Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: The Early Years - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Anne Langton was born in 1804, into an aristocratic family at Farfield Hall, in the picturesque Yorkshire Dales. When Anne was just a few months old, the family moved to Lancashire. She was raised at Blythe Hall, an elegant mansion, near Ormskirk.

With brothers William and John, Anne was educated at home by their parents, Thomas and Ellen, and private tutors, and raised according to upper class standards of her times. Such standards included the emerging cultural and social concept of "the gentlewoman," an unofficial code which defined the characteristics of upper and middle-class females.

Farfield [Hall, North Yorkshire], 183-(?)
Click to see a larger image (70K)
Farfield [Hall, North Yorkshire], [ca. 1834]
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-19-3
Archives of Ontario, I0008470


While it would be an oversimplification to claim that all members of the upper and gentry classes observed the code to the same degree, certain characteristics were widely regarded as governing the essential 'masculine' and 'feminine' natures, behaviours and roles in general: A gentlewoman was: unselfish, modest, passive, decorous, dependent; in contrast her "male" counterpart was defined as "naturally" active, assertive, ambitious, self-realizing. In art practice, gender often determined choice of genre, scale, media, support and intended audience. Male artists usually worked in socially important genres: historical subjects, or portraiture on large scale, in oils on canvas, for exhibition and sale.

Women most often worked on small scale, in so-called "feminine" genres of miniature portrait painting; flower painting; still life; landscape sketching on paper (in graphite and/or pen & ink/watercolour). Their equipment was thus less "messy" and easier to transport than easels, oils and large sketchbooks.

For the most part, Anne Langton's life and art practice developed along the implied "feminine" course.


Blythe Hall (parts of which dated back to the twelfth century), was the country mansion where Anne and her brothers spent their idyllic early childhood.

It became the family's "ideal" home. They would carry the image of Blythe Hall with them emotionally wherever they went and, to some degree, tried to re-create it physically, when they settled in Upper Canada, some years later. This image is a preliminary sketch dated September 2nd, 1834.

Blythe Hall,, Lancashire, England [c. 182?]
Click to see a larger image (62K)
Blythe Hall, Lancashire, England, 1834
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-19-1
Archives of Ontario, I0008468

" I have heard a great deal about the first year we spent [at Blythe Hall], which must have been one of extreme discomfort...[T]he house...was found to be in a most dilapidated condition, full of dry rot and all sorts of decay. Every floor had to be relaid, and my parents had to migrate from one room to another whilst each was being put into habitable order. It seemed an almost hopeless task ... finally I must say their success was perfect, for never was there a more comfortable, fresh-looking home."

Anne Langton
(SOF, 4)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote
in wav format (402K)
or aif format (402K.



In 1815, when Anne was eleven, life at Blythe was halted when Thomas took his family on an extended European "Grand Tour" to expand the children's awareness, through arts, languages, literatures, travel.

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : Les jeunes années - bannière

Table des matières


Anne Langton est née en 1804 dans une famille aristocratique à Farfield Hall, dans la région vallonnée du Yorkshire. Elle passa ses onze premières années à Blythe Hall, un élégant manoir dans le Lancashire rural.

Tout comme ses frères William et John, elle fut instruite à la maison par ses parents, Thomas et Ellen, ainsi que par des tuteurs privés, et élevée selon les normes aristocratiques de son époque. Ces normes comprenaient une nouvelle notion culturelle et sociale, celui de la « dame de bonne famille », un « code » non officiel régissant le comportement des femmes des classes moyennes et supérieures.

Farfield [Hall, North Yorkshire], [vers 1834]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (70ko)
Farfield [Hall, North Yorkshire], [vers 1834]
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-19-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008470


Ce serait certes une simplification que de prétendre que tous les membres des classes supérieures et aristocratiques respectaient ce code de la même façon. Toutefois, il était généralement admis que certaines caractéristiques définissaient la nature, les comportements et les rôles « masculins » et « féminins ». Une dame de bonne famille était généreuse, modeste, passive, digne et dépendante. Son homologue masculin était « naturellement » actif, assuré, ambitieux et épanoui. Quant à la pratique de l’art, le sexe de l’artiste jouait souvent un rôle déterminant dans le choix du genre, de l’envergure, du médium, du soutien et du public visé. Les hommes travaillaient le plus souvent dans des genres importantes sur le plan social, soit des sujets historiques, des portraits de grande taille et des huiles sur toile, et ils produisaient des œuvres devant être exposées et mises en vente.

Pour leur part, les femmes étaient le plus souvent reléguées aux œuvres de taille réduite, dans les soi-disant genres « féminins » du portrait en miniature, des études de fleurs, des natures mortes et des paysages sur papier (au crayon, à la plume ou à l’aquarelle). Leur équipement était donc moins « malpropre » et plus facile à transporter que les chevalets, les peintures à l’huile et les grands carnets de dessin.

La vie et l’expression artistique d’Anne Langton ont surtout suivi ce cours « féminin » sous-entendu.


Anne et ses frères passèrent une enfance idyllique à Blythe Hall, un manoir de campagne remontant en partie au 12e siècle.

Blythe Hall devint la résidence « idéalisée » de la famille, le lieu affectif par excellence que la famille tentera, au fil de ses déménagements, de retrouver et même de recréer physiquement dans une certaine mesure lorsqu’elle viendra s’établir au Haut-Canada, de nombreuses années plus tard. Cette image est une esquisse datée le 2 septembre 1834.

Blythe Hall, Lancashire England, 1834

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (62ko)
Blythe Hall, Lancashire England, 1834
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-19-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008468

« J’ai beaucoup entendu parler de notre première année [à Blythe Hall], qui a dû être des plus désagréables… La maison… était dans un état délabré, rempli de pourriture sèche et d’autres types de détérioration. Il a fallu reposer tous les planchers, mes parents devant migrer d’une pièce à l’autre pendant qu’on les remettait dans un état habitable. On aurait cru la tâche impossible… Finalement, il faut bien dire qu’ils ont réussi à merveille, puisqu’on ne trouvera pas maison plus agréable et accueillante. »

Anne Langton
(SOF, 4)


Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela citation en format wav (655ko) ou aif (655ko).


En 1815, alors qu’Anne avait onze ans, la vie idyllique à Blythe prit fin lorsque son père Thomas emmena sa famille faire un « tour de l’Europe » de longue durée pour compléter l’éducation des enfants en les exposant aux arts, aux langues, aux littératures et aux voyages à l’étranger.