Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: The Grand Tour - Part One - Page Banner

Table of Contents



The Grand Tour tradition was originally intended to refine the sensibilities of young, upper class (usually male) travellers, or "tourists." Influenced by aesthetic philosophies of the Sublime, the Beautiful and the Picturesque, tourists "viewed" wide landscapes as though they were paintings.

The family's itinerary took them through Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Italy and France. The children received art training from drawing masters wherever they stayed for more than a few days and sometimes, even en route.

Their first prolonged stay was near Yverdun in Switzerland, where the educational reformer Johannes Pestalozzi had established an institution at Yverdun Castle to provide education for orphans from the Swiss Wars. His novel system encouraged nurturing each child's innate abilities, attention to sensory perceptions and reasoning based on first principles rather than mere rote learning. John Langton was soon enrolled at the Institute, while William, because of ill health and Anne, on account of her gender, received private lessons in town from Institute masters.

 

Champitet, (near Yverdon) Switzerland, [ca. 1825]
Click to see a larger image (76K)
Champitet, (near Yverdon) Switzerland, [ca. 1825]
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-35-1
Archives of Ontario, I0008485


A typical day during their stay at Champitet [Champ-Pittet] on Lake Neuchâtel near Yverdon [Yverdun], in 1816, is described in detail in a letter from Thomas Langton to his sister Cicely Hornby in England:

" Our arrangements for the children are as follows. William and Anne go into town every morning, where they pass three hours at the apartments of Mdlle. Bourgeois, which she has obligingly offered, an offer of which we were very glad to avail ourselves. They will there have lessons in music, French, geography, geometry and arithmetic, and perhaps German. We dine at two, and the afternoons they will have to themselves, with the exception of a little Latin and Greek that William and I shall amuse ourselves with, but which I daresay will be of no great matter, and of an hour and half [sic] three times a week, which the drawing-master will claim, from half-past five to seven."

(Letters of Thomas Langton to Mrs. Thomas Hornby, 1816-1818 (LTL, 99)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote
in wav format (458K)
or aif format (458K).


The Langtons' travels took them along precipitous, "sublime" mountain ranges, beside the shores of "beautiful" lakes that lay cradled in Alpine valleys and through "picturesque" villages and pastoral countryside. The children sketched as they travelled as well as in the places where they took up residence for a period of weeks or, in some cases, months at a time.

The landscapes and cityscapes amongst which the children spent their most formative years form a catalogue of delights: Frankfurt, Interlachen, the Austrian Tyrol, the Simplon Pass, Milan, Florence, Rome, the isles of Procida, Ischia and Capri, then on to Naples and Sorrento and a gradual wending north, heading for Paris ...

 

Yverdon, Switzerland, [ca. 1825]
Click to see a larger image (72K)
Yverdon, Switzerland, [ca. 1825]
Anne Langton
Monochromatic watercolour
on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-9-1-35-2
Archives of Ontario, I0008486

Note: The images here and above of Champitet and Yverdon appear to have been created by Anne at a later date, possibly in the 1820's.

The family was similarly drawn to such cosmopolitan tourist venues as art galleries and museums - including the Uffizi and the Pitti - St. Peter's Basilica in Rome, St Mark's in Venice, and noted sights such as the home of Protestant reformer Martin Luther in Heidelberg, Vesuvius, and the ruins of Pompeii. Many of these views and sights appear in the art by William and Anne Langton; three of these sketchbooks are in the Langton collection at the Archives of Ontario.


In the fall of 1817 the Langtons travelled to the south of France where they spent the winter in Montpellier. Here they followed a similar routine to the one in Yverdun.

" We often wish you could take a peep at us, and as I often say [,] how surprised you would be... One [of us is] taking a lesson in Italian in one corner; another writing a French exercise surrounded by dictionaries, grammars, and the necessary assistants of that sort; whilst the third is looking in despair at her translation and preparations for future study... The young ones, with hands and faces not a little soiled from a recent drawing lesson, are occupying the third table, covered with the rubbish of their different amusements, such as coins, stones, paints, and paper. A miserable hearth finishes this comfortable scene....But notwithstanding[,] we are very happy and comfortable."

Ellen Langton postscript to a letter from Thomas Langton, Montpellier,
France, winter 1817, to his sister Mrs. Thomas Hornby, (LTL, 162-3)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote
in wav format (472K)
or aif format (472K).


The Langtons enjoyed friendships with tourists of various nationalities; also cultural figures, including noted travel writers Mariana Starke and Isaac Weld. Starke was author of early travel guides for tourists to Europe. She was currently on an extended trip to gather more materials as she prepared to update the guides for new editions. Weld was already famous for his volume, Travels Through the States of North America and the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada during the years 1795, 1796 and 1797.

It is not difficult to imagine the fascination and influence that these writers almost certainly held for Anne Langton at an impressionable young age, as well as in later years, when she chronicled some of her own travels and emigration experiences.

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : Le « grand tour » - bannière

Table des matières


La tradition du tour de l’Europe s’était développée pour raffiner les sensibilités de jeunes voyageurs ou « touristes » (le plus souvent des hommes) de classe supérieure. Influencés par les philosophies esthétiques du sublime, du beau et du pittoresque, les touristes « contemplaient » les vastes paysages comme des tableaux.

L’itinéraire de la famille Langton l’amena en Belgique, en Allemagne, en Suisse, en Autriche, en Italie et en France. Les enfants recevaient une formation artistique par des maîtres de dessin dès qu’ils s’arrêtaient pendant quelques jours et parfois pendant leurs déplacements.

Leur premier séjour prolongé fut près d’Yverdun en Suisse, où le pédagogue réformateur Johan Pestalozzi avait fondé un institut dans le château de cette ville pour les orphelins de guerre. Sa nouvelle approche encourageait le développement des capacités innées de chacun, l’expérience pratique, l’attention aux perceptions sensorielles et un raisonnement fondé sur les principes fondamentaux plutôt que sur l’apprentissage par mémorisation. On ne tarda pas à inscrire John Langton à l’institut Pestalozzi, tandis que William et Anne recevaient des leçons privées des maîtres de l’institut, le premier à cause de problèmes de santé et la deuxième, à cause de son sexe.

Champitet, (near Yverdon) Switzerland, [vers 1825]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (76ko)
Champitet, (near Yverdon) Switzerland, [vers 1825]
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-35-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008485


Dans une lettre de 1816 à sa sœur Cicely Hornby en Angleterre, Thomas Langton décrivait une journée typique de ce séjour « en pension » au Château de Champ-Pittet en bordure du Lac de Neuchâtel près d’Yverdun :

« Quant aux enfants, voici leur emploi du temps. Chaque matin, William et Anne se rendent en ville où ils passent trois heures dans les appartements de Mlle Bourgeois, qu’elle a gracieusement mis à notre disposition, proposition que nous avons été très heureux d’accepter. Ils reçoivent des leçons de musique, de français, de géographie, de géométrie et d’arithmétique, et parfois d’allemand. Nous déjeunons à deux heures et leurs après-midi sont libres, à l’exception d’un peu de latin et de grec avec lesquels William et moi nous amusons, bien que je doive avouer que cela ne mènera pas à grand-chose, et enfin d’une heure et demie trois fois par semaine que le maître de dessin occupe, de cinq heures et demie à sept heures. »

(Lettres de Thomas Langton à Mme Thomas Hornby, 1816-1818 (LTL), 99)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela
citation en format wav (908ko)
ou aif (908ko).


Au cours de ses voyages, la famille Langton visita les chaînes de montagnes « sublimes » aux précipices sauvages, les rivages des « beaux » lacs couchés au fond des vallées alpines et des villages et paysages champêtres « pittoresques ». Les enfants firent de nombreux dessins au cours de leurs voyages ainsi que dans les endroits où la famille s’attarda parfois pendant plusieurs semaines et, dans certains cas, plusieurs mois.

Les paysages ruraux et urbains dans lesquels les enfants passèrent leurs années formatrices constituaient un catalogue de délices esthétiques : Gand, Francfort, Yverdun, Interlaken, le Tyrol autrichien, le col du Simplon, Milan, Florence, la campagne romaine, Rome, la baie de Naples, les îles Procida, Ischia et Capri, puis Sorrente, avant le retour vers le nord en direction de Paris…

Les deux tableaux ci-dessus, qui montrent Champ-Pittet et Yverdun, semblent avoir été peints à partir des souvenirs d’Anne, possiblement au cours des années 1820.

Yverdon, Switzerland, [vers 1825]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (72ko)
Yverdon, Switzerland, [vers 1825]
Anne Langton
Monochromatic Aquarelle
sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-9-1-35-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008486


La famille était également attirée par les grandes attractions touristiques des villes comme les musées d’art, dont le musée des Offices et le palais Pitti de Florence, la basilique Saint-Pierre de Rome, la place Saint-Marc à Venise, ainsi que par des lieux renommés comme la résidence du réformateur protestant Martin Luther à Heidelberg, le Vésuve et les ruines de Pompéi. Bon nombre de ces vues et attractions figurent dans les œuvres de jeunesse de William et Anne Langton. La collection Langton au Archives publiques de l’Ontario détient trois de ces carnets à croquis.

À l’automne 1817, les Langton se rendirent dans le sud de la France. Ils passèrent l’hiver à Montpellier, où ils adoptèrent une routine semblable à celle qu’ils avaient connue à Yverdun.

Les Langton fréquentaient des touristes de diverses nationalités qui partageaient leurs points de vue, ainsi que des personnalités des milieux culturels dont Mariana Starke et Isaac Weld, auteurs de récits de voyage. Starke avait rédigé quelques-uns des premiers guides touristiques de l’Europe. Elle était alors engagée dans un grand voyage afin de recueillir des informations pour les nouvelles éditions de ses guides. Weld était déjà célèbre pour son ouvrage où il relatait son voyage en Amérique, Travels Through the States of North America and the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada during the years 1795, 1796 and 1797.

On imagine facilement à quel point ces écrivains ont sans doute pu fasciner et influencer Anne Langton à un jeune âge ainsi que plus tard dans la vie, alors qu’elle s’est mise à son tour à relater ses expériences de voyages et d’émigration.