscurité rendant le combat extrêmement difficile. »

[ Haut de la page ]


1814 - Le siège du fort Érié
Lettre Après la bataille de Lundy’s Lane, l’armée britannique, commandée par le lieutenant-général Drummond, pourchassa l’ennemi vers le lac Érié et parvint à établir des lignes de siège près du fort Érié, place forte canadienne passée aux Américains. Les fortifications américaines étaient considérables au fort même, qui était défendu par plus de 2 000 hommes.

Les Britanniques avaient aménagé une série de tranchées et des batteries d’artillerie pour appuyer le siège contre les positions américaines, mais ils ne possédaient pas suffisamment d’armes pour détruire les défenses, ni un nombre d’hommes suffisant pour établir un blocus véritable. De plus, la marine américaine était maîtresse du lac Érié, de sorte qu’il était impossible de porter atteinte aux communications avec la rive américaine de la rivière.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (226ko)
Siege and Defence of fort Érié, 1869
Benson J. Lossing, dans
The Pictorial Field-Book of the War of 1812
Illustration
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario
971 .034 LOS, page 839

Illustration : Siege and Defence of fort Érié, 1869

Dessin : Aerial sketch of fort Érié as imagined circ. 1814, [1937-1938]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (81ko)
Aerial sketch of fort Érié as imagined
circ. 1814, [1937-1938]
William Lyon Somerville,
Fonds McMurrich and Oxley
Dessin
Code de référence : C 23, Projet 409, partie 1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Après plusieurs journées de bombardement d’artillerie, le général Drummond avait ordonné l’assaut à trois emplacements des fortifications, qui avaient été prolongées et renforcées par les troupes américaines. Deux des colonnes avaient été repoussées, mais une troisième avait réussi à entrer dans l’un des bastions et à attaquer les bâtiments de pierre de l’intérieur. Cette quasi-réussite fut anéantie par l’explosion d’un magasin, situé sous le bastion.

Quelques semaines plus tard, les Américains attaquaient les lignes de siège, détruisaient une batterie et se retiraient. Les intempéries et les pertes subies convainquirent Drummond de la nécessité d’un repli, et les Britanniques se retirèrent à Queenston, en attendant de voir comment les forces américaines allaient riposter. Il s’ensuivit des escarmouches sans beaucoup de conséquences, jusqu’à l’évacuation par les Américains de la rive canadienne de la Niagara, en novembre.

« À son arrivée au campement britannique le 15 septembre, un déserteur a annoncé que le général Brown, qui avait repris le commandement de l’armée américaine, projetait une offensive imminente contre les positions britanniques… Vers 3 heures l’après-midi du 17, après avoir lancé un nombre inusité d’obus, l’ennemi est soudainement passé à l’attaque… »

Extrait d'un compte-rendu de la bataille du
fort Érié, [1814]
Fonds Duncan Clark
Code de référence : F 429, boîte MU 572
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Photographie : Ruins of fort Érié, 1920

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (62ko)
Ruins of fort Érié, 1920
M. O. Hammond
Fonds M. O. Hammond
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1075-9-0-22
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Lorsque les forces américaines évacuèrent la région de Niagara en novembre 1814, ils firent sauter le fort Érié. Ce dernier ne fut pas reconstruit après la guerre et demeura en ruines jusqu’à sa restauration par la Commission des parcs du Niagara, au cours des années 1930.

Après sa visite des lieux, le réputé photographe M. O. Hammond notait dans son journal : « Après le déjeuner, contents de partir, nous avons visité les ruines du vieux fort Érié, qui sont considérables et attestent qu’il s’agissait d’une forteresse importante. » F 1075, Fonds M. O. Hammond, 31 juillet 1906.


Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle