Anne Langton: Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist - Page Banner

Table of Contents



Anne Langton (1804–1896) arrived in Upper Canada in 1837 forty years after Elizabeth Simcoe and her husband John Graves Simcoe had left.

Much had changed since Elizabeth Simcoe had put her sketch book aside and returned to England. The war of 1812 had come and gone, Upper Canada’s population (374,000) was growing and land was increasingly being cleared for new communities.

Anne arrived in Peterborough, which in 1837 had a population of 900 inhabitants, to a scene she would remember all her life, “How wild! A waste wilderness of woods – not so much the growing woods, which were not far off, but the precious article seemed thrown about everywhere” (The Story of Our Family (SOF), 64)

[Otonabee] River at Peterborough, 1837
Click to see a larger image (84K)
[Otonabee] River at Peterborough, 1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-15
Archives of Ontario, I0008037


Langton lived in Canada for most of the rest of her life, though she made a few extended visits to Britain in mid and later life. Wherever she went she continued to create her art. This virtual exhibit details her life and explores the full range of her work. It will be a valuable resource for those interested in early Canadian art, social history or for those who enjoy a fascinating story.

Anne Langton (preliminary sketch), 1827
Anne Langton (preliminary sketch), 1827
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-7-3-1-19
Archives of Ontario, I0008311

Anne Langton (self portrait), 1827
Click here to see a larger image (83K)
Anne Langton (self portrait), 1827
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-19
Archives of Ontario, I0008562



In July 2006, the Archives purchased two new watercolour portraits on ivory by Anne Langton. And in December 2006 a third new one was added to the collection. They nicely augment the 2003 donation by Patrick Garland (godson of the late Michael Langton of London, England) and can be seen in the section titled, “Miniatures on Ivory.” The earlier donation of ten Langton family portraits on ivory, the majority painted by Anne Langton, provides an opportunity to highlight the significance of the visual materials in the Langton Family Collection (F 1077).

Anne Langton is best known for a posthumously published edition of her letters and journals, A Gentlewoman in Upper Canada (1950), edited by Hugh Hornby Langton, one of her nephews.

Next

Ms Barbara Williams who used the Archives extensively while researching material for her book on the life of Anne Langton and her art has curated this exhibit. Ms Williams has written the text, selected visual images from the Archives' holdings and read the quotations to bring Anne and her talent as an artist to life. The text of this exhibit may only be reproduced with permission of the author. Barbara's book - A Gentlewoman in Upper Canada: The Journals, Letters and Art of Anne Langton - was published by the University of Toronto Press in 2008.

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste - bannière

Table des matières


Anne Langton (1804–1896) est arrivée au Haut-Canada en 1837, 40 ans après le départ d’Elizabeth Simcoe et de son mari, John Graves Simcoe.

Les choses avaient bien changé depuis qu’Elizabeth Simcoe avait rangé son carnet de croquis pour rentrer en Angleterre. La Guerre de 1812 avait eu lieu, la population du Haut-Canada (374 000 âmes) augmentait et on défrichait de plus en plus de terres pour laisser place à de nouvelles agglomérations.

L’arrivée d’Anne Langton à Peterborough, qui ne comptait que 900 habitants en 1837, la marquera pour le reste de ses jours. « Combien sauvage! Ces terres incultes, jonchées de débris ligneux, – non pas le bois debout, jamais très loin, mais la précieuse matière, éparpillée un peu partout. » (The Story of Our Family (SOF), 64)

Sketch of Otonabee River at Peterborough
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (84ko)
[Otonabee] River at Peterborough, 1837
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-15
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008037


Anne Langton allait habiter au Canada pendant presque tout le reste de sa vie, bien qu’elle ait fait quelques visites prolongées en Grande-Bretagne vers le milieu et la fin de sa vie. Peu importe où elle se trouvait, elle continuait à créer son art. Cette exposition virtuelle décrit sa vie et explore l’étendue de son œuvre. Elle s’avérera une ressource précieuse pour les personnes intéressées part l’art canadien ancien ou à l’histoire sociale ou qui apprécient les récits intéressants.

[Anne Langton (croquis), 1827]

Cliquer pour un agrandissemen (35ko)
Anne Langton (croquis), 1827
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-7-3-1-19
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008311

Anne Langton (autoportrait)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (83ko)
Anne Langton (Autoportrait), 1827
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-19
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008562


En juillet 2006, les Archives ont acheté deux portraits additionnels (aquarelles sur ivoire) par Anne Langton, suivi d'un autre en décembre 2006. Ils ont été ajoutés à la section « Miniature sur ivoire » Le don, fait en 2003 par Patrick Garland (le filleul de feu Michael Langton de Londres) aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario, de dix portraits miniatures de la famille Langton sur ivoire, la plupart peints par Anne Langton, nous a donné l’occasion de mettre en valeur l’importance des documents visuels dans le fonds Famille Langton (F 1077) .(en anglais seulement)

Langton est surtout connue pour une collection de lettres et d’extraits de ses journaux parue après sa mort, A Gentlewoman in Upper Canada (1950), édité par son neveu Hugh Hornby Langton.


Cette exposition a été organisée par Mme Barbara Williams, qui a beaucoup consulté les Archives au cours de ses recherches sur la vie et l’art d’Anne Langton. Mme Williams a rédigé le texte et sélectionné les images des collections des Archives pour redonner vie à Anne Langton et la faire découvrir en tant qu’artiste. Le texte de cette exposition ne peut être reproduit qu'avec la permission de l'auteure. Le livre de Barbara - A Gentlewoman in Upper Canada: The Journals, Letters and Art of Anne Langton – a été publié par les Presses de l’Université de Toronto en 2008.