Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: Settlement, Part One - Page Banner

Table of Contents


"... on the fifteenth of August, 1837, we reached our new home. How anxiously we looked for it as we were being rowed up Sturgeon Lake; but it does not come into sight until you are quite close to it. Certainly my brother had fixed upon one of the most attractive spots, where a creek finds its way into the lake in almost a bay, for a beautiful point of land projects into the water on one side, and the ground rises considerably at a little distance from the lake. There on the hill stood our still unfinished house ... There was nothing to dishearten in the aspect of things, and we had had it fully described to us. The only thing that did startle me was the extreme roughness of the ground. My fear was for my old people. I felt as if there was no spot where they could take a little turn without stumbling upon a stone, or catching their feet in a root."

Anne Langton, Blythe, Sturgeon Lake, 1837
(SOF, 65), 65)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote
in wav format (584K)
or aif format (584K).

For the Langtons, settlement involved major adjustments. Relatively affluent in comparison to other emigrants, the family had never before confronted such basic living conditions; heavy physical work, lack of some necessities, geographic isolation... Thomas, Anne's father, who was already seriously ill, died just eight months after arriving on Sturgeon Lake.

From the time of the family's arrival Anne began to chronicle life in their new surroundings in her journals and letters. At the same time, she embarked on a self-imposed mission to create a visual record. Her intention was to give William's family in England and a small circle of close friends, "some sort of a notion what this world of ours is like" (GUC, 72), in all its "lights and shades (SOF,104)."

End view of John's house, Canada, 1837
Click to see a larger image (82K)
End view of John's house, Canada,1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-19
Archives of Ontario, I0008042


Interior of John's house [looking north], 1837
Click to see a larger image (79K)
Interior of John's house [looking north], 1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-20
Archives of Ontario, I0008043

Interior of John's house [looking south], 1837
Click to see a larger image (80K)
Interior of John's house [looking south], 1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-22
Archive of Ontario, I0008045

"At last ... after all delays and disappointments, our long journey is accomplished. John looked very proud when he handed his mother into his little mansion. His arrangements for our accommodation are very snug ... My mother and I sleep in the larger bedroom behind, Aunt Alice in the small one John used to occupy at first. My father has the hammock put up every night in the sitting-room, and John himself has a tiny apartment curtained off by a sail from the ante-room. Here we expect to make ourselves comfortable for perhaps a couple of months, or maybe more, if as many unexpected delays occur as have occurred in the preparations at 'the big house,' as our future habitation is elegantly denominated.


Anne Langton, letter 22 August, 1837
(GUC, 37)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote
in wav format (483K)
or aif format (483K).


John Langton's cabin with surrounding buildings, 1834
Click to see a larger image (48K)
John Langton's cabin with surrounding buildings, 1834
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-17
Archives of Ontario, I0008465

Anne actually executed this sketch in 1834, three years before she emigrated. In The Story of Our Family this image is given the caption "N.B. The sketch of which this is a copy was really done from dictation, before I had seen the place; but in some respects it gives a better idea of it than the view done from nature ..." (SOF, 69)


Designed by John Langton, Blythe Farm was the first double-storey log house to be built in the area. With its well-proportioned dimensions, gabled roof, gothic windows, columned verandah, it was an elegant, architectural rarity for its time and place - referred to in the neighbourhood as "the big house."

This view shows the house as it appeared a few years after the Langtons' arrival. A ground floor addition has been built to the side and rear. The verandah has been extended and landscaping of the grounds has begun.

Blythe after the addition
Click to see a larger image (46K)
Blythe Farm (detail), 1841
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-27
Archives of Ontario, I0008050

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : S'établir dans la colonie - bannière

Table des matières


« … le 15 août 1837, nous arrivions à destination. Remontant en bateau le lac Sturgeon, nous cherchions impatiemment des yeux notre nouvelle demeure, mais elle reste invisible jusqu'à ce qu'on en soit très proche. Certainement, mon frère a choisi un site des plus attrayants, là où le lac forme une petite anse, quasi une baie; une superbe langue de terre s'avance dans l'eau d'un côté, et, à peu de distance du lac, se dresse une éminence. Là-haut, sur la colline, nous avons aperçu notre maison, encore inachevée… Ce qui ne nous a aucunement déçus, car nous savions tout à fait ce qui nous attendait. La seule chose qui m'a surprise a été le caractère extrêmement accidenté du terrain. Je craignais pour mes vieux parents. J'avais l'impression qu'il n'y avait pas d'endroit où ils pourraient poser le pied sans glisser sur une pierre ou trébucher sur une racine. »

Anne Langton, Blythe, lac Sturgeon, 1837
((SOF, 65)).

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela
citation en format wav (1,2 Mo)
ou aif (1,2 Mo).

Pour les Langton, s'établir dans la colonie exigeait une grande faculté d’adaptation. Relativement à l'aise en comparaison de la majorité des émigrants, la famille n'avait jamais dû composer avec des conditions de vie aussi frustes : dur travail physique, manque des nécessités de base, isolement… Thomas, le père d'Anne, était déjà gravement malade et devait succomber à peine huit mois après leur arrivée à Sturgeon Lake.

Dès l'arrivée de la famille, Anne se donna comme mission de relater, dans ses lettres et son journal intime, le détail de leur vie dans leurs nouveaux parages. Parallèlement, elle se proposait d'illustrer ses récits. Son intention était de transmettre à William et à sa famille, restés en Angleterre, ainsi qu'à un petit cercle d'amis proches, « un aperçu de notre nouvel univers » (GUC, 72), sous tous ses aspects « d’ombres et de lumières » (SOF).

End view of John's house, Canada, 1837 ou 1838

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (82ko)
End view of John's house, Canada, 1837 ou 1838
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-19
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008042


Interior of John's house [vue vers le nord], 1837

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (79ko)
Interior of John's house [vue vers le nord], 1837
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-20
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008043

Interior of John's house [vue vers le sud], 1837

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (80ko)
Interior of John's house [vue vers le sud], 1837
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-22
Archive of Ontario, I0008045

« Enfin, après tout ce temps… les retards et les déceptions, notre long voyage prend fin. John avait un air de grande fierté lorsqu'il a fait entrer sa mère dans son petit manoir. Il avait tout prévu pour nous faire un logement confortable. Ma mère et moi disposions de la grande chambre, à l'arrière, et tante Alice héritait de la petite, que John avait occupée au début. Pour mon père, il y avait le hamac, qu'il installait tous les soirs dans le salon, tandis que John lui-même s'était réservé un petit coin, séparé de l'antichambre par une voile servant de tenture. Voilà les quartiers où nous nous installons pour deux ou trois mois, peut-être plus, s’il faut s'attendre à d’autres retards dans cet aménagement de la « grande maison », ainsi que l'on désigne élégamment notre demeure future. »

Anne Langton, lettre du 22 août 1837
(GUC, 37)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela citation en format wav (1,0 Mo) ou aif (1, 0 Mo).


John Langton's cabin with surrounding buildings, 1834

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (48ko)
John Langton's cabin with surrounding buildings, 1834
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-17
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008465

En fait, Anne avait réalisé ce croquis en 1834, trois ans avant son arrivée. Dans The Story of Our Family, cette image porte la légende [traduction] « Note : Le croquis copié ici a en réalité été fait suivant la description qui m’avait été transmise du lieu avant que je le voie en personne; mais, à certains égards, il en donne une meilleure idée que la vue d'après nature… » (SOF, 69).


Construite d'après les plans de John Langton, Blythe Farm était la première maison pièce sur pièce, en bois rond et à deux étages, de la région. Bien proportionnée, avec son toit à pignons, ses fenêtres gothiques, sa véranda à colonnes, c'était un modèle d'élégance architecturale, rare pour l'époque et l’endroit, et connue dans le voisinage sous le vocable de « la grande maison ».

Cette vue montre la maison telle qu'elle était quelques années après l'arrivée des Langton. À l'arrière, une aile latérale a été aménagée au rez-de-chaussée. La véranda a été prolongée et on a commencé l'aménagement paysager.

Blythe Farm (détail), 1841

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (46ko)
Blythe Farm (détail), 1841
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-27
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008050