Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: The Final Years - Page Banner

Table of Contents


In their retirement years, the Langton family resided in Toronto, first at 23 Prince Arthur Avenue (1878-1885) in Yorkville, which, coincidentally, is now the national headquarters of the Women's Art Association of Canada.

Langton spent these years happily writing and painting china. These activities must have become increasingly important to her over the years as her hearing impairment had rapidly become more severe from the mid-1860s onwards.

In 1880, at the age of 76 she made her final return trip to England (a "short" one for her, lasting but six months!), accompanying her youngest "Canadian" nephew, Hugh Hornby Langton on his first visit to England. They toured many of her old familiar haunts, including the beloved Blythe Hall.

In 1885 the Langtons made their final move, this time to 123 Beverley Street: another artistic connection, as this house was situated on the edge of the property that is now home to the Art Gallery of Ontario.

Anne Langton late in life (detail), [ca. 1890]
Anne Langton late in life (detail), [ca. 1890]
Black and White Photograph
Photographer: unknown
Reference Code: F 1077-11-10-5
Archives of Ontario, I0011268

Also in 1885 John Langton, in a letter to Thomas Need, wrote: "[My family] are well, including my sister who[,] now in her 82nd year[,] is as industrious as ever, painting from morning to night" (John Langton to Thomas Need, August 1885, AO, Thomas Need Papers).


During the last nine years of her life - her "sketching rambles" now over - she painted almost exclusively at home, on items of fine china. The inventory of the pieces that she hand decorated in this period lists more than three hundred items; most destined as gifts to family members and close friends; some were executed for sale at charitable events, such as bazaars in aid of churches in Toronto, Peterborough, Lindsay. Only a dozen or so specimens of her china painting have come to light.

Image of three miniature portraits in a frame
The lower portraits of this trio are Ellen and Thomas
Langton. The upper portrait is of Thomas Langton as
a young man, and so possibly not painted by Anne.
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0
Archives of Ontario, I0011272

Anne died in the Beverly Street house in 1893, a month before her eighty-ninth birthday; John in 1894. They, along with Lydia, John's wife and each of John and Lydia's children and their spouses, are buried in the family plot in St. James' cemetery, overlooking the Rosedale ravine.

Anne Langton's body of art work is a tribute to her artistic talents and to her indefatigable dedication to fine art, as well as to her personal vision of life in the New World. Had she chosen to make her living as an artist - in England, at least - her talent would have stood her in good stead. In addition, her writings are a lively testimony to this remarkable woman's strength of character, her psychological resilience in the face of sometimes overwhelming odds, her devotion to others (in both family and community) and, not least, to her engaging wit and deft self mockery.

Anne Langton left behind a rich legacy through which future generations of Canadians can trace some of their early cultural roots. Her consistent and extensive artistic output, over almost six decades, appears to be a unique documentary record in early Canadian art by women.

Anne apparently died content and creatively fulfilled, much-loved and appreciated by her family. Hugh Hornby Langton, who would edit her journals and letters for publication in 1950 as "A Gentlewoman in Upper Canada", was appointed Chief Librarian at the University of Toronto just one year before his aunt's death, thus continuing the family's links to that institution and to the city.

Hugh Hornby Langton penned this epitaph to his beloved aunt:

"When too old for out-of-doors sketching [Anne Langton] took to china painting, and thus maintained her artistic interest to the end. But ... the real purpose of her life was to be useful to her brother's family and her success was marked, for to all of them, she seemed a second mother, ever interested, helpful and devoted."


Hugh Hornby Langton, 1950
(GUC, 246)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote in
wav format (235K)
or aif format (235K).


Fortunately, Langton's body of work has survived, preserved first by her family, now mostly by public institutions. Her visual art and life writing offer an intelligent, sensitive account of a crucial period in Canada's early social history.

In some ways, it parallels accounts by other early European settlers in North America (and in other former British colonies), including her noted contemporaries, and near-contemporaries, visitors and/or settlers: Elizabeth Simcoe, Anna Jameson, Mary O'Brien, Jane Ellice, Catharine Parr Traill, Susanna Moodie, Juliana Horatia Ewing.

The influence of Langton's legacy can now extend well beyond her life span, enabling her cultural descendants to appreciate their origins more fully.

Her "usefulness" continues: countless generations can access her visual images and verbal sketches and the era which they evoke, thanks to state-of-the-art curatorship in such institutions as the Archives of Ontario.

Miniature of Thomas Langton
Thomas Langton, 1833
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
9.8 cm. x 7.6 cm. (4" x 3")
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-7
Archives of Ontario, I0008568

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : Les dernières années - bannière

Table des matières


Après la retraite de John, la famille Langton habita Toronto, tout d'abord au 23, avenue Prince Arthur (1878-1885) à Yorkville, lieu qui abrite maintenant, par coïncidence, le siège national de la Women's Art Association of Canada.

Anne coula alors des années heureuses, à écrire et à peindre sur porcelaine. Ces activités semblent avoir pris de l'importance pour elle avec le temps, au fur et à mesure qu’empira sa surdité, à compter du milieu des années 1860.

En 1880, à l'âge de 76 ans, elle retourna en Angleterre une dernière fois (séjour qui ne dure que six mois, ce qui est « court » pour elle!), pour accompagner le plus jeune de ses neveux « canadiens », Hugh Hornby Langton, dont c'est le premier voyage à destination de la mère patrie. Ensemble, ils firent la tournée de multiples hauts-lieux familiaux, dont le bien-aimé Blythe Hall.

En 1885, les Langton déménagèrent pour la dernière fois, pour s'établir au 123, rue Beverley : autre lien avec le monde des arts, puisque la maison était située en bordure de la propriété où s'élève maintenant le Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario.

Photographie : Anne Langton late in life (détail), [vers 1890]

Anne Langton late in life (détail), [vers 1890]
Photograph le noir et blanc
Photograph inconnu
Code de référence : F 1077-11-10-5
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0011268

Également en 1885, John Langton, dans une lettre adressée à Thomas Need, écrivit : « Toute ma famille va bien, y compris ma sœur, qui, à 82 ans, est plus occupée que jamais, à sa peinture du matin au soir » (John Langton à Thomas Need, août 1885, Archives publiques de l’Ontario, fonds Thomas Need).

Au cours des neuf dernières années de sa vie – ses « tournées de croquis » ayant pris fin – Anne peignit quasi exclusivement à l’intérieur, sur des pièces de fine porcelaine. L'inventaire des pièces qu'elle a décorées à la main pendant cette période énumère plus de 300 objets; la plupart devaient servir de cadeaux à des membres de la famille et à des amis intimes; certains ont été réalisés pour des ventes de charité telles que des bazars, au profit d’églises de Toronto, de Peterborough et de Lindsay. On n'a retrouvé qu'une douzaine de ces pièces.

Image of three miniature portraits in a frame

Les deux portraits du bas représentent Ellen et Thomas Langton. Le portrait du haut représente Thomas Langton dans sa jeunesse; il est donc possible qu’il n’a pas été peint par Anne.
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0011272

Anne s’est éteinte dans la maison de la rue Beverly en 1893, un mois avant son 89e anniversaire, et John l’a suivi en 1894. Ils reposent, aux côtés de Lydia, l'épouse de John, des enfants de John et Lydia et de leurs conjoints, dans la concession familiale du cimetière St. James, en surplomb du ravin de Rosedale.

L'œuvre artistique d'Anne Langton atteste son talent artistique et son inlassable activité au service de l'art de même que de sa vision personnelle de la vie dans le Nouveau Monde. Si elle avait décidé de gagner sa vie en qualité d'artiste – en Angleterre, du moins – ce talent aurait été gage de réussite. De plus, ses écrits sont un témoignage vivant de la force de caractère de cette femme remarquable, de son ressort face à une adversité persistante et de son altruisme (vis-à-vis de sa famille et de la collectivité), sans parler de sa vivacité d'esprit et d'une douce ironie.

Anne Langton a laissé un riche héritage, qui permettra aux générations futures de Canadiens de se reconnaître des racines culturelles. Sa production artistique constante et considérable, qui embrasse près de six décennies, constitue un ensemble documentaire unique sur la présence des femmes dans l'art canadien des débuts.

Anne est morte apparemment satisfaite de ses réalisations, aimée et estimée de toute sa famille. Hugh Hornby Langton, qui devait éditer ses lettres et son journal intime pour leur publication en 1950, sous le titre « A Gentlewoman in Upper Canada », avait été nommé bibliothécaire en chef à l'Université de Toronto une année à peine avant le décès de sa tante; il assurait ainsi la continuité du lien familial avec l'établissement et la ville

Hugh Hornby Langton a écrit cette épitaphe de sa tante bien aimée :

« L'âge lui ayant interdit le croquis en plein air, Anne Langton s'est tournée vers la peinture sur porcelaine, et aura donc exercé son art jusqu'à son dernier souffle. Mais… son but réel dans la vie était de se rendre utile à la famille de son frère, et, en cela, elle a exceptionnellement réussi. Pour tous ses membres, elle a été une seconde mère, attentive, affectueuse et toujours prête à réconforter. »


Hugh Hornby Langton, 1950
(GUC, 246)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela citation en format wav (610ko) ou aif (610ko).


Heureusement, l'œuvre d'Anne Langton nous est parvenue, préservée d'abord par sa famille, puis, en grande partie maintenant, par des établissements publics. Son art pictural et ses écrits intimes nous rendent compte, de manière intelligente et sensible, d'une période cruciale dans l'histoire sociale du Canada des débuts.

Par certains côtés, les écrits de l’artiste font écho à ceux des premiers colons européens en Amérique du Nord (et dans d'autres anciennes colonies britanniques), dont certains personnages de marque chez ses contemporains et quasi contemporains, visiteurs et colons Elizabeth Simcoe, Anna Jameson, Mary O'Brien, Jane Ellice, Catharine Parr Traill, Susanna Moodie...

La portée de l'héritage de l'artiste peut maintenant déborder largement la durée de sa vie, permettant à ses descendants culturels de mieux apprécier leurs origines.

Anne Langton continue certes d'être « utile aux autres » : d'innombrables générations auront désormais accès à ses images et croquis verbaux et à l'époque qu'ils dépeignent, grâce aux techniques de pointe de la conservation dans des établissements tels que les Archives publiques de l'Ontario.

Thomas Langton [aquarelle, miniature sur ivoire], 1833

Thomas Langton [aquarelle, miniature sur ivoire], 1833
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
9,8 cm. x 7,6 cm. (4 po. x 3 po.)
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-7
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008568