Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: Langton Family and Family Connections - Page Banner

Table of Contents


The Langton family could trace their ancestry at least as far back as the thirteenth century when, in 1215, Bishop Stephen Langton was among those who witnessed King John's signing of the Magna Carta.

Thomas Langton (1770-1838), was born into an aristocratic Lancashire family, the Langtons of Broughton Tower and Kirkham. The youngest of five sons, he became a gentleman-merchant and later, a landowner.

He was father of William, Anne and John Langton. He emigrated to Canada in 1837, with his wife, his daughter and an unmarried sister-in-law, to join his younger son, John, at the latter's farm property on Sturgeon Lake, near Fenelon Falls.

William Langton with bust of Thomas Langton
William Langton with bust of his father,
Thomas Langton, [ca. 1840]
Langton family papers
Daguerreotype
Reference Code: F 1077-11-0-7
Archives of Ontario, I0008505

Ellen Langton (1766-1846), wife of Thomas, mother of William, Anne and John; daughter of Reverend William Currer, Rector of St. James the Apostle parish church, Clapham, in Yorkshire. The Currers were a noted Yorkshire family with connections to the literary Brontës. She emigrated to Canada in 1837.

William Langton (1803-1881), eldest son of Thomas and Ellen Langton. He became a highly successful banker in Manchester, England and a noted social reformer and connoisseur of the arts. He married Margaret Hornby, a wealthy heiress from a noted Lancashire family in 1831. They had nine children of whom eight survived to adulthood. William, Margaret and family were the chief recipients of the correspondence from the "Canadian" Langtons. William, in turn, was the Canadian Langtons' chief correspondent.

Langton, William and family, [ca. 1855]
Langton, William and family, [ca. 1855]
Langton family papers
Ambrotype
Reference Code: F 1077-11-0-6
Archives of Ontario, I0008506

Anne Langton (1804-1893), only daughter and second child of Thomas and Ellen Langton. An accomplished gentlewoman artist in the genres of miniature portrait painting and landscape art, she became a pioneer settler in 1837 at her younger brother John's farm on Sturgeon Lake, near Fenelon Falls when she emigrated with her parents and maiden aunt.

John Langton (1808-1894), third son and youngest child of Thomas and Ellen Langton. (A second son, Thomas, died in 1812 at the age of six). A graduate of Cambridge University, he emigrated to Canada and settled on Sturgeon Lake, near Fenelon Falls in 1833. He married Lydia (née Dunsford) in 1845. They had eight children of whom seven survived to adulthood.

Alice Currer (1770-1846), unmarried sister of Ellen Langton. She emigrated to Canada, along with Ellen, Thomas and Anne in 1837.

Margaret Langton (née Hornby), wife of William Langton. The surviving children of William & Margaret Langton were: Alice, Ellen Josephine, Katharine Elizabeth, Anna Margaret, William Heywood, Henry Currer, Marian Cicely, Frances Amelia.

The surviving children of of John and Lydia Langton were: Ellen, Thomas, Henry Stephen (Harry), (Mary) Agnes, William Alexander, John (Jack), Hugh Hornby.

Ellen Josephine Philips (née Langton) edited her aunt Anne's letters and journals and had them printed privately in 1904 (Edinburgh) as Langton Records. Journals and Letters from Canada, 1837-1847.

Hugh Hornby Langton edited his aunt's letters and journals under the title A Gentlewoman in Upper Canada. The Journals of Anne Langton in 1950 (Toronto).

The Currers were a Yorkshire family with connections to the literary Brontës. When the three Brontë sisters adopted male pen-names to publish their earliest novels, Charlotte Brontë chose to call herself "Currer Bell." A contemporary Currer descendant, Noel Currer-Briggs, donated a number of Langton items - daguerreotype, ambrotype and drawings - to the Archives of Ontario in 1979.

The Dunsford family arrived in Canada from England in the fall of 1838. Reverend James Hartley Dunsford was head of the family. He and his wife Mary had a large double-storey log house, "The Beehive", built for themselves and their ten children (five sons and five daughters) on the lower end of Sturgeon Lake, at Bobcaygeon. This home was even larger than Blythe (as, indeed, it needed to be for so large a family). In October of 1838, Anne Langton, anticipating the Dunsfords' arrival, viewed them as potential social rivals. The prospect elicited a rare sharp dart from her pen: "Hitherto I fancy we have more English elegancies about us than most of our neighbours, but the Dunsfords, I expect, will quite eclipse us, for they, it is said, are bringing a carriage out with them. I hope they do not forget to bring a good road too" (GUC, 71-72). Little did she realize that her brother John would one day marry Lydia, the second of the Dunsford daughters.

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : Les personnages - bannière

Table des matières


La famille Langton pouvait faire remonter ses origines au 13e siècle au moins, époque où, en 1215, l'évêque Stephen Langton se trouvait au nombre des témoins de la signature, par le roi Jean Sans Terre, de la Magna Carta.

Thomas Langton (1770-1838) était issu d'une famille d'aristocrates du Lancashire, les Langton de Broughton Tower et Kirkham. Benjamin de cinq garçons, il devint gentilhomme-marchand, et, plus tard, propriétaire terrien.

Père de William, Anne et John, il émigra au Canada en 1837, avec son épouse, sa fille et une belle-sœur célibataire, pour aller vivre avec son fils cadet John, dans le domaine agricole de celui-ci, sur le lac Sturgeon, près de Fenelon Falls.

William Langton avec un buste de son père, Thomas Langton, [vers 1840]

William Langton avec un buste de son père,
Thomas Langton, [vers 1840]
Fonds famille Langton
Daguerreotype
Code de référence : F 1077-11-0-7
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008505

Ellen Langton (1766-1846), épouse de Thomas et mère de William, Anne et John, était la fille du révérend William Currer, recteur de la paroisse St. James the Apostle de Clapham, dans le Yorkshire. Les Currer étaient une famille éminente du Yorkshire, qui avait des liens avec les Brontë. Ellen émigra au Canada en 1837.

William Langton (1803-1881) était le fils aîné de Thomas et Ellen Langton. Il fit brillamment carrière dans la banque à Manchester (Angleterre) et se tailla une réputation de réformateur social et de connaisseur des arts. En 1831, il épousa Margaret Hornby, riche héritière d'une famille en vue du Lancashire. Ils ont neuf enfants, dont huit vécurent jusqu'à l'âge adulte. C’est à William, Margaret et leurs enfants qu’étaient principalement adressées les missives des Langton « canadiens ». Et William était le principal correspondant britannique des Langton du Canada.

Langton William et sa famille, [vers 1855]

Langton William et sa famille, [vers 1855]
Fonds famille Langton
Ambrotype
Code de référence : F 1077-11-0-6
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008506

Anne Langton (1804-1893) était la fille unique et le deuxième enfant de Thomas et Ellen Langton. « Femme de bonne famille » modèle et artiste accomplie en peinture de paysage et de portrait miniature, elle devint pionnière et arriva en 1838 au domaine agricole de son jeune frère John sur le lac Sturgeon, près de Fenelon Falls, après avoir émigré en 1837 avec ses parents et sa tante célibataire.

John Langton (1808-1894) était le troisième fils et le plus jeune des enfants de Thomas et Ellen Langton (un second fils, Thomas, était mort en 1812, à l'âge de six ans). Diplômé de l'Université Cambridge, il émigra au Canada en 1833, pour s'installer sur le lac Sturgeon, près de Fenelon Falls. Il épouse Lydia (née Dunsford) en 1845, et ils eurent huit enfants, dont sept vécurent jusqu'à l'âge adulte.

Alice Currer (1770-1846) était la sœur célibataire d'Ellen Langton. Elle émigra au Canada, en compagnie d'Ellen, de Thomas et d'Anne en 1837.

Margaret Langton (née Hornby), était l'épouse de William Langton.
Les enfants survivants de William et Margaret Langton étaient : Alice, Ellen Josephine, Katharine Elizabeth, Anna Margaret, William Heywood, Henry Currer, Marian Cicely, Frances Amelia.

Les enfants survivants de John et Lydia Langton étaient : Ellen, Thomas, Henry Stephen (Harry), (Mary) Agnes, William Alexander, John (Jack), Hugh Hornby.

Ellen Josephine Philips (née Langton) a édité les lettres et le journal intime de sa tante Anne et les a fait imprimer à compte d'auteur en 1904 (à Edimbourg), sous le titre Langton Records. Journals and Letters from Canada, 1837-1847.

Hugh Hornby Langton a édité les lettres et le journal intime de sa tante, publiés sous le titre A Gentlewoman in Upper Canada. The Journals of Anne Langton en 1950 (Toronto).

La famille Currer était originaire duYorkshire et liée à la célèbre famille Brontë. Lorsque les trois sœurs Brontë adoptèrent des noms de plume masculins pour publier leurs premiers romans, Charlotte Brontë chosit « Currer Bell ». Un descendant de la famille Currer, Noel Currer-Briggs, a donné un certain nombre de pièces ayant appartenue à la famille Langton – daguerréotypes, ambrotypes et croquis – aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario en 1979.

La famille Dunsford est arrivée au Canada d'Angleterre, à l'automne de 1838. Le révérend James Hartley Dunsford était le chef de la famille. Lui et son épouse Mary avaient une grande maison de rondins à deux étages, « The Beehive » (« La Ruche »), qui avait été construite pour loger le couple et ses dix enfants (cinq fils et cinq filles), à l'extrémité sud du lac Sturgeon, à Bobcaygeon. Cette maison était même plus grande que Blythe (et il le fallait, pour une famille aussi nombreuse). En octobre de 1838, Anne Langton, anticipant l'arrivée des Dunsford, les voyait comme des rivaux potentiels sur le plan social. La perspective lui avait arraché une remarque acerbe, chose rare sous sa plume : « Jusqu'ici, j'imagine que nous remportons la palme du raffinement anglais pour la plupart de nos voisins, mais je m'attends à ce que les Dunsford nous éclipsent, car, dit-on, ils emmènent une voiture à équipage. J'espère qu'ils n'oublieront pas de nous emmener une route carrossable aussi! » (GUC, 71-72). Elle était alors loin d'imaginer que son frère John épouserait un jour Lydia, la deuxième des filles Dunsford.