The War of 1812: Good Defences Make Good Neighbours - Page Banner

Table of Contents



Letter Long before the war ended, it was obvious that the existing defence system was inadequate to protect the communications and population of Upper Canada. Many of the posts like Fort George and Fort Malden were earth and palisade fortifications which provided no protection against artillery. Others, like the fortifications at York, were incomplete and poorly armed. Over the course of the war many field fortifications and batteries were thrown up, the remains of two are still clearly visible in the Queenston Heights National Historic Park. More substantial works were begun at Kingston and Prescott.

The objective after the war was to limit the number of small garrisons, with main posts at Kingston and York to protect the naval yards and capital. This was part of a much greater military construction program which encompassed the Citadels at Quebec and Halifax, and Fort Lennox on the Richelieu River.

In addition to forts, the colonial government funded the construction of the Rideau Canal to provide for an alternate supply route between Lower and Upper Canada in the event of a future war, by-passing the St. Lawrence. Small garrisons were maintained at Prescott (Fort Wellington) and Niagara (Fort Mississauga) and a naval base with related fortifications was established at Penetanguishene on Nottawasaga Bay.

The naval race on the Great Lakes was effectively ended by the Rush Bagot Agreement in 1818, which established limits on the number and type of war vessels for each side on the lakes.

Watercolour: Brewer's Lower Mill - view down the Cataraqui Creek and clearing made for the Canal, 1829

Click to see a larger image (239K)
Brewer's Lower Mill - view down the Cataraqui
Creek and clearing made for the Canal, 1829
Thomas Burrowes
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Watercolour
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-67
Archives of Ontario, I0002186


Watercolour: Lock, Blockhouse at the Narrows, Rideau Lake - the first descent from Summit towards Bytown, 1841

Click to see a larger image (240K)
Lock, Blockhouse at the Narrows, Rideau Lake -
the first descent from Summit towards Bytown, 1841
Thomas Burrowes
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Watercolour
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-27
Archives of Ontario, I0002146

The frontier posts were maintained for many years, the size of garrisons fluctuating based on the state of international tensions. In the 1830s, 1840s and 1860s regular troops and militia with improved artillery were placed in the forts in response to border incursions (rebellion of 1837-1838; Fenian Raids, 1866) and the threat of war with the United States (Oregon Crisis, 1848).

The Rideau Canal was built by the British Army in the 1820s to provide a more secure line of communications and supply between Montreal and Kingston. Blockhouses such as that shown in this illustration were built at several points to provide protection against raids.


Photo: Cannons at Fort Henry, Kingston, [ca. 1910]

Click to see a larger image (93K)
Cannons at Fort Henry, Kingston, [ca. 1910]
Marsden Kemp
Marsden Kemp fonds
Black and white print
Reference Code: C 130-1-0-15-65
Archives of Ontario, I0003974

Photo: Martello Tower at Fort Mississauga, Niagara-on-the-Lake, 1915

Click to see a larger image (45K)
Martello Tower at Fort Mississauga,
Niagara-on-the-Lake, 1915
John Boyd
John Boyd fonds
Black and white print
Reference Code: C 7-3, 12061
Archives of Ontario, I0003522

Fort Henry was built as the centrepiece of the defence complex at Kingston designed to protect the navy yard and the southern entrance to the Rideau Canal. The most elaborate and largest of the post-war forts in Upper Canada, it was built over temporary defences put up during the war.

Fort Mississauga was built in 1815 on a site occupied by a battery during the war; a brick and stone tower and earth work replaced Fort George to better counter the guns of Fort Niagara on the American side of the Niagara River. The post had a garrison until the 1840s. The remains of the fort are located on a golf course.

Fort York was expanded after the war and British troops continued to be garrisoned there until 1870 when it was transferred to the Canadian military. However, most of the garrison moved to the New Fort (Stanely Barracks) in 1841.

The City of Toronto purchased Fort York from the federal government at the beginning of the twentieth century, although the military continued to use the fort until the city restored it as an historic site between 1932 and 1934. The image to the right shows the fort in 1908 when industrial buildings were encroaching on the ramparts. Years later Hammond noted in a letter to Brigadier General E. A. Cruickshank,

"At present the surroundings are in confusion, due to the wrecking of the old packing house..In fact, the Old Fort is now more visible than it has been for many years. The vacant space is still a bit of a hole in the ground, with debris littering the area."

Extract from a letter from M. O. Hammond to Brig. Gen. E. A. Cruickshank, June 20th, 1930
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada
M. O. Hammond fonds
Reference Code: F 1075
Archives of Ontario

Photo: Fort York, Toronto, November 20, 1908

Click to see a larger image (45K)
Fort York, Toronto, November 20, 1908
M. O. Hammond
M. O. Hammond fonds
Black and white negative
Reference Code: F 1075, H242
Archives of Ontario, I0000766


Changes in military technology made Fort York obsolete by the 1830s and a new, modern work was built as the main defence work west of Kingston.

Sketch: Birds Eye View of the New Fort at Toronto, Upper Canada, [ca. 1841]

Located on the grounds of the Canadian National Exhibition the only structure connected to this fort still surviving is the Stanley Barracks.

Click to see a larger image (88K)
Birds Eye View of the New Fort at Toronto,
Upper Canada, [ca. 1841]
Thomas Glegg
Thomas Glegg fonds
Sketch
Reference Code: F 596
Archives of Ontario, I0006706

 

[ Return to top of page ]

La guerre de 1812 : Les bonnes défenses font les bons voisins - bannière

Table des matières


Lettre Longtemps avant la fin de la guerre, il était devenu évident que le système de défense ne suffirait pas à protéger les communications et la population du Haut-Canada. Les fortifications des postes, dont les forts George et Malden, étaient souvent faites de remblais et de palissades, qui n’assuraient aucune protection contre l’artillerie. D’autres, notamment celles de York, étaient incomplètes et peu armées. Une foule de batteries et de fortifications de campagne furent démantelées pendant la guerre; les vestiges de deux d’entre elles sont toujours nettement visibles au lieu historique national des Hauteurs-de-Queenston. On avait commencé à construire des ouvrages plus substantiels à Kingston et à Prescott.

Après la guerre, on s’était donné pour objectif de limiter le nombre de petites garnisons, en conservant les postes principaux de Kingston et de York pour protéger la capitale et les chantiers navals. Ces mesures faisaient partie d’un programme de construction militaire beaucoup plus vaste, qui embrassait les citadelles de Québec et d’Halifax, de même que le fort Lennox, sur la Richelieu.

Outre les forts et dans l’éventualité d’une guerre, le gouvernement colonial finançait la construction du canal Rideau en vue d’aménager, entre le Haut et le Bas-Canada, une autre voie de ravitaillement qui contournerait le Saint-Laurent. On maintenait de petites garnisons à Prescott (le fort Wellington) et à Niagara (le fort Mississauga) et l’on établissait une base navale et ses fortifications à Penetanguishene, sur la baie Nottawasaga.

La course à la construction navale sur les Grands Lacs prit effectivement fin en 1818, à la signature de l’Accord Rush-Bagot, qui posait des restrictions au nombre et au type de bâtiments de guerre autorisés de chaque côté des lacs.

Aquarelle : Brewer's Lower Mill - view down the Cataraqui Creek and clearing made for the Canal, 1829

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (239ko)
Brewer's Lower Mill - view down the Cataraqui Creek and clearing made for the Canal, 1829
Thomas Burrowes
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Aquarelle
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-67
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002186


Aquarelle : Lock, Blockhouse at the Narrows, Rideau Lake - the first descent from Summit towards Bytown, 1841

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (240ko)
Lock, Blockhouse at the Narrows, Rideau Lake -
the first descent from Summit towards Bytown, 1841
Thomas Burrowes
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Aquarelle
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-27
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002146

Les postes frontaliers furent maintenus en place pendant de nombreuses années, la taille des garnisons fluctuant selon l’état des tensions internationales. Au cours des années 1830, 1840 et 1860, des soldats réguliers et des miliciens munis d’une meilleure artillerie furent postés dans les forts en réaction aux incursions trans-frontalières (rébellion de 1837-1838; raids des Fenians, 1866) et à la menace de guerre avec les États-Unis (crise de l’Orégon, 1848).

Le canal Rideau fut construit par l’armée britannique pendant les années 1820, dans le but de sécuriser la chaîne de communications et de ravitaillement entre Montréal et Kingston. Des fortins tels que celui que nous voyons ici avaient été édifiés à différents intervalles, pour protéger contre les raids.


Photographie : Cannons at Fort Henry, Kingston, [vers 1910]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (93ko)
Cannons at Fort Henry, Kingston, [vers 1910]
Marsden Kemp
Fonds Marsden Kemp
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : C 130-1-0-15-65
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003974

Photographie : Martello Tower at Fort Mississauga, Niagara-on-the-Lake, 1915

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (45ko)
Martello Tower at Fort Mississauga,
Niagara-on-the-Lake, 1915
John Boyd
Fonds John Boyd
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : C 7-3, 12061
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003522

Le fort Henry devait être le pivot du complexe défensif de Kingston, destiné à protéger le chantier naval et l’entrée sud du canal Rideau. Cette construction, la plus considérable et la plus perfectionnée de tous les forts d’après-guerre du Haut-Canada, prit pour fondations les ouvrages de défense temporaire aménagés pendant le conflit.

Le fort Mississauga avait été construit en 1815, sur l’emplacement occupé par une batterie durant la guerre; une tour de maçonnerie en pierre et brique et des terrassements en remblais étaient venus remplacer le fort George, afin d’opposer une meilleure résistance aux canons du fort Niagara, du côté américain de la rivière Niagara. Le poste conserva une garnison jusque dans les années 1840. Les vestiges du fort se retrouvent maintenant dans le périmètre d’un terrain de golf.


Le fort York a été agrandi après la guerre et les troupes britanniques ont continué à l'occuper jusqu'en 1870, alors qu'il a été tranféré à l'armée canadienne. La majeure partie de la garnision avait toutefois déménagé au nveau fort (les casernes Stanley) en 1841.

La ville de Toronto a acheté le fort York du gouvernement fédéral au début du 20e siècle. L'armée a toutefois continué à utiliser le fort jusqu'à ce que la ville le restore et en fasse un site historique entre 1932 et 1934. L’image de droite montre le fort en 1908, à un moment où les bâtiments industriels commençaient à empiéter sur les remparts. Des années plus tard, Hammond relevait ce qui suit, dans une lettre au brigadier-général E. A. Cruickshank :

« À l’heure actuelle, les environs sont plutôt chaotiques, vu la démolition de l’ancienne conserverie… En fait, on a une bien meilleure vue du vieux fort qu’auparavant. Le terrain vacant est encore dans un état indescriptible, et le sol est jonché de débris. »

Extrait d'une lettre de M. O. Hammond au
Brig. Gen. E.A. Cruickshank, 20 juin1930
Commission des lieux et monuments
historiques du Canada
Fonds M. O. Hammond
Code de référence : F 1075
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Photographie : Fort York, Toronto, 20 novembre 1908

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (115ko)
Fort York, Toronto, 20 novembre 1908
M. O. Hammond
Fonds M. O. Hammond
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F1075, H242
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0000766


Croquis : Birds Eye View of the New Fort at Toronto, Upper Canada, [vers 1841]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (88ko)
Birds Eye View of the New Fort at Toronto,
Upper Canada, [vers 1841]
Fonds Thomas Glegg
Croquis
Code de référence : F 596
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006706

L’évolution de la technologie militaire fit que, dès les années 1830, le fort York était devenu désuet; un nouvel ouvrage moderne fut donc édifié comme principale défense à l’ouest de Kingston.

S’élevant sur les terrains de l’Exposition nationale canadienne, les Stanley Barracks sont le seul bâtiment qui nous reste de ce fort.

 

[ Haut de la page ]


Le théâtre | Les champs de bataille | La vie des civils et des miliciens
Les prisonniers de guerre | Loyauté et trahison | La fin de la guerre | Après la guerre
Chronologie de la guerre | La vie de soldat au Canada | Personnages importants
Lieux importants | Glossaire | Sources | Liens | La préparation d'une exposition virtuelle