Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: Settlement, Part Two - Page Banner

Table of Contents


In her sketching, in and around Blythe Farm, Langton chose to record genuine "backwoods" scenes, with minimal embellishment, and scant artistic licence. The lack (by European aesthetic standards) of "rustic" features, picturesque ruins, "beautiful" vistas, precluded romanticizing the scenes.

Nevertheless, Langton faced artistic conflict: how was she to depict this landscape without, on one hand, seeming overcritical of her new home - and without compromising her well-developed, artistic skills? She pragmatically adopted new aesthetic criteria, explored new subject matter: simple log cabins, snake fences, the surrounding wilderness.

Church at Fenelon Falls, Ontario, 1837
Church at Fenelon Falls, Ontario, 1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
18.0 cm x 23.5 cm (7" x 9¼")
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-17
Archives of Ontario, I0008040

Langton selects a low viewpoint for this subject. The church, barely visible atop the hill, is a small, distant structure overshadowed by the seemingly endless, encroaching wilderness.


Throughout her years on Sturgeon Lake, in addition to running the household, helping on the farm, and creating her visual and written descriptions of her surroundings, Langton served her community in many capacities: she was the first person to give lessons to local children, established the first "lending library," acted as "apothecary" and "nurse", provided charity to less fortunate families and worked for the church.

She also occasionally turned again to painting of miniatures on ivory.

[Anne Langton self portrait], 1840
Click to see a larger image (60K)
[Anne Langton self portrait], 1840
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-17
Archives of Ontario, I0008574

This miniature is another of two self-portraits included in the recent Garland donation. On 24 June, 1840, her thirty-sixth birthday, Langton commented: "I ... get on very fast towards the awful age of forty!" (LR, 224). At this point - rather than four years later, to mark her "awful" fortieth birthday - she paints her last known self-portrait.

Earlier, she had written, tellingly: "There is so much happiness, under every disadvantage, in having an object in life, and feeling yourself of real use to some one ... (GUC, 75).

Now, as an "older," hearing-impaired gentlewoman, with an aging family to care for, Langton's prospects of marriage are almost non-existent; concerns about her future are beginning to surface.

"[...] I have been trying to manufacture myself a winter bonnet to-day, for I am getting tired of my cap. It is rather guess-work, as I am ignorant concerning shapes. However, I do not feel that it would be wise to send any order for a bonnet, as it is by no means every one that would suit my physiognomy. I wish that I could procure a Persian lady's headdress, so as to conceal it altogether ... "


Anne Langton, Thursday, November 17, 1842
(GUC, 209)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote
in wav format (271K)
or aif format (271K).


Mrs. John Langton [née Dunsford], 1845
Mrs. John Langton [née Dunsford], 1845
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-5
Archives of Ontario, I0008567

John Langton, 1845
John Langton, 1845
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-4
Archives of Ontario, I0008570

The two portraits above, painted in the year that John and Lydia married, were possibly the last two portraits that Anne Langton painted. Langton's talent as a miniaturist is now at its height, yet, ironically, the fine artist is about to be superseded by the photographer and the photographic process as preferred recorder of people and events.


The year 1846, following the marriage of John and Lydia, was one of anguish for family and community. The annual summer scourge of ague, a type of malarial fever, struck with particular virulence. Anne, very ill herself, nursed her mother Ellen and her aunt Alice, who died within six weeks of each other. Many neighbours also died. Lydia's and John's first child died at two weeks of age.

In 1847, the remaining Langtons made a visit to England; John and Lydia stayed for three weeks; Anne, for three years. William's residence became her home base. She was at a crucial turning-point. Not wishing to "fritter" her life away, she considered accepting an offer of a teaching position at a boarding School for Young Ladies, run by her friend, Miss Eliza Lowe, near London. Her preference, however, was to return to Canada. She eagerly accepted an invitation from John and Lydia to live with them, help raise their growing family and assist in running the household.

Returning to Canada in 1850, Langton happily resumed her life at Blythe. Young Ellen and Thomas were joined by a brother, Harry, in 1851. Now assured of a permanent home, Langton found her place as the beloved sister and aunt in a warm family circle, thus fulfilling her wish "to be of real use to someone."

Blythe farm, Ontario, [ca. 1851]
Blythe farm, Ontario, [ca. 1851]
Anne Langton
Watercolour
13.7 cm x 23.6 cm (5½" x 9¼")
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-2-53
Archives of Ontario, I0008417

Her art work seems to have lain fallow for a year or two, most likely because of domestic preoccupations. The above sketch shows Blythe Farm in its mature setting. Years of painstaking work have transformed the property into an aesthetic oasis. Ironically, the Langtons are about to depart "Blythe-in-the-backwoods" - forever.

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : S'établir dans la colonie - suite - bannière

Table des matières


Comme sujets de ses croquis à Blythe Farm et dans les environs, Anne choisit d’authentiques scènes d'« arrière-pays », sans beaucoup d'embellissements ni de licences artistiques. L'absence (d'après les normes esthétiques européennes) de traits « rustiques », de ruines pittoresques et de décors « admirables » ne favorisait pas l’idéalisation romantique.

Néanmoins, Anne était confrontée à un conflit artistique : comment représenter ce paysage sans, d'une part, se montrer indûment critique à l'égard de sa nouvelle patrie – et sans, d’autre part, compromettre ses compétences artistiques déjà considérables. Pragmatique, elle adopta des critères esthétiques nouveaux, en explorant une thématique inédite : humbles cabanes en rondins, clôtures en zigzag, vastes étendues sauvages.

[Church at Fenelon Falls, Ontario, 1837]

Church at Fenelon Falls, Ontario, 1837
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
18,0 cm x 23,5 cm (7 po. x 9¼ po.)
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-17
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008040

Pour la représentation que nous voyons ici, l’artiste s’est placée en contre-bas. L'église, à peine visible au sommet de la colline, est une petite construction dans le lointain, écrasée par l'immensité sauvage, implacable et apparemment infinie.


Pendant toute les années passées au lac Sturgeon, en plus de la direction du ménage, des travaux de ferme et de ses relations écrites et visuelles, Anne s'acquitta de tâches communautaires à divers titres : elle fut la première personne à enseigner aux enfants de l'endroit et elle établit la première « bibliothèque de prêt »; elle servit d'« apothicaire » et d'« infirmière », organisa les dons de bienfaisance aux familles pauvres et s'occupe de l'église.

À l'occasion, elle revenait à la miniature sur ivoire.

[Autoportrait d' Anne Langton], 1840
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (60ko)

[Autoportrait d' Anne Langton], 1840
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-17
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008574

La miniature que nous voyons ici est l'un de deux autoportraits qui font partie de la donation Garland. Le 24 juin 1840, jour de son trente-sixième anniversaire, Anne écrivait : « Je… me dirige à grands pas vers l'âge fatidique de quarante ans! » (LR, 224). C'est à ce moment – et non quatre ans plus tard, pour marquer son quarantième et « fatidique » anniversaire – qu'elle peignit son dernier autoportrait connu.

Un peu avant, elle avait écrit, de façon caractéristique : « Malgré tous les inconvénients, il y a tant de bonheur à avoir un but dans la vie, à se sentir réellement utile aux autres… (GUC, 75).

Dorénavant, dans son personnage de dame de la bonne société « d'un certain âge », un peu sourde, avec des parents vieillissants à sa charge, Anne voyait ses perspectives matrimoniales s’évanouir; et des préoccupations au sujet de son avenir commencent à pointer.

« [...] Aujourd'hui, j'ai essayé de me confectionner un chapeau d'hiver, parce que je suis lasse de ma capeline. J'y vais un peu à l'aveuglette, car je ne sais rien des formes. Mais il ne serait pas sage de commander par correspondance, car ce n'est pas n'importe quel chapeau qui conviendrait à ma physionomie. Je voudrais bien me procurer une de ces coiffures à la persane, qui la dissimulerait si bien… »

Anne Langton, jeudi 17 novembre 1842
(GUC, 209)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela
citation en format wav (512ko)
ou aif (512ko).


[Mrs. John Langton [née Dunsford], 1845]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (67ko)

Mrs. John Langton [née Dunsford], 1845
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-5
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008567

John Langton, 1845
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (71ko)

John Langton, 1845
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-4
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008570

Les deux portraits ci-dessus, peints l'année du mariage de John et Lydia, sont peut-être les deux derniers qu'ait exécutés Anne Langton. Le talent de miniaturiste d'Anne était alors à son apogée; pourtant, fait ironique, c’est l’époque où l'artiste accompli était sur le point de céder le pas au photographe et au processus photographique comme moyen privilégié de documenter événements et personnages.


L'année 1846, qui suivit celle du mariage de John et Lydia, fut chargée d'angoisse pour la famille et la collectivité. Cet été-là, le fléau annuel de la fièvre paludéenne frappa avec une virulence particulière. Anne, très malade elle-même, dut s'occuper de sa mère Ellen et de sa tante Alice, qui moururent à six semaines d'intervalle. Nombre de voisins succombèrent aussi. Lydia et John perdirent leur premier enfant, à l'âge de deux semaines.

En 1847, les survivants de la famille se rendirent en Angleterre; John et Lydia y restèrent trois semaines, Anne y séjourna trois ans. La résidence de William devint son port d'attache. Sa vie était à un point tournant. Désireuse de ne plus se « disperser », elle envisagea d'accepter un poste d'enseignante dans un pensionnat pour jeunes filles, dirigé par son amie Eliza Lowe, à proximité de Londres. Mais, au fond, elle préférait retourner au Canada. Lorsque John et Lydia l'invitèrent à vivre chez eux, elle accepta avec joie; elle les aidera à élever leurs jeunes enfants et à diriger le ménage.

De retour au Canada en 1850, Anne était heureuse de renouer avec la vie à Blythe. Les petits, Ellen et Thomas, eurent bientôt un frère, Harry, né en 1851. Désormais assurée d'un foyer, Anne trouva sa place dans un chaleureux cercle familial, à titre de sœur et de tante bien-aimée, comblant ainsi son souhait « de se sentir réellement utile aux autres ».

Blythe farm, Ontario, [vers 1851]

Blythe farm, Ontario, [vers 1851]
Anne Langton
Aquarelle
13,7 cm x 23,6 cm (5½ po. x 9¼ po.)
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-2-53
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008417

Elle semble avoir délaissé son art pendant une année ou deux, vraisemblablement en raison de ses occupations familiales. Le croquis ci-dessus montre Blythe Farm dans un décor achevé. Des années de travaux ardus ont transformé la propriété en une oasis de bon goût. Ironie du sort, c’est à ce moment que les Langton s’apprêtent à quitter « Blythe-in-the-backwoods » – et pour toujours.