Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: Britain & Canada Tours and Vacations - Page Banner

Table of Contents


The Langtons resided in Quebec City from 1859-1865. In 1860, however, Anne set out across the Atlantic for another extended visit to Britain. This time she was accompanied by John's and Lydia's eldest daughter, Ellen, who was going to attend Miss Lowe's School for Young Ladies at Southgate, near London - her uncle William having generously offered to pay for her tuition there.

This began a pattern for Langton's later years: escorting and chaperoning Canadian nieces and nephews to England and touring with them, often returning to Canada with an English niece or nephew whom she would then introduce to her favourite "Canadian" scenes: more tours, more sketching.

In England, Langton now resumed visits to art galleries and other cultural venues. Nearing sixty, she gained a freedom that she had not known in her early or middle adult years. That freedom came to be reflected in her art, with a less literal approach, looser handling of paint, and a wider palette range. This greater ease most likely stemmed from exposure to new styles of art and introductions to the work of new artists at the exhibitions she attended in London and the provinces.


It appears that " the beauties of the [famed] lake country" were the initial inspiration for Langton's maturing artistic development (SOF, 167). As her techniques evolve, she sometimes adopts a more lyrical style as in the sketch of Skiddaw below left where she creates a misty, atmospheric effect.

Skiddaw is the highest mountain in the Lake District. It overlooks Derwentwater, below right, which is the most famous of the bodies of water in the Lake District. This part of England was a mecca for artists and writers alike, including John Constable, J. M. W. Turner and the "Romantic" poets, William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge.

Skiddaw [mountain] from near the landing, Barrow, North Yorkshire, [186-?]
Click here to see a larger image (78K )
Skiddaw [mountain] from near the landing,
Barrow, North Yorkshire, [186-?]
Anne Langton
Watercolour
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-9-6
Archives of Ontario, I0008057

Derwentwater [Lake District, Cumbria, England], [ca. 1861]
Click here to see a larger image (81K)
Derwentwater
[Lake District, Cumbria, England], [ca. 1861]
Anne Langton
Watercolour
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-18-2
Archives of Ontario, I0008467


Returning to Canada in the summer of 1862, Langton took the older children to Dalhousie in New Brunswick for a two-month vacation. John and Lydia remained in Quebec City where, in August, Hugh Hornby Langton, their last child, was born.

Anne thrived on the outdoor "expeditions" with the children and sketched several sets of miniature landscapes as they played.

Of this summer, Anne would later write:

"I enjoyed my two months with the children at Dalhousie very much. We boarded with a Mrs. Carter, so had no household cares, and I wandered about with my charges all the time, seeing them bathe every day, and living almost altogether out of doors ... What the children enjoyed, above all things, was what they called 'an expedition;' that is, a rather longer walk than usual, with a basket of provisions instead of coming home to dinner [which was] consumed as we sat on the ground under a tree"


Anne Langton
(SOF, 170)

Click here to listen to a recording
of the quote in wav format (345K)

or aif format (345K).

Old Woman [Flower Pot] Rock, Dalhousie [New Brunswick], 1862
Click here to see a larger image (103K)
Old Woman [Flower Pot] Rock, Dalhousie
[New Brunswick], 1862
Anne Langton
Watercolour, pen and ink over
graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-9-1
Archives of Ontario, I0008446

Dalhousie, New Brunswick, 1862
Click here to see a larger image (71K)
Dalhousie [New Brunswick], 1862
Anne Langton
Watercolour, pen and ink over
graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-8-3
Archives of Ontario, I0008445

Dalhousie [New Brunswick], 1862
Click here to see a larger image (67K)
Dalhousie [New Brunswick], 1862
Anne Langton
Watercolour, pen and ink over
graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-9-2
Archives of Ontario, I0008447

These diminutive sketches painted at Dalhousie are small gems: crystal-like distillations of coastal scenes. The inclusion of her nephews and nieces enlivens her sketches. Langton worked several versions of this series.


[Natural Arches] Dalhousie [New Brunswick], 1862
[Natural Arches] Dalhousie [New Brunswick], 1862
Anne Langton
Watercolour, pen and ink over
graphite on cream wove paper
7.5 cm x 12.6 cm (3" x 5")
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-8-1
Library and Archives Canada, I0008443


Returning from Dalhousie Langton, ever the avid tourist, made excursions in and around Quebec City. She worked up views, for her English audience, of well-known places or of situations that represented uniquely Canadian scenes.

Falls of Montmorenci [sic], Quebec, [ca. 1864]
Click here to see a larger image (82K)
Falls of Montmorenci [sic], Quebec, [ca. 1864]
Anne Langton
Watercolour over graphite
on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-2-34
Archives of Ontario, I0008406

At Point Levis, Indian village near Quebec, [ca. 1864]
Click here to see a larger image (59K)
At Point Levis, Indian village near Quebec, [ca. 1864]
Anne Langton
Monochromatic watercolour (sepia toned)
with pen and ink over graphite
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-29
Archives of Ontario, I0008419

The summers of 1864 and '65 were spent in a rented cottage in Point Lévis, across the St. Lawrence River from Quebec. Anne described their life there as "very like the Dalhousie one." She and the children went on rural rambles and the children enjoyed "the supreme delight" of swimming (SOF, 175).

In the scene of the Indian village, above right, Langton places herself at a considerable distance from her subjects, perhaps not wishing to intrude too closely on a social grouping to which she does not belong. Unusually for her, she leaves the foreground almost devoid of detail. She employs virtually no "framing" devices such as the low bushes, or side-screening trees that ornament most of her topographical views.

The settlement, a small grouping of simple village huts - seen in the distant middle-ground - is situated at the edge of the river; a single track winds from the lower left to the centre of the picture plane. People sit on the ground, lean against the huts, stand chatting in clusters. Across the river, in the far distance, the Citadel, the Plains of Abraham and a church spire remind the viewer of the contrast between the cultural heritage of the Native inhabitants and that of the white-settler races.

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : Grande-Bretagne et Canada, Voyages et vacances - 1860-1864 - bannière

Table des matières


De 1859 à 1865, les Langton élirent domicile à Québec. En 1860, toutefois, Anne retraversa l'Atlantique pour un autre séjour prolongé en Grande-Bretagne. Cette fois, elle était accompagnée de la fille aînée de John et Lydia, Ellen, qui devait s'inscrire à l'école pour jeunes filles de Miss Lowe à Southgate, près de Londres – son oncle William ayant généreusement offert de payer ses frais de scolarité dans cet établissement.

S'amorce ainsi le schème des années de maturité d'Anne : elle accompagna régulièrement ses nièces et neveux canadiens en Angleterre, où elle guida leurs excursions en leur servant de chaperon, et revint souvent au Canada avec une nièce ou un neveu anglais, à qui elle fit alors connaître ses décors « canadiens » favoris : autres excursions et autres croquis.

En Angleterre, Anne reprit ses visites dans les galeries d'art et autres lieux culturels. Aux abords de la soixantaine, elle jouissait d'une liberté qu'elle n'avait pas connue au début ou au milieu de sa vie adulte. Cette liberté en vint à se refléter dans son art : esprit moins littéral, traitement plus délié de la peinture et palette plus riche. Cette plus grande facilité découle tout probablement des styles artistiques récents et de la fréquentation des œuvres d'artistes novateurs lors des expositions qu'elle allait voir, à Londres et en province.


Il semble que « les beautés de la [célèbre] région des lacs » aient été à l'origine du développement artistique d'Anne (SOF, 167). Avec l'évolution de sa technique, elle adopta parfois un style plus lyrique, comme dans le croquis de Skiddaw, en bas à gauche, qui baigne dans une ambiance vaporeuse.

Skiddaw est le pic le plus élevé de la région des lacs. Il domine Derwentwater, à l'angle inférieur droit, qui est le plan d'eau le plus célèbre de la région. Cette partie de l'Angleterre était une mecque pour les artistes et les écrivains, notamment John Constable, J.M.W. Turner et les poètes « romantiques » William Wordsworth et Samuel Taylor Coleridge.

Skiddaw [montagne] from near the landing, Barrow, North Yorkshire, [186-?]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (78ko)
Skiddaw [montagne] from near the landing,
Barrow, North Yorkshire, [186-?]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-9-6
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008057

Derwentwater [Lake District, Cumbria, England], [vers 1861]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (81ko)
Derwentwater
[Lake District, Cumbria, England], [vers 1861]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-18-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008467


De retour au Canada à l'été de 1862, Anne accompagna les aînés des enfants à Dalhousie, au Nouveau-Brunswick, pour des vacances de deux mois. John et Lydia restèrent à Québec; en août naquit Hugh Hornby Langton, le cadet de la famille.

Anne se plaisait à organiser des « excursions » avec les enfants, et, pendant qu’ils s’amusaient, elle faisait le croquis de plusieurs ensembles de paysages en miniature.

À propos de cet été, Anne devait plus tard écrire :

« J'ai beaucoup aimé mes deux mois à Dalhousie, avec les enfants. Nous avions pension chez une certaine Mrs. Carter, de sorte que j'étais libérée des tâches ménagères, et j'allais partout avec les enfants, je les voyais se baigner tous les jours et nous vivions pratiquement en plein air… Ce que les enfants aimaient par dessus tout, c'était ce qu'ils appelaient « une expédition »; il s'agissait d'une promenade plus longue que d'habitude, où nous emportions un panier de provisions au lieu de revenir pour le repas. Nous mangions assis sur l'herbe, sous un arbre. »


Anne Langton
(SOF, 170)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela citation en format wav (719ko)
ou aif (719ko).

[Flower Pot Rock] Dalhousie, Nouveau-Brunswick, 1862

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (103ko)
[Flower Pot Rock] Dalhousie [Nouveau-Brunswick], 1862
Anne Langton
Aquarelle, plume et encre sur mine de plomb, sur vélin crème Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-9-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008446

Dalhousie, Nouveau-Brunswick, 1862

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (71ko)
Dalhousie [Nouveau-Brunswick], 1862
Anne Langton
Aquarelle, plume et encre sur mine de plomb,
sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-9-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008445

Dalhousie [Nouveau-Brunswick], 1862

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (67ko)
Dalhousie [Nouveau-Brunswick], 1862
Anne Langton
Aquarelle, plume et encre sur mine de plomb,
sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-9-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008447

Ces croquis miniatures, peints à Dalhousie, sont de petits bijoux : on y retrouve l'essence cristalline des scènes côtières. La présence de ses neveux et nièces animent les croquis. Anne a réalisé plusieurs versions de cette série.


[Arches naturelles] Dalhousie [Nouveau-Brunswick], 1862

[Arches naturelles] Dalhousie [Nouveau-Brunswick], 1862
Anne Langton
Aquarelle, plume et encre sur mine de plomb, sur vélin crème
7,5 cm x 12,6 cm (3 po. x 5 po.)
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-8-1
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, I0008443


Après être revenue de Dalhousie, Anne, toujours prête à jouer les touristes, s’adonna à des excursions dans Québec et aux alentours. Elle travailla à des vues, destinées à son public anglais, de situations et de lieux bien connus, encadrant des scènes typiquement canadiennes.

Falls of Montmorenci [sic], Quebec, [ver 1864]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (82ko)
Falls of Montmorenci [sic], Quebec, [vers 1864]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur mine de plomb, sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-2-34
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008406

At Point Levis, indian village near Quebec, [vers 1864]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (59ko)
At Point Levis, indian village near Quebec, [vers 1864]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle monochrome (en sépia), plume et encre,
sur mine de plomb
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-29
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008419

Elle passa les étés de 1864 et 1865 dans un chalet de location à Pointe-Lévis, en face de Québec, sur l'autre rive du Saint-Laurent. Anne décrivait leur vie à cet endroit comme « très semblable à ce que nous avons connu à Dalhousie ». Elle emmenait les enfants en balade à la campagne, où ils se livraient « aux délices suprêmes » de la baignade (SOF, 175).

Pour représenter le village indien, en haut à droite, Anne s’était placée à une distance considérable de son sujet, peut-être pour ne pas sembler s’immiscer dans un groupe social auquel elle n'appartenait pas. Trait inhabituel chez elle, elle a dépouillé l'avant-plan de ses détails coutumiers. Elle y a employé très peu des éléments d'« encadrement », tels que buissons de faible hauteur et écrans d'arbres latéraux, qui meublent la plupart de ses vues topographiques.

Le village, un petit groupe de huttes primitives – qu'on aperçoit dans un plan intermédiaire lointain – est situé au bord de la rivière; une piste unique sinue depuis l'angle inférieur gauche jusqu'au centre du plan pictural. Les personnages sont assis sur le sol, s'appuient aux murs des huttes, sont debout à converser en groupes. De l'autre côté du fleuve, au loin, la Citadelle, les plaines d'Abraham et un clocher d'église rappellent aux spectateurs le contraste que forment l'héritage culturel des indigènes et celui des colons blancs.