Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: Preserving the Collection - Page Banner

Table of Contents


 

Preserving ivory miniatures is a unique challenge. Ivory is hygroscopic, meaning it readily takes on and retains moisture. It can also easily warp and crack when exposed to extreme temperature and humidity fluctuations. This type of support damage can lead to flaking of the image layer so environmental conditions at the Archives of Ontario are maintained at stable levels.

Exposure to light is also minimized as much as possible to prevent fading of the watercolour pigments.

Image of hands measuring a miniature
Conservator cleaning frame

Original frames or lockets are an integral part of these works of art so miniatures are typically preserved within these housings.

Archives' conservators do not tamper with a miniature if the frame is tightly sealed. However, they do take the opportunity to replace any acidic backing boards with acid-free, high quality materials if the assembly is loose and easily opened.

Preservation Services staff then house each miniature individually in custom-made enclosures. The individual packages are stored flat in acid-free boxes that are equipped with spacers to prevent them from shifting during transport.

The miniatures are carefully handled with lint-free, cotton gloves to prevent damage from hand oils or fingerprints.

Access to these unique works of art is tightly controlled to further minimize the risk of damage from handling and light exposure. As a rule, high quality digital or photographic reproductions are accessed instead of the originals.

Image of framed miniature being cleaned with brush

Art Materials used by Anne Langton

Graphite: fine art lead pencils containing a crystalline allotropic form of carbon.

Inks: fine art inks can be found in a variety of tones: brown, black, sepia, red, grey. Some inks are referred to as Chinese, Japan, or India ink, indicating their place of origin.

Wove paper: a paper made on a wire-gauze mesh, thus yielding "a uniform unlined surface" (OED). Some of Langton's sketchbooks have "tinted" papers: grey, buff, brown and pastel tones.

Watermark: high quality fine art paper sometimes bears the maker's mark - visible when the paper is held up to the light. Anne Langton sometimes sketched on such sheets. For example, she executed Rosedale in the early eighties, on paper bearing the watermark of the well-known British, paper-manufacturing firm of Whatman.

Ivory: during the 18th and 19th century ivory, from both elephant and walrus tusks, became popular for the painting of miniature portraits due to the natural translucence of the material which imparted a luminous quality to the image.

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : Conservation de la collection - bannière

Table des matières


La conservation des miniatures sur ivoire présente des difficultés particulières. En effet, l'ivoire est une matière hygroscopique, qui peut facilement se déformer et se fendiller sous l'effet de températures extrêmes et des fluctuations de l'humidité. Ce type de dommage infligé au support peut entraîner l'effritement de la couche picturale; aussi, aux Archives publiques de l'Ontario, les températures ambiantes sont-elles maintenues à des niveaux stables.

L'exposition à la lumière est également réduite dans toute la mesure du possible, pour empêcher la décoloration des pigments de la peinture à l’aquarelle.

Image of hands measuring a miniature
Photo of conservator cleaning frame

Les encadrements et médaillons d'origine font partie intégrante de ces œuvres, et les miniatures sont généralement conservées dans leurs logements.

Dans les cas où la miniature est étroitement encastrée, les restaurateurs des archives ne cherchent pas à la séparer de son cadre.

Cependant, si l'assemblage est relativement facile à défaire, le matériau acide des dos protecteurs est remplacé, le cas échéant, par un matériau de qualité, sans acide. Le personnel des Services de préservation place ensuite chaque miniature dans une alvéole faite sur mesure. Les emballages individuels sont conservés à plat, dans des coffrets sans acide munis d'intercalaires, pour les empêcher de se déplacer pendant le transport.

La personne qui manipule les miniatures porte des gants de coton non pelucheux, pour empêcher que les mains y laissent des traces ou des empreintes.

L'accès à ces œuvres d'art uniques est étroitement contrôlé, de façon à minimiser le risque de dommages par manipulation et exposition à la lumière. En règle générale, on n'a pas accès aux originaux, mais plutôt à des reproductions photographiques ou numériques de grande qualité.

Image of framed miniature being cleaned with brush

Matériel d'art

Mine de plomb : crayons de plomb conçus pour le dessin, qui renferment une forme allotropique de carbone cristallisé.

Encres : les encres à dessins existent dans toute une gamme de tons : brun, noir, sépia, rouge, gris. Selon le lieu d'origine, on qualifie les encres de Chine, du Japon ou d'Inde.

Vélin : papier fabriqué à l'aide d'une toile à filet métallique, qui permet d'obtenir une surface lisse et uniforme. Certains carnets de croquis d'Anne Langton emploient des papiers « teintés » : gris, chamois, marron ou pastel.

Filigrane : les papiers d'art de qualité portent parfois la marque du fabricant – qui se voit par transparence lorsqu'on tient la feuille devant une source lumineuse. Anne Langton se servait parfois de ce genre de papier pour ses croquis. Ainsi, Rosedale in the early eighties a été réalisée sur un papier qui porte le filigrane de Whatman, le réputé fabricant de papier britannique.

Ivoire : l’ivoire extrait des défenses d’éléphant et de morse est devenu très populaire aux 18e et 18e pour la peinture de portraits miniatures, en raison de sa translucidité naturelle, qui donnait une qualité à l’image.