Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: Peterborough and Toronto, 1852-1859 - Page Banner

Table of Contents


John Langton, active in local politics since the 1830s, as Councillor and at times Warden, ran for election to the Provincial Legislature in 1851, winning the seat for Peterborough and District. In 1852, the Langtons rented out Blythe Farm and moved to Peterborough, where two more children, Agnes and William, were born. Anne Langton continued to devote herself to family and community, thus facilitating John's public career. She became organist at St. John's, led the church choir and assisted an emigré professor in organizing "Patriotic Concerts" to raise funds for the Crimean War effort. In addition, she hosted English visitors: nieces, nephews, friends, taking them on tours to Canadian beauty spots and famous sites: Niagara, Toronto, Montreal, always sketching as she went.

On the Otonabee near Peterborough, [ca. 1852]
Click here to see a larger image (74K)
On the Otonabee near Peterborough, [ca. 1852]
Anne Langton
Watercolour
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-2-27
Archives of Ontario, I0008399

As these sketches reveal, Langton's style was developing in new directions. She employs a broader, though still somewhat limited, palette range: blues, creams, greys, browns.

Langton also worked a full watercolour series of her major Peterborough views. Some of these were presented to Peterborough Library in the 1930s by John Langton's surviving children.


[Blythe] Mills near Peterboro, [ca. 1852]
[Blythe] Mills near Peterboro, [ca. 1852]
Anne Langton
Watercolour, graphite, pen and ink
13.8 cm x 23.5 cm (5¼" x 9½")
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-2-28
Archives of Ontario, I0008400

John Langton purchased flour mills at Peterborough as a commercial enterprise to augment his parliamentary salary. These mills were the last place that the Langtons named for their beloved English home. But John, like his father, had limited business success. He was about to give up the mills when, in 1855, the Hon. (later Sir) John A. MacDonald wrote inviting him to allow his name to be considered for appointment as first Auditor of Upper and Lower Canada. So, in 1855, the mills were sold and the family prepared to move to Toronto.

[NB. Before the erection of permanent parliament buildings in Ottawa (completed in 1865), the seat of government moved every four years.]


American Fall, Niagara, [ca. 1854]
American Fall, Niagara, [ca. 1854]
Anne Langton
Watercolour, pen and ink and
graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-2-31
Archives of Ontario, I0008403

Horseshoe Fall, Niagara, [ca. 1854]
Click here to see a larger image (80K)
Horseshoe Fall, Niagara, [ca. 1854]
Anne Langton
Watercolour, pen and ink and
graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-2-30
Archives of Ontario, I0008402

In 1854 Anne Langton returned to Niagara almost certainly as part of a tour that she took with her visiting English niece, Ellen, daughter of William (the first English relative to visit the Langtons in Canada).

These two images are part of a series of Niagara views that Langton executed with confidence in contrast to her first sketch of the falls in 1837.



The Langtons lived in Toronto for four years. In 1856, John was elected to an additional role as the Vice Chancellor at the new University of Toronto and became a leading advocate for the emerging institution. Anne produced very little art while in Toronto, no doubt because she was preoccupied with assisting Lydia to raise the children and run the household.

Langton has squared up the image to the right in preparation for making an enlarged version.

The house was situated on the north side of Bloor Street, almost opposite Huntley Street. This single-storey front elevation is typical of what came to be called the Ontario Regency Cottage style. At the back, the house was two-storey and overlooked the Rosedale ravine.

[Langton Family] Home at Yorkville, Toronto, [1857 or 1858]
Click here to see a larger image (103K)
[Langton Family] Home at Yorkville,
Toronto, [1857 or 1858]
Anne Langton
Pen and ink and graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-2-50
Archives of Ontario, I0011267

A full watercolour version exists in oval format, the only instance that has come to light of Langton actually working in that format.


In 1857, the Langtons moved into their second Toronto home. In her memoir, Langton later wrote:

"In the spring of 1857, we moved up to Yorkville, and here, besides breathing purer air, we were brought into very agreeable society. Many of the Professors connected to the University were residents, and also families belonging to the Civil Service who, moving like ourselves with Government, were numbered amongst our associates as long as we remained connected with it"

Anne Langton
(SOF, 161)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote te
in wav format (277K)
or aif format (277K).

In 1859, the seat of government moved to Quebec City and so the Langtons uprooted themselves once again.

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : Peterborough et Toronto - 1852-1859 - bannière

Table des matières


John Langton, qui s'occupait de politique locale depuis les années 1830, à titre de conseiller et parfois de préfet de canton, se présenta aux élections provinciales en 1851 et remporta le siège de Peterborough et district. En 1852, les Langton donnèrent Blythe Farm en location pour s'installer à Peterborough, où deux autres enfants, Agnes et William, vinrent s'ajouter à la famille. Anne continua à se dévouer auprès de la famille et de la collectivité, ce qui n’était pas sans promouvoir la carrière d’homme public de John. Elle devint organiste de St. John's, dirigea la chorale paroissiale et aida un professeur émigré à organiser des « concerts patriotiques » au profit des victimes de la guerre de Crimée. En outre, elle accueillit des parents anglais, des neveux, nièces et amis venus en visite, qu’elle accompagna dans leur tournée des attractions touristiques et des lieux célèbres – Niagara, Toronto et Montréal – avec son fidèle carnet de croquis.

On the Otonabee near Peterborough, [vers 1852]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (74ko)
On the Otonabee near Peterborough, [vers 1852]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-2-27
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008399

Comme le révèlent ces croquis, le style d'Anne prenait de nouvelles orientations. Sa palette plutôt austère s’élargit un peu : bleus, blancs, crème, gris et bruns.

Elle exécuta toute une série d'aquarelles, qui forment ses principales vues de Peterborough. Certaines de ces œuvres ont été offertes à la bibliothèque de Peterborough dans les années 1930, par les enfants survivants de John Langton.


[Blythe] Mills near Peterboro, [vers 1852]

[Blythe] Mills near Peterboro, [vers 1852]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle , Mine de plomb et encre
13,8 cm x 23,5 cm (5¼ po. x 9½ po.)
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-2-28
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008400

John Langton acheta quatre meuneries à Peterborough pour exploitation commerciale, dans une tentative pour arrondir son salaire de député. Ces meuneries devaient être les derniers établissements nommés par les Langton en l'honneur de leurs origines anglaises. Mais, à l'instar de son père, John semblait peu doué pour le commerce. Il était sur le point de renoncer aux meuneries lorsque, en 1855, l'hon. (plus tard Sir) John A. MacDonald lui offrit le poste de premier vérificateur des Haut et Bas-Canada. C'est ainsi que, en 1855, la famille vendit les meuneries et se prépara à déménager à Toronto.

[Note : Avant la construction des édifices permanents du Parlement à Ottawa (achevés en 1865), le siège du gouvernement se déplaçait tous les quatre ans.]

American Fall, Niagara, [vers 1854]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (80ko)
American Fall, Niagara, [vers 1854]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle , Plume, encre et mine de plomb,
sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-2-31
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008403

Horseshoe Fall, Niagara, [vers 1854]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (81ko)
Horseshoe Fall, Niagara, [vers 1854]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle , Plume, encre et mine de plomb,
sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-2-30
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008402

En 1854, Anne Langton retournaà Niagara, très probablement lors d'une excursion touristique en compagnie de sa nièce anglaise Ellen, fille de William, en visite (la première de leur parenté anglaise à visiter les Langton établis au Canada).

Ces deux images font partie d'une série de vues de Niagara, qui démontrent toute la maîtrise du métier acquis, et font contraste avec le premier croquis des chutes, de 1837.



Les Langton vécurent à Toronto pendant quatre ans. En 1856, John fut élu à un autre poste, celui de vice-chancelier de la nouvelle Université de Toronto, et devint l'un des principaux artisans du développement de l'établissement. Anne ne tirs que peu d’œuvres de ses années à Toronto, sans doute trop occupée à aider Lydia dans l'éducation des enfants et dans la conduite du ménage.

L’artiste a redimensionné l'image de droite, en vue d'en faire une version agrandie.

La maison était située du côté nord de la rue Bloor, presque en face de la rue Huntley. Cette élévation de la façade à étage unique est typique du style plus tard connu sous le nom « Ontario Regency Cottage ». À l'arrière, la maison a deux étages et surplombe le ravin de Rosedale.

Home at Yorkville [maison de la famille Langton], Toronto, [1857 or 1858]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (103ko)
Home at Yorkville [maison de la famille Langton], Toronto, [1857 ou 1858]
Anne Langton
Plume, encre et mine de plomb, sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-2-50
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0011267

Une version complète à l'aquarelle existe en ovale, seule attestation connue de ce format dans l'œuvre d'Anne.

En 1857, les Langton déménagèrent dans leur deuxième domicile torontois. Dans ses mémoires, Anne écrivit plus tard :

« Au printemps de 1857, nous sommes déménagés à Yorkville, où nous avons trouvé un air plus pur et une société très agréable à fréquenter. Parmi les résidents, on comptait un bon nombre de professeurs de l'université et de familles de fonctionnaires qui, se déplaçant avec le gouvernement, ont été au nombre de nos compagnons pendant toute la période où nous en avons aussi fait partie. »

Anne Langton
(SOF, 161)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela
citation en format wav (537ko)
ou aif (537ko).

En 1859, le siège du gouvernement s'établit à Québec, de sorte que les Langton durent se déraciner à nouveau.