The War of 1812: Artists and Photographers - Page Banner

Table of Contents


 

George Theodore Berthon

George Theodore Berthon (1806-1892) originally from Vienna, was a portraitist who created many works on commission from the Government of Ontario to commemorate the major figures in the history of the province. He did portraits of Brock, Prevost and Drummond based on photographs of portraits done during the subject's lifetime in the possession of their families or galleries.

Click to see a larger image (76K)
George Theodore Berthon, [before 1892]
M. O. Hammond
M. O. Hammond fonds
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 1075-12-0-0-61
Archives of Ontario, I0007828

 

Photo: George Theodore Berthon, [before 1893]


[ Return to top of page ]


John Boyd

John Boyd (1865-1941) was an amateur photographer and railway employee in Toronto and Sarnia during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. A naturalist, Boyd also had an interest in historical sites in the province and provides many early views of monuments and landmarks connected with the War of 1812.





Click to see a larger image (127K)
Self-portrait of John Boyd, [189-]
John Boyd
John Boyd fonds
Black and white print
Reference Code: C 7-2-0-1-115
Archives of Ontario, I0003806

 

Photo: Self-portrait of John Boyd, [189-]


[ Return to top of page ]


Captain Thomas Burrowes

Captain Thomas Burrowes was born in Worcester, England, and came to Kingston, Upper Canada, in 1818, with the Royal Sappers and Miners. He assisted in the Rideau Canal's construction and maintenance, 1826-1846, and documented these activities in numerous watercolour paintings.

Watercolour: Lock, Dam, Blockhouse at the Narrows, Rideau Lake, looking towards Kingston, 1834

Click to see a larger image (84K)
Lock, Dam, Blockhouse at the Narrows, Rideau Lake,
looking towards Kingston, 1834
Thomas Burrowes
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Watercolour
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-26
Archives of Ontario, I0002145

[ Return to top of page ]


Roy Greenaway, O.I.P.

Roy Greenaway (1891-1972) was a prolific painter although he received no formal art training. Born in Toronto in 1891, Greenaway attended the University of Toronto graduating with a degree in English and History in 1918. Shortly after graduating he joined The Star as a reporter, a position he held for 48 years, including 20 years in the Legislative Press Gallery at Queen’s Park.

Painting: Death of General Brock, 1960

Click to see a larger image (212K)
Death of General Brock, 1960
Roy Greenaway (1891-1972)
oil on canvas
Government of Ontario Art Collection
Government of Ontario, 623021

[ Return to top of page ]


M. O. Hammond

M. O. Hammond (1876-1934) was an amateur photographer who took many images of southern Ontario and Quebec between the 1890s and the 1930s. His works are a valuable documentary source on the appearance of battlefields and monuments before they became part of well groomed parks. The images of the ruins of Fort Erie and the Battle of Crysler's Farm Memorial are fine examples of this.

 

Click to see a larger image (62K)
M. O. Hammond portrait by
Newton MacTavish, August, 1923
Newton MacTavish
M. O. Hammond fonds
Black and white negative
Reference Code: F1075, H767
Archives of Ontario, I0001252

 

Photo: M. O. Hammond portrait by Newton MacTavish, August, 1923
[ Return to top of page ]


Charles William Jefferys

Charles William Jefferys was a noted artist and illustrator with strong interest in Canadian historical themes. His works held by the Government of Ontario Art Collection include the meeting of General Brock and Tecumseh, the death of Brock at Queenston Heights, the journey of Laura Secord to warn Fitzgibbon, the Battle of Lundy's Lane and an image of Fort York during the War of 1812.

Although his work showed a romanticized view of the events, they were instrumental in developing a generation's image of the war. In his diary M. O. Hammond commented that he met with C. W. Jefferys and "went over my monument list and some photos & he made valuable comments on many. He is a perfect encyclopedia of Can. Information". M. O. Hammond fonds F 1075, diary July 23rd, 1923.

 

Photo: Charles William Jefferys, R.C.A., 1930

Click to see a larger image (60K)
Charles William Jefferys, R.C.A., 1930
M. O. Hammond
M. O. Hammond fonds
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 1075-12-0-0-50
Archives of Ontario, I0007817

[ Return to top of page ]


Elizabeth Simcoe

Elizabeth Simcoe, the wife of John Graves Simcoe, the first Lieutenant Governor of Upper Canada, was an accomplished artist. As she travelled throughout Upper and Lower Canada, between 1791 and 1796, she produced a large number of sketches and watercolours depicting Canadian scenes. She was also an avid diarist and documented many of her experiences.

For more information about Simcoe, visit our online exhibit, Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe, or consult the Simcoe family fonds (F 47).

To learn more about Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe, click here.

Watercolour: His Majesty's Ship Mississauga; Niagara, Navy Hall, Newark

Click to see a larger image (66K)
His Majesty's Ship Mississauga; Niagara, Navy Hall
Newark; Sept. 13, 1794, 6 o'clock AM
September 13, 1794
Elizabeth Simcoe
Simcoe family fonds
Watercolour
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-144
Archives of Ontario, I0006996

[ Return to top of page ]

La guerre de 1812 : Artistes et photographes - bannière

Table des matières


George Theodore Berthon

Berthon (1806-1892), originaire de Vienne, était un portraitiste qui a exécuté de nombreuses œuvres sur commande du gouvernement de l’Ontario, afin de commémorer les principaux personnages de l’histoire de la province. Il a ainsi signé des portraits de Brock, Prevost et Drummond en prenant pour point de départ des photographies de portraits exécutés pendant la vie de ses sujets et se trouvant en possession de leur famille ou de musées.

Photographie : George Theodore Berthon, [avant 1893]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (76ko)
George Theodore Berthon, [avant 1892]
M. O. Hammond
Fonds M. O. Hammond
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1075-12-0-0-61
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007828

[ Haut de la page ]


John Boyd

John Boyd (1865-1941) employé des chemins de fer à Toronto et à Sarnia à la fin du 19e et au début du 20e siècle, était aussi un fervent de la photographie. Naturaliste, Boyd s’intéressait par ailleurs aux lieux historiques de la province et réalisa beaucoup des premières vues de monuments et de lieux d’intérêt associés à la guerre de 1812.

Photographie : Self-portrait of John Boyd, [189-]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (127ko)
Self-portrait of John Boyd, [189-]
John Boyd
Fonds John Boyd
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : C 7-2-0-1-115
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003806

[ Haut de la page ]


Le capitaine Thomas Burrowes

Le capitaine Thomas Burrowes, né à Worcester, en Angleterre, arriva à Kingston, dans le Haut-Canada, en 1818, comme membre des Royal Sappers and Miners. De 1826 à 1846, il participa à la construction et à l’entretien du canal Rideau et représenta ces activités dans de nombreuses peintures à l’aquarelle.

Aquarelle : Lock, Dam, Blockhouse at the Narrows, Rideau Lake, looking towards Kingston, 1834

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (84ko)
Lock, Dam, Blockhouse at the Narrows, Rideau Lake, looking towards Kingston, 1834
Thomas Burrowes
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Aquarelle
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-26
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002145

[ Haut de la page ]


Roy Greenaway, O.I.P.

Roy Greenaway (1891-1972) était un peintre prolifique, bien que sans formation proprement dite dans le domaine. Né à Toronto en 1891, Greenaway avait fait des études à l’Université de Toronto et obtenu un diplôme en anglais et histoire en 1918. Peu après ses études, il était entré au Star comme journaliste, poste qu’il conserva pendant 48 ans, dont 20 à la tribune de la presse parlementaire de Queen’s Park.

huile sur toile : Death of General Brock, 1960

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (212ko)
Death of General Brock, 1960
Roy Greenaway (1891-1972)
huile sur toile
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 623021

[ Haut de la page ]


M. O. Hammond

M. O. Hammond (1876-1934) était un photographe amateur, qui croqua une foule d’images dans le sud de l’Ontario et au Québec de 1890 à 1930. Ses photographies représentent une source documentaire précieuse sur l’état et l’apparence des champs de bataille et des monuments avant leur intégration à des parcs bien entretenus. Les images des ruines du fort Érié et de la poudrière du fort George en sont d’excellents exemples.

Photographie : M. O. Hammond portrait by Newton MacTavish, août 1923

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (62ko)
M. O. Hammond portrait by
Newton MacTavish, août, 1923
Newton MacTavish
Fonds M. O. Hammond
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F1075, H767
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0001252

[ Haut de la page ]


Charles William Jefferys

Charles William Jefferys était un artiste et illustrateur de marque, qui s’intéressait vivement à l’histoire du Canada. La Collection d’œuvres d’art du gouvernement de l’Ontario comprend plusieurs de ses tableaux, qui dépeignent tour à tour la rencontre du général Brock et de Tecumseh, la mort de Brock à Queenston Heights, le périple de Laura Secord pour prévenir Fitzgibbon, la bataille de Lundy’s Lane, ainsi que le fort York pendant la guerre de 1812.

Bien que les œuvres de Jefferys manifestent une vue romantique des événements, elles contribuèrent à cristalliser une certaine image de la guerre chez toute une génération. Dans son journal, M. O. Hammond se souvenait d’avoir rencontré C. W. Jefferys, qui, « parcourant la liste de monuments et certaines de mes photos, m’avait fait des commentaires précieux. C’est une véritable encyclopédie de Canadiana. » Fonds M. O. Hammond, F 1075, journal, 23 juillet 1923.

Photographie : C. W. Jefferys, R.C.A., 1930

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (60ko)
Charles William Jefferys, R.C.A., 1930
M. O. Hammond
Fonds M. O. Hammond
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1075-12-0-0-50
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007817

[ Haut de la page ]


Elizabeth Simcoe

Elizabeth Simcoe fut l’épouse de John Graves Simcoe, premier lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada, et c’était une artiste accomplie. Au fil de ses voyages, d’un bout à l’autre des deux Canadas de 1791 à 1796, elle réalisa une multitude de croquis et d’aquarelles à partir de scènes canadiennes. Elle rédigeait son journal et documentait fidèlement ses expériences.

Aquarelle : His Majesty's Ship Mississauga; Niagara, Navy Hall, Newark

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (66ko)
His Majesty's Ship Mississauga; Niagara, Navy Hall
Newark; Sept. 13, 1794, 6 o'clock AM
13 septembre 1794
Elizabeth Simcoe
Fonds Famille Simcoe
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-144
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006996

[ Haut de la page ]


Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre
| La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle