Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: Britain and Canada - 1865-1878 - Page Banner

Table of Contents


When the permanent Canadian Parliament Buildings were completed in 1865, the family moved to Ottawa, where they remained until John's retirement in 1878. John and Lydia Langton spent part of 1867 in England when John was required, in his capacity as Auditor, to be in London for negotiations between the Canadian and British governments, leading up to the declaration of Confederation.

Following Confederation, the Langtons entered more into society than at any other previous time since their arrival in Canada thirty years earlier. Langton later wrote in her memoir of this first winter season in the capital of the new Dominion: "[W]e went into more gaieties than usual, and we gave two large parties, dancing the first, music the second." (SOF, 182)

From this point on, Langton reveals superb artistry in her handling of materials and close attention to subtle details, such as variations in light. Her evocation of water and of reflected images (trees, boats, buildings ... ) is particularly fine. In many of these later views, through subtle shifts in tonal shading of her washes, Langton skillfully renders the delicate luminosity of "sky-scapes."


Anne made further extended visits to Britain in the late 1860s and mid 1870s. Her work matured, with her increasing confidence.

Occasionally, Langton still produced topographical views, as in this watercolour, which demonstrates a fine harmony of compositional elements, drawing skills, tonal contrasts.

A miniature version of this sketch appears on the front of a hand-made greeting card (Archives of Ontario, F 1077-9-1-21). Inscribed inside the card is a note describing the subject as "Llandudno, from just above Plas Mawr & Penmaenmawr by dear Aunt Anne."

Plas Mawr, North Wales, 1868
Click here to see a larger image (84K)
Plas Mawr [North Wales], 1868
Anne Langton
Watercolour on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-27
Archives of Ontario, I0008420


Snowdon [North Wales], 1868
Snowdon [North Wales], 1868
Anne Langton
Watercolour, pen and ink on cream wove paper
7.5 cm x 17.3 cm (3" x 6¾")
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-3
Archives of Ontario, I0008270

Langton also continues to experiment in lyrical mode. In this sketch of the highest mountain in Wales, she displays a loose, yet fluent, painting technique. Her landscapes "in miniature" have become gems of economy, through skilful manipulation of paint and more experimental use of colour.


This sketch is Langton's most gestural and painterly, for good reason: she releases herself, altogether, from picturesque restraints to convey one of the most "sublime" features in English landscape, extolled by writers and artists for its stark, almost menacing, eeriness.

James Ward had painted an enormous version of it. Langton's perspective - in landscape format (i.e. horizontal) - is similar to one of Ward's preliminary sketches. Most artists, however, rendered Gordale Scar in portrait (vertical) format.

Gordale [Scar, Yorkshire], [ca. 1873?]
Click here to see a larger image (58K)
Gordale [Scar, Yorkshire], [ca. 1873?]
Anne Langton
Monochromatic watercolour,
pen and ink over graphite
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-8
Archives of Ontario, I0008581


[Front inside cover of sketchbook] ""England ?1876, (slight)""
[Front inside cover of sketchbook] "England ?1876, (slight)"
Anne Langton
9 cm x 15.3 cm (3½" x 6")
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-6
Archives of Ontario, I0008582

Langton's signature, home-base address in England: "Hopefield," (William's residence) and a few incidental jottings, give occasional glimpses of her habits as she toured and sketched.

Hopefield Manchester, [ca. 1873]
Hopefield Manchester, [ca. 1873]
Watercolour over graphite
Anne Langton
10.5 cm x 17.4 cm (4" x 7")
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-15
Archives of Ontario. I0008461

Hopefield, near Eccles, on the outskirts of Manchester, was the home of William and Margaret Langton from about 1873 until his retirement from banking in 1876. A note on the back of this sketch reads: "by Miss Anne Langton for Jack" (John's and Lydia's fifth son) who was now in England studying at Owens College in Manchester.

By the 1870s within their respective social contexts, both the sons of Anne's parents, Thomas and Ellen Langton, had reached a pinnacle with regard to their careers and social standing. WIlliam, in England, was now the Manager of Williams Deacon Bank in Manchester, also one of the founders of Owen's College (later the University of Manchester), a social reformer, philanthropist and connoisseur of the arts.

John, in Canada, was now Auditor of the provinces of Canada, post-confederation, the Deputy Minister of Finance and Inspector of Her Majesty's prisons in Canada. He had also been instrumental in the establishment of the new University of Toronto at a crucial stage in its early development. He was a keen participant in both the Literary and Philosophical Society of Quebec City and of the [Royal] Canadian Institute of Scientific Studies at Toronto, for which he wrote and presented a number of papers on current issues of the day.


Ottawa from the Rideau River, c. 1876
Click here to see a larger image(64K)
Ottawa from New Edinburgh, [ca. 1876]
Anne Langton
Monochromatic watercolour
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-25-3
Archives of Ontario, I0008424

Langton executed an outstanding set of fully worked-up companion views of the Parliament Buildings. In souvenir tradition, they are, however, less stylized than her earlier topographical work. Preliminary, on-the-spot sketches for these views are found in the sketchbook "Ottawa and England" (Archives of Ontario, F 1077-8-1-9).

Aware of the national significance of her subject, Langton is also mindful of a direct personal connection, through John's official positions.

[Ottawa] from the woods behind Rideau Hall, [ca. 1876]
Click here to see a larger image (65K)
[Ottawa] from the woods behind Rideau Hall, [ca. 1876]
Anne Langton
Monochromatic watercolour
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-25-4
Archives of Ontario, I0008426

[Ottawa] from the grounds of J. Ashworth's, c. 1876
Click here to see a larger image (67K)
[Ottawa] from the grounds of J. Ashworth's, [ca. 1876]
Anne Langton
Monochromatic watercolour
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-25-3
Archives of Ontario, I0008425

In the sketch to the right above, Langton introduces her now-grown nieces as figures in the landscape.

This distant view contrasts with its companion pieces, calling attention to the capital's proximity to what is still virgin forest.

The sketchbook versions of these Ottawa scenes are in full watercolour (Archives of Ontario, F 1077-8-1-9).

There is an additional loose drawing of this particular image, in full watercolour (Archives of Ontario, F 1077-9-1-24), suggesting that Langton made several sets of these companion views as souvenir gifts.

[Ottawa] the Rideau River from the Hog's Back, [ca. 1876]
Click here to see a larger image (72K)
[Ottawa] the Rideau River from the Hog's Back, [ca. 1876]
Anne Langton
Monochromatic watercolour
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-25-1
Archives of Ontario, I0008423


From behind Rideau Hall, Ottawa, c. 1876
Click here to see a larger image (78K)
From behind Rideau Hall, Ottawa, [ca. 1876]
Anne Langton
Watercolour
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-9-28
Archives of Ontario, I0008079

A foreground tree stump, a fallen log, remind viewers of the landscape's "wild" appearance a few years earlier, before white-settler "civilization" arrived.

This preliminary sketchbook version demonstrates another aspect of Langton's working methods: on the facing, left-hand page, she has scribbled notes, indicating different shades and tones that she will try out for the various landscape features: "buildings dark river decided blue bluer river offshore ... " Interestingly, she returned to monochromatic watercolour for her final, worked-up versions of these Ottawa views.

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : Grande-Bretagne et Canada - 1865-1878 - bannière

Table des matières


À l'achèvement, en 1865, des édifices permanents du Parlement canadien, la famille déménagea à Ottawa, où elle demeura jusqu'à la retraite de John, en 1878. John et Lydia Langton passèrent une partie de 1867 en Angleterre, John devant, en sa qualité de vérificateur, se rendre à Londres pour la tenue des négociations des gouvernements britannique et canadien qui allaient mener à la Confédération.

Après la Confédération, les Langton eurent une vie sociale intense, plus qu'à aucun moment depuis leur arrivée au Canada, 30 ans plus tôt. Anne devait plus tard écrire dans ses mémoires, à propos de cette première saison d'hiver dans la capitale du nouveau Dominion : « Nous avons participé à un plus grand nombre de soirées que d'habitude, et nous avons donné deux grandes réceptions, la première dansante, la deuxième musicale. » (SOF, 182)

À compter de ce moment, Anne révèle un art consommé dans son traitement du matériau ainsi que dans son attention à la subtilité du détail et aux variations de la lumière. Son évocation de l'eau et des images en reflet (arbres, embarcations, édifices...) est particulièrement remarquable. Dans un bon nombre de ces vues de maturité, Anne rendait habilement, par de subtiles modulations tonales dans ses lavis, la délicate luminosité des « ciels ».


Anne devait faire d'autres séjours prolongés en Grande-Bretagne, à la fin des années 1860 et au milieu des années 1870. Son style se développa, grâce à une assurance croissante.

L'artiste réalisa encore de rares vues topographiques, à témoin cette aquarelle, qui allie l'harmonie des éléments, la virtuosité du dessin et les contrastes de tons.

Une version miniature de ce croquis apparaît sur une carte de souhait faite à la main (Archives publiques de l'Ontario, F 1077-9-1-21). À l'intérieur, une note : « Llandudno, from just above Plas Mawr & Penmaenmawr by dear Aunt Anne » [traduction : « Llandudno, vue surplombant Plas Mawr et Penmaenmawr, par notre chère tante Anne »].

Plas Mawr [nord du Pays de Galles], 1868

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (84ko)
Plas Mawr [nord du Pays de Galles], 1868
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur velin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-27
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008420


[Snowdon [nord du Pays de Galles], 1868]

Snowdon [nord du Pays de Galles], 1868
Anne Langton
Aquarelle, plume et encre sur mine de plomb, sur vélin crème
7,5 cm x 17,3 cm (3 po. x 6¾ po.)
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008270

Anne continua son exploration du mode lyrique. Dans ce croquis, qui représente le mont le plus élevé du pays de Galles, elle usa d’un pinceau vif et délié. Ses paysages « en miniature » était devenus de petits chefs-d'œuvre de sobriété, grâce à une manipulation habile du matériau et une exploitation plus hardie de la couleur.


Dans ce croquis, le style de l'artiste est suprêmement plastique et lyrique. En effet, elle s’est complètement dégagée des contraintes picturales pour s'attacher à l'un des traits les plus « sublimes » du paysage anglais, exploité par les écrivains aussi bien que les artistes, en raison de son fantastique absolu, quasi menaçant.

James Ward en avait peint une version gigantesque. La perspective d'Anne – en format paysage (c'est-à-dire à l’horizontale) – se rapproche de celle d'un des croquis préliminaires de Ward. La plupart des artistes, toutefois, ont rendu Gordale Scar sous un format de portrait allongé (à la verticale).

Gordale [Scar, Yorkshire]. [1873?]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (58ko)
Gordale [Scar, Yorkshire]. [1873?]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle monochrome (en sépia),
plume et encre, sur mine de plomb
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-8
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008581


[intérieur de la couverture d'un cahier de croquis] "England ?1876, (slight)"

[intérieur de la couverture d'un cahier de croquis] "England ?1876, (slight)"
Anne Langton
9 cm x 15,3 cm (3½ po. x 6po.)
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-6
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008582

La signature d'Anne, l'adresse de son domicile en Angleterre – « Hopefield » (lieu de résidence de William) – ainsi que quelques notes occasionnelles, nous renseignent un peu sur ses habitudes lors de ses tournées de croquis sur le motif.

Hopefield Manchester [vers 1873]

Hopefield Manchester [vers 1873]
Aquarelle sur mine de plomb
Anne Langton
10,5 cm x 17,4cm (4 po. x 7 po.)
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-15 B-662
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008461

Hopefield est sis à proximité d'Eccles, à la périphérie de Manchester, et c'est là que résidèrent Margaret et William Langton, de 1873 jusqu'à la retraite de ce dernier en 1876. Une note figure à l'endos de ce croquis : [traduction] « par Miss Anne Langton pour Jack » (le cinquième fils de John et Lydia, qui faisait alors des études en Angleterre, à l'Owens College de Manchester).

Au milieu des années 1870, dans leurs contextes sociaux respectifs, les deux fils des parents d'Anne, Thomas et Ellen Langton, avaient atteint un pinacle sur les plans social et professionnel. En Angleterre, William était devenu directeur de la Williams Deacon Bank de Manchester, l'un des fondateurs de l'Owen's College – plus tard l'université de Manchester, de même qu’un réformateur social, un philanthrope et un connaisseur des arts.

Au Canada, John était devenu vérificateur des provinces du Canada de l'après-Confédération, sous-ministre des Finances et inspecteur des prisons de Sa Majesté au Canada. Il avait aussi contribué à établir la nouvelle université de Toronto à un tournant crucial de ses débuts. Participant assidu aux séances de la Literary and Philosophical Society of Quebec City et du [Royal] Canadian Institute of Scientific Studies de Toronto, il y avait présenté un certain nombre d'allocutions et d’articles sur des questions d'actualité.


Ottawa from New Edinburgh [monochromatic watercolour], [vers 1876]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (65ko)
Ottawa from New Edinburgh, [vers 1876]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-25-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008424

Anne a réalisé un ensemble exceptionnel de deux vues très achevées des Édifices du Parlement. Dans la tradition du « souvenir », ce sont toutefois des œuvres moins stylisées que ses vues topographiques antérieures. On retrouve des croquis préliminaires, peints sur le motif, de ces vues dans le carnet de croquis « Ottawa and England » (Archives publiques de l'Ontario, F 1077-8-1-9).

Consciente de la portée nationale de son sujet, l'artiste ne perdait pas de vue le lien personnel qui l'y rattachair de par les postes officiels de son frère John.

[Ottawa] from the woods behind Rideau Hall, [vers 1876]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (66ko)
[Ottawa] from the woods behind Rideau Hall, [vers 1876]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-25-4
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008426

[Ottawa] from the grounds of J. Ashworth's, [vers 1876]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (67ko)
[Ottawa] from the grounds of J. Ashworth's, [vers 1876]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-25-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008425

Dans le croquis ci-dessus à droite, l'artiste a inséré dans son paysage ses nièces, devenues adultes.

Cette vue à distance fait contraste avec ses pendants, et attire l'attention sur la proximité de la capitale avec une forêt encore vierge.

Le carnet renferme des versions de ces scènes d'Ottawa qui sont entièrement à l'aquarelle (Archives publiques de l'Ontario, F 1077-8-1-9).

Un autre dessin sur feuille détachée de cette même image, entièrement à l'aquarelle (Archives publiques de l'Ontario, F 1077-9-1-24), donne à penser que l'artiste a réalisé plusieurs ensembles de ces pendants, pour les offrir en souvenir.

[Ottawa] the Rideau River from the Hog's Back, [vers 1876]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (72ko)
[Ottawa] the Rideau River from the
Hog's Back, [vers 1876]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-25-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008423


From behind Rideau Hall, Ottawa, [vers 1876]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (78ko)
From behind Rideau Hall, Ottawa, [vers 1876]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-9-28
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008079

En avant-plan, une grume et un billot au sol rappellent au spectateur l'aspect « sauvage » que présentaient les paysages quelques années auparavant, avant l'arrivée des colons blancs et de leur « civilisation ».

Cette version préliminaire du carnet illustre une autre dimension des méthodes de travail de l'artiste : sur la page opposée, du côté gauche, elle a griffonné des notes, indiquant les différents tons et teintes qu'elle mettra à l'essai pour traduire les diverses caractéristiques du paysage : [traduction] « immeubles sombres rivière décidé pour lebleu rive opposée en bleu plus prononcé… » Fait intéressant, elle revient à l'aquarelle monochrome pour les versions travaillées et définitives de ces vues d'Ottawa.