Anne Langton - Gentlewoman, Pioneer Settler and Artist: Emigration - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Although emigration offered the Langtons the opportunity to be reunited with John and to start a new life with some relief from financial pressures, they left England with somewhat heavy hearts. They were not only leaving their home-land, almost probably for good, but also parting with William and Margaret who at that time had three little daughters.

They departed from Liverpool Docks on 24 May 1837. Coincidentally, shipping in the port was dressed overall to mark the coming-of-age of the young Princess Victoria, who would ascend to the throne just six weeks later following the death of William IV.

The Langtons took this rejoicing as a good omen for their bold new venture. They embarked on board the appropriately-named sailing vessel, the "Independence," heading out into the Irish Sea and the Atlantic Ocean and away from all that they had known and held dear.

Storms and becalmings, whales and icebergs, the trials of life at sea and the novelties of shipboard diet, accommodation and daily routine, along with the varied "characters" of their fellow-passengers, kept the family amused, frustrated, and entertained, by turns.

Thomas, Ellen and Anne each kept a journal of their sea voyage to New York which, fortunately, for those days, was a very short crossing of just three weeks.

[...] Yesterday was a trying day. We were going before the wind about fourteen miles an hour, with a rolling sea that occasioned many trifling and laughable accidents [...] We were not without our share in the mischances of the day. Whilst we were sitting quietly in the ladies' room, our room nearly turned topsy-turvy, and the egg-basket having been compelled to part with the remains of its cargo, the eggs were tossed backwards and forwards till the carpet was quite ready to put in the frying pan, where it would have made a delicious and magnificent omelet. The state of the room was not discovered till your mother was going to bed, about eleven o'clock, and a long purification had then to be commenced [...] Should we experience no reverse, we may be in New York within the three weeks [...]"

Thomas Langton
(LR, vi)

Click here to listen to a recording
of the quote in wav format (503K)
or aif format (503K).


Their journals and letters also tracked their subsequent land journey by coach, rail and ferry from New York to Toronto and on up to the Kawartha Lakes.

This section of their journey would last for almost two months, partly because of Ellen's illnesses in New York and Toronto, Alice's intermittent poor health, and Anne's sickness at Peterborough, but also because of travel delays and other inconveniences.

At New York, the seasoned travellers strolled along Broadway, dined with people to whom they carried letters of introduction (from mutual friends in England), admired the architecture, toured sights, viewed the surrounding scenery and browsed in stores - in one of which Anne stocked up on art materials.

Land View from the Port at West Point, New York, 1837
Click to see a larger image (78K)
Land View from the Port at West
Point (detail), New York, 1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-6
Archives of Ontario, I0008028

"[T]here are things to tempt one here ... I made a purchase of a Chinese paint-box containing two saucers of gold, one of silver, a dozen of various colours, besides empty saucers,colour rubbers, etc. - indian ink, and a dozen or two brushes, for all of which I gave three and a half dollars"

Anne Langton
(LR, 32)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote
in wav format (238K)
or aif format (238K)



At the annual exhibition of the National Academy in New York, Thomas and Anne viewed scenes of the Hudson River, by young American artists (later to be known as "The Hudson River School"). Leaving New York City, Langton recorded her own impressions of this "romantic" New World landscape.

Sketch of West Point Academy
Click to see a larger image (42K)(42K)
[West Point Military College], School Camp and Parade Ground,
West Point, New York (detail), 1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-10
Archives of Ontario, I0008032

At West Point, the Langtons watched the army cadets' parade at the military college and attended a service marking American Independence Day. The family's route then continued along the Hudson and on up into Upper Canada, via Albany, Syracuse, Rochester, Queenston, Niagara, and Toronto.


From the Hotel West Point, looking up the River
Click to see a larger image (81K)
From the Hotel West Point, looking up the River,
New York, 1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-4
Archives of Ontario, I0008026

Hotel, West Point, New York, 1837
Click to see a larger image (108K)
Hotel, West Point, New York, 1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-5
Archives of Ontario, I0008027

These two images and the above "Land View" are from a companion souvenir set of four. Langton often depicted a given location from various viewpoints.


Rough sketch of Niagara Falls
Click to see a larger image (47K)
Horseshoe Falls, Niagara (detail), 1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-14
Archives of Ontario, I0008036

(It might seem unfair to include this "representation" here. A later section of this exhibit does, however, includetwo of Langton's later, well-rendered views of the falls.

At Niagara, Langton had set out before breakfast to sketch the spectacle of the falls. But, to her great disappointment, she experienced an inability to grasp the scale of the scene before her. She expressed her frustration in a postscript to a letter from her father to William:

"My father left this for a sketch, and I had certainly intended sending you my presumptuous representation of Niagara ... I was (especially at first) unsatisfied, but it was not with them but with myself. I had a consciousness of the vastness of the scene and at the same time of my own incapacity to conceive it. I felt mortified by my ineffectual striving to grasp the idea in full. It takes some time to form any notion, and a much longer visit, I'm sure, than ours[,] would be requisite to form an adequate conception of its grandeur and magnificence."

Anne Langton
(A Gentlewoman in Upper Canada[GUC], 29-30)

Click here to listen to a recording
of the quote in wav format (421K)

or aif format (421K).


 


Unfortunately, Langton does not appear to have done any sketching between Niagara and Peterborough, partly no doubt, because of caring for Ellen. In Toronto, however, Thomas and Anne did some sightseeing and visiting. They were also invited to dine with the Governor at Government House.

On August 4th, the Langtons finally left Toronto and resumed their journey towards Sturgeon Lake. On reaching Peterborough, Anne fell ill and they were prevented from continuing their journey for another week. She did, however, manage some sketching.


Peterborough from White's Tavern, 1837
Peterborough from White's Tavern, 1837
Anne Langton
Graphite on cream wove paper
18.0 cm x 23.3 cm (7" x 9¼")
Reference Code: F 1077-8-1-4-16
Archives of Ontario, I0008038

Forty-two years after her first glimpse, Langton could still vividly recall her first impression of the Canadian backwoods at Peterborough which, in 1837, had a population of some 900 inhabitants.

"It was quite dark when we reached Peterborough. I well remember my impressions on my first look out in the morning. How wild! A waste wilderness of wood - not so much the growing woods, which were not far off, but the precious article seemed thrown about everywhere. There were sticks and logs in every square yard of the little plain before us, to say nothing of stumps; it was the first bit of genuine 'backwoods' I had seen. I have seen a great deal of them since, but that first impression is indelible."

Anne Langton
(SOF, 64)

Click here to listen to a recording of the quote
in wav format (362K)
or aif format (362K).

Anne Langton, dame de bonne famille, pionnière et artiste : L'émigration - 1837 - bannière

Table des matières


L'émigration offrait aux Langton l'occasion de retrouver John et de commencer une nouvelle vie, loin des tracas financiers, mais c'est le cœur lourd qu'ils quittèrent l'Angleterre. Ils se séparaient non seulement de la mère patrie, probablement à jamais, mais aussi de William et de Margaret, qui, à ce moment là, avait trois petites filles.

Ils s'embarquèrent à Liverpool, le 24 mai 1837. La ville était en liesse et le grand port pavoisait, car on fêtait la majorité de la princesse Victoria, qui allait monter sur le trône six semaines plus tard, à la mort de Guillaume IV.

Aux yeux des Langton, ces réjouissances étaient de bon augure. Nos intrépides voyageurs s'installèrent à bord d’un voilier au nom de circonstance, l'« Independence », qui devait franchir la mer d'Irlande et l'océan Atlantique pour les emmener loin de tout ce qu'ils connaissaient et chérissaient.

Tempêtes et calmes plats alternèrent, on croisa baleines et icebergs, et puis il y eut les petites misères de la vie en mer et son train-train, les imprévus des repas à bord et la galerie de « personnages » qu’ils côtoyèrent : la famille eut de quoi tout à tour s'occuper, se vexer et se divertir.

Thomas, Ellen et Anne tirent chacun la chronique de leur traversée vers New York, qui, par chance, fut très courte pour l'époque, soit tout juste trois semaines.

« [...] Hier, la journée a été éprouvante. Le navire avançait vent en poupe à quelque quatorze nœuds à l'heure, sur une mer démontée qui a occasionné une foule de désagréments et des incidents absurdes [...] Nous avons eu notre part des infortunes du jour. Tandis que nous bavardions tranquillement au salon des dames, notre cabine a pour ainsi dire basculé sens dessus dessous, le panier à œufs s’est violemment séparé de son contenu et les œufs ont été projetés de-ci de-là, jusqu'à ce que le tapis en soit recouvert –, prêt à mettre à la poêle! Cela nous aurait fait une magnifique et succulente omelette. On n'a découvert l'état de la pièce qu'au moment où votre mère allait se coucher, vers 11 heures, et un long rituel de purification a alors commencé [...] À moins de revers, nous pourrions être à New York d'ici trois semaines [...] »

Thomas Langton
(LR, vi)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement
sonore dela citation en format
wav (1,16 Mo)
ou aif (1,16 Mo).


Lettres et journaux intimes retracent aussi le périple des voyageurs une fois à terre, par voiture, chemin de fer et traversier, de New York à Toronto, puis jusqu'aux lacs de Kawartha.

Cette étape du voyage devait durer près de deux mois, en partie à cause de la maladie d'Ellen à New York et à Toronto, des malaises intermittents d'Alice et de l’indisposition d'Anne à Peterborough, mais aussi de l’irrégularité des transports et d'autres inconvénients.

À New York, nos voyageurs aguerris déambulèrent le long de Broadway, dînèrent en compagnie des personnes avec qui ils avaient été mis en rapport par des amis mutuels en Angleterre, admirèrent l'architecture de la ville, firent le tour des attractions, se régalèrent des panoramas et explorèrent les boutiques – Anne en profita pour se faire des provisions de fournitures d'artiste

Land View from the Port at West Point (détail), New York, 1837

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (78ko)
Land View from the Port at West
Point (détail), New York, 1837
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-6
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008028

« … Beaucoup de choses font envie ici… J'ai fait l'achat d'une boîte de couleurs chinoise, qui renferme deux godets d'or, un d'argent, une douzaine de couleurs variées, avec d'autres augets vides, des caoutchoucs, etc. – de l'encre de Chine et une douzaine ou deux de pinceaux et de brosses, ce qui m'a coûté en tout et pour tout trois dollars et demi. »

Anne Langton
(LR, 32)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela
citation en format wav (484ko)
ou aif (484ko).


À l'exposition annuelle de la National Academy de New York, Thomas et Anne découvrirent des scènes croquées sur l'Hudson par de jeunes artistes américains (plus tard connus sous l'appellation « Hudson River School »). À son départ de New York, Anne coucha sur papier ses propres versions de ces paysages « romantiques » du Nouveau Monde.
[West Point Military College], School Camp and Parade Ground, West Point, New York (détail), 1837

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (42ko)
[West Point Military College], School Camp and Parade Ground,
West Point, New York (détail), 1837
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-10
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008032

À West Point, les Langton virent parader les cadets du collège militaire et assistèrent à un office religieux qui célébrait la fête de l'Indépendance américaine. Puis la famille poursuivit sa route et remonta l'Hudson vers le Haut-Canada, en passant par Albany, Syracuse, Rochester, Queenston, Niagara et, enfin, Toronto.

From the Hotel West Point, looking up the River, New York, 1837

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (81ko)
From the Hotel West Point, looking up the River,
New York, 1837
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-4
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008026

Hotel, West Point, New York, 1837

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (108 ko)
Hotel, West Point, New York, 1837
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-5
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008027

Ces deux dessins et celui qui les surmonte, Land View, font partie d'un ensemble souvenir de quatre. Il arrivait souvent à Anne de représenter un emplacement depuis divers points d’observation.


Horseshoe Falls, Niagara (détail), 1837

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (47ko)
Horseshoe Falls, Niagara (détail), 1837
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-14
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008036

(Il peut sembler approprié d'intercaler cette « représentation » ici. Dans une autre section de l'exposition, toutefois, on pourra admirer deux très bonnes vues des chutes.

À Niagara, Anne partit de bon matin pour croquer le spectacle des chutes, mais, à sa grande déception, elle est paralysée par l'envergure du panorama. Elle exprimae sa frustration dans le post-scriptum d'une lettre adressée à William par son père :

« Mon père a laissé de la place ici pour un croquis, et j'avais certainement l'intention de t'envoyer (présomptueuse!) ma représentation de Niagara… J'étais (surtout au début) insatisfaite, non pas du paysage, mais de moi-même. J'avais conscience à la fois de l'immensité et de la noblesse du panorama, et de mon incapacité, de mon impuissance à l’embrasser. J'étais mortifiée par la futilité de mes efforts pour saisir pleinement l'idée. Il faut un certain temps pour cristalliser une notion, et, j'en suis sûre, un séjour plus long que le nôtre pour se faire une conception le moindrement juste du grandiose et de la magnificence de cette réalité. »

Anne Langton
(A Gentlewoman in Upper Canada[GUC], 29-30)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement
sonore dela citation en
format wav (844ko)
ou aif (844ko).


Malheureusement, il semble qu'Anne n'ait pas fait de croquis pendant le trajet de Niagara à Peterborough, sans doute parce qu'elle dû s'occuper d'Ellen. À Toronto, toutefois, Thomas et Anne explorèrent la ville et firent des visites; ils furent notamment reçus à dîner par le gouverneur, à l'hôtel du gouvernement.

Le 4 août, les Langton quittèrent enfin Toronto et reprirent le chemin du lac Sturgeon. En arrivant à Peterborough, Anne tomba malade, ce qui les cloua sur place pendant une autre semaine. Pendant ce temps, elle fit quelques croquis.

Peterborough from White's Tavern, 1837

Peterborough from White's Tavern, 1837
Anne Langton
Mine de plomb sur vélin crème
18,0 cm x 23,3 cm (7po. x 9¼ po.)
Code de référence : F 1077-8-1-4-16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008038

Quarante-deux ans après avoir posé un premier regard sur l'arrière-pays canadien à Peterborough, dont la population en 1837 comptait quelque 900 âmes, Anne en gardait toujours un vif souvenir..

« Il faisait déjà noir à notre arrivée à Peterborough. Je me souviens très bien de mes premières impressions lorsque, le matin venu, j'ai regardé par la fenêtre. Combien sauvage ! Ces terres incultes, jonchées de débris ligneux – non pas le bois debout, jamais très loin, mais la précieuse matière, éparpillée un peu partout. Troncs, billots, éclats et bûches couvraient la moindre surface de la petite plaine à nos pieds, sans parler des souches; c'était la première fois que j'apercevais en personne l'« arrière-pays ». J'ai vu depuis beaucoup de ces étendues boisées, mais cette première impression ne s'effacera jamais. »

Anne Langton
(SOF, 64)

Cliquer ici pour un enregistrement sonore dela citation en format wav (891ko) ou aif (891ko).