Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: Miniatures on Ivory - Page Banner

Table of Contents


A significant aspect of Langton's art during the 1820s and '30s consisted of miniatures that she painted in watercolour on ivory. She had been introduced to the technique in Paris, and had continued to receive training under Thomas Hargreaves, R.A., a well-known Liverpool miniaturist.

Two of Anne’s early miniatures on ivory depict her parents, Ellen Langton, in 1825, and Thomas Langton, in 1827. Anne painted these portraits in England, in the years immediately preceding and following the family’s change of fortune. The ivories, which were acquired by the Archives in 2006, are shown here alongside their sketched counterparts from Anne’s Studio Journals.

Sketch: Mrs. Thomas Langton (née Ellen Currer), 1825
Click to see a larger image (90K)
Mrs. Thomas Langton  (née Ellen Currer), 1825
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-7-3-1-18
Archives of Ontario, I0008310

Watercolour: Mrs. Thomas Langton (née Ellen Currer), 1825
Click to see a larger image (153K)
Mrs. Thomas Langton  (née Ellen Currer), 1825
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-21
Archives of Ontario, I0027763

Sketch: Thomas Langton, 1827
Click to see a larger image (108K)
Thomas Langton, 1827
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-7-3-1-10
Archives of Ontario, I0008302

Watercolour: Thomas Langton, 1827
Click to see a larger image (125K)
Thomas Langton, 1827
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-22
Archives of Ontario, I0027764


William Langton, 1831 or 1833
Click to see a larger image (75K)
William Langton [1831 or 1833]
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-10
Archives of Ontario, I0008559

Langton portrays her elder brother William as a sensitive, cultivated, young "man about town." William spent the 1820s learning about the world of finance and commerce in the business houses of Langton family colleagues, first in London, then Liverpool.

By 1831, he was about to settle in Manchester as Chief Cashier at a bank owned by the Heywood family. Soon afterwards, Benjamin (later, Sir Benjamin) Heywood, prominent banker and philanthropist, would appoint William as Manager.

From that point on, William's career and fortune were to flourish, unhindered. He eventually became a noted Manchester philanthropist and social reformer, connoisseur of the arts and an expert in heraldry.

By 1836, William was already so successful that he offered to pay his parents, sister's and aunt's living expenses to enable them to remain in England. Thomas, proud as ever, declined the offer, but finally agreed to allow William to pay off his creditors.

Anne later wrote,

" [This] was only accomplished after we came to Canada, and the letter announcing it was the first that reached us after my dear father had been laid in his grave ..."

Anne Langton
( (SOF, 40)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote
in wma format (58K)
or aif format (128K).


William and his family were the chief recipients of the "Canadian" Langtons' correspondence following their emigration; he, in turn, was their principal correspondent. For years after her arrival in Canada, Anne expressed a strong wish that William and his wife Margaret would make a trip to Canada, though she acknowledged that Margaret might not be willing to make the voyage. Over time, she reconciled herself to the fact that their visit would never take place.

Fortunately, several of William's and Margaret's children did visit Canada over the following decades, thus providing Anne with the pleasure of sharing her Canadian environment firsthand. She chaperoned them on tours to such places as Quebec, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Niagara, Peterborough, Blythe Farm and the Kawartha Lakes District, adding new images of these places to her sketchbook as they travelled and as her art matured over the years.


This portrait (right), an important item in the recent donation to the Langton collection, superbly reveals Langton's miniaturist talents. Margaret Hornby, a wealthy heiress, is seen here in 1831, the year she married William Langton.

["my sister-in-law [Margaret Hornby] before she was married"], 1831
Click to see a larger image (68K)
["my sister-in-law [Margaret Hornby]
before she was married"], 1831
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-16
Archives of Ontario, I0008576

My sister-in-law Margaret, before she was married [fiance of WIlliam Langton], 1831
Click to see a larger image (35K)
My sister-in-law Margaret, before she was married
[fiance of WIlliam Langton], 1831
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-7-3-2-6
Archives of Ontario, I0008280

Langton's increased confidence and technical ability, here, capture the grace and beauty of the young bride-to-be. With judicious use of varied hatching strokes, stippling, tiny dabs of paint, broad brushstrokes, she models different tactile and visual elements: the delicate muslin gown, the rose at Margaret's waist, the sheen of her curls, her blush-toned complexion. Above all, Langton's gift for capturing the expressiveness of eyes and mouth brings this sitter to life, even today. In a rare moment of favourable self-appraisal, Anne Langton wrote of this miniature in 1839:

" I do not think any of our treasures were so long contemplated as dear Margaret's picture, which all [the family] seem now inclined to think my best performance. I too feel a little proud of it."

Anne Langton
(LR, 190) 190)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote
in wav format (131K)
or aif format (131K).

This and the portrait of William, above, were almost certainly painted as a companion souvenir pair to commemorate either their engagement, or marriage, in 1831.


Thomas and John, depicted in the painting to the right as cultured gentlemen, peruse maps - presumably of Upper Canada - in anticipation of John's upcoming venture. Both were keenly interested in the burgeoning, nineteenth-century expansion in intellectual, scientific, and exploration fields.

Thomas, now in his early sixties, was still attempting to recoup his losses by a variety of means, but with little success. He ran for municipal office, only to lose the election by one vote; appointed as Manager at a newly-opened branch of the Rothschild bank in Liverpool, he was terminated after only two years when the bank needed to introduce economies.

Thomas Langton and son, John, 1833
Click to see a larger image (67K)
Thomas Langton and son, John, 1833
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-8
Archives of Ontario, I0008575

John, meanwhile, had graduated from Cambridge. Aspiring to be a lawyer, he was unable to pursue further studies in order to qualify, owing to lack of funds. At this point, having worked for a while in a lawyer's office in Liverpool and not feeling suited to becoming a member of the clergy, as his mother wished him to be, he turned to emigration as an alternative way to establish himself in the world.


Mrs. Thomas Langton (née Ellen Currer). 1833
Click to see a larger image
Mrs. Thomas Langton (née Ellen Currer). 1833
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-9
Archives of Ontario, I0008510

Here, sixty-six year-old Ellen, Anne's mother, head resting on her hand, appears somewhat world-weary from all her travels and trials. This and the miniatures above form a "gallery" of family portraits painted by Anne Langton shortly before her brother John emigrated to Upper Canada, likely as mementoes for him to carry to the New World.

By now, Anne's skill for portraiture is well-honed. Through careful posing of each sitter, fine rendering of costume details and textures, modelling of complexion, skin tones, facial expression and the inclusion of appropriate accoutrements, she conjures up the individual character and inner personality of each subject.


In this self-portrait Anne portrays herself as a quintessential gentlewoman, refined and elegant.

At age twenty-nine, however, lacking fortune and social opportunities and, already experiencing hearing impairment, she is still unmarried.

Despite all efforts, the family's fortunes never recovered. In 1833, John Langton, now a Cambridge graduate, emigrated to Upper Canada. After John's departure for Canada, the family moved into a still smaller house.

Anne Langton: self-portrait, 1833
Click to see a larger image (76K)
Anne Langton: self-portrait, 1833
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-2
Archives of Ontario, I0008560


Miss [Alice] Currer, 1835
Click to see a larger image (102K)
Miss [Alice] Currer, 1835
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-1
Archives of Ontario, I0008569

"Aunt Alice", (sister of Ellen Langton) became the role model for Langton's own life, the unselfish "maiden aunt": the ever-willing, dependable (and economically dependent), aid to the family as need arose.

" ... she was ever a very prominent feature of our household, most devoted to my mother ... ready to be of use in all sorts of ways; taking care of the children when the parents were away, or keeping house for any left at home when no longer children ..."

Anne Langton
(SOF, 41-2)

Click here to listen to a recording
of the quote in wav format (214K)

or aif format (214K).


 


Watercolour on ivory: Miss Harriet Lowe, 1836
Click to see a larger image (217K)
Miss Harriet Lowe, 1836
Anne Langton
Watercolour on ivory
Reference Code: F 1077-7-1-0-23
Archives of Ontario, I0028020

The final entry in Anne’s record of portraits painted is of her close friend, Harriet Lowe, 1836. Harriet was one of three Lowe sisters, with whom Anne was very close.  Like Anne, the sisters never married, and chose to open a private school for young ladies near London, England.

This portrait shows the culmination of Anne’s years of experience in painting miniatures, as the details of Harriet’s dress and hair are delicately rendered. Anne has expertly captured the sitter’s features to give her a confident yet demure expression. Given that the ivory is less than 50 mm wide, the accuracy of detail is remarkable.


In 1837 William, Ellen, Alice Currer and Anne decided to emigrate to Canada to join John, in full realization that their "Canada project" was "rather a wild scheme" for three elderly people and a young unmarried woman (SOF, 45, 46).

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : Miniature sur ivoire - bannière

Table des matières


Un aspect important de l’œuvre de Langton durant les années 1820 et 1830 est la miniature sur aquarelle ou sur ivoire. Elle avait été initiée à cette technique à Paris et elle continua sa formation auprès de Thomas Hargreaves, du Royal Academy, un miniaturiste réputé de Liverpool.

Deux des premières miniatures sur ivoires par Anne Langton représentent ses parents, Ellen (en 1825) et Thomas (1827). Anne a peint ces portraits en Angleterre, dans les années qui ont immédiatement précédé et suivi les changements dans la situation financière de sa famille. Les portraits sur ivoire sont montrés ici avec les croquis correspondant extraits des carnets d’Anne Langton.

Mine de plomb sur vélin crème : Mrs. Thomas Langton (née Ellen Currer), 1825

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (90ko)
Mrs. Thomas Langton  (née Ellen Currer), 1825
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-7-3-1-18
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008310

Aquarelle : Mrs. Thomas Langton (née Ellen Currer), 1825

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (153ko)
Mrs. Thomas Langton  (née Ellen Currer), 1825
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-21
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027763

Mine de plomb sur vélin crème : Thomas Langton, 1827

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (108ko)
Thomas Langton, 1827
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-7-3-1-10
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008302

Aquarelle : Thomas Langton, 1827

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (125ko)
Thomas Langton, 1827
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-22
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027764


William Langton, 1831 ou 1833

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (75ko)
William Langton, 1831 ou 1833
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-10
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008559

Langton a représenté ici son frère aîné William en tant que jeune homme du monde cultivé et sensible. William passa les années 1820 à se familiariser avec les milieux de la finance et du commerce dans les entreprises des collègues de la famille Langton, d’abord à Londres, puis à Liverpool.

En 1831, il se préparait à s’établir à Manchester en tant que caissier en chef d’une banque appartenant à la famille Heywood. Peu de temps après, Benjamin (qui deviendra Sir Benjamin) Heywood, un important banquier et mécène, le nomme directeur de la banque. La carrière et la fortune de William allait s’épanouir sans obstacle à partir de ce moment.

Il devint éventuellement un mécène célèbre de Manchester ainsi qu’un réformateur social, un fin connaisseur des arts et un spécialiste de l'héraldique.

En 1836, William connaissait déjà un tel succès qu’il proposa d’assumer les frais courants de ses parents, de sa sœur et sa tante afin qu’ils puissent demeurer en Angleterre. Toujours aussi orgueilleux, Thomas refusa cette aide, avant de finalement permettre à William de rembourser ses créditeurs.

William et sa famille furent les principaux destinataires de la correspondance « canadienne » des Langton après leur émigration, et il fut leur principal correspondant. Au cours des années qui suivirent son arrivée au Canada, Anne a exprimé son désir que William et Margaret viennent au Canada, tout en reconnaissant que Margaret ne serait peut-être pas disposée à faire un tel voyage. Avec le temps, elle accepta le fait qu’ils ne la visiteraient jamais.

Heureusement, plusieurs enfants de William et de Margaret visitèrent le Canada au cours des décennies suivantes, donnant ainsi à Anne l’occasion de leur faire découvrir son milieu canadien. Elle les accompagna lors de randonnées à Québec, Montréal, Ottawa, Toronto, Niagara, Peterborough, Blythe Farm et la région des lacs du Kawartha, ajoutant des images de ces endroits dans son carnet de croquis au fil de ses voyages et de la maturation de son talent.


Ce portrait, un document important provenant de la donation récente à la collection Langton, révèle magnifiquement les dons de miniaturiste de Langton. Margaret Hornby, une riche héritière, est représentée en 1831, l’année de son mariage avec William Langton.

["my sister-in-law [Margaret Hornby] before she was married"], 1831

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (68ko)
["my sister-in-law [Margaret Hornby]
before she was married"], 1831
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008576

My sister-in-law Margaret, before she was married  [fiancée de William Langton], 1831

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (35ko)
My sister-in-law Margaret, before she was married
[fiancée de William Langton], 1831
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-7-3-2-6
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008280

La confiance accrue de Langton et son habileté technique lui permettent de rendre la grâce et la beauté de la jeune future mariée. En faisant un emploi judicieux de traits parallèles, de pointillés, de petits dépôts de peinture et de coups de pinceau larges, Langton compose les divers éléments tactiles et visuels : la robe en mousseline délicate, la rose à la taille de Margaret, l’éclat de ses cheveux bouclés, la gêne dans son teint. Mais surtout, le don de Langton pour saisir l’expressivité des yeux et de la bouche donne vie son modèle, encore aujourd’hui. Dans un rare moment d’appréciation de soi, Anne Langton écrivit au sujet de cette miniature en 1839 :

"« Je ne crois pas qu’aucun de nos trésors ne fut contemplé aussi longtemps que le portrait de notre chère Margaret, et tous [la famille] semblent maintenant croire que c’est ma meilleure œuvre. J’en suis également quelque peu fière. »

Anne Langton
(LR, 190)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela
citation en format wav (343ko)
ou aif (343ko).

Cette miniature et le portrait de William, ci-dessus, furent presque certainement peints afin de commémorer leurs fiançailles ou leur mariage en 1831.


Thomas et John, représentés dans le tableau sur la droite en tant que gentilshommes cultivés, examinent des cartes – probablement du Haut-Canada – en préparation de la prochaine initiative de John. Les deux étaient vivement intéressés par l’explosion des connaissances dans les domaines intellectuels et scientifiques et par les nombreuses explorations qui marquèrent le 19e siècle.

Thomas, maintenant au début de la soixantaine, continuait d’essayer de récupérer ses pertes de diverses façons, sans remporter beaucoup de succès. Il se porta candidat aux élections municipales, mais fut défait par une seule voix. Nommé directeur d’une nouvelle succursale de la Banque Rothschild à Liverpool, il perdit ce poste à peine deux ans plus tard lorsque la banque fit des compressions.

[Thomas Langton and son, John, 1833]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (67ko)
Thomas Langton and son, John, 1833
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-8
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008575

Entre-temps, John avait obtenu un diplôme de Cambridge. Bien qu’il ait voulu être avocat, il dut mettre fin à ses études faute de fonds. Ayant travaillé dans une étude d’avocats de Liverpool et ne se sentant pas disposé à devenir pasteur comme le désirait sa mère, il se tourna vers l’émigration comme solution pour faire son chemin dans la vie.

Mrs. Thomas Langton (née Ellen Currer), 1833(?)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (96ko)
Mrs. Thomas Langton (née Ellen Currer), 1833(?)
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-9
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008510

On voit ici Ellen, la mère d’Anne, à 66 ans, la tête appuyée sur sa main, semblant quelque peu accablée par tous ses voyages et difficultés. Ce portrait et les miniatures ci-dessus forment une « galerie » de portraits de famille peints par Anne Langton peu avant l’émigration de son frère John au Haut-Canada, probablement pour servir de souvenirs qu’il apporterait avec lui au Nouveau Monde.

Le talent d’Anne pour le portrait était maintenant bien rodé. En posant soigneusement ses modèles, en peignant finement les détails et les textures des costumes, en imitant le teint, la couleur de la peau et les expressions (à l’aide de techniques très variées) et en incluant des objets appropriés, elle évoque le caractère et la personnalité de chacun de ses sujets.


Dans cet autoportrait, Anne se présentait comme le modèle de la dame de bonne famille, raffinée et élégante, tout en démontrant une maîtrise remarquable de l’art de la miniature.

À vingt-neuf ans, sans fortune ni possibilités sociales et atteinte d’une déficience auditive, elle n'était toujours pas mariée.

Malgré tous ses efforts, la famille ne réussit jamais à retrouver sa fortune. En 1833, John Langton, nouvellement diplômé de Cambridge, émigra au Haut-Canada. Après son départ, la famille emménagea dans une maison plus petite.

[Anne Langton: self-portrait, 1833]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (76ko)
Anne Langton: self-portrait, 1833
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008560


Miss [Alice] Currer, 1835

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (102ko)
Miss [Alice] Currer, 1835
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008569

« Tante Alice », la sœur d’Ellen Langton, devient le modèle que suivra Anne Langton : la « tante célibataire » généreuse, toujours prête à aider la famille au fil des besoins (tout en vivant à ses dépens).

"« ... elle fut toujours un élément très important de notre famille, et très dévouée à ma mère… prête à nous dépanner de mille et une façons; s’occupant des enfants lorsque nos parents étaient absents, ou de la maison pour ceux qui y étaient toujours après avoir atteint l’âge adulte… »

Anne Langton
(SOF, 41-2)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement
sonore dela citation en
format wav (391ko)
ou aif (391ko).


Aquarelle sur ivoire : Miss Harriet Lowe, 1836

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (217ko)
Miss Harriet Lowe, 1836
Anne Langton
Aquarelle sur ivoire
Code de référence : F 1077-7-1-0-23
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0028020

Le dernier portait montre une amie proche d’Anne, en 1836. Harriet était une des trois sœurs Lowe très proches d’Anne.  Tout comme Anne, elles ne se sont jamais mariées et elles ont choisi d’ouvrir une école privée pour jeunes filles près de Londres.

Ce portait est le point culminant de plusieurs années d’expérience d’Anne  dans la peinture de miniatures. Les détails de la robe et de la coiffure d’Harriet sont délicatement rendus. Anne a capturé de façon experte les traits de son modèle afin de lui donner une expression à la fois confiante et sage. Comme la miniature fait moins de 50 mm de largeur, la précision des détails est remarquable.


En 1837 William, Ellen, Alice Currier et Anne décidèrent d’émigrer au Haut-Canada afin de retrouver John, tout en sachant que leur « projet canadien » était une « idée assez farfelue » pour trois personnes âgées et une jeune femme célibataire (SOF, 45, 46).